AFL Autopsy RND 7: Loss Against The Magpies

The good, bad and the ugly for round 7

The Good;

Zac Reid -
Start with the real unicorn from that 2020 draft. Zac Reid. Genuinely looked like he was playing with a different ball at times. Took three (or four?) intercept marks, one - on - one. Kicking looks so classy. If you'd tell me he's played 15 games id laugh you out of town.

Sam Durham -
Another who is just built for this type of football. Hard, tough and thrives as the level goes up. He just needs more mates. His efforts and repeat efforts really stood out as he went toe-to-toe with Nick Daicos at times.

Nate Caddy -
Arguably my second biggest positive from the game. I was starting to worry about his lack of shots on goal and the effort but today gave me a glimpse of of what we can expect. 4 shots on goal is a great result for a second year key forward against arguably the premiership favourites. Love his competitiveness to continue to harass and pressure.

Jordan Ridley -
He really is class. Looking to get back to his best and today was a huge step forward.

The bad;

Steele Sidebottom, Nick Daicos, Jamie Elliot, Scott Pendlebury -
Seriously, the lack of attention on three blokes who forever and a day have torched us is staggering. Daicos(x2) joining the party now and passed the baton onto. We just knew the Sidebottom would be allowed to do what he wants, same as Daicos. Elliot kicks goals on us every time and our lack of cohesion in the D50 showed up again. Medium defenders a real worry. Redman, Prior, McGrath. Ridley the only pass imho and McGrath's first half.

Jade Gresham -
Questioned the acquisition when we recruited him and continue to question it. When he is good, he is really good and why we got him but those games are few and far between. Time for a rest in the twos because whatever he is meant to be doing in the seniors, is not good enough.

Senior core in there prime (Martin, Perkins, Jones, McGrath, Redman) -
Making this a group one but these guys are simply to choosy when they want to turn up. I would prefer a consistent 5 each week than a 7 one week and 3s every other. Jones will be done at years end, Redman has been a shell of himself, Perkins needs to find some consistency & competitiveness whilst Martin is the epitome of this group. Hard tough match and he was hardly sighted. McGrath was exceptional in the first half, worst on ground in the second half. Stay in your lane son.

The ugly;
Team selection -
Yep, need to pile on with this as well. Poor again from Scott. Starting to lose faith in what he is trying to do. I understand he is wanting to implement a system to the group but still need to play to conditions. Lost at selection and never recovered.

Forward entries and defensive transition -
Same shit, different week. The amount of times Pies were able to walk it through us from the back half was embarrassing. Our entries into F50 are still diabolical and we are screaming out for more marking targets.

OVerall, cant complain about the result. Went almost exactly how you would expect.

Young exuberant team unable to cope with pressure of competition leaders, claws back some ascendancy only for said premiership contender to stay switched on and see the game out much better against a gassed young legs.

anyone that actively watch u18s over the years etc etc, how the hell did mcgrath end up being the number 1 pick?
so many of that group didn't put there hand up to be the clear cut number 1 selection. Was a raffle even up to the night before who was going number 1

He's just horrible with the ball.
I don't have a problem with him being in the 23 because he is a good lockdown defender but I do have a problem with being a VC and one of our main distributors from backline. Someone give those two roles needs to show a lot more composure and on field leadership than Andy has ever displayed. He is so often a headless chook when we are under the pump.

How can people say they're happy after yet another game of not being able to defend defensive transition ffs. 3 ****ing years and we are still ranked last in the comp for it, 3 ****ing years guys.
Same ****ing shit, I'm over it.
Add turnovers when we are caught out defensively.

Good teams hit targets.

How can people say they're happy after yet another game of not being able to defend defensive transition ffs. 3 ****ing years and we are still ranked last in the comp for it, 3 ****ing years guys.
Yeah, trying to stay positive about the coach - but what I’ve seen over the last three years is actually a playing group who have been busting their ass in a broken non-contemporary system.

yet, I still think we persevere with Scott for the sake of continuity and hope the penny drops/we get the right people around him.

The good, bad and the ugly for round 7

The Good;

Zac Reid -
Start with the real unicorn from that 2020 draft. Zac Reid. Genuinely looked like he was playing with a different ball at times. Took three (or four?) intercept marks, one - on - one. Kicking looks so classy. If you'd tell me he's played 15 games id laugh you out of town.

Sam Durham -
Another who is just built for this type of football. Hard, tough and thrives as the level goes up. He just needs more mates. His efforts and repeat efforts really stood out as he went toe-to-toe with Nick Daicos at times.

Nate Caddy -
Arguably my second biggest positive from the game. I was starting to worry about his lack of shots on goal and the effort but today gave me a glimpse of of what we can expect. 4 shots on goal is a great result for a second year key forward against arguably the premiership favourites. Love his competitiveness to continue to harass and pressure.

Jordan Ridley -
He really is class. Looking to get back to his best and today was a huge step forward.

The bad;

Steele Sidebottom, Nick Daicos, Jamie Elliot, Scott Pendlebury -
Seriously, the lack of attention on three blokes who forever and a day have torched us is staggering. Daicos(x2) joining the party now and passed the baton onto. We just knew the Sidebottom would be allowed to do what he wants, same as Daicos. Elliot kicks goals on us every time and our lack of cohesion in the D50 showed up again. Medium defenders a real worry. Redman, Prior, McGrath. Ridley the only pass imho and McGrath's first half.

Jade Gresham -
Questioned the acquisition when we recruited him and continue to question it. When he is good, he is really good and why we got him but those games are few and far between. Time for a rest in the twos because whatever he is meant to be doing in the seniors, is not good enough.

Senior core in there prime (Martin, Perkins, Jones, McGrath, Redman) -
Making this a group one but these guys are simply to choosy when they want to turn up. I would prefer a consistent 5 each week than a 7 one week and 3s every other. Jones will be done at years end, Redman has been a shell of himself, Perkins needs to find some consistency & competitiveness whilst Martin is the epitome of this group. Hard tough match and he was hardly sighted. McGrath was exceptional in the first half, worst on ground in the second half. Stay in your lane son.

The ugly;
Team selection -
Yep, need to pile on with this as well. Poor again from Scott. Starting to lose faith in what he is trying to do. I understand he is wanting to implement a system to the group but still need to play to conditions. Lost at selection and never recovered.

Forward entries and defensive transition -
Same shit, different week. The amount of times Pies were able to walk it through us from the back half was embarrassing. Our entries into F50 are still diabolical and we are screaming out for more marking targets.

OVerall, cant complain about the result. Went almost exactly how you would expect.

Young exuberant team unable to cope with pressure of competition leaders, claws back some ascendancy only for said premiership contender to stay switched on and see the game out much better against a gassed young legs.

Throw in Peter Wright's intensity and mental space as a positive.

Was not in a good way last year but has done all the right things since coming back in.
Attack on the ball and the man has been the best it's been since his time at the club.

It's that type of competition he needs to bring every week because that's he stuff that matters and brings his other forwards into the game when he isnt kicking the long goals or taking the marks, stops him from being a total non factor.

This is my concern as well. Our Zone is neither containing or attacking. It just is. Which makes it incredibly easy to go through.

When we went on our run it looked like we had gone back to one on one defending as well

We have not been able to defend transition under the last 3 coaches. I think it says more about the players in the system or drafted than the coaches. If you want to look at yesterdays side.
Martin. poor defensively.
Merrett average defensively.
Setterfield. Slow and struggles to defend outside run.
Jones on the wing. Not enough footy IQ to defend on the wing.
Gresham. Seems to only defend one week in four.
Kako and Caddy still young and learning. It will come but as you would expect they have defensive lapses.
Shiel. Okay when he decides to do it like yesterday but often does not do it.
Perkins. Below average.
Hobbs lacks a little outside pace to cover.
It just leaves too many gaps and my view is it comes down to how we have recruited. We have not balanced it out.
Not saying all these guys have to go but you can not carry that many defensive liabilities.

You carry Merrett a bit as he adds offensively although I would like to see more effort in the team defence. Yes he has his moments where he does some great defensive stuff but he still has a bit of cheat mode in him. For me he just has to take a bit of Cotchin into his game a bit more and sacrifice a bit more. He is our best player and a good captain but I think he leaves a little in the locker defensive wise some weeks

Martin has to lift his offensive game massively if he is not going to be able to defend. That includes showing a bit more in contested situations. He has he ability but right now he is just cruising along on the outside playing bruise free football. He has to be in the best 8 on the ground every week if he is not going to defend all that well.

Setterfield is just an honest plodder. It shows that the midfield does need another 186-190cm midfielder that can play a physical style but has enough pace to cover the outside defensive needs.

Jones is pretty much done. The only reason he is playing is the wing options have been short in numbers. El Hawli is still getting the pace of AFL down pat. Durham has been needed more in the middle. The guys playing wing in the VFL are not up to the level.

Gresham is just too inconsistent. His good level is okay but it is more 1 in every 4 weeks and he is slow.

Shiel has been in good form and yesterday he was good again and did what he could defensively but his spot as the break out midfielder needs an upgrade in skill level.

Perkins simply has not got the footy IQ.

I like the way Hobbs plays and he has been playing well but he is not quick on the outside and if you combine that with several other players who are not overly quick and you have an issue.

I think you have to count turnovers as well in the equation regarding defending transition goals. When a turnover happens, defenders are usually horribly out of position. No team in the league are good at defending that.

We get scored massively off turnovers and 2 in particular killed us on the wing when the game was in the balance. There were also too many fwd 50 entries where there was no Essendon player there, only Pies for the easy mark.

Gut running to position doesn't help and we are poor there too.

Minimising turnovers is our biggest issue IMO.

I think you have to count turnovers as well in the equation regarding defending transition goals. When a turnover happens, defenders are usually horribly out of position. No team in the league are good at defending that.

We get scored massively off turnovers and 2 in particular killed us on the wing when the game was in the balance. There were also too many fwd 50 entries where there was no Essendon player there, only Pies for the easy mark.

It is a big issue and 100% it doesn’t help things.

Yeah same…I haven’t been to Marvel in about 10 years…the G is something else
It’s heaps easier for me to get to Docklands. I never get to Friday night games at the G but I might make a Docklands game. The experience of watching at Docklands is also a nice contrast to the G. I have seats up high there, and at boundary level at the G.

But I still would rather all our games at the G.

We're sometimes easily sucked into being happy with seeing the bare minium in effort and intent because it's missing so often. This fanbase has become numb to the losing and are just happy with seeing effort, we are that far gone.

We really need to prioritise foot skills at selection. The Tsatas and Parish injuries have taken those possibilities out of Brad's hands. Even going to our backline what a difference having Reid and to a lesser extent Prior kicking the ball and what that makes us look like exiting defence.

Yeah, even Roberts is pretty good.

But Reid, wow he could be even better than Ridley, so assured with the ball and great ground skill for such a tall player. Will be unstoppable when he fills out a bit. Fingers crossed he has got over the bigger injuries.

AFL Autopsy RND 7: Loss Against The Magpies