Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Biggie

Theres a Ben McKinley game that comes to mind, I think he kicked 5 vs North Melbourne or Essendom

kicked 5 v bulldogs and 7 v bombers that same year. Kicked 40+ for the year.

Barely been a week since The GF and not 1 mention of Richmond on the main board.

When ur team wins the flag the couple of weeks afrer are a weird feeling. Like you want to celebrate more but everyone has moved on.

Doesn't help that this year irs already November.
Same as when we one the GF. Went to listen to SEN and they spent a couple of hours reviewing the game then was pretty much all trade talk

Fox footy podcast didn't even release a post grand final episode. The only season they never made one. 😣

Can't believe we accepted pick 86 for him after 89 goals in 46 games, guess we simply wanted to offload him. At least he ended up only managing 2 games at Norf.

Ben actually is a terrific bloke.
I coached against him in Melbourne and had some small coaching input with him when he played Vic Metro and with The Northern Knights.

Very bright young man and while he attained some very high goals in Football, he also was very focused on his Law Degree and his future Law Career .
He left Perth to return home to practice Law in his Home State and since leaving Perth he has done well developing his career.

McKinley is a reminder to us all that AFL football is not the be all and end all to everyone, as hard as it may seem for us footy tragic's, its only a game.

The trade to North was a token gesture, that enabled him to get home.

Side note Carlton had been heavily into Ben and wanted him to join them, but we were never going to accommodate that trade request and Ben new this, hence the easy passage to North.
We had no issue with Ben requesting to go home, just that since the Judd defection we haven't done a trade or pick swap with Carlton.

I do get a chuckle knowing that he and Tom Swift were referred to as " The Oxford Scholars " by the rest of their Eagles team mates, as neither of them were part of the... yeah nah set ..... as the conversations between the Ivanhoe Grammar Law Student and the Christchurch Grammar Medicine Student may just have been somewhat less earthy and a bit more intellectual than the rest of their team mates conversations.

I coached against him in Melbourne and had some small coaching input with him when he played Vic Metro and with The Northern Knights.

Very bright young man and while he attained some very high goals in Football, he also was very focused on his Law Degree and his future Law Career .
He left Perth to return home to practice Law in his Home State and since leaving Perth he has done well developing his career.

McKinley is a reminder to us all that AFL football is not the be all and end all to everyone, as hard as it may seem for us footy tragic's, its only a game.

Side note Carlton had been heavily into Ben and wanted him to join them, but we were never going to accommodate that trade request and Ben new this, hence the easy passage to North.
We had no issue with Ben requesting to go home, just that since the Judd defection we haven't done a trade or pick swap with Carlton.

I do get a chuckle knowing that he and Tom Swift were referred to as " The Oxford Scholars " by the rest of their Eagles team mates, as neither of them were part of the... yeah nah set ..... as the conversations between the Ivanhoe Grammar Law Student and the Christchurch Grammar Medicine Student may just have been somewhat less earthy and a bit more intellectual than the rest of their team mates conversations.
They would still both call Brayden 'Anus' though i reckon

Not sure if true or not but apparently during that trade period in 2007 Carlton had approached Richmond and offered them pick 3 for a player as a gesture in order for Richmond to not pick Judd in the PSD (tigers had pick 1 in the PSD). Richmond went straight to the AFL in disgust and Carlton had egg on their face. Unsurprisingly we have a strained relationship since (unfortunately will probably mean Cripps will go to Freo if he returns home next year). Kinda pleased they've been shitting the bed ever since as a result.

That's really good insight.

Very pleased he's done well for himself, always good to hear those sorts of stories for former players, particularly when the headlines still have Cousins and Kerr in them.

Not sure if true or not but apparently during that trade period in 2007 Carlton had approached Richmond and offered them pick 3 for a player as a gesture in order for Richmond to not pick Judd in the PSD (tigers had pick 1 in the PSD). Richmond went straight to the AFL in disgust and Carlton had egg on their face. Unsurprisingly we have a strained relationship since (unfortunately will probably mean Cripps will go to Freo if he returns home next year). Kinda pleased they've been shitting the bed ever since as a result.

How'd you work those mental gymnastics? He'll be a FA, so Carlton can go EABOD

Gonna be honest I think our list management are real brain dead trading Hogan, we're supposedly only getting a pick in the 40s too. Dumb ****ing move, we're gonna regret this me thinks

Have we had many spuds that destroy teams?

Petch kicked 5 but we lost by 50.

Maybe Metropolis who kicked 6 v StK in early 1992 (4 with his first 4 kicks in AFL)

didnt Laurie Belotti take on and shut down Kouta and everyone felt he had arrived?

I seem to recall that McDougal had a good early game against Brisbane in Brisbane, then did very little thereafter

Gonna be honest I think our list management are real brain dead trading Hogan, we're supposedly only getting a pick in the 40s too. Dumb ******* move, we're gonna regret this me thinks
Hogan is a gun. Freo shouldn't be trading him IMO. Stop moving him around the field and leave him forward to kick his 40+ goals like he did at Melbourne. One of the dumbest moves ever. GWS would be laughing right now.

Gonna be honest I think our list management are real brain dead trading Hogan, we're supposedly only getting a pick in the 40s too. Dumb ******* move, we're gonna regret this me thinks

And it's the Hogan LEAVING that is getting you to that realisation?

Not getting him in the first place.

Or bringing in Harley.

Or pretty much any other list management move in the club's entire pitiful existence?

Hogan is a gun. Freo shouldn't be trading him IMO. Stop moving him around the field and leave him forward to kick his 40+ goals like he did at Melbourne. One of the dumbest moves ever. GWS would be laughing right now.
I agree, he's got the talent in him, and without him we're only down to two key forwards on the entire list. Unless we're getting another forward this just looks dumb, Brown has chosen the Dees, Mihocek has chosen to re-sign, I don't know what we're doing here.

I think you're in for some boring low scoring footy again 2021

yes, he had a slowish start at freo. But he was adjusting to a new system, and to be fair, the entire midfield were young and couldn't hit a target. It takes time to build that mid-forward chemistry with your players.

Instead Jlo tried sticking him on a wing, in the backline, then leaving him out of the team all together. No wonder he had a shit attitude...

It's not Hogan's ability, it's his attitude and his off field behaviour.

Good move by the Dockers getting rid of him and freeing up some coin.