Random talk thread: real good talking about random stuff n that

It's also pretty simple Esti. If you can't put the ball in the net you're not going to win.

Yeah but you can get that goal by just parking the bus in front of goal all day then snaring a lucky one on the break. Basically you can win by playing ultra defensive and negative.

Can't do that in footy. You can have a Sydney-like defensive mindset but you still have to attack to win.

For me Aussie rules is the 'fairest' football code in the world in terms of deciding a worthy winner. You don't have set periods of possession like rugby or gridiron - instead the entire game is contest after contest for possession of the ball.

I found myself barracking for the Kiwis tonight in the league WC final. Does that make me a traitor or just a champion of the underdog?

Btw I rank the league world cup just slightly above the world hotdog eating championships in terms of importance.

I'd say the Major League Eating circuit is far more important.

Takeru Kobayashi was an absolutely fantastic athlete and specimen of a man. Held just about every eating record in the book, and was > 8% BF. Until 2007 when he injured his jaw, his only loss was to a 1089-pound Kodiak bear, when he ate 31 bunless hot dogs in 2 minutes and 36 seconds to the bear's 50.

Oh man. Quality television right there. I want to watch the elephant versus the herd of short people pulling the jet.

I wonder if the producers of that show were aspiring to those lofty heights of broadcasting during their school years? Oh to be a fly on the wall at their career counsellor interviews.

Yeah but you can get that goal by just parking the bus in front of goal all day then snaring a lucky one on the break. Basically you can win by playing ultra defensive and negative.

Can't do that in footy. You can have a Sydney-like defensive mindset but you still have to attack to win.

For me Aussie rules is the 'fairest' football code in the world in terms of deciding a worthy winner. You don't have set periods of possession like rugby or gridiron - instead the entire game is contest after contest for possession of the ball.

Freo loss to Geelong by 1 point wasn't exactly fair either

I thought soccer was gay?

I reckon the male version of the game is but I don't have a problem with the womens game.

What I would like to know is, why do the goalkeepers have to fall over or go to ground every time they defend. I've lost count of the number of times that I've seen one do so unnecessarily and lose the ball only to see an opposition player score.

If you dont have solid momentum behind the ball the chances are the ball could slip through the fingers, so that's why they put their body behind the ball to prevent that from happening. Only Peter Schmeichel could save shots in mid-air, but he was an awesome GK. The closest one I have seen to him is Gigi Buffon or Cech.

What I would like to know is, why do the goalkeepers have to fall over or go to ground every time they defend. I've lost count of the number of times that I've seen one do so unnecessarily and lose the ball only to see an opposition player score.

Not quite sure what you mean by that.

If you're talking about them going to ground when a striker is running at them it's to cover as much ground as possible so the ball can't be slipped past/underneath them.

Not quite sure what you mean by that.

If you're talking about them going to ground when a striker is running at them it's to cover as much ground as possible so the ball can't be slipped past/underneath them.

I'm talking about them going to ground almost without exception. As late as tonights 10 news they had some vision of, I think, Everton v ? from the weekend. One player has a shot from 30 odd metres out which went over the bar and the goalkeeper is on his knees as if to stop a shot that would have been chest height at best.

The keeper the area stays in is the worst on the pitch in terms of a consistant bounce. The lower the keeper gets, the easier it is to react to a bad bounce, similar to when a cricket keeper gets on his haunches and raises with the ball, compared to moving down for it.

Also what esti said, far easier to poke a ball home under a keeper then to chip him more often then not...

resurrecting_the_champ_movie_poster_onesheet.jpg

Yep, hours of stimulating study..

God dammit don't bring that study shit up... I have an exam tomorrow and another on Friday. All of my mates are finished already and I've got no chance to go get sloshed with them before getting on the plane on Friday arvo. Depressing.

You didn't fall on your own sword as well, did you?

Yep, hours of stimulating study..

Yeah right, that self imposed ban never seems to work for you guys.

Like when Chops asks for a ban and then all of a sudden a mysterious dock worker from Canberra starts posting 20 times a day.

Though if you've got an alias Stronz I haven't picked it yet.

Yeah right, that self imposed ban never seems to work for you guys.

Like when Chops asks for a ban and then all of a sudden a mysterious dock worker from Canberra starts posting 20 times a day.

Though if you've got an alias Stronz I haven't picked it yet.

I never saw a Stronzo alias but many times I saw a a little red Stronzo in the active users. I waved, but he never waved back. Bastard :p

Chops must just about be into double figures now for aliases. I was most unsurprised when a certain fan of Memories made a few appearances along with his wharfie mate.

What I want to know is why you didn't just go out in a blaze of flaming, swearing glory mixed with hilariously inappropriate pictures and fine examples of the feminine figure to have a bit of fun getting a red instead of asking nicely for a slap on the wrist?

Pissweak isn't it?

Everyone should take lessons from bushie. Now there's a man who knows how to get banned with a bang. Mind you Stronz would never be allowed back if he went the bushie route.

RickJames was another one who went out with style a year or two ago - but he seems to have been allowed back now under another name.

Random talk thread: real good talking about random stuff n that