Rate the commentariat

• Thread starter Thread starter Old Spice

O

Old Spice

We are all familar with the muck-raking dished up a few years ago over Didak and Didak/Shaw incidents.

At the time, Eduardo - who is well positioned to know as a former journo - pointed out in a Hun article that nothing sells like Collingwood stories, positive or negative. El Pres stated that the most copies of that rag were sold after the Pies premiership in 1990, more than were sold post September 11, 2001. It's pretty clear that to flog papers, there is nothing like talking about Collingwood, and some make their gravy by getting on the anti-Pies bandwagon and flogging our club.

Mike Sheahan earned for me the title of muck-raker, par excellence, after his calls for Didak to be axed. That stupid call created a predictable audience spike, as it was intended to, but also a furore amongst Pie fans.

It's not clear whether the Magpie backlash against Sheahan's article cooled his - or more likely the sport's editors and marketing departments - ardor for Collingwood witch-hunts or whether there has simply been nothing to hang their hat on, but the fact is that indiscretions by players from other clubs have not recieved the same level of vitriol in the Hun. Nor should they.

Hurley and Stokes obviously received attention for their misdemeanors, but you can't help but imagine that if those players had played for the Pies, that there would have been hysterical calls for their discharge. Either Sheahan has mellowed, or he has double standards.

Harry was right to talk about the shrill media circus surrounding Matthew Stokes, articulating a call to help rather than hang players out to dry, but was for that effort derided by Kevin Bartlett and Greg Denham on SEN.

This is already long, so I wont go into depth about Greg Denham's noxious attitudes about Collingwood - which today canvassed shit-canning Mick's detente with umpires, Heath Shaw's umpire touch, and our interchange numbers - but suffice it to say, he is no friend.

I also heard today the pro-mo for the Superfooty booklet, which stated that the pictures were in colour for Pies supporters, who are supposedly remedial.

We all know Collingwood hatred is grist to the media mill, but in that environment, I am a big advocate of picking favourites within the media stable, and leaving d*ckheads frozen out. If journo's and their editors want a slice of the readership largesse which Pies' stories deliver, I'm for bringing some in from the cold, and leaving others out.

For me, Michael Gleeson does good work and Jon Ralph is someone I am warming to. Our media isn't highly diverse, but I'm all for giving the scoop and time to those within the fourth estate and various media stables who give a reasonable representation of our club. I'm not suggesting here that there should be no criticism, but rather that we give the worst muck-rakers the short-shrift.

Here's my list of media preferment, which is by no means comprehensive, and is only top and bottom.

Good

1. Martin Flanagan
2. Michael Gleeson
3. Robert Walls
4. Nathan Buckley
5. Emma Quayle
6. Gary Lyon
7. Jake Niall
8. Jon Ralph
9. Trevor Grant
10. Martin Blake

Bad

1. Mike Sheahan
2. Greg Denham
3. Caroline Wilson
4. Time Lane
5. John Harms
6. Sam Lane
7. Patrick Smith
8. Mark Robinson
9. Bruce Matthews
10. Cameron Noakes

This is what made Landing Luke Ball all the more sweeter.

Most, if not all, journos said we were no chance and they were hoping like hell that he didn't get to us. Then they could say, Pies didn't offer enough blah, blah.

He gets to us but little written about, oh..... perhaps the Pies new Luke Balls' market value.

Caro would have definitely been sucking on lemons the night of the national draft.

While Mike Sheahan, went to town over the Didak issue, so did plenty of others. Crackers Keenan & Russell Holmsley are also known Pie haters and rarely write positive words.

Collingwood sells. We know it, they know and we just have to deal with it. Not purchasing these paper is a good start.

You watch them this year over MM & Bucks trying to create some trouble between them. They are like sharks circling.

Mick Ellis is a good journo. Writes for Inside Football and is a Pies supporter. Always sticking up for us.

well said mate :D that greg denham has really been giving me the shits the last couple of weeks. Not sure what collingwood has done to him but it's obvious he doesn't like us at all. I'd have Denham in front of Sheehan. Every little chance he gets he has a dig at us it makes for hard listening.

Being as I am hostage to the Sydney media sewer I can only really comment on a small number of that group.
Sheahan and Caro of course both deserve singling out on the unreadable side.
Bruce "the stiffening" Mcaveny is one I love to hate as well. Has he come out yet?

No. But all signs point to man-love. He's all over Nic Nat tonite. Poor old Bruce, I love him but he is really a stayer and not a player in footy commentary.

Agreed TD, Lane is the worst. Can't stand that smug 'intellectual', some of the crap he comes up with is laughable. I'm talking TV commentators here of course.

Yeah and when he calls a Pies game he just bags us right through the whole game:mad:

No. But all signs point to man-love. He's all over Nic Nat tonite. Poor old Bruce, I love him but he is really a stayer and not a player in footy commentary.

Reputedly this ocurred tonight. I can't vouch for validity until after I watch the game at 12.45.

I liked the attempt at humor from Bruce met with silence. They were talking about the Bombers having a bad interstate record and Bruce chimes in with "bad things happen when bombers get on planes".

Caro, Print media, continually gets it wrong.

Sandy Roberts, TV media, can't stand the crescendo at the end of every sentence.

John Harms near/at the top of my list.

Nathan Burke has penned some good articles in Inside Football, whenever I chance upon a copy up here.

Our Bucks, who hath ascended from Seven, also had a few good columns in the Age.

I can't agree that Caro is unreadable. I find her very readable, but my enjoyment of her work is marred by two things; she's often wrong, yet very dogmatic, and she hates the Pies.

But when she gets it right, she's excellent, as in this article from today's Age:

This is why Chris Judd deserves to be scrutinised. As captain, he failed the club that day in December - even though he was not alone in being accountable - and every Carlton supporter should hope he realises this. It is not enough to walk away before the trouble starts. As one face of the ''Just Think'' campaign last September, Judd was part of a collective message from eight AFL captains to fight drunken violence. Part of that message was to look out for one's mates.

Link:
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/judd-must-lift-his-game-off-the-field-20100213-nyji.html

One or two other journos have touched on Judd's great failure, but no one else has said this so clearly or so well.

Also, Sheahan was interviewed by Mark Fine on SEN today. Just heard bits, but he touched on his bad relationship with MM. He claimed that an article he wrote swayed the Bulldogs into appointing MM to the coaching position there. Sheahan is massively overrated.

It's nonsense Snag. I'm as fond of Carlton as anyone else, but a captain's job is to instill values, not to babysit his team-mates on booze cruises or the like. In fact, were he to do what Caro is suggesting, he'd likely be resented by his team-mates as the "dogooder" and his onfield leadership would suffer.

As for Caro, she's a gutter journalist pure and simple. The fact that she writes for the Age shouldn't mask the fact that her subject matter is almost exclusively holier-than-thou bullshit intended to scrutinize the public or private lives of footballers at every turn.

Mike Sheahan, like the vast majority of football scribes, can't actually write. But at least he doesn't engage in senseless unfounded muckracking and moralising for the sake of a few extra readers.

To answer the OP, I am yet to be convinced there are any good football journos at all. A shame, to be sure.

I'm with you there handypoint on Bucks and Harms. It's such cheap and unimaginative journalism to hop into the Pies by playing the toothless card etc.

In electronic, I like Walls and also love Dermie. Those two would probably be the most controversial. Liked Lloyd last night, got stuck into Tim Lane and Michael Christian came in and gave him a cuff too. Leigh Matthews is excellent.

It's nonsense Snag. I'm as fond of Carlton as anyone else, but a captain's job is to instill values, not to babysit his team-mates on booze cruises or the like. In fact, were he to do what Caro is suggesting, he'd likely be resented by his team-mates as the "dogooder" and his onfield leadership would suffer.

Your prejudice blinds you. Whether or not you agree with her, it's a well written and well argued piece. And she's right re Judd. His job isn't to babysit players, but it is to safeguard and promote the Carlton brand (already much tainted, so not easy), and instead he's stood by fingering his soul-spot while they've made collective dick-heads of themselves. If it didn't reflect on the club it wouldn't matter, but it does.

As for Caro, she's a gutter journalist pure and simple. The fact that she writes for the Age shouldn't mask the fact that her subject matter is almost exclusively holier-than-thou bullshit intended to scrutinize the public or private lives of footballers at every turn.

Mike Sheahan, like the vast majority of football scribes, can't actually write. But at least he doesn't engage in senseless unfounded muckracking and moralising for the sake of a few extra readers.

To answer the OP, I am yet to be convinced there are any good football journos at all. A shame, to be sure.

Martin Flanagan.:thumbsu: A great writer who just happens to write about football a lot.

Your prejudice blinds you. Whether or not you agree with her, it's a well written and well argued piece. And she's right re Judd. His job isn't to babysit players, but it is to safeguard and promote the Carlton brand (already much tainted, so not easy), and instead he's stood by fingering his soul-spot while they've made collective dick-heads of themselves. If it didn't reflect on the club it wouldn't matter, but it does.

What do they say, a broken clock is right twice a day Snaglant, and I think on this occassion she is on the money regarding Judd.

His sheepish grin in that Brownlow footage shows while he leads the way by personal example in preparation, his leadership in terms of setting the tone is ordinary. There's no point coming down hard the next day, he should have pulled him aside early in the nite and had a word.

That said, Caro is a bit of a guttersnipe. The stuff around Ball was atrocious and well off the mark.

I have no prejudice here. If it were a well-argued and well-written piece I would gladly admit as much. It's not. It is, as is the norm for Wilson, Andrew-Boltish shit, rife with hyperbole and ill-formed conclusions.

Perhaps you feel it is your duty to stand by one of the few female journalists. I imagine there's a natural reaction there when she's denigrated for her appearance or her lisp or whatever else by Bigfootyites when male journos generally escape that sort of shallow criticism. I get that. But all that doesn't erase the fact that her writing is shite. Caroline Wilson should not be your champion.

I have no prejudice here. If it were a well-argued and well-written piece I would gladly admit as much. It's not. It is, as is the norm for Wilson, Andrew-Boltish shit, rife with hyperbole and ill-formed conclusions.

Caro and the Bolter are miles apart. I rarely agree with what she says, but she states her case much more persuasively than Bolt.

Perhaps you feel it is your duty to stand by one of the few female journalists. I imagine there's a natural reaction there when she's denigrated for her appearance or her lisp or whatever else by Bigfootyites when male journos generally escape that sort of shallow criticism. I get that.

Yes I do feel hurt for her. That kind of cruelty pains my female nodules.

But all that doesn't erase the fact that her writing is shite. Caroline Wilson should not be your champion.

Not the place for an explication de texte, but reread her first 4 paras - clear, economical and dense. That's good writing, and she always writes with conviction.

She's not my champion - the Dalai Lama is my champion - but nor should she be your whipping girl.

Emma Quayle excellent at times.

Not sure Crackers should be classified as a journo as I think he is in the same category as Colin Wisbey. I agree both are shocking though - particularly the latter