Opinion Round 2 Changes vs. Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Says who? If their doctor examines him and he passes all the tests, why wouldn't he play provided he wanted to? What's another week going to do?

Not much different from us playing Johnson at the end of last year with a crook back.

Says who? If their doctor examines him and he passes all the tests, why wouldn't he play provided he wanted to? What's another week going to do?

Not much different from us playing Johnson at the end of last year with a crook back.
Head injuries are more serious than back injuries. You can't really have surgery to repair brain damage...

I'd say they'll give him a test on match day, if he passes and is feeling up for it he'll play. But given the way most concussions go, I'm guessing that's about a 10-20% chance of happening. But they may as well name him in case he has an abnormally quick recovery.

I'm being a douche, but, it isn't entirely different in that it risks the long term health of the player. Brain injuries are terrible and I wouldn't want to risk it. Wouldn't want to risk long term damage to my back either personally.

IF
Bartel passed the tests, was cleared to play and wanted to, he should be able to play. Just like the club doctor passing Johnson or Mzungu or any other injury. You're either fit to play or you aren't.

Are the guys flying out today or tomorrow? What's the forecast on Sunday?

I suspect that if it's wet, MDB and Subes may get a lease on life.

Good point but I would also rate Mzungu equally or more in the wet but def not play Taberner if wet.

That goes directly against getting the all clear doesn't it? Either the doctor has examined, tested, whatever else and deemed that you are all good, clear to play and not going to be adversely affected by playing, or, they do the same and say you aren't clear to play.

Would guess that if given the all clear, decision on whether to play or not might be given to Bartel?

It's at the point now where he certainly has to miss even if given the all clear.

Considering the amount of times they've put Selwood back on the field immediately or the week after he's clearly been concussed, i'd be surprised.

Really it's an AFL wide issue, but the reality of the potential for long term damage hasn't sunk in yet like it has in the NFL, or is beginning to in the NHL.

I want GHS to come in for someone. Clearance mids will be needed to combat Mundy/Fyfe etc. To his credit too he copped his dropping sweet and was BOG for us in the reserves

Was surprised at his dropping. I would have thought he was basically an automatic selection now given what he showed last year.

Paid the price for poor pre season games.

That goes directly against getting the all clear doesn't it? Either the doctor has examined, tested, whatever else and deemed that you are all good, clear to play and not going to be adversely affected by playing, or, they do the same and say you aren't clear to play.

Would guess that if given the all clear, decision on whether to play or not might be given to Bartel?

Might be debating on different points but I reckon everyone is saying that he will not get the all clear.

Bartel probably does his concussion test tomorrow. Why wouldn't they name him?

Having said that he'll probably be ruled out some point before the benches are cut to four players.

Good point but I would also rate Mzungu equally or more in the wet but def not play Taberner if wet.
Umm...Pav, our only key position forward is 34 and one serious injury or premiership from retirement. I'm just throwing around ideas here but wouldn't we want to get as many games into at least one of our developing KP forwards before that happens?

Regardless of planning for the future, Taberner is essential for our structure this week. If he's deemed AFL fit, he will play.

If Bartel does come up, they're in trouble. Can't see him being best on ground 6 days after being knocked out. It's crazy that he's being considered from a player's welfare perspective.

The NFL have gotten really strict on concussed players these days.

I agree with you,
Bartel shouldn't even be considered after the brain rattling he copped on Monday.

Head injuries are completely different. There are an increasing trend of players suing the NFL due to depression caused through head injuries. It's extremely negligent to allow players to nit give adequate time off after concussion. Each time you get concussion you should really spend more time off.

Bartell needs to be mentally well for his life after footy.

Regardless of planning for the future, Taberner is essential for our structure this week. If he's deemed AFL fit, he will play.

I don't really like the idea of "shielding" him from wet weather footy either, at this stage of his development I reckon it's important for him to get as much experience as he can playing in various conditions against various opposition. He and Clarke are mobile enough and have big enough tanks, even if conditions aren't conducive to aerial dominance I'd like to think they'll be able to contribute sufficiently in other areas. Not forgetting the advantage having a more mobile defence pitted against a few dinosaurs would provide us.