Round 6 Vs Collingwood - Selector's Table

Hey guys. Sorry to intrude but I was just wondering where all the Addison hate was coming from? I didn't see the game but plenty of players had worse disposal efficiency than Addison.

His efficiency stat is bumped up with 20 metres sideways kicks from the backline, under pressure he constantly fumbles and is a turnover king.

So he is a poor man's Brent Stanton then?

Got it haha :thumbsu:

its a 99% chance that Gia will definitely be in as thats what Macca said in his press conference after last game..... So its a near on certainty

Presumably Hargrave will be back also...

Because its Collingwood i would expect 2 youngsters will be dropped as we need the hard bodies and experience....

ARGH! i seem to have misplaced my membership Card. I cannot find it anywhere. If i was to go to the club tomorrow would they give me some sort of Print out slip i could use on friday while i await a replacement card?

I'm pretty sure they would mate. Just contact the club! :thumbsu:

Gee if you want to see cockiness, go have a look at the Collingwood board. Real lack of respect for us! Hope we shock them on Friday!

With Macca declaring Gia a certainty this week, Does anyone know the driver of the golf cart that ran into Johnno a couple of years ago. We need him to follow Gia this week. Bring in someone who can hold their feet, hold a tackle and run fast

Collingwood have every right to be cocky, we are a pretty awful side, we will do well to get within 50. Would love an upset, but I'm not seeing it.

Hopefully Hill gets a game, been very good in the reserves.

ARGH! i seem to have misplaced my membership Card. I cannot find it anywhere. If i was to go to the club tomorrow would they give me some sort of Print out slip i could use on friday while i await a replacement card?

When I first read this I thought you were making a joke about throwing your membership card away because Gia will be back in the team next week. :o

Hey guys. Sorry to intrude but I was just wondering where all the Addison hate was coming from? I didn't see the game but plenty of players had worse disposal efficiency than Addison.

In fact only Austin, Cordy, Cross, Griffen and Roughead (with 2 touches) had better efficiency.

I don't know him personally, just find it strange that he is copping it. Unless of course he is the perenial whipping boy and it happens every week :o

You got it in one LWP. It matters not one jot how well, poorly or indifferently Addison plays, he gets baked on this site week in week out what ever his performance.
People see just what they are looking for whether it is there or not.

You got it in one LWP. It matters not one jot how well, poorly or indifferently Addison plays, he gets baked on this site week in week out what ever his performance.
People see just what they are looking for whether it is there or not.

He has been praised a lot more than baked this year. Undoubtedly.
It's reasonable to suggest though, that under pressure he let's off some howlers.

Gee if you want to see cockiness, go have a look at the Collingwood board. Real lack of respect for us! Hope we shock them on Friday!

They'll absolutely murder us on the spread.

Be prepared for streams of collingwood players running forward in waves making our team look pedestrian.

They'll absolutely murder us on the spread.

Be prepared for streams of collingwood players running forward in waves making our team look pedestrian.

Yep, definitely. I can't recall us doing multiple quality spreads in a single game. We always just trot out, and then clog up everyones space :p

I have a feeling Swan is going to have a very good game. We don't really have anyone that can burst at his speed.

He has been praised a lot more than baked this year. Undoubtedly.
It's reasonable to suggest though, that under pressure he let's off some howlers.

If that is the criterion for a bake, then every player in the team deserves a serve, as there has not been one player who has not done so on more than one occasion.

Sorry People, i am bucking the trend on this topic, i for 1 hope WOOD stays in, YES.... hes been bad but the up side is he cant get any worse. Imo he will play better when marko, and shaggy return and he only has to beat a mid size player. if gilbs was fit then yes replace wood but no one now has the speed to replace him.......

Wait for this to be the game Fasolo dominates for them and pretends he's the next christ. Then he'll go back to his flash in the pan self against a decent defensive side.

I dont understand the arrogance shown by Collingwood supporters so early in the week.

It was only last week that the vultures were out for Buckley and internal riffs were peppering the Herald Sun. It amazes me how scraping over the line against an overrated Essendon by a last minute shin dribble can all of a sudden pump their tyres.

Their start to the year has been worse than ours in a lot of ways. They have an internal expectation to be a top four side and they have shown nothing so far to suggest that they have the capability of doing so.

We are going through a total transition in our style of play that will take time.

I for one think a win for us this week is not out of the question. Complacency can work wonders.

This week is for Collingwood what last week was for us. They can't win.

Unless they pound us by 12 goals or more. If they win by a smallish margin say 40 to 50 pts then that was expected, but if they can't put us away or god forbid lose, then their critics will gain some oxygen.

It's the burden of expectation. The burden of being a contender. If I was a pies supporter I wouldn't be worried about this one too much other than to get the 4 pts. I certainly would be crowing about it before or after.

I don't expect to get within 10 goals of them to be honest. Not because we won't try, but because our skills are so poor. But I'm looking forward to being there and watching how we go about it. I will be looking forward to even more if we spring a few suprises like playing Tom Hill froward or Matt Panos at half back and moving the chess pieces about a bit, for example, Grant to half back.

Dogs will get bent over royally, but you know what, it doesn't matter one ounce. Take the pain for at least a year and turn some players over.
A lot of the footy being played is awful to watch,but it is at least accountable, the club lacks elite kicks and leg the speed to reintoduce the very pretty downhill skiing footy from the Wallace years(which by the way left the club with the same empty trophy cabinet as when he arrived).
Just a couple of things this year, when we struggle and will continue to kick scores (broke the 100point mark once against the very ordinary GWS) why did they elevate a tall defender (Austin) for a week whilst Lake was out of the team, then drop him a week later?
They are screaming out for a go to tall forward and could have got games into Campbell or even Redpath, or gone down the small forward with leg speed path like Johannison,to give more forward pressure.
And for what possible gain would there be in bringing Giansiracusa back into the side? a small/medium forward who is painfully slow and cannot keep his feet. Surely a bloke who is contributing as little as he has this year is not very difficult to replace, this is a time of opportunity.
Whether we finish 13th of 15th it doesn't matter, as long as the list makes progress.90% of the fellows who have taken us to a number of prelims, will not be there when we get our next crack,but a super draft lies ahead,and things can be turned around within a few years if the cards fall our way.
So far have really liked the coach's work.

I know we're expected to get bollocksed, but I just don't think Collingwood are that good. Granted, we are poor, but as touchwood said, they haven't done much themselves...

For example, I've seen multiple posts on their board advocating resting Jolly. I mean, seriously. A) He's not that good. B) He's been in terrible form for the season (except for a serviceable ANZAC game) and C) I remember Will's 98 hit outs against Wood last year.

We were expected to get spanked last year. It was only Leigh Brown's last quarter that stopped us of getting within a kick

Just a couple of things this year, when we struggle and will continue to kick scores (broke the 100point mark once against the very ordinary GWS) why did they elevate a tall defender (Austin) for a week whilst Lake was out of the team, then drop him a week later?
They are screaming out for a go to tall forward and could have got games into Campbell or even Redpath, or gone down the small forward with leg speed path like Johannison,to give more forward pressure.
All fair points snags and I generally agree.

However I have a theory that we had always planned to play Austin for at least two games. MC probably looked at the draw and decided it would be wise to rest some players because there are two 6-day breaks in a row (Melb--> GWS--> Collingwood). He came in as an emergency for Marko but that wasn't well disguised as he'd been elevated a couple of days before. Then Hargrave was suddenly withdrawn due to soreness or some such thing (basically he was rested) and magically Austin who had been "dropped" was in Canberra to fill the breach. Just playing funny buggers to upset the GWS planning. Gia of course was the other one rested but may genuinely have been carrying a niggle. What concerns me is that Marko's hammy was worse than suggested. He may not even get back this week.

That said, I'd still rather they had elevated JJ or Campbell (and now even Lin Jong is banging on the door, I hear). Whoever does best out of those three might have to wait until after Rd 11 for a chance at elevation.

The Austin elevation was planned. Clearly they knew that Marko was not going to right for 2 or 3 weeks and as has been said they probably planned to rest up Shaggy also. The games we play lol.

Sure Talia could have played.....and this is not meant to crucify the kid because I know some on here don't like me saying it, but he needs to improve his kicking, if we think our disposal by foot is bad now...well....anyway I think he has all the other attributes required, but I reckon it's why they went for Austin.

Hammys are usually 3 week injuries, even the slight ones. Marko has had 2 weeks off....I would be surprised if he does not come in this week. But would like to have him in to take Dawes. So Austin will have played 3 games. So far he has not played in loss....lol :D