QFA Div 2 North

No I did not get offered $$$ by Redcliffe, I stand by my mail about the coach and numbers. I've heard its not just the Tigers, Pine Rivers and Moreton are not getting the numbers they would like. Northside epidemic?
How many clubs are really happy with the numbers at training.
Most clubs struggle to get numbers and ring around to get a twos team together on game day.
How's Sandgate going with a few lads moving on.
Zillmere should be ok as premiships are almost a given.
Wilston Grange going ok.
No idea about mayne.
Ferny grove seem to put a team together.
Kedron going ok but need them all to turn up at the same time.
Aspley never need any help.
Don't think it's an epedmic but a lot of clubs close together trying to survive.

How many clubs are really happy with the numbers at training.
Most clubs struggle to get numbers and ring around to get a twos team together on game day.
How's Sandgate going with a few lads moving on.
Zillmere should be ok as premiships are almost a given.
Wilston Grange going ok.
No idea about mayne.
Ferny grove seem to put a team together.
Kedron going ok but need them all to turn up at the same time.
Aspley never need any help.
Don't think it's an epedmic but a lot of clubs close together trying to survive.
Friday night footy dragging to many away from Saturday footy, biggest growth area in SEQ footy. Many new one teams clubs popping up in recent years. Thoughts?

I reckon your bang on the money. Why would you want to play on Saturday for mb reddy or swans when you can play Friday night at Sandgate zillmere or Aspley ! Everyone is struggling on the north except Aspley who have big numbers in 4 teams!

Unfortunately I think AFLQ, from what I know, have their KPI's up the creek as far as what constitutes a healthy football environment. There is this mindset that the more SENIOR football clubs the better. This is bollocks imo. Sure you need Senior footy clubs and sure you need to make sure you accommodate all players of varying levels and commitment but I have been told that there is to be a club at Narangba Valley to complement their junior club in the near future - utter madness when MB arent exactly beating them off with a stick! There is absolutely nothing wrong with running a junior football club and ensuring there is a pathway to the local senior club for those boys that want to source this avenue. MB should capture Bribie and definitely Narangba kids when they get past 16yrs of age. It certainly appears there is a lot of competition for bodies on the north side but some of this stress could be reduced if there wasnt quite the number of senior clubs. Surely a successful code is not about number of clubs soley but the the number of clubs who are healthy and dont spend every summer wondering if they are going to get a side on the paddock (will say though that some clubs are victims of themselves with the environment that they allow to prosper around their clubs forcing some if not many blokes to look elsewhere).

So who were the other 30 blokes who showed up lol
Thanks Ormeau footy club for use of ground tonight
Two full sides and 5 interchange players on each side plus 10 players unavailable yep that adds up to 15-16 players at training
Not a bad effort for a club intraclub game

I said a few years ago Friday night footy was only going to get bigger.
The reasons are simple.
It's cheaper to register.
Umpires are available.
No weekends lost.
Only have to find 30 blokes.
Less helpers needed.
AFLQ have a set of guidelines to register a team.
They are not that difficult to attain.
So it's my opinion that in time more one team clubs will appear.
Whether that is new clubs or old clubs unable to get the numbers for two teams.
In time you will see a one team competition on Saturdays playing at 2pm and the girls or master's playing at 11.
It's a numbers game and the more teams you have reduces the player pool.
Heres a guess at the future.
Neafl may stay but unlikely.
Qafl will continue with two sides and will once again be the Premier comp.
Division one will remain the same.
Division two will hang in there for a while but will succumb in time.
All other divisions will slowly go to one team on Friday nites or Saturday comps.
Just my opinion but it's already heading in that direction.

They could structure it like rugby league. No reserves there are just regional divisions. If your big enough you can have a team you can have a team in every division or you can just have 1 team. Your teams are then graded on ability. This could put a team like zillmere in a higher division but not need a second team.

I said a few years ago Friday night footy was only going to get bigger.
The reasons are simple.
It's cheaper to register.
Umpires are available.
No weekends lost.
Only have to find 30 blokes.
Less helpers needed.
AFLQ have a set of guidelines to register a team.
They are not that difficult to attain.
So it's my opinion that in time more one team clubs will appear.
Whether that is new clubs or old clubs unable to get the numbers for two teams.
In time you will see a one team competition on Saturdays playing at 2pm and the girls or master's playing at 11.
It's a numbers game and the more teams you have reduces the player pool.
Heres a guess at the future.
Neafl may stay but unlikely.
Qafl will continue with two sides and will once again be the Premier comp.
Division one will remain the same.
Division two will hang in there for a while but will succumb in time.
All other divisions will slowly go to one team on Friday nites or Saturday comps.
Just my opinion but it's already heading in that direction.

Good summary mate - and logical too. When you think about it there arent that many codes that have to find 44 players every week to be able to play in a competition.

Two full sides and 5 interchange players on each side plus 10 players unavailable yep that adds up to 15-16 players at training
Who won?

They could structure it like rugby league. No reserves there are just regional divisions. If your big enough you can have a team you can have a team in every division or you can just have 1 team. Your teams are then graded on ability. This could put a team like zillmere in a higher division but not need a second team.

But in saying that zillmere might play in a higher division does that mean whoever plays zillmere has to play on a Friday night??,

Good summary mate - and logical too. When you think about it there arent that many codes that have to find 44 players every week to be able to play in a competition.
It's not 44 players in reality you need a pool of 60 minimum to exist with two teams.
If you have a poor year the next one becomes very difficult to get those blokes back.
This is when you will see clubs look at one team rather than fold.
I'm sure there are clubs out there that want to play Saturday footy and would be happy to do it with one team.
You will see qafl and division one comps go to 14 plus teams.
This will even out the competition and spread the quality players around.
The afl are always trying to get the division's in order.
To date it hasn't worked.
Time to bite the bullet and increase the qafl and division one numbers.
Nothing wrong with an 18 team competition and play each other once.
The rest in division two if they have two teams.
It's Queensland and trying to emulate Vic and SA and WA is never going to happen.
Look at your market and adjust accordingly.
But that's just what I would do.

Unfortunately I think AFLQ, from what I know, have their KPI's up the creek as far as what constitutes a healthy football environment. There is this mindset that the more SENIOR football clubs the better. This is bollocks imo. Sure you need Senior footy clubs and sure you need to make sure you accommodate all players of varying levels and commitment but I have been told that there is to be a club at Narangba Valley to complement their junior club in the near future - utter madness when MB arent exactly beating them off with a stick! There is absolutely nothing wrong with running a junior football club and ensuring there is a pathway to the local senior club for those boys that want to source this avenue. MB should capture Bribie and definitely Narangba kids when they get past 16yrs of age. It certainly appears there is a lot of competition for bodies on the north side but some of this stress could be reduced if there wasnt quite the number of senior clubs. Surely a successful code is not about number of clubs soley but the the number of clubs who are healthy and dont spend every summer wondering if they are going to get a side on the paddock (will say though that some clubs are victims of themselves with the environment that they allow to prosper around their clubs forcing some if not many blokes to look elsewhere).

It's the junior clubs at fault. they don't make any effort to create a pathway for kids to graduate to the local senior club in the catchment, and if the senior club makes an effort they are abused for allegedly trying to poach juniors.

Then in the end, the insular junior club decides to start a senior side to retain their players instead of them following a natural progression. Look at Jindalee, put in a Div 5 side when their good kids should go to Chelmer and their not so good kids should go to Kenmore and the really average ones can just go to Moorooka or the like, and Yeronga is there too!

How they have allowed all these various clubs in Ipswich to pop in and out is beyond me too. Springfield, Collingwood Park, Eagles, Cats. If they all worked together, they could probably put together a decent Div 2 side, instead of all wallowing about at lower levels, or folding altogether.

Also, people probably overestimating the strength of Zillmere, they only just got over the line last year against 3rds team from QAFL clubs who didn't play finals in Seniors or Reserves. In fact Sandgate and Magpies propped up the QAFL Reserves ladder, whille their 3rds teams could easily have beaten Zillmere - so while they are a dominant Friday team, they are miles off it. Competitive in Div 2 for sure, would probably win Div 3

It's the junior clubs at fault. they don't make any effort to create a pathway for kids to graduate to the local senior club in the catchment, and if the senior club makes an effort they are abused for allegedly trying to poach juniors.

Then in the end, the insular junior club decides to start a senior side to retain their players instead of them following a natural progression. Look at Jindalee, put in a Div 5 side when their good kids should go to Chelmer and their not so good kids should go to Kenmore and the really average ones can just go to Moorooka or the like, and Yeronga is there too!

How they have allowed all these various clubs in Ipswich to pop in and out is beyond me too. Springfield, Collingwood Park, Eagles, Cats. If they all worked together, they could probably put together a decent Div 2 side, instead of all wallowing about at lower levels, or folding altogether.

Also, people probably overestimating the strength of Zillmere, they only just got over the line last year against 3rds team from QAFL clubs who didn't play finals in Seniors or Reserves. In fact Sandgate and Magpies propped up the QAFL Reserves ladder, whille their 3rds teams could easily have beaten Zillmere - so while they are a dominant Friday team, they are miles off it. Competitive in Div 2 for sure, would probably win Div 3

Why should a junior club not have ambition to expand and grow? As nice as it would be if all the clubs worked together like you say they should, the reality is that won’t ever happen, clubs work Hard to improve and grow to stay sustainable. The well run clubs with good people involved survive more often than not.

And why the constant comparisons between comps? How Zillmere would go in div 2 or 3 is irrelevant, they have been the best in the Comp they are in for two years, that’s about all they can do and I would say the players and people at the club are happy with that. Both Zillmere and the Woodies don’t even have compulsory training from what I’ve been told, it’s social footy. Yes the standard seems to have gone up the last 2-3 years but that’s because the comp has more credibility and better players are now playing in it at the end of their careers.

What motivation is there for a div 4 team to move to div 3 any way with so many clubs battling to have numbers for two sides?

Look, agree it is a vexed question and certainly some junior clubs need to evolve into a senior club but many don't. Invariably it isnt a business decision as to whether this occurs but emotion or vested interest eg, my son plays here.
It just seems silly at times that you end up with so many senior clubs in the one region, in a sport that is hard enough to get 30 blokes on your list occasionally let alone 50. Think its a bit simplistic to say the good clubs survive, the rubbish ones don't. I cant see why clubs in certain areas dont work more together - understand what your strengths as a club are, inherent weaknesses that will be difficult to improve no matter how much work you put in, and aim for a level where you can be competitive which more often than not means financially stable.

But in saying that zillmere might play in a higher division does that mean whoever plays zillmere has to play on a Friday night??,

Possibly . All I’m saying is it works in league there is 4 divisions under the premier grade Northside and Southside . Some clubs have 2 teams some have 1 some have 3 . They play fri sat Sunday . So you don’t have to worry about ressies if you don’t put a team in.

Yeah I know the format you are talking about, as I’ve seen it done in other states, but then you can lose the culture of the club cause games could be on at different times of the day with ground availability an there higher grade sides getting priority pick for time,

Rarely will you travel an both sides play the same team, because not all teams are of equal strength, but the main concern for the clubs is culture an volunteers for the jobs on the day

Yeah I know the format you are talking about, as I’ve seen it done in other states, but then you can lose the culture of the club cause games could be on at different times of the day with ground availability an there higher grade sides getting priority pick for time,

Rarely will you travel an both sides play the same team, because not all teams are of equal strength, but the main concern for the clubs is culture an volunteers for the jobs on the day

Yeah that is true . But they just get on with it and I don’t think they have that much trouble . I reckon it could work spread out over the whole weekend . Could be worth a shot if clubs keep folding ressies.

Zillmere have some decent 'older' players but if any one can honestly say they would win div 3 is on drugs. The top 3 teams from div 3 last yr would belt them, fitter and more depth. A player like Brick would run rings around them.

It's not 44 players in reality you need a pool of 60 minimum to exist with two teams.
If you have a poor year the next one becomes very difficult to get those blokes back.
This is when you will see clubs look at one team rather than fold.
I'm sure there are clubs out there that want to play Saturday footy and would be happy to do it with one team.
You will see qafl and division one comps go to 14 plus teams.
This will even out the competition and spread the quality players around.
The afl are always trying to get the division's in order.
To date it hasn't worked.
Time to bite the bullet and increase the qafl and division one numbers.
Nothing wrong with an 18 team competition and play each other once.
The rest in division two if they have two teams.
It's Queensland and trying to emulate Vic and SA and WA is never going to happen.
Look at your market and adjust accordingly.
But that's just what I would do.

Pineapple cup was a 14 team comp a decade ago. Damn good comp too. Think the divisional system is a lot better than previous systems mind you.

Agreed about the new system but it's time the qafl comp got bigger.
I just don't see why it doesn't happen.
Are they worried about the strength of the competition.
I don't see how it could hurt when you have clubs like Sandgate struggling to win a game for years now.
Would even out the competition with the bottom half of the competition beaing more competitive.
The top sides will still have plenty of hard games.
In time it will become a better standard over all and give more kids an opportunity to play.
Footy in Qld needs a bigger stronger elite competition.
But it just seems that success is judged by how many clubs there are and it doesn't matter what comp they are in.
Short sighted goals will eventually come back to bite you on the ass.

Well actually Fan the Man the Eagles didnt just pop up LOL. Originally the Ipswich Eagles were the Amberly RAAF Eagles who formed in 1966 and played in the different Brisbane Divisions but as we all know the defense force quite often go away for exercises through out the year hence why they decided to shift to Limestone Park in 2001 to make it a civilian club. The Eagles still have strong ties with the defence force with at least a dozen members on our books each year. I can not say much for the other clubs you mentiond except that Collingwood Park have been around for about 10 years and are happy to be a friday night team, the Cats were not to be let in we were told but when Springfieldlakes folded the league allowed them too.

As for Div 2 thats exactly where we want to be and we have had opportunities in the past but failed at the last hurdle, working with the cats i would have to disagree that would make us a decent Div 2 considering they have struggled to win games in the last 3 years (maybe 4 or 5) But in saying that we have held the olive branch out a number of times but they choose to go alone because they believe they will be the number 1 club in ipswich eventually. This is the reason why the Eagles have decide to start their own juniors which 2 years ago had about 20 on the books but will have over 100 for the 2018 season so we are building from the ground up.
Also i like to know the number of Ipswich boys that go play for Brisbane base clubs who offer them money or incentives to join them, if every club had a zone like some states did years ago and you had to play on where you lived i guantee Ipswich woouldnt be in Div 3.

fatboy_15 said:
Fatboy 15...why play a interclub game at a another club...
would think the club would like to make a few dollars over the bar than give the money to another club...
also I believe your ressies are playing them in a few weeks....
wouldn't you be looking to play both grades against a team....

QFA Div 2 North