CAB12

Furies
Hey there,

I have no idea if there is a thread and where it is, so why not create one.

I want you guys to nominate as many Tigers games as you like for any reason and we can eventually have a list of matches or a few lists under different headings.

Categories

Best Finals Games
Closest Games
Comeback Games
Individual Excellence In A Game
Overcoming the Odds
Controversial Games

etc.

These do not have to be when we win but obviously majority will be, this can be favorite games that you have been at or simply watched.

I think having categories and even broken up into decades can create more games with a bit of background info.
So add a brief description to each nomination and a category you would put it, add more categories if you wish.

So....
a few examples of recent times.
v Essendon 2008 - Bowden rushes behinds, controversial, future rule added
v Brisbane 2008 - Comeback in the final quarter
v Adelaide 2005 - Adelaide on top (I believe) winners by 3 pts

They are not that great but little examples to kick things off.
I will edit this post with lists and we can all eventually decide on an order in each category.

Thanks TIGERS!!!

EDIT:
Nominate for all category's and we will vote and argue what should be the top 5 for each each category at a time.
I will see if we can have seperate threads for each Category and then we can go from there.

Then once all is voted we will have our top 5 games for each decided. Then we can move into years? or decades and individual players if this is all a success.

Once all is final and everything ahs been voted upon. It will be displayed in this image!

o0z57t.png

Best Finals game - Qualifying Final against Carlton at Waverly 1980

Closest Games - Think we drew with Essendon in the late seventies.

Comeback games - against Hawthorn - Spiders cheekbone cracked by Stafford helping to give Frawley era one of the few delights. The comeback against Essendon in 1995 is too obvious and will be given a good go from posters who follow.

Individual excellence - Bartlett in any of the finals in 1980

Overcoming the odds - Any game we won in the late eighties because we were shit. The Carlton game in 1988 rates up there as one of them.

Controversial games - We won a game against Fitzroy in the nineties that came from a very poor decision. Saved us from embarrassment. Can remember Doug Hawkins remonstrating so it was in that year where it would have been very embarrassing. Cant remember the decision but even as a Richmond supporter I thought they were hard done by.

BTW - sorry for my age. Im not happy about it either.

now im only basing these answers on my age (20) so i haven't seen much glory in my time.
Best Finals Games
2001: Carlton. i was only 11 years old but the memory of ray hall slamming one home from 50 will always stay with me.
Closest Games
Ive been to many nailbiters, but the one that stands out most is a game in which jarrad oakley nicholls made his debut. the 2 point thriller against the dons in 2006
Comeback Games
I can remember 2005 when we came back from 41 down against the hawks at the dome. But this year against the swans (not much of a comeback i know), was great for me. it was my birthday, i went out on the town with me mates the night before, got one hour sleep, me mates wouldnt get up when it was time to go for the game, so i went alone, watched andy collins nearly die then get up and kick two goals to win us a great game of footy.
Dream time 2007. its family tradition to attend all richmond essendon games (half tigers, half scum:D) and i remember sitting in my seat, and then the announcer announced the teams. RICHO WAS ACTUALLY GONNA PLAY!! after getting his face destroyed a week earlier. he went on to kick 5 goals, and got cheated out of a match winning 6. But thats when i knew i would always love the big fella.
Overcoming the Odds
The following game nearly made me cry. as a 14 year old kid. We were absolutely terrible in 2004, and we came up against the reigning premier brisbane at the gabba. Jay shultz had a ball and kicked 6, only for us to relent the pressure midway through the fourth term to lose by 18 (i think). i was absolutely shattered. i can remember steven qaurtermain saying "this will be the biggest boil over in history" unfortunately it wasnt to be...
Controversial Games
Hate to be boring but joel bowdens step over the line game in 08. i was there with my brother (the only family member to make it) and my 3 bomber mates. i went off my **** when the siren went. and its obvious i didnt get any shouts at the pub after.

Comeback Games
I love re-watching the second half of our Round 22 game this year vs Port Adelaide (Cuzzy's final game). Would've been incredible if we could've pulled it off.

Probably Nathan Brown tearing Collingwood to shreds in Round 8 2005, kicking five goals in the final quarter on James Clement to guide us to a seemingly impossible victory.

Or Jack's 10 goal haul vs West Coast this year. Unstoppable from the fifth minute of the game onwards.

Overcoming the Odds
2005, Round 21 vs Hawthorn. Came back twice from 41 points down with Kayne Pettifer kicking the goal to put us in front from 1 metre out with 50-odd seconds remaining. Heart-stopping.

Best Finals game - Qualifying Final against Carlton at Waverly 1980

Closest Games - Think we drew with Essendon in the late seventies.

Comeback games - against Hawthorn - Spiders cheekbone cracked by Stafford helping to give Frawley era one of the few delights. The comeback against Essendon in 1995 is too obvious and will be given a good go from posters who follow.

Individual excellence - Bartlett in any of the finals in 1980

Overcoming the odds - Any game we won in the late eighties because we were shit. The Carlton game in 1988 rates up there as one of them.

Controversial games - We won a game against Fitzroy in the nineties that came from a very poor decision. Saved us from embarrassment. Can remember Doug Hawkins remonstrating so it was in that year where it would have been very embarrassing. Cant remember the decision but even as a Richmond supporter I thought they were hard done by.

BTW - sorry for my age. Im not happy about it either.

Pretty sure that was 1995. I think Knights got a free kick out on the wing and got a pretty dodgy 50m penalty. I think Knights took a few backward steps as Hawkins threw the ball back to him causing the ball to land a few metres short of him resulting in the 50.

Overcoming the Odds/Comeback game: Richo's 200th game against Port in 2005. The reigning spooners up against the reigning premiers. They got about 30 points up early in the 2nd quarter, but we went on to kick about 13 goals in a row and ended up flogging them. Not a massive comeback but very enjoyable with Richo taking a screamer in the goal square mid streak and the crowd going beserk.

Best Finals Game - Probably the 67 GF is our greatest game. Either that or 69 1st semi, when we snuck into 4th and beat geelong by 118 - putting an almighty scare into the rest of the comp.

Closest game - Freo in 1999 - no way we ever win that game (in Perth) - and Ben Hollands kicks the last 2 goals in the last 5 minutes and we win by a point.

Comeback Game - the Stafford/Everett game - unbelievable turn-around.

Individual Excellence - Michael Roach had a couple of games in 80-81 where it was just 'Kick it to Roachy and get out of his way'. On his day (and there were really only a couple of days), the closest I've seen to Lockett as unstoppable. Maybe the hawthorn game in 81 (he kicked 9 or 10).

Overcoming the Odds/Controversial - I'm selecting the 2006 Adelaide 'Basketball Crap' game. We had already been beaten by 100+ points twice by Rd 6, Adelaide were top and had won their last 3 games by 56, 77 and 50 points. We were set up to be thrashed. We executed a brilliant ambush. An absolutely legendary game.

Comeback Games
I know it probably won't get a mention, because we lost, but round 22 against Port Adelaide, in Cuzzy's last game, was one of the most amazing things I've seen.

59 points down at one stage to then hit the lead, only to have the goal disallowed from a free kick. The sheer emotion from the players, Hardwick, the fans and even the commentators was something I haven't seen for a while, and won't forget.

It was a genuine shootout, and although we lost, it was one of the best Home and Away matches I've ever seen.

finals game: for me cant go pass the 1995 final against essendon

individual performance: in the same game Matty Knights single handedly keeping us in the game kicking 3 long running goals in the 1st half from the wing to keep us within reach.

individual performance take 2: yet again in the same game Scotty Turners two big hits against Grenvold and O'Donnell. Essendon never looked in the game after that!

Comeback Game: It really counted for nothing for us, but the Carlton Game Princes Park 1997 round 22. Carltank had to win to make the finals. We were 43 points down in the second quarter. Matty Rogers, Robbie Powell and Brodders got us going. The CEO was taking marks forward and back. Ross Funcke kicked the winning point. Many players with bandages on their heads, including B Harrison. I was blind and had 10 dim sims afterwards at the Rising Sun Hotel in Lygon St and fell asleep on the No1 Tram on way home.

The mothers day massacre!

It doesn't get any better than belting the black and white scum, but belting them as huge underdogs, when they are reigning premiers and you are shit is just magic.

hoggie hoggie hoggie!!!

How about 11 goals in in the second quarter Vs West Coast in 08 with Foley tearing up, Amazing stuff, moving the ball so quickly the eagles had no chance :thumbsu:

I agree with many here and I remember we had a few close games with Hawthorn I am sure in the 04- years. I am sure there were at leats 3 games in a row where Hawks v Tiges wee close and all those games were awesome.

Pretty sure that was 1995. I think Knights got a free kick out on the wing and got a pretty dodgy 50m penalty. I think Knights took a few backward steps as Hawkins threw the ball back to him causing the ball to land a few metres short of him resulting in the 50.

Thats it mate. I knew it had something to do with a goal to us and a dodgy one.

Would have been an embarrassing loss to the Lions that year. I remember being at Victoria Park that year with a Collingwood supporting mate with Fitzroy taking it up to the pies and losing it in the last quarter. Would have loved to have seen that shithole burned down. Would have made my decade.

Dream time 2007. its family tradition to attend all richmond essendon games (half tigers, half scum:D) and i remember sitting in my seat, and then the announcer announced the teams. RICHO WAS ACTUALLY GONNA PLAY!! after getting his face destroyed a week earlier. he went on to kick 5 goals, and got cheated out of a match winning 6. But thats when i knew i would always love the big fella.

I still get angry thinking about that game. Cheated is the right word for it alright. :(

Comeback Game: It really counted for nothing for us, but the Carlton Game Princes Park 1997 round 22. Carltank had to win to make the finals. We were 43 points down in the second quarter. Matty Rogers, Robbie Powell and Brodders got us going. The CEO was taking marks forward and back. Ross Funcke kicked the winning point. Many players with bandages on their heads, including B Harrison. I was blind and had 10 dim sims afterwards at the Rising Sun Hotel in Lygon St and fell asleep on the No1 Tram on way home.
This:thumbsu: Ripper of a game. Unfortunately it unleashed the Giesch.
Great thread by the way.:thumbsu:

Overcoming the Odds/Comeback game: Richo's 200th game against Port in 2005. The reigning spooners up against the reigning premiers. They got about 30 points up early in the 2nd quarter, but we went on to kick about 13 goals in a row and ended up flogging them. Not a massive comeback but very enjoyable with Richo taking a screamer in the goal square mid streak and the crowd going beserk.

I thought we lost that game, wasn't that the game were a really low number of fans came out to watch? And someone from the club criticized the fans for not coming to watch the champ. I recall we were down by plenty and then we drew level before Port ran away with it.

My favorite game would have to be the 2005 game against the Hawks in round 21 were we came back from a huge half time deficit to win 138-134, the roar at the siren was the loudest thing I have ever heard in my life, Friends watching at home and listening on the radio said all they could hear was a loud roar over the top of everything. I recall rich having a big game but I think it was Petifer or Hilton with the winner.

Might have to buy the game from Name-a-game so I can re-live it.

Edit: I think I'm talking about the wrong Tigers v Port game, it may have been the Round 17 game in '05 that I'm on about.

I thought we lost that game, wasn't that the game were a really low number of fans came out to watch? And someone from the club criticized the fans for not coming to watch the champ. I recall we were down by plenty and then we drew level before Port ran away with it.

My favorite game would have to be the 2005 game against the Hawks in round 21 were we came back from a huge half time deficit to win 138-134, the roar at the siren was the loudest thing I have ever heard in my life, Friends watching at home and listening on the radio said all they could hear was a loud roar over the top of everything. I recall rich having a big game but I think it was Petifer or Hilton with the winner.

Might have to buy the game from Name-a-game so I can re-live it.

Edit: I think I'm talking about the wrong Tigers v Port game, it may have been the Round 17 game in '05 that I'm on about.
nope, that was his 250th.

:)Richmond v Adelaide Round 15 1994 at AAMI Stadium.
Tigers emerged victorious by seven points in a twilight game, with Mark Neeld kicking the sealer just minutes from the siren, marking a high-ball from Matty Richardson.
I was there to see it ... and was far from my usual humble self ... giving it to as many Crows supporters as I could on the way out.
Spent the night at The Fox and Hounds in downtown Adelaide getting absolutely hammered.
From memory it was soething like our fourth straight win after a pretty ordinary beginning to the year and we ended up winning something like seven of the last nine!!
Good times!!!

Best Finals Games
1967 First semi final vs the cats absolute massacre. 25-17 to 7-7
Comeback Games
48 points down at qtr time vs Sth Melb
K Bartlett 1980 finals. No more needs to be said
Controversial Games
The windy Hill Brawl

Gee im showing my age

The mothers day massacre!

It doesn't get any better than belting the black and white scum, but belting them as huge underdogs, when they are reigning premiers and you are shit is just magic.

hoggie hoggie hoggie!!!

Old school and i agree. (and the game a few years back when we smashed the blues by about 80 points).

Finals - 95 v Ess. Was in the old Royal Exchange in Traralgon. Place was two thirds full of bomber supporters. They were giving it to us pretty hard for the first half whooping it up. Kings of the world you might say. By the end of the game, there was 10 of them left. Fair weather pricks. Gave them a rousing version of the song. I enjoyed it. But it was also our first finals appearance in 13 years, so it was significant.
Individual Excellence - Knights in the same game. Played his arse off. That guy bled yellow and black. (honourable mention to Scotty Turner for three of the best shirt fronts in our recent history).
Comeback game - not for the result, but for the man - v North - Mark Coughlan. Who doesn't remember the way the song was sung that night.

will never forget that game wow when richo took that mark and kicked that goal on half time siren the crow went nuts listen to the late great clintons call its on you tube gives me goosebumps :thumbsu: