Round 1 2012

I might be wrong, but do remember Doughty was on Hill for at least two of Hills marks (one in front of a pack and one on a lead) and Reilly once. Jaensch was beaten twice.
So it wasn't just him that got beaten by Hill.

Jaensch wasn't beaten for height, he was beaten on the lead. He just didn't have the footy IQ to compete with Hill, who led him a merry chase.

Jaensch kicked 1.1 (a supergoal & failed supergoal attempt). If Hill didn't have a severe case of the yips then Jaensch's defensive failures could well have cost us 4 goals.

There's no doubt at all that he had a massive impact in the minutes immediately following his entry into the game. However, West Coast really hurt us by kicking to his man when they had the ball. He is lucky that his defensive failures didn't hurt badly - but the only reason for that is Hill's failure to convert (largely from short range). Jaensch cannot take any credit for Hill's inaccuracy.

I know it's harsh, but I honestly think that Jaensch will miss out on R1 selection. Believe me, that's a massive surprise to me too.
Jaensch isn't that bad defensively though, with the right match up he will be fine. Hill is a tricky customer, he's very athletic, huge leap and is quick off the mark. He got caught out tonight but Hill should never be the type of player Jaensch is on. For me Jaesnch's offensive qualities off the HBF are a must. He'll also take kick in duties where he's by far the best option IMO. I do think it'll be touch and go though, hoping he gets selected- it's a toss up between Dogga and Jaensch at this stage. Reilly has been excellent and has found his spot down back I think.

I might be wrong, but do remember Doughty was on Hill for at least two of Hills marks (one in front of a pack and one on a lead) and Reilly once. Jaensch was beaten twice.
So it wasn't just him that got beaten by Hill.
Exactly. Hill had 8 shots on goal versus Doughty, Reilly and Jaensch. Better drop all 3.

I really want to see Callinan and Wright in the same team as I believe there is room for both of them in the same forward line.

Wright is a hard tryer, nothing flashy. Callinan is a creator and just makes us play better. No room for both in our side. Too many smalls if we play Patrenko, Wright, Callinan and Yaensh.

Does Talia play round one.

I thought Otten and Shaw effectively being our key defenders in second half was a good experiment.

Possible backline?

Shaw Rutten Reilly
Jeansch Otten Johncock
I think the back six will be as below but Id rather have Henderson than Otten as he is quicker.

Johncock Rutten Reilly
B Smith Shaw Otten

Does Talia play round one.

I thought Otten and Shaw effectively being our key defenders in second half was a good experiment.

Possible backline?

Shaw Rutten Reilly
Jeansch Otten Johncock
Bass on AA said pretty much the same. Talia not in his round 1 side.

Jaensch wasn't beaten for height, he was beaten on the lead. He just didn't have the footy IQ to compete with Hill, who led him a merry chase.

Jaensch kicked 1.1 (a supergoal & failed supergoal attempt). If Hill didn't have a severe case of the yips then Jaensch's defensive failures could well have cost us 4 goals.

There's no doubt at all that he had a massive impact in the minutes immediately following his entry into the game. However, West Coast really hurt us by kicking to his man when they had the ball. He is lucky that his defensive failures didn't hurt badly - but the only reason for that is Hill's failure to convert (largely from short range). Jaensch cannot take any credit for Hill's inaccuracy.

I know it's harsh, but I honestly think that Jaensch will miss out on R1 selection. Believe me, that's a massive surprise to me too.

Geez Vader I reckon that's harsh. And like others have said before, Jaensch wasn't the only one beaten by Hill. Jaensch's up side is enormous.

I know a lot of people think Dogga will be a lock for round one but this was his first entire match for the preseason and he looked ordinary. If he plays hopefully he has a much better game but there are other small defenders that can come in and play well if he doesnt.

The knocks on Jaensch are harsh. Hill had a good game and was beating everyone that stood him. He plays tall for his height too. Jaensch took a couple of ripping marks in defense and his disposal by foot would have to be in the top 3 of our club. I'd be disappointed if he doesn't play round one.

ok so after last night I've had a think about the team for round 1. Damn it is difficult!

Assuming both Rutten and Douglas play, here is the team as I see it:

Johncock - Rutten - Otten
Reilly - Shaw - Henderson
McKay - Thompson - van Berlo
Vince - Tippet - Lynch
Douglas - Walker - Porplyzia

1R: Jacobs - Dangerfield - Sloane

INT: Doughty - Smith - Callinan
Sub: Jaensch

Some points;

• I genuinely can't see Reilly or Doughty being left out of the team. Their experience and harder bodies will be kept.
  • I MUST have Callinan in the team. His ability just can't be left out. He is one of a very few players (Vince, Porps, Jaensch) that you know when he gets the ball it is going to hit a target. TBH Porps form is a worry at the moment. I'd have Callinan ahead of him.
  • MUST have Lynch. His lead up work ethic is excellent and will provide a great foil for the Tipp/Walker combo.
  • As much as I love the pressure Petrenko provides, I just can't find a spot for him.
  • Prefer Shaw over Talia, but Talia's extra height is useful. Really don't know how they will sort the back 6 out. Perhaps best to not consider Otten a tall defender, but then where does he play?
  • Bl@@dy hell this is hard! Amazing what having a full list does for you!

Geez Vader I reckon that's harsh. And like others have said before, Jaensch wasn't the only one beaten by Hill. Jaensch's up side is enormous.

Don't worry about Vader. He attempts to justify his man-love for certain players by rubbishing undeserving players. Jaensch is ten times the player Doughty is. He isn't even that much bigger than Jaensch.

Back six:
Johncock Rutten Otten
Jaensch Shaw Reilly
Henderson on the bench, looked good last night.

Centre:
Van Berlo Thompson Smith
Jacobs Sloane Dangerfield

Forward line:
Lynch Tippett Vince
Porplyzia Walker Callinan

Leaving Henderson, McKay, Kerridge and Douglas/McKernan on the bench (depending on match-ups)

I am finding it hard to have Doughty in team, just because he is 'experienced' and a 'hard body'. Johncock, Reilly and Rutten is enough leadership and experience in the backline for mine. Doughty has compeition for spots now, and i can see younger players pushing him out. Doughty is having inconsistency which is a worry as well as is his continued reliance on playingon backwards and handballing.

B: Johncock Rutten(if unfit, Talia) Otten
Jaensch Shaw Reilly

C: Mackay Thompson Vanberlo

F: Porplyzia Tippett Vince
Petrenko Walker Lynch

Foll: Jacobs Dangerfield Sloane

Interchange: Mckernan Smith Callinan Sub: Henderson

Vader is going to look very silly when doughty misses round 1 :D
Not at all. He will play and you'll be the one with egg on your face (you and everyone else who's been suffering from shiny new toyitis all pre-season).

As I posted in the Kerridge thread:
Doughty is probably in a similar situation to Edwards in 2010. His pre-season hasn't been great and he was arguably our worst player last night (honourable mention to Petrenko, who managed to redeem himself with a goal in the 4th quarter after a couple of awful shanks in the 3rd).

He has more than enough brownie points in the bank to play in R1. There is almost no chance at all of him being dropped at this point in time.

He'll probably be given around 6-8 weeks. If he hasn't returned to form by that time (and there was never anything wrong with his 2011 form) then he'll continue to be selected "for as far as the eye can see". If he is still struggling after R6-8, then he will face the axe, just like Edwards did 2 years ago.
As for my R1 team.. Callinan has now clearly won the battle with Wright. Lynch performed much better than McKernan last night and would play in R1 if this were the only consideration. However, the selectors still need to take team structure into consideration, with McKernan able to provide ruck relief for Jacobs. I'm thinking it's a 60-40 decision in favour of Lynch.

The other one, which is bewildering, is Jaensch vs Henderson. With Johncock, Doughty & Reilly "locks" for selection, there's only room for one of Henderson & Jaensch. I must admit that I never saw this one coming, having always regarded Jaensch as a "lock". I have little choice to assume that Henderson has the job, given that he played the entire MMC GF while Jaensch was only given half a game. I wouldn't be surprised or upset if Jaensch got the nod ahead of Henderson.

My R1 team prediction is now:
FB. Johncock Rutten Otten
CHB. Reilly Talia Henderson
C. Mackay Thompson VB
CHF Douglas Tippett Petrenko
FF. Lynch Walker Porps
R: Jacobs Vince Sloane
Int: Doughty Dangerfield Callinan SUB Smith
Emerg: McKernan, Jaensch, Kerridge

Not at all. He will play and you'll be the one with egg on your face (you and everyone else who's been suffering from shiny new toyitis all pre-season).

As I posted in the Kerridge thread:

As for my R1 team.. Callinan has now clearly won the battle with Wright. Lynch performed much better than McKernan last night and would play in R1 if this were the only consideration. However, the selectors still need to take team structure into consideration, with McKernan able to provide ruck relief for Jacobs. I'm thinking it's a 60-40 decision in favour of Lynch.

The other one, which is bewildering, is Jaensch vs Henderson. With Johncock, Doughty & Reilly "locks" for selection, there's only room for one of Henderson & Jaensch. I must admit that I never saw this one coming, having always regarded Jaensch as a "lock". I have little choice to assume that Henderson has the job, given that he played the entire MMC GF while Jaensch was only given half a game. I wouldn't be surprised or upset if Jaensch got the nod ahead of Henderson.

My R1 team prediction is now:
FB. Johncock Rutten Otten
CHB. Reilly Talia Henderson
C. Mackay Thompson VB
CHF Douglas Tippett Petrenko
FF. Lynch Walker Porps
R: Jacobs Vince Sloane
Int: Doughty Dangerfield Callinan SUB Smith
Emerg: McKernan, Jaensch, Kerridge

Think this team pretty close though personally would not have Doughty or Douglas with no lead in game time in team though agree they will be .
However no way will Smith be sub as this guy is already one of our better players and going to be a star and probably even climb above Sloane etc in ranking.
Agree Callinan in and to compare Petrenko and Wright is in same class is crazy as this guys class around packs etc and vision etc is a huge add to this team.
Whilst we all love Petrenkos commitment I do not see him as a regular especially up forward.
Really impressed with Lyon strong worker and real footy brain.
No wonder Walker found a bit more.
Bet they are sorry did not have a better look at Jenkins as McKernan just not up to it.
Some good headaches

Jaensch was the wrong match-up for Hill anyway.

I agree with the call earlier that McKernan, Kerridge and Wright as definite outs.

From there I'm torn. I think Talia needs to stay in - we don't really have a CHB without him. If we play any team with two KPFs we need him.

Has Doughty blown his round 1 spot? At this stage I wouldn't be surprised with either outcome. With Reilly really standing up down there, Doughty's spot is certainly less secure. Particularly if Talia does miss, Doughty will be on thin ice.

I'd like to see Petrenko remain in the side. His forward-line pressure is enormous, and he can go all over the ground if necessary.

Smith, who I wasn't sure had quite done enough to force his way into a side that is difficult to pick, had a ripper last night so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Ditto with Henderson.

I like Shaw but I see it as a battle for three spots with Otten and Henderson. Henderson is probably the most versatile and that may get him over the line.

Here's my best attempt:

B: Johncock Rutten Reilly
HB: Otten Talia Jaensch
C: Thompson Dangerfield Van Berlo
HF: Lynch Tippett Vince
F: Porplyzia Walker Callinan
R: Jacobs Sloane Douglas
INT: Petrenko Smith Henderson
SUB: Mackay

EMG: Doughty Wright McKernan

First week I'd think about making Douglas the sub, putting Mackay in Jaensch's spot, Jaensch to the bench and Petrenko into Douglas' spot just because he hasn't played for a little while.

If Doughty does go in, I'd drop Mackay who still looks a touch off the pace for mine. I'd really rather see Mackay play though, so, sorry Doughty :eek:

Jaensch was the wrong match-up for Hill anyway.

I agree with the call earlier that McKernan, Kerridge and Wright as definite outs.

From there I'm torn. I think Talia needs to stay in - we don't really have a CHB without him. If we play any team with two KPFs we need him.

Has Doughty blown his round 1 spot? At this stage I wouldn't be surprised with either outcome. With Reilly really standing up down there, Doughty's spot is certainly less secure. Particularly if Talia does miss, Doughty will be on thin ice.

I'd like to see Petrenko remain in the side. His forward-line pressure is enormous, and he can go all over the ground if necessary.

Smith, who I wasn't sure had quite done enough to force his way into a side that is difficult to pick, had a ripper last night so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Ditto with Henderson.

I like Shaw but I see it as a battle for three spots with Otten and Henderson. Henderson is probably the most versatile and that may get him over the line.

Here's my best attempt:

First week I'd think about making Douglas the sub, putting Mackay in Jaensch's spot, Jaensch to the bench and Petrenko into Douglas' spot just because he hasn't played for a little while.

If Doughty does go in, I'd drop Mackay who still looks a touch off the pace for mine. I'd really rather see Mackay play though, so, sorry Doughty :eek:

No idea where the Jaensch knocking is coming from, he was one of our better players when coming on, he wasn't on Hill all the time, it seemed Reilly spent a fair bit of time on him, that and Jaensch seemed to be floating in backline, Doughty was also on him for a bit, I'm sure Hill took the mark when Doughty never attempted to spoil..

I think the 2 players that need to go out are Otten and Doughty..Experienced players showing terrible decision making and skills..

My Team:

HB: Shaw Talia Jaensch
C: Thompson Dangerfield Smith
R: Jacobs Sloane Van Berlo
INT: Petrenko Henderson Mackay
SUB:Douglas

EMG: Kerridge Wright McKernan

It's a hard one to pick... Kerridge unlucky, could take Petrenko's spot??

No idea where the Jaensch knocking is coming from, he was one of our better players when coming on, he wasn't on Hill all the time, it seemed Reilly spent a fair bit of time on him, that and Jaensch seemed to be floating in backline, Doughty was also on him for a bit, I'm sure Hill took the mark when Doughty never attempted to spoil..

I think the 2 players that need to go out are Otten and Doughty..Experienced players showing terrible decision making and skills..

My Team:

HB: Shaw Talia Jaensch
C: Thompson Dangerfield Smith
R: Jacobs Sloane Van Berlo
INT: Petrenko Henderson Mackay
SUB:Douglas

EMG: Kerridge Wright McKernan

It's a hard one to pick... Kerridge unlucky, could take Petrenko's spot??
Hope the team will be this. I like Jaensch as sub as he can provide a spark up forward with his long goals but can also move onto wing and backlines so he is flexible. Loses his man in defence to often though. We need speed in the backlines as Rutten, Reilly and Talia are slow so the other 3 need to be quick and Johncock , Henderson and Shaw are all quicker than Otten or Doughty. Our fwd line is not quick without Petrenko up there but Callinan makes up for this being a two sided player . Last night if he didnt have his left foot when kicking for goal and had to swing on to his right he would have been caught HTB. Douglas will play crumbing fwd alot this year.

HB: Henderson Talia Shaw
C: Smith Dangerfield Mackay
R: Jacobs Sloane Thompson
INT: Petrenko , Van Berlo, Douglas
SUB: Jaensch

Here's my best attempt:

For me, Kerridge instead of Douglas. Swap Mackay and Henderson. I feel Henderson is more adaptable, either forward or back, whereas Mackay is primarily a mid-fielder.
Whatever the eventual team is, it's good to be in a position to leave out good players.

Hope the team will be this. I like Jaensch as sub as he can provide a spark up forward with his long goals but can also move onto wing and backlines so he is flexible. Loses his man in defence to often though. We need speed in the backlines as Rutten, Reilly and Talia are slow so the other 3 need to be quick and Johncock , Henderson and Shaw are all quicker than Otten or Doughty. Our fwd line is not quick without Petrenko up there but Callinan makes up for this being a two sided player . Last night if he didnt have his left foot when kicking for goal and had to swing on to his right he would have been caught HTB. Douglas will play crumbing fwd alot this year.

HB: Henderson Talia Shaw
C: Smith Dangerfield Mackay
R: Jacobs Sloane Thompson
INT: Petrenko , Van Berlo, Douglas
SUB: Jaensch

+1 :thumbsu:

F: Wright, Walker, Porplyzia
HF: Lynch, Tippett, Callinan
C: Vince, S.Thompson, Van Berlo
HB: Dogga, Talia, Jaensch
B: Johncock, Rutten, Otten

R: Jacobs, Sloane, Dangerfield
INT: McKernan, hendo, B. Smith, Douglas (sub)

Emergency: Mackay, L Thomson, Shaw, Knights,

If people are worried about our KPDs, I am as well tbh, and that Tex isn't contesting well enough... let's throw him to CHB for a bit. Make him learn how to get his body involved in the contest more.

Need to revise a bit based on last night.

Mackay did enough to squeeze back in.
Dogga showing signs of slowing right down.
Reilly forced his way into my good graces. Still perfect whipping boy tho. You couldn't leave him out on his last few performances
Kerridge can't quite squeeze anyone out.
Smack not done enough to displace a consistently contributing lynch.
Pets struggling a little with pressure... Would displace wright comfortably..but gone with matty for round one.

F: Callinan Walker, Porplyzia
HF: Lynch, Tippett, Vince
C: Van Berlo, S.Thompson, Mackay
HB: Reilly, Talia, Jaensch
B: Johncock, Rutten, Otten

R: Jacobs, Sloane, Dangerfield
INT: Wright, Douglas, B. Smith, Shaw (sub)

Emergencies from: L Thompson, Knights, Dogga, Smack, Kerridge, Petrenko

F: Petrenko Walker Porplyzia
C: Van Berlo Thompson Smith
HB: Reilly Talia Henderson
B: Johncock Rutten Otten

R: Jacobs Sloane Dangerfield

INT: Douglas Doughty Shaw (S)Callinan
EMG: Kerridge McKernan Jaensch Mackay Wright

Really tough job for the selection panel this week...