TAS relocation rumours?

on footy classified tonight they were saying something about how the afl has all but confirmed (or sounded out or something along those lines) that a team is going to be relocated to tassie, and they suggested that it is likely in the next 5-6 years.

have i missed something huge? the way they were talking about it, they were making it sound pretty certain rather than just their ''gut feelings'' (mind you those two nutters on there do make up some rubbish).

It's Collingwood
they're absolutely sick and tired about the accusations of never being forced to travel, and they want to prove everyone wrong

plus they see how the fans of South Melbourne and Fitzroy hung around for Sydney and Brisbane, so they beleive they can monopolise an entire state while still maintaining their traditional fan base in Victoria.

It's all about the $$$ people

The most logical option would be Hawthorn seeing as they have been playing games there regularly over the past few seasons.

The big carrot for them might be that they would get to keep their Melbourne-based fans because they would be playing there virtually every second week (which is probably what they get now).

The fans could also slip down to Tassie every so often for a weekend to see them play there (it's only an hour away by plane) and that is on top of the Tasmanian people jumping on board too.

They would more than likely be in line for some solid sponsorship across both states etc.

Come to Bellerive! She has lights now ^_^
I will take on whoever (Apart from Hawthorn) it is as my second team and buy a membership.

The most logical option would be Hawthorn seeing as they have been playing games there regularly over the past few seasons.

I will move to NT, I actually will.

It's Western Sydney, the AFL is giving the "concept" 3 years to work, and when it fails with average crowds of under 10k, and the side is leaking dollars, they will be forced to move to Tassie.:p

on footy classified tonight they were saying something about how the afl has all but confirmed (or sounded out or something along those lines) that a team is going to be relocated to tassie, and they suggested that it is likely in the next 5-6 years.

have i missed something huge? the way they were talking about it, they were making it sound pretty certain rather than just their ''gut feelings'' (mind you those two nutters on there do make up some rubbish).

There is a a whole world of difference between your opening sentence and brackets.

For a serious candidate look outside Victoria.

I was going to start a similar Tassie related thread. The "rumour" emanated from an interview Demetriou gave on 3AW before the game on general AFL issues.

Tim Lane inevitabley brought up the question of Tassie getting a team. Vlad said that it was inevitable they would get a team - seemed very definite about this.

He was then asked if the Tassie team would be within 20 years. Vlad replied (again rather definatively) that it would "be within 10 years".

When asked if the team would be brand new (strongly advocated by Lane) or a relocated Vic team, Vlad simply said that both were possibilities - to soon to say.

That interview was the basis of the Footy Classified report. The 3AW panel later discussed where the team should be based - Hobart or Launceston, and this prompted callers from Tassie giving their opinion.

It's Western Sydney, the AFL is giving the "concept" 3 years to work, and when it fails with average crowds of under 10k, and the side is leaking dollars, they will be forced to move to Tassie.:p

not too far fetched actually

Might be a touch off topic, but I think any club moving to Tasmania would face a massive 'go home factor'.

For example, let's say Franklin is married to his current model GF Kasia Z. Are they going to want to live in Tassie? She is removed from the action so to speak for work and Franklin is away from the Melbourne scene he seems to enjoy ;)

Just think it would be huge and would see at lease some quality players leave. I know I personally would hate to trade Melbourne for Launceston/Hobart.

I know I personally would hate to trade Melbourne for Launceston/Hobart.

I think everybody feels the same way about their home city mate.

No wonder the AFL are dragging their feet with the alternative smaller stadium. Hard to get an unwilling club to move when they have somewhere profitable to play at.

It all comes down to timing, whoever is in woeful condition off-field in 5-10 years wont be looking so flash.

At least clubs have some time to get their house in order.

Won't be North. Arocca has confirmed we're not one of the three clubs allegedly keen to start playing home games there, which would be the natural first step to a full relocation.

Quite frankly your theory makes no sense. Richmond & Hawthorn both will be playing games in Tassie regularly and in all honesty, both are too strong to ever relocate.

I reckon they will get their own team and one team will make way for them, hopefully Port Adelaide. :thumbsu:

Quite frankly your theory makes no sense. Richmond & Hawthorn both will be playing games in Tassie regularly and in all honesty, both are too strong to ever relocate.

I reckon they will get their own team and one team will make way for them, hopefully Port Adelaide. :thumbsu:

if hawthorn have a real bad few years they wont be so strong.....even in their successful years their attendance isnt great imagine what it will be if they are richmondised. is a while away before hawthorn hit the skids due to franklin roughead hodge bateman etc being reasonably young. can happen though look at west coast

Perhaps.

But Melbourne isn't my home city, so I'm a fairly neutral judge.

I thought you were a Launnie boy judging by "The Cupboard" ;)

Perhaps in the short-term, but I think the AFL will favour having a club play there that is a good chance to relocate. We weren't the first club to play games on the Gold Coast but they moved heaven and earth to get us up there so they could spring their trap.

TBH I think the cloak n' dagger stuff worked against them, big time, with us. I think they will just come out and offer up a package that is too good to refuse that will guarantee the club that takes the offer not only survives but thrives.

The offer they gave us was very easy to refuse because it would have resulted in our death as a club, if they want to get a club to move, willingly, the only way it will work would be co-location, with the option to relocate fully down the track.

I think the new club will need a strong Melbourne presence for 25+ years, playing say 8 home games at Tassie and a few big games in Melbourne combined with a guaranteed number of Melbourne based away games for the Melbourne members would get Tasmania in the door in the short-term.

Otherwise, I think it will be a very long wait for Tasmania. AFL can't afford to lose Melbourne games without taking a big hit in broadcasting revenue. I have doubts if the NSW/QLD markets will mature enough within 10 years to change that radically.

Yeah nah.

It's the great paradox.

We're protected from any such measures by the SANFL's Affiliation Agreement (the SANFL owns the two AFL licences and has complete autonomy within the state of SA), but it's the money we bleed to the SANFL that is scuttling our finances.

If anything in that ballpark was going to happen to us it would be an incredibly silly rebranding move a la 'South Coast Power' or 'FC Power' akin to North Melbourne's incredibly successful dropping of their name at the end of 1998.

Perhaps in the short-term, but I think the AFL will favour having a club play there that is a good chance to relocate. We weren't the first club to play games on the Gold Coast but they moved heaven and earth to get us up there so they could spring their trap.

TBH I think the cloak n' dagger stuff worked against them, big time, with us. I think they will just come out and offer up a package that is too good to refuse that will guarantee the club that takes the offer not only survives but thrives.

The offer they gave us was very easy to refuse because it would have resulted in our death as a club, if they want to get a club to move, willingly, the only way it will work would be co-location, with the option to relocate fully down the track.

I think the new club will need a strong Melbourne presence for 25+ years, playing say 8 home games at Tassie and a few big games in Melbourne combined with a guaranteed number of Melbourne based away games for the Melbourne members would get Tasmania in the door in the short-term.

Otherwise, I think it will be a very long wait for Tasmania. AFL can't afford to lose Melbourne games without taking a big hit in broadcasting revenue. I have doubts if the NSW/QLD markets will mature enough within 10 years to change that radically.

Sorry but you are kidding yourself. Richmond has the 3rd most members in Victoria and Hawthorn either 1st or 2nd, it simply won't happen.

North are clearly the prime candidate for relocation whether you like it or not. The membership drop off the year after they refused the Gold Coast relocation just proves that they are unsustainable, they have the least members of any Victorian club by around 6000.

At least Melbourne was able to fund raise within their supporter group to wipe out their own debt plus they have over 33,000 members now which isn't too bad.

Like it or not the afl will push for north Melbourne to tassie.

Western bulldogs will be pushed to NT.

3rd Perth team I hope doesn't happen it will be the nail in the coffin for the wafl. What I'd prefer to see instead is a second tier comp 2 best sides from each comp is a reserves style comp. Worst two teams are relegated for the best in their state.

Or a conference system where the best two from each comp play against each other for the cup.