Re: Bye Bye Priority Pick

We are effectively out of the race already for a priority pick. We will win one of our last games. You can put a blanket over 5-7 very very good kids. We will nab one of them, thats all that matters. Watts and Naitanui stand out, but we aren't lacking key position posts or rucks. I'd like to see Rich or Ziebell come to Fremantle.

In terms of getting another good youngster in the teens. It shouldn't make a difference to our success.

I'd much prefer to see Schammer + Crowley continue their good form. Similarly Ibbotson and Palmer. With Hayden, Headland and Hasleby back next season, we should have a fair bit of depth. Hinkley with another preseason and same with Foster.

Winning against Port we effectively lost the PP. We won't lose to the Eagles. Though wierder things have happened.

Theirs no kid in this draft worth tanking for. None are blessed with line breaking pace and are clearance machines. Its either one or the other. Some have deadly kicks (Rich) and some are tall and built (Ziebell - Selwood clone IMO).

As long as we keep our 1st, 2nd and 3rd rounder. I'm not sure we can go wrong. Stuff the PP. Not worth losing the last 5 straight.

We are effectively out of the race already for a priority pick. We will win one of our last games. You can put a blanket over 5-7 very very good kids. We will nab one of them, thats all that matters. Watts and Naitanui stand out, but we aren't lacking key position posts or rucks. I'd like to see Rich or Ziebell come to Fremantle.

In terms of getting another good youngster in the teens. It shouldn't make a difference to our success.

I'd much prefer to see Schammer + Crowley continue their good form. Similarly Ibbotson and Palmer. With Hayden, Headland and Hasleby back next season, we should have a fair bit of depth. Hinkley with another preseason and same with Foster.

Winning against Port we effectively lost the PP. We won't lose to the Eagles. Though wierder things have happened.

Theirs no kid in this draft worth tanking for. None are blessed with line breaking pace and are clearance machines. Its either one or the other. Some have deadly kicks (Rich) and some are tall and built (Ziebell - Selwood clone IMO).
As long as we keep our 1st, 2nd and 3rd rounder. I'm not sure we can go wrong. Stuff the PP. Not worth losing the last 5 straight.

Is that the good Selwood??

Well done mate. You basically made it that i dont care about the PP over winning\:thumbsu:

I've been reading through this thread the past few days hopping that it will convince my head that I want the Dockers to win every game here on in (the 'heart' is not in question, I can't stand watching the Dockers lose). But that PP just seems so juicy. Its prob going to be equivalently to a reasonably good first rounder next season (say pick 10-15) to put it in perspective. There is little doubt in my mind we'll win one more this season. Port are unlikely which means that we will likely finish above them too, that makes it pick 4 then prob 23 as first two rounds. It's even more annoying when I think of this ...

The Eagles are the ones that annoy me. They'll get pick 2 + the pp.

... and they still have the bones of a premiership team to build with.

When the siren sounds it all fades away and I'm willing the boys on (this week especially, there is no way I'm tolerating a loss on Macca's last derby), but by mid-week I'm wondering again.:(

I've always hated this stupid system and now we're in the mix of it, I hate it even more!! It's quite literally taking away from the enjoyment of the whole thing. Bloody AFL:mad::mad:. It's screwing with my 'passion'.

Definitely. It's a ridiculous situation when supporters are put in a position of questioning whether they want their own team to win.

For the first time ever I went into a game last week hoping Freo would lose. It's a f**ked up feeling that I never want to experience again.

I'm pissed off with myself for thinking like that and I'm doubly pissed off with the AFL system for making me think like that.

Agree doubly :(

Triply.

I think it was esti who said elsewhere that you wouldn't tank for a higher pick, but you would tank for an extra pick. I agree totally. That's how it's working out here.

It annoys me that we will probably miss out on the PP now, yet tossers like the Toast will. Insult to injury. (Although a slimy spoon would cheer me up no end :thumbsu:)

Here's hoping we win the majority of our games from here on in, and that we get that top 20 pick through crafty trading, rather than poor form. And if we draft like we did last year, 2009 looks the goods.

Whats the relevance of getting Melbournes PP ?? People are getting too emotional, footy is a business and you do whats needed and take advantage of the opportunities that come along. If we win 5 we're basically losing Warnock for nothing. If we dont we get 3, 17, 19, 22 assuming we get their PP obviously.

We need the PP critically to help rebuild our list, its not as if we have next years draft uncompromised.

Having said that we cant lose the derby now given its Maccas last game. So its really irrelevant now.

Theres nothing really wrong with wanting to lose a particular game in my mind, as long as the reason is about improving us in the future. To me it's much easier watching us play when I want us to lose.... simply because when we win it's like.... wow, wasn't expecting that. Compare that to earlier in the season when we are like eating our hats as we lose another close one... at least back then a win meant something... now it means nothing. No finals in 2008.... so what do we play for? People want us to play for 2008 finals still... it's kinda ******ed.

Thing is I want to win this upcoming game for Macca... and it's just ****ed that we are in this position where we get screwed giving one of our greats the right send off. But yeah maybe the right send off for Macca is making sure Freo can win a premiership before he dies... not necessarily winning on his retirement day... who is to say.

Either way if we do win this week, every single freo player should be told that they just got a little bit of extra responsibility..... and maybe if they recognize this the PP won't be so important for us next year.

Melbourne have pretty much said they wont be trading any of their top 3 picks, so rules out trading Warnock for Melbournes PP. Hopefully we can find another team to trade with if Warnock wants to go back to Victoria.

Nobody is going to be trading highish picks given what's coming up over the next few seasons (unless someone like J.Brown seriously comes on the market which I think is unlikely). It makes this whole PP thing even worse because its in effect added value to the picks. Of course picks don't guarantee anything, but when you're having a clean out like we are, they certainly help.

if Warnock pisses off we'd probably get Melbournes PP.

I hope you're right Rev, but why would a team that finishes 16th with plenty of cap space offer a pick in the teens for an uncontracted player?

I reckon their offer will be pick 35, take it or leave it.

I hope you're right Rev, but why would a team that finishes 16th with plenty of cap space offer a pick in the teens for an uncontracted player?

That would be the max we would et from Melbourne I rekon, if Warnock does decide to leave we need to start a bit of a bidding war. Richmond are a team in desperate need of a young ruckman to help Simmonds. Hoping Warnock stays though.

because they have cc and possibly schwab joining them as well. they won't rip us off with a 3rd rd pick

nockers will stay anyway