Review Rate our season

Probably a 2 or 3. The flashes of brilliance only served to highlight what a monumental disappointment we were.

As much as I would've loved to go deeper into September, once I'd cooled off after the game on Saturday, I said to a mate that part of me is kinda glad we lost. I reckon a win there, and another "honorable" loss to Geelong, would've wallpapered over the cracks IMO, and the players and footy dept may have escaped the scrutiny they so richly deserve. At least this way, the car crash that was 2010 (and '09 for that matter) is completely on display for them, and the wider football community, to see.

Good post.
Just look back 12 months to how the Bombers season ended. Most experts thought they were on the rise and it was to their detriment. Hopefully the board and supporters come to the revelation that we're not as good as people think we are. No one should feel safe in their roles at the club, we need to correct a lot of wrongs in 2011.

Hawthorns Season was 4/10 - Very disappointing.
Player Ratings as follows

A GRADE

JORDON LEWIS
SHAUN BURGOYNE
SAM MITCHELL
LANCE FRANKLIN
CYRIL RIOLI

B GRADE

LUKE HODGE
JOSH GIBSON
BRAD SEWELL
GRANT BIRCHELL

I suspect that I am going to get anihalated here for shooting Bambi, but i have voted Hodge down this year because I don't think he stood up in enough BIG games when it counted. I love the guy, his attitude is a real throwback to the good old days of football, but there was a time I thought he could be the next Gary Ayres. Now I'm not so sure. I was very disappointed with him on Saturday. He was soundly beaten by a complete spud. I don't care if he was injured. If you suit up, then you are ready to play. He constantly struggles with a solid tag, and even though out-and-out taggers are a scourge on our game, you have to learn to beat them. Swan, Ablett... these guys can. Hodge can't. I say move him to be a permanent wingman, or HBF and let him do his job. I'm not convinced on the ball is his best spot at the minute.

I switched Lewis and Hodge because I thought Lewis was more effective in games in 2010.

I'd give us a high mark for our recruits. I thought Burgoyne was great late in the year, and Gibbo really impressed as well. I was a huge wrap for Skipper. His workrate was top shelf and his skills not bad for a big fella. One of our few shining lights on Saturday.

We have too many same-same players like Ladson, Sheils, Moss et al. I would trade Ladson, as I don't know what he adds to the team. These mythical skills that he possesses don't get brought out of the bag too often.

Our good was very good, and 2010 still gave me some huge thrills, Buddy's goal and win against the Scum. The game against the Saints (except for the bloody interchange rule), the way we recovered the lead against Port and Swans.

Our bad was mid-2000s bad though. Our feeble, rudderless displays against Port, WCE, the Dockers and the Swans made me sick.

Gameplan was rubbish. Goodbye to John Barker. He has two of the best forwards in the game and he made them look silly at times.

0/10 for our weights co-ordinator. How can a mountain of a man like Rough have zero muscle definition after all these years. Feed the man some more red meat and tell him to not come out of the gym until he looks like Jonathon Brown or Warren Tredrea.

All up, I will give us a five. No more.

COACHES - 2/10
- They lack any real imagination. Slow to react. Poor team selections.
(Suggest a clean out is in order/ Big fan of Brendan Bolton)

ADMINISTRATION - 8/10
- Membership is strong ; Tasmania relationship is strong ; Business seems strong ;
(Tasmanian relationship needs to be reviewed)

MEMBERS - 7/10
- Strong membership ; Game crowd doesn't always reflect membership
More Saturday afternoon games less Sunday games

PLAYERS -
1 - Max Baliey N/A
2 - Jarryd Roughead 4/10
3 - Jordan Lewis 4/10 (NQR from hit from Harbrow)
4 - Rick Ladson 3/10 (write off 2010)
5 - Sam Mitchell 7/10 (good without being great)
6 - Josh Gibson 6/10 (injury affects score - good season)
7 - Michael Osborne 4/10 (expect a lot more from him)
8 - Xavier Ellis 5/10 (jury is still out - needs to muscle up)
9 - Shaun Burgoyne 7/10 (pure class ; slow start)
10 - Chance Bateman 5/10 (harsh but expect more - grow hair back)
11 - Clinton Young 6/10 (with a big preseason he will take the next step)
12 - Brad Sewell 5/10 (treading water ; needs more tricks to his game)
13 - Simon Taylor 1/10 (injured & vultures are swooping)
14 -Grant Birchall 4/10 (shades of '08 ; needs to improve)
15 - Luke Hodge 8/10 (Fantastic year ; cruelled by late season injury)
16 - Beau Dowler 1/10 (never got started ; sadly could be curtains)
17 - Beau Muston 4/10 (limited opportunities ; 2011 make or break)
18 - Brent Guerra 5/10 (just servicable - not a big fan)
19 - Jarryd Morton 1/10 (not upto AFL standard...ouch)
20 - Rhan Hooper 2/10 (needs a big preseason ; body a concern)
21 - Shane Savage 1/10 (lacked opportunities ; treading water)
22 - Travis Tuck 1/10 (3 strikes has saved his career)
23 - Lance Franklin 7/10 (good without being great)
25 - Ryan Shoenmakers 3/10 (sent back to VFL to learn defence - big 2011 expected)
26 - Liam Shiels 2/10 (hasn't reproduced last years form)
27 - Steve Gilham 4/10 (struggled)
28 - Gary Moss 1/10 (list clogger....harsh)
29 - Tom Murphy 6/10 (solid after slowish start, surprised me)
30 - Campbell Brown 5/10 (nothing sort of season, played out of position)
31 - Matt Suckling 2/10 (tease.....not upto AFL)
33 - Cyril Rioli 7/10 (good season, time in midfield a bonus)
34 - Brent Renouf 7/10 (Warrior.....grown into the ruck position)
36 - Jordan Lisle - N/A (big things expected in 2011)
37 - Brendan Whitecross 2/10 (not a fan....leave it at that)
38 - Luke Lowden N/A
39 - Ben Stratton 7/10 (very happy, showing good signs)
40 - Jordan Williams N/A
41 - Taylor Durea N/A
42 - Wayde Skipper 5/10 (surprisingly very servicable)
43 - Will Sierkowski N/A
44 - Cameron Stokes N/A
45 - Jarrod Kayler-Thompson 3/10 (jury is out for AFL)
46 - Michael Johnston N/A
47 - Luke Bruest N/A (don't see what all the hype is about)
48 - Carl Peterson 5/10 (good story of the year, played well, good signs)

I have marked these guys hard due to our poor season. I expected to make the Prelims as a minimum. Would certainly agree with very aggressive trading & delistings.

6 out of 10, considering that after 7 rounds we were set be annihilated. Also can't wait for Whitecross to prove a few wrong. He's a third year player just ready to make the jump from excellent VFL player to regular, polished performer in the AFL. He also didn't have a preseason.

COACHES - 2/10
- They lack any real imagination. Slow to react. Poor team selections.
(Suggest a clean out is in order/ Big fan of Brendan Bolton)

ADMINISTRATION - 8/10
- Membership is strong ; Tasmania relationship is strong ; Business seems strong ;
(Tasmanian relationship needs to be reviewed)

MEMBERS - 7/10
- Strong membership ; Game crowd doesn't always reflect membership
More Saturday afternoon games less Sunday games

PLAYERS -
1 - Max Baliey N/A
2 - Jarryd Roughead 4/10
3 - Jordan Lewis 4/10 (NQR from hit from Harbrow)
4 - Rick Ladson 3/10 (write off 2010)
5 - Sam Mitchell 7/10 (good without being great)
6 - Josh Gibson 6/10 (injury affects score - good season)
7 - Michael Osborne 4/10 (expect a lot more from him)
8 - Xavier Ellis 5/10 (jury is still out - needs to muscle up)
9 - Shaun Burgoyne 7/10 (pure class ; slow start)
10 - Chance Bateman 5/10 (harsh but expect more - grow hair back)
11 - Clinton Young 6/10 (with a big preseason he will take the next step)
12 - Brad Sewell 5/10 (treading water ; needs more tricks to his game)
13 - Simon Taylor 1/10 (injured & vultures are swooping)
14 -Grant Birchall 4/10 (shades of '08 ; needs to improve)
15 - Luke Hodge 8/10 (Fantastic year ; cruelled by late season injury)
16 - Beau Dowler 1/10 (never got started ; sadly could be curtains)
17 - Beau Muston 4/10 (limited opportunities ; 2011 make or break)
18 - Brent Guerra 5/10 (just servicable - not a big fan)
19 - Jarryd Morton 1/10 (not upto AFL standard...ouch)
20 - Rhan Hooper 2/10 (needs a big preseason ; body a concern)
21 - Shane Savage 1/10 (lacked opportunities ; treading water)
22 - Travis Tuck 1/10 (3 strikes has saved his career)
23 - Lance Franklin 7/10 (good without being great)
25 - Ryan Shoenmakers 3/10 (sent back to VFL to learn defence - big 2011 expected)
26 - Liam Shiels 2/10 (hasn't reproduced last years form)
27 - Steve Gilham 4/10 (struggled)
28 - Gary Moss 1/10 (list clogger....harsh)
29 - Tom Murphy 6/10 (solid after slowish start, surprised me)
30 - Campbell Brown 5/10 (nothing sort of season, played out of position)
31 - Matt Suckling 2/10 (tease.....not upto AFL)
33 - Cyril Rioli 7/10 (good season, time in midfield a bonus)
34 - Brent Renouf 7/10 (Warrior.....grown into the ruck position)
36 - Jordan Lisle - N/A (big things expected in 2011)
37 - Brendan Whitecross 2/10 (not a fan....leave it at that)
38 - Luke Lowden N/A
39 - Ben Stratton 7/10 (very happy, showing good signs)
40 - Jordan Williams N/A
41 - Taylor Durea N/A
42 - Wayde Skipper 5/10 (surprisingly very servicable)
43 - Will Sierkowski N/A
44 - Cameron Stokes N/A
45 - Jarrod Kayler-Thompson 3/10 (jury is out for AFL)
46 - Michael Johnston N/A
47 - Luke Bruest N/A (don't see what all the hype is about)
48 - Carl Peterson 5/10 (good story of the year, played well, good signs)

I have marked these guys hard due to our poor season. I expected to make the Prelims as a minimum. Would certainly agree with very aggressive trading & delistings.

I don't think we are ever going to see Birch improve or go backwards, he seems to do enough without doing too much every week.

7th out of 16 (56% pass mark) pretty much sums it up :p … nowhere near good enough for a team with this much talent, and significantly less injuries than 2009. Lost too many games to middle of the road sides, which cost us a home final. Teased us all with how good we can play against the top sides. Attitude shift is required, and we need to get back to being the hunters again … Also we need to be switched ON and consistent from Round 1 (not from Round 8).
P.S. … and one last wish ... Clarko please work out a better structure that utilises the best 2 forwards in the league, to once again strike fear into opposition backlines. :thumbsu: