RFC Best Games

• Thread starter Thread starter CAB12

Some rippers are being mentions, I am onyl 17 so only really know of the 2000 games. Wanted toc reate this thread to see if the fans can create a list of some great games in the history and from certain eras, and if fans were to purchse old games, what ones would they get? This would surely help.
If name a game were cheaper I for me would go nuts but pity its expensive.

As i have gotten older I can now go with mates to the footy and 08 was the first year I could do that.
v Bris was my favourite with the image of White Hi-5ing the cheer squad after his last qrt goal.
v Ess wehere Bowden crossed the line while no one knew what he was doing, this and his game against lions above were match winners.

There were a few more from that year that have stuck with me.

Ages ago I remember sitting level 2 at a final, Tigers V Bombers and all I can remember is bloody Lloyd kicking his 100th and the crowd running on. Bloody shits me that memory.

That game at Telstra Dome late in 2008 against Brisbane was a good one, with Mr Joel Bowden kicking three or four surprising goals including the matchwinner from 50m with only seconds remaining.

Cool as a cucumber, he was. :cool:

The best game could also be the time we played Essendon Sheedy and Hirds goodbye game. :) ahh what a day that was. Pro Essendon crowd something bad hahaha gave it 2 the essendon fans heaps. Just new as soon as i woke up that we were going to win.

Kevin-Sheedy-5627196.jpg

Spot on with Bowden, he was the highlight from the night, although the image of Whitey is stuck in my head. Loved that game. I was on mt seat cheering away, and the Essendon game/ Ha so glad we could ruin their night. Made my day again. Go Tiges

OK. This is looking to progress very nicely. So think we may as well make this official as we can and everyone should nominate as much as they like for any category and then we can have voting threads if allowed for each category and everyone can argue thier points. Then the voting will be considered along with the arguments and the top for that category can be finalised!

This will be great once done and I am making a graphic for the whole final result.

A pisser moment for me was when we were playing the lions at the Gabba, and Voss grabbed the ball, Browny called for it, Voss hits him with the handball, Brown goals, game over.

Keep in mind that I started following Richmond in 2000. Before then I wasn't interested in the footy.

Best Finals Game: For me it's got to be defeating Carlton the finals in 2001. Thats the only finals game we won since I started following the footy, but the fact that it's against Carlton just adds to it.

Closest Games:There have been many. I can't tell you the best closest game, but I can tell you the worst. It's against Melbourne in 2009. We played the worst brand of football I could imagine but we were well in the game. It was clear that the Demons coaching staff were doing everything possible to lose the game. McMahon marks on the siren and kicks a goal winning us the game. I have never came from the ground pissed off of winning until that day. I spent 3 hours of my life watching a farce of a game. Winning means nothing if the other team deliberately gives it to you.

Comeback Games: I think it was against Hawthorn in 2005. We were 52 points down in the middle of the second quarter. I was with my dad for that game. He wanted to leave at half time but being the delusional tiger fan I am I convinced him to stay believing we can come back from that. For once my delusion payed off.

Individual Excellence in a game: I can barely remember midfielders performances and I can't even remember any games our defenders play. So for me it comes down to the forwards. There is no denying that for a forward to kick 10 goals in the modern game is a special moment. That brings in Richos 10 goals or Riewoldts 10 goals. For me it's Richos 10 goals. Richo was in his twilight years and despite his great talents, he has not much to show for it except for being the leading goal kicker for our club for most of the decade. He hasn't had much success because 1/ had has had an injury plagued career and 2/ he never had decent support around him. Richo kicked 10 goals against the bulldogs and effectively single handedly won us the game. While Riewoldts 10 were great, if he only kicked 3 or 4 in that game we still would have won.

Overcoming the odds: The game that stands out for me is winning against Essendon in Rd 22 in 2001. At that point of time Essendon and Brisbane looked like they were light years ahead of the rest of the competition. Winning this game wasn't just overcoming the odds, but it put us in 4th place giving us the double chance for the finals.

Contraversial Games: Rd 17 Bulldogs 2001. This game was all about payback for Liber king hitting Knights. I hated the Bulldogs since Rd 2 2001 until Liber retired in 2004 because of that. It was a top quality game with the lead changing frequently and with both sides determined to win. With Richmond winning meant that we were a certainty to make the finals and Bulldogs losing meant they were pretty much knocked out of the finals race.

o0z57t.png

The above image is just something I thre together which will contain all the games voted by us here. So we will start with the top left and I will open a new thread where proper nominations can go and eventually a poll can be set up, thought on the process?

2008 against brisbane - couldn't go and it was a delay on the television so was listening on the radio biting my fingernails. I was with my brisbane lion's mate and when Joel Bowden kicked that winning goal I had never been so excited. 114-117 win. Also could remember him going ******* after an hour of rubbing it in his face.

Overcoming the odds: The game that stands out for me is winning against Essendon in Rd 22 in 2001. At that point of time Essendon and Brisbane looked like they were light years ahead of the rest of the competition. Winning this game wasn't just overcoming the odds, but it put us in 4th place giving us the double chance for the finals.

Hate to break it to you, but that is probably one of the the worst games in our history. Essendon had sewn up top spot, and it was aquestion of who finished 4th - us or Carlton. Essendon decided they wanted to play us in wk 1 of the finals and so they basically 'threw' the game - played players out of position, half strength side. THe following week they took it seriously and he game was over by 1/2 time.

My fave game was Richmond 69 - Geelong 220+, miserable saturday night at the TD. Watched the game on my own after 3 of my friends bailed 2 hours before Kick-off... Oh boy.