Round 1 vs Adelaide

Cosmic Starchild

WCE
I reckon this is a pretty important game for us. Away wins are so valuable for us, and we won't get a better shot at 4 points on the road than this match.

In the past, McLeod and Ricciuto have had days out against us, but I can't see them getting a lot of support this season.

I'm pretty confident - I just hope we produce our best football. A win could allow us to get away to a flying start in 2005, as the first 6-8 rounds could be very kind to us.

The other thing is that Adelaide don't have the dangerous key forwards that sometimes hurt us. If Staker and Glass can't hold Stevens and Welsh then talk of our improved defence is overblown.

Go Eagles! No excuses. I hope we smash them!

we've been crap at footy park for a long time and never understimate the Crows there.

I'd be happy with a win regardless of the margin. It'd be 1 of about 5 or 6 away wins we'll need to make the top four.

Exeter said:
we've been crap at footy park for a long time and never understimate the Crows there.
Exactly.

If this side is as good as the hype suggests, then it's time we started to shrug a few of these monkeys on our back.

I don't think we will win against Adelaide.. have said so for weeks now and this is why.

• Our 2 best forwards are coming back off injury.... IF they play.. and thats a big if.. they will be underdone with no preseason and you wouldnt expect to go there and kick 10 between them.
  • There is a time when you don't want to play bottom sides like Adelaide... and thats in Round 1 to 5. Look at us against the Bulldogs last year... we had to play our best football to beat them and they were super impressive in that game.. 10 weeks later they are crap. Every club is even this time of year.. and start fresh. You are better off playing Adelaide when its Round 15 and their hopes of getting in the finals are gone and sides with no depth like Adelaide have to play young kids due to the invariable injuries you will get.
  • Our record in Adelaide is poor.

Given that... a win is a bonus more than a necessity at this time of year. Lots of good sides lose a interstate match like this in Round 1 and finish top 4. Not the end of the world.

Exeter said:

I'd be happy with a win regardless of the margin. It'd be 1 of about 5 or 6 away wins we'll need to make the top four.
a more balanced view than your mate.... :rolleyes:

I think WC have the personnel to go top 6 this year....it will all depend on how you travel. If your current streak at AAMI continues....it might just open up some mental scars that could fester for the season. Obviously you have a great midfield, but Roo and Macca should get good support from Goodwin (who we basically haven't had for 18 months thru injury), Edwards, and Reilly.
I think we can rotate our forwards well enough to make an impact, and I reckon we might have your forwards covered except for Matera as usual. Also I think if Cox plays - we might struggle to hold him, Seaby and Gardiner.

Should be a good game, WC should be favoured on paper, but it's been a big summer and we will come out all guns blazing..... :)

I think I agree with Ex.

We have a series of about 5-6 away games against bottom 8 calibre sides, we'll need to win most of those to compete for top 4.

We will probably never have a sustained period of the season where our best possible side is on the park and everything goes our way luck wise. Basically, we just need to take every chance that comes our way.

With the players available and the calibre of Adelaide's side, we should be a good chance to win this game. Converting 'good chance' into 4 points on a regular basis is pretty much the difference between top 4 and borderline 8.

Mead said:
I think I agree with Ex.

We have a series of about 5-6 away games against bottom 8 calibre sides, we'll need to win most of those to compete for top 4.

We will probably never have a sustained period of the season where our best possible side is on the park and everything goes our way luck wise. Basically, we just need to take every chance that comes our way.

With the players available and the calibre of Adelaide's side, we should be a good chance to win this game. Converting 'good chance' into 4 points on a regular basis is pretty much the difference between top 4 and borderline 8.
That's what I said up-front.

Exeter was talking it down saying how crap we've been at FP and how we shouldn't underestimate the Crows.

Mad Dog said:
Obviously you have a great midfield, but Roo and Macca should get good support from Goodwin (who we basically haven't had for 18 months thru injury), Edwards, and Reilly.

Isn't Goodwin still suspended or something and aren't your 2 best rucks injured?

I think we'll win. I think our team will be more ready than theirs due to better match fitness. Our record at AAMI is a concern, but with a young and rapidly improving side our travelling win/loss ratio is bound to improve. I'm also tipping the Crows for bottom four this year. Too big a gap between their top players and their fringe players. I like their midfield, but there's not really anyone else there who excites me. Hentschell looks promising, McGregor is good, but of the top of my head No one really stands out.

franky_mojojo said:
Isn't Goodwin still suspended or something and aren't your 2 best rucks injured?
Yes, Goodwin is suspended for R1, so I expect we will have to use Shirley in a tagging role on Judd, particularly given Thompson is also probably going to be out with injury. Edwards & Reilly I expect will play in the middle at times with Roo & Macca - probably Burton & Mattner on the wings.

Hudson will lead the rucks. I believe both Biglands & Clarke (along with another 11 players) are having a hitout for their SANFL sides this week, which will go a long way to working out our selection.

I can't see this being a high scoring game with both teams lacking quality forward lines. You have the better team, but we have home ground advantage. Should be a close game.

Its a 50/50 game IMO. No one really knows what changes Adelaide have made to their gameplan over the offseason. This could work to our advantage as they try to implement a new gameplan. If their midfielders fire though we will be in trouble because they have the edge in KPPs.

coasting said:
Its a 50/50 game IMO. No one really knows what changes Adelaide have made to their gameplan over the offseason. This could work to our advantage as they try to implement a new gameplan. If their midfielders fire though we will be in trouble because they have the edge in KPPs.

Which'll be the first and last time this season :( .
IMHO it will depend on whether Cousins, Kerr and Judd can take it up to Mcleod, Ricciutto and Edwards. I have the eagles just ahead in midfield and the crows only slighty ahead in KP. If I was Woosha i'd almost be tempted to give Judd a run at FF ....

**Hides from debris thrown in his direction**

franky_mojojo said:
yep - you're right - Goodwin is out....brain fade.... :o

Clarke is slightly underdone...Hudson is raring to go...and Biglands is 50/50 at this stage. If he doesn't come up I think Meeson will play as NC will need to match your talls and in principal likes the idea of playing 3 ruckman.

Easter Sunday, Oh boy I can already see it now.
I reckon she will be a close one but unfortunately I can see the crows getting up. I have been to so many games at AAMI (Footy Park) when West Coast were dominating and the Crows were struggling and we still couldnt win. The games were alwaya close but we could never get over the line. Maybe things will change on that day. (Geez I hope so) I have to say though that Crows supporters dont rub it in your face as much as those other scum.

we gotta worry about the one guy who always plays fantastically against us, andrew mcleod

hey crows fans, whats the hype behind macca this year??? hes second or third favourite for the brownlow at the moment, why is that?

zero said:
we gotta worry about the one guy who always plays fantastically against us, andrew mcleod

hey crows fans, whats the hype behind macca this year??? hes second or third favourite for the brownlow at the moment, why is that?
He dropped his wife, who apparently gave him grief all last year, the club dropped his coach who was giving him grief all year, he got fit, which was giving him grief all year.

I think this game is too close to call apart from home town bias

We suck at AAMI. But im hoping our far better list will be enough to get us over the line. We must contain Riccuito and McLeod and we are halfway to winning. Handy to have Stinger and perhaps Wooden will get a game to play on either one.

Adelaide dont have any dominant forwards so that will play into our hands. We have to win really to set the tone for the rest of the year. It will be a big game, but then again, round 1 no matter who you play is always a big game!

outback jack said:
macca is finished, well his best is behind him anyway, he needs support around him, of which there is little. If you're are ever going to win in adel, this will be your big chance. Crows are a chance to win though, a slight chance.
go back onto the Adelaide board and say that you naughty little troll

I can't believe how downbeat WC people are about our chances. This is a game we should win!

Adelaide are in a rebuilding phase and will be bottom 4 this season. If we want to imrpove in 2005, these are the games we need to win.

We have the best midfield in the competition and Adelaide's key forwards won't hurt us like Fevola and Whitnall did.

With Phil and Doogs coming back in, our forward line looks more settled. Cox will be back as well.

We should win well.

Cosmic Starchild said:
I can't believe how downbeat WC people are about our chances. This is a game we should win!
I don't know about down beat. People are just wary about our AAMI record and rightly so. I think we'll win but I'm not overly confident about it. I'd rather WCE supporters be a bit more downbeat and humble than being cocky and obnoxious (and don't worry those types are unfortunately among us).

Adelaide are in a rebuilding phase and will be bottom 4 this season. If we want to imrpove in 2005, these are the games we need to win.
Too true.

We have the best midfield in the competition and Adelaide's key forwards won't hurt us like Fevola and Whitnall did.
We have the best, but not by much. And only slightly better than a number of teams. Our midfield is still getting beaten too much for my liking. They have a fair bit of consistency to go before they can be in the Brisbane 2000-2004 class. Adelaide's forward and back structures don't excite me one bit. Craig has his work cut out for him.

With Phil and Doogs coming back in, our forward line looks more settled. Cox will be back as well.
This won't work in our favour. I'd back Matera to pick up where he left off from lasts year's H&A but would expect Doogs to take a bit of time to adjust. Cox is a question mark. Very hard to be full of confidence after returning from a broken nose or jaw. Might take him some time.

We should win well.
I hope so, but our poor record might subdue us a little.

IMHO Andrew Mcleod is the X factor in this game, reports from the training track were saying he was in great form and should be in the running for a brownlow, in the trial games he has been solid without being exceptional, if he has been holding back waiting for the real stuff he could annihalate West Coast but if he is in poor form West Coast should win this very easily.

Burton's hamstring is buggered and won't be playing till at least Round 4. Adelaide will be fielding and understrength midfield without Burton and Goodwin :(