Preview R10: Changes vs. Collingwood

Feel like this comes up every year. But really Collingwood would only be expected to play 6-7 or so interstate games.

1 Gather round
4 away games against non-Vic sides (the other 4 at home)
2 or maybe 3 repeat matches against non-Vic sides they also play at home

They would of course play 11 home games and then another 6 or so away games against Vic sides, which would be played in Victoria

This year they play 6 games outside Victoria

The only unfair aspect is they should probably travel to Tasmania every so often to face Hawthorn or North. And Geelong in Geelong but that's still in Victoria
And Ballarat?..thats just a place they have heard tales about that there used to be mining there. Certainly not a place they will ever need to worry about having to play footy at.

Feel like this comes up every year. But really Collingwood would only be expected to play 6-7 or so interstate games.

1 Gather round
4 away games against non-Vic sides (the other 4 at home)
2 or maybe 3 repeat matches against non-Vic sides they also play at home

They would of course play 11 home games and then another 6 or so away games against Vic sides, which would be played in Victoria

This year they play 6 games outside Victoria

The only unfair aspect is they should probably travel to Tasmania every so often to face Hawthorn or North. And Geelong in Geelong but that's still in Victoria
Feels like they always get a group of away games and then get to camp at home for 2 or 3 months though.

Not sure he can stick with him.

That said, Berry seems noticeably more powerful in the last couple weeks.

I guess you got to try to do something. Something better than nothing.

So we should give it a go. Berry probably a bit beastly in stoppages so if you can suck Daicos into the congestion then that helps.
I just hope he at least gets a decent amount of midfield rotations. Named on a HFF

Agree that either him or Peatling is the ideal Daicos matchup

Crows get smashed in every stat against Port except the scoreboard, all scribes agree you lose 95 games out of 100 based on those stats and yet no changes made to the team. Is Davis now indoctrinated cause I don't see anything changing now he is on board? Brisbane had no issue in losing him, his loss to Brisbane definitely hasn't effected their performance negatively.
Another dud joins the Crows or this club has very deep rooted issues... Hope I'm wrong and we beat Collingwood.

Probably a bit harsh on Davis at this stage but undoubtedly Nicks (and the AFC) philosophy is/has to only make forced changes or drop a youngster that had a quiet game.

Lose - back the boys in
Win - don't change a winning side

Making improvements to our structure/personnel doesn't factor into our selection policy, as 1970 says our best 23 is determined before the season starts and it will not change come hell or high water.

And Ballarat?..thats just a place they have heard tales about that there used to be mining there. Certainly not a place they will ever need to worry about having to play footy at.
Apparently we don't need to worry about playing at Ballarat this year either. Game moved to Marvel due to construction work at Mars.

Collingwood games in a 23 game season id have
11 - MCG
3 - AO (includes gather rond
2 - Perth Stadium
1 - GABBA
1 - GC Stadium
1 - SCG
1 - GWS Stadium
1 - Geelong
1- Ballarat
1 - Tassie

Same with othe Victorian Teams. 11 games at there home ground.

Apparently we don't need to worry about playing at Ballarat this year either. Game moved to Marvel due to construction work at Mars.
Thats nice, I bet though, next year when the works are done, we will be able to circle that ground on our fixture list and Collingwood will still think of Ballarat only as an old historical mining town and not have any association with it and AFL footy

TBH I'm less concerned about the defensive matchups then I am about the NDaicos and Houston match ups. I feel like we should dominate the air in defense but we are still vulnerable to elite mids and HBFers.

Butters and Rozzee almost beat us on their own last week. I'd be happy to send Berry to Nick, with an emphasis on tight body to body contact, and lay some heavy tackles. If he's sore, you have to put it to the test early and often.

Houston, I would give to Keays. ANB was about as ineffective as a tag gets last week.

Collingwood games in a 23 game season id have
11 - MCG
3 - AO (includes gather rond
2 - Perth Stadium
1 - GABBA
1 - GC Stadium
1 - SCG
1 - GWS Stadium
1 - Geelong
1- Ballarat
1 - Tassie

Same with othe Victorian Teams. 11 games at there home ground.
The other Victorian clubs all want to have home games against Collingwood because it gifts them a big crowd and big dollars

They'd never host those games in Ballarat or Tassie or even Kardinia Park

Any value in throwing a curve ball move at the opening bounce to throw the Pies off their structures?

Like give Thilthorpe the first 6-7 mins in the ruck and let him drift forward when Darcy Cameron tries to sit in the hole.

Yeah Wayne is there for offence and if he doesn’t give that then he’s not much value
Which in a way is disappointing because Curtin could play the same non-defensive run on role that Wayne does and we get much more future benefit with a better leg

Any value in throwing a curve ball move at the opening bounce to throw the Pies off their structures?

Like give Thilthorpe the first 6-7 mins in the ruck and let him drift forward when Darcy Cameron tries to sit in the hole.
That would require Nicks to have tactical nous on match day.:think:

The other Victorian clubs all want to have home games against Collingwood because it gifts them a big crowd and big dollars

I know

That’s why it will never be an even comp.

Until all teams play the same amount of games as each other on their home ground.

It should be mandated that if Victorian clubs want to sell off games to Tasmania, Ballarat etc then they have to play another Victorian club.
By sheer default of having so many Victorian based clubs they play in their home state more often, this would go some way to even that up not make it more uneven.

It should be mandated that if Victorian clubs want to sell off games to Tasmania, Ballarat etc then they have to play another Victorian club.
By sheer default of having so many Victorian based clubs they play in their home state more often, this would go some way to even that up not make it more uneven.
What about North Melbourne?

Sold 2 games to WA this year

That would require Nicks to have tactical nous on match day.:think:
True, and its a shame we almost never see the weird call at opening bounce anymore. Bergman in the middle last week really seemed to throw us off balance as it was so unexpected.

Doesn't have to be TT in the ruck, but something would be fun to see. Dawson at FF, Michalanney to Diacos in the middle, Tex on the wing. Just something to make the oppo scramble for 5 mins, and then scramble back when they revert to normal.

Preview R10: Changes vs. Collingwood