Game Day Rd7 Geelong V Carlton Sun Apr 27 320pm @ MCG

Game day...

And its a big one.

Blues will be all uppity after winning and belting WC..... they will run hard ahead of the ball and Curnow will give COS a lesson - which is ok as he's gotta learn.

We will miss Jack and Kolo not being back wont help but he'd also gonna be underdone with match fitness if he was playing in the 23.

We can secure a Top 4 spot with the win and that's good as we are in a tough spot of games and wins here a very important for later in the season.

Gotta sit on their MF a bit for mine and not let them off the chain. MOC did number on the Hawks AA from last year... needs to pull another one like that again and stymie someone. Cripps cant be stopped so take a Walsh type out of it.

Hoping for a big day out for Jezza or Neale.

Wiltshire to slice and dice... ( got in early ) today with some nice work.

Want to see Ted in as well but a full VFL run wont hurt him

will be a fun watch.

GO Catters

PS - our record sans Miers is not great - someone or more like 2 people have to step in and make that happen. Miers is a massive loss.

Vossy will have the man power to challenge the cat's but will he have footy intelligence in the box to out coach his old premiership team mate 🤔
Sam Mitchell couldn't quite get it done for 120 minutes, sometimes wgt of numbers beats intelligence.
Massive game now that we've slipped into the 4 with the afl promoters dream match up coming up next week v the pies.

Little OF for this GD...

But

Wathcing the replay of Easter Monday with about 12 mins to go in 2nd 1/4 Blitz takes off running when the Hawks clear D f50 by hand.
Ths bloke is 198 cms and does his best Usain Bolt to not only chase but also use the best angle to get over ( meaning more distance) and effect the kick into F 50 which we then are able to contest. Blitz makes up easy 5-7 meters.

Dont care what he's asking for ( 1-2 years) pay the guy.

He's 198, 34 years old and still running like that... oh and can play ruck, defender, wing, Mid and forward.

Give him 2 years. Bloke has earned it.

And for relevance, will give Harry McKay an absolute spanking if he plays on him bc Mckay aint chasing him down at all.

Go Catters

TDK wont whip Stanley like he did SDK last year.

TDK will give Stanlwy a lesson im sure... but I wanna see SDK with a bit of mettle down back and not get beaten too much.
Reckon the softly spoken one will hold his own today.

Give Curnow a hard day.

GO Catters

Little OF for this GD...

But

Wathcing the replay of Easter Monday with about 12 mins to go in 2nd 1/4 Blitz takes off running when the Hawks clear D f50 by hand.
Ths bloke is 198 cms and does his best Usain Bolt to not only chase but also use the best angle to get over ( meaning more distance) and effect the kick into F 50 which we then are able to contest. Blitz makes up easy 5-7 meters.

Dont care what he's asking for ( 1-2 years) pay the guy.

He's 198, 34 years old and still running like that... oh and can play ruck, defender, wing, Mid and forward.

Give him 2 years. Bloke has earned it.

And for relevance, will give Harry McKay an absolute spanking if he plays on him bc Mckay aint chasing him down at all.

Go Catters
I like him against Curnow. SDK should go OK against McKay

Having watched the replay pretty closely (as live it can be tricky to track match ups and collate individual defensive 1v1s), SDK had a better game than COS defensively by quite a margin. As you'd expect him to.

COS' strengths at the moment are general intercepts and run and gun rebound, primarily across half back/wing. There's no way I'd put him on Curnow.

McKay would be an okay match up, or else just put him on a lesser name and let him run off them all game.

Having watched the replay pretty closely (as live it can be tricky to track match ups and collate individual defensive 1v1s), SDK had a better game than COS defensively by quite a margin. As you'd expect him to.

COS' strengths at the moment are general intercepts and run and gun rebound, primarily across half back/wing. There's no way I'd put him on Curnow.

McKay would be an okay match up, or else just put him on a lesser name and let him run off them all game.
I was talking about Blitz sorry. Wasn't that who Daz was referring to?

Whoops, my mistake - I misread that.

To be honest I don't mind SDK on Curnow, Blicavs on McKay and COS creating 2v1s to help either of them.

Blicavs should be able to work off McKay. But we'll probably see a few different rotations.

Just get it done, professional game and secure the 4 points.
This is what good teams do, if we ordain ourselves as a good team for 2025 then we win this game.
Bingo bango, just win baby. Big margin, little margin, who cares.

I actually think the Jezza engine is warming up and this feels like a 5 goal+ game from Cameron is incoming.

Really looking forward to seeing Wiltshire in action, hope he thrives on the excitement and has a solid first game
Close and Bowes are my picks to fill the void in Miers absence
Dekoning and Blitz have big roles today helping OSullivan
Neale important today too to be dangerous and not let Weitering have a field day

Whoops, my mistake - I misread that.

To be honest I don't mind SDK on Curnow, Blicavs on McKay and COS creating 2v1s to help either of them.

Blicavs should be able to work off McKay. But we'll probably see a few different rotations.
Yeah, we're not shortb of defensive talls, and our kryptonite - good small forwards, do not play for Carlton other than the 2 games a year Motlop plays well.

I think we'll be at a disadvantage in centre clearances and d50 stoppage but everywhere else we have the tools.