Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Biggie

People on here are actually whining? Richmond thoroughly deserved the premiership, they were a choked prelim last year away from being back to back to back premiers. They've been the best team for three years and we smashed and grabbed last years Cup when Richmond were clearly head and shoulders above the rest of the league. There's no shame in that.

I don’t know about you but I was at the game last year when Richmond played us at Perth Stadium and Richmond did not look like the best team. On their 2 trips to Adelaide they got done. Then Collingwood easily beat them in the Prelim.

They finished on top because they won most of their MCG games. I agree that they have been the best team over the last 3 years but I think we were the best team in 2018 and did not just get lucky that Tigers choked in Prelim.

Can someone explain wtf is going on at the Crows?? Players bailing left and right, good players too yet theres not much noises around it atm

Looks like an actual crisis tbh
They'll be right.

Just start from scratch with a new coach.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

The point was GWS go access to so much talent they could handle players leaving. That's what the AFL is now trying with GC.

There is no fixing the retention problem in the short term. Only success and culture can do that and that takes time.

So the AFL is going to shotgun approach hoping enough players stick so GC work out.
For all the draft picks GWS had, their best recruits have been Davis and Ward and the culture developed under their leadership. Shaw important too.

The second best Selwood imo

1. Joel
2. Scott
3. Adam
4. Troy

Fight me.

Adam #1 for that Selwood Special against North which resulted in the Nic Nat hanger and goal after the siren. Everything else is just gravy.

That moment after the greatest of Brad Scott weeks. After the hilarious speculation about who would win the ruck battle between the AA Naitanui and Daw ('they're black gaiz', thanks Lingy).

It was the ultimate troll and the best week I've had as a supporter, premierships excluded.

Had a big night on the disco biscuits after attending the game with my N0rf mates in true WC fashion. Hit up Amps when it was still pretty good and went home with a dime.

Thank you Adam, my sweet prince.

Adam #1 for that Selwood Special against North which resulted in the Nic Nat hanger and goal after the siren. Everything else is just gravy.

That moment after the greatest of Brad Scott weeks. After the hilarious speculation about who would win the ruck battle between the AA Naitanui and Daw ('they're black gaiz', thanks Lingy).

It was the ultimate troll and the best week I've had as a supporter, premierships excluded.

Had a big night on the disco biscuits after attending the game with my N0rf mates in true WC fashion. Hit up Amps when it was still pretty good and went home with a dime.

Thank you Adam, my sweet prince.
Iconic

Didn't they do a pick swap or something last year?

That's what I thought. Carlton got the last pick in the first round last year from Adelaide in exchange for their first rounder this year.

Far be it for us to know more than the trade and draft "experts" at AFL.com.au.

Maybe it’s the first step towards NT Suns?

Not a chance - this has been in the works for a while now:

• In July it was first reported that the AFL would grant the zone rights for Darwin to Gold Coast:

• Then in August it was reported that AFLNT and Gold Coast had been in discussions for 12 months in regard to forming a mutually beneficial arrangement

• The AFLNT pulled the plug on the NT Thunder at the start of the month

• It was reported two weeks ago that Gold Coast will play a home game in Darwin in 2020 (likely against Essendon), with a deal in the years thereafter similar to GWS/Canberra, Kangaroos/Hobart, hosting multiple matches in Darwin to be agreed.

• Today we receive the news that Gold Coast will gain an additional four priority draft selections over the next three years and have exclusive access rights to the Darwin zone outside of the normal bidding process.

This is already impacting right now.

"As part of the package, the Suns' academy zone now includes Darwin, which will allow Gold Coast to acquire NT prospect Malcolm Rosas this year."

Several clubs, including West Coast, had already put in a good deal of effort in trying to recruit Rosas - with today's announcement he may as well already be on Gold Coast's list.

It is so very Machiavellian. The AFL has just killed off any chance of AFLNT gaining a licence in the foreseeable future and AFLNT is actually happy about it.

Gold Coast will remain Gold Coast and they will continue to lose. Players will continue to leave and predominantly the beneficiaries will be Victorian clubs.
The current Tasmania agreements will expire in 2021 and smaller Victorian clubs will be financially encouraged to play some home games in Queensland, ensuring in 2023 when the next broadcast rights are negotiated that two matches a week are available to the Queensland market, guaranteeing a record deal to be signed and a nice bonus for the executives. Cigars and huzzahs all round. :moustache:

They'll be right.

Just start from scratch with a new coach.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon their problems run far deeper than that. It's a total boys club, with all the arrogance of a good club and non of the success.

Imagine if West Coast had a record of losing players like Adelaide, there would be a royal commission.

No flags since 98, one GF and a string of senior coaches. They appear to have a culture of bullying and stand over non-sense from the administration down to the now former captain.

Every time i'm frustrated by my club I look to Adelaide for a bit of perspective and i'm thankful for pros like Nisbett. They should be a powerhouse like West Coast, but aren't, despite the similarities.

The Crows are the ultimate cautionary tale.

Not a chance - this has been in the works for a while now:

• In July it was first reported that the AFL would grant the zone rights for Darwin to Gold Coast:

• Then in August it was reported that AFLNT and Gold Coast had been in discussions for 12 months in regard to forming a mutually beneficial arrangement

• The AFLNT pulled the plug on the NT Thunder at the start of the month

• It was reported two weeks ago that Gold Coast will play a home game in Darwin in 2020 (likely against Essendon), with a deal in the years thereafter similar to GWS/Canberra, Kangaroos/Hobart, hosting multiple matches in Darwin to be agreed.

• Today we receive the news that Gold Coast will gain an additional four priority draft selections over the next three years and have exclusive access rights to the Darwin zone outside of the normal bidding process.

This is already impacting right now.

"As part of the package, the Suns' academy zone now includes Darwin, which will allow Gold Coast to acquire NT prospect Malcolm Rosas this year."

Several clubs, including West Coast, had already put in a good deal of effort in trying to recruit Rosas - with today's announcement he may as well already be on Gold Coast's list.

It is so very Machiavellian. The AFL has just killed off any chance of AFLNT gaining a licence in the foreseeable future and AFLNT is actually happy about it.

Gold Coast will remain Gold Coast and they will continue to lose. Players will continue to leave and predominantly the beneficiaries will be Victorian clubs.
The current Tasmania agreements will expire in 2021 and smaller Victorian clubs will be financially encouraged to play some home games in Queensland, ensuring in 2023 when the next broadcast rights are negotiated that two matches a week are available to the Queensland market, guaranteeing a record deal to be signed and a nice bonus for the executives. Cigars and huzzahs all round. :moustache:

Honestly I think a greater Queensland/NT partnership would have been the way to go from the beginning.

Realistically NT is never going to get an AFL team, they're half the size of Tasmania. But currently too many capable players are falling through the cracks. It needs investment and i'd rather it be the GC getting access over a powerhouse club.

The problem remains the Gold Coast, the transient population and a lack of local connection to the club. And the jumper, like seriously, please burn it. Other parts of Qld, especially the North actually give a fig about footy.

The picks however are bs and could not have come at a worse time for us.

That's what I thought. Carlton got the last pick in the first round last year from Adelaide in exchange for their first rounder this year.

Far be it for us to know more than the trade and draft "experts" at AFL.com.au.

Adelaide gave Carlton pick 19 last year in exchange for agreeing to swap first round picks this year.

Well, I just came back from hell. Went to the GF hoping GWS wouldn't fold like a pack of cards and it turned out so much worse than I imagined. I have never, in my entire life, seen such a one sided crowd as that grand final. It was 85,000 Richmond Gerald to 15,000 Giants "fans" (most of whom were probably Collingwood supporters in disguise). The ultimate dickride the AFL's money whore were given ended up being a complete and utter nightmare. There was nothing redeeming in that trip, I should've just followed my gut and never went.

And now, every other supporter base on BF has to endure another year of the ferals on here, probably more ****ing irritating than 2017. Burning effigies of the opposition teams players is not sane; they are, and always have been, the worst supporter base in the league.

7 consecutive ****ing games at the ****ing MCG, all against top 8 competition, and no one bats a goddamn eye. You get swarmed by the campaigners if you dare to bring it up on the MB. What a goddamn waste of five days.

Another year wasted for the sport of Australian rules football.

I rate Longy, I'm worried Freo will become a highly skilled, highly drilled team now. Especially with their above average list.

If he does it will be years before they come good with their wonky age profile. And by then Fyfe will be in his 30s.

And regardless even if they do, you'll win either way ep, surely that's something to be optimistic about! 😉

Well, I just came back from hell. Went to the GF hoping GWS wouldn't fold like a pack of cards and it turned out so much worse than I imagined. I have never, in my entire life, seen such a one sided crowd as that grand final. It was 85,000 Richmond Gerald to 15,000 Giants "fans" (most of whom were probably Collingwood supporters in disguise). The ultimate dickride the AFL's money whore were given ended up being a complete and utter nightmare. There was nothing redeeming in that trip, I should've just followed my gut and never went.

And now, every other supporter base on BF has to endure another year of the ferals on here, probably more ******* irritating than 2017. Burning effigies of the opposition teams players is not sane; they are, and always have been, the worst supporter base in the league.

7 consecutive ******* games at the ******* MCG, all against top 8 competition, and no one bats a goddamn eye. You get swarmed by the campaigners if you dare to bring it up on the MB. What a goddamn waste of five days.

Another year wasted for the sport of Australian rules football.
The worst thing is they think their team is some special dynasty team since they've gone premier-minor premier-premier.

Dustin, Riewoldt, Rance (who missed 2019), Cotchin, Nankervis, Houli & Edwards are the only blokes worthy of sitting with the likes Brisbane 2001-2003, Geelong 07/09/11 and Hawthorn 2013-2015. The rest aren't fit to lick their boots clean. It's all game plan

Sorry to intrude. But why are Eagles fans so utterly triggered at the Tigers? We have no rivalry as far as I'm aware. In fact we love you guys for your magnificent comeback from behind victories against the Pies in 2018.
Put away your bitter tears and join us in celebrating one of the most emphatic premiership victories in history, with a wonderful and heart warming West Australian back story.

Sorry to intrude. But why are Eagles fans so utterly triggered at the Tigers? We have no rivalry as far as I'm aware. In fact we love you guys for your magnificent comeback from behind victories against the Pies in 2018.
Put away your bitter tears and join us in celebrating one of the most emphatic premiership victories in history, with a wonderful and heart warming West Australian back story.

The fact you posted on here to seek validation just three days after winning a flag probably tells you all you need to know.

Sorry to intrude. But why are Eagles fans so utterly triggered at the Tigers?

Why are Tiger supporters going through the off-season threads on other teams boards trying to astroturf over everyone talking about your shonky flag? Just enjoy the ride you got from Corporate and ignore everyone else.