Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

simon o donnell is a great bloke.... he comes n watches kilmore every week just about always good to have a chat to.. billy brownless well billys a champ was talkin 2 him 2day out at the good old ACK. funny man (hates a beer too)

micheal klim=arrogant bald headed dog

Obviously not a footballer, but totally agree. Ran in the same circles for a while, friend of a friend and all that, and he treated people like crap... when he was sure they couldn't knock him on his weak backside. If there was any chance of that happening, he was very polite. Weak as piss, that bloke.

Anyone met Nathan Thompson? Comes across as the most arrogant prick ever on The Footy Show, maybe he just puts it on for the camera.

I thought he'd be a bit of a knob myself, but I was in the hotel lift with he and Jess Sinclair before the Collingwood game on the GC. He got in, smiled, said g'day, then said 'catch ya later mate' when he reached his floor.

Over 12 floors he seemed like a pretty good bloke. :D

Oh how could I forget, add Bucks to my last list. Top bloke, had a really long chat with me when I was 6 or 7, I can only imagine how frustrating I would have been talking to as well, because I didnt really know who he was at the time. This was at an auskick thing, Paul Williams was there too, but I didn't get a chance to talk to him.

Peter Everitt is a flog, met him at the same event, pretty much ignored me and went to talk to his team mates.

Anyone met Nathan Thompson? Comes across as the most arrogant prick ever on The Footy Show, maybe he just puts it on for the camera.

Isn't this thread supposed to be about people you've met?

But for the record, Thommo is one of the best young blokes you'll ever meet. He's cut from a completely different mold as most AFL footballers.

david rodan top bloke to meat

That's really great to hear. Because you hear people who don't treat meat all that well.

From the Geelong boys -

Nicest:
Cameron Ling is a champ, he's absolutely lovely. Has time for everyone and will always have abit of a chat.

Joel Selwood was really nice when i met him earlier this year aswell.
others would be
Steve Johnson
Joel Corey
Paul Chapam

Rudest:

James Kelly never seems very nice. Always seems like hes got better things to than sign an autograph or chat to a fan.

I met every St Kilda player in 2002 when they came down for the community camp and Riewoldt is the only one who really struck you as being a prick. No time for anyone but himself and rolled his eyes whenever asked for an autograph.

Grant Thomas, Aaron Hamill, Andrew Thompson, Matt Maguire, Stephen Milne and Steven Baker were all extremely nice blokes with plenty of time for fans. Harvs is also very nice, but possibly the shyest person I've ever met.

Everitt was surprisingly friendly, even though he smashed a tennis racquet and two golf clubs in his couple of days in Warrnambool. Friendly, but a moron.

My cousin plays for Williamstown and tells me that Chris Egan and every Cloke think they are god's gift to humanity and are by far the most arrogant bunch of dyckheads he's ever met.

nicest: Jarred Waite, Brad johnson, Rohan Smith, and Darren Gasper......Also heard off all my richmond mates that David Rodan is a champ and Delidio is very rude.
Ill throw in a commentator and say Dennis Cometti, one of the nicest blokes ive ever met, held me up asking questions at the grand final breakfast then made me hold his trophy he won in the photo.

Lance Whitnall is a top bloke as his aaron hamill. met brian taylor once and he was happy to give me his signature. Kouta is simply awesome, always been a top bloke.
Fevs not fantasic, doesnt really like to talk much.

Totally agree with you on Whitnall. Top bloke- always very polite and friendly. Totally disagre with you on Hamill though. Absolute a**e. My belief is that the way the people treat others who are working in a service capacity (ie- bartenders, shop assistants etc) is a good indication of whether they are genuinely good people or just pretenders. Hamill is a well known shocker in this area. Fraser Gehrig is a bit of an a**e too. Other good ones I have come across are Shane Crawford (and his Hawthorn mates), Brad Johnson, Chris Grant, David King, Brett Montgomery, Nick Riewolt (sic) and Adam Simpson.

Also a guy by the name of Marc Dragacevic from Richmond. My sister did work experience there and said he and Matthew Richardson was by far the nicest ones she came across.

Nicest:

Mark Bickley
Andrew Jarman
Billy Brownless
Jezza
Greg Dear
Nathan Buckley
Barrie Robran
Gary O'donnell
Richo
David Rodan
Ted Whitten junior
Adam Pattison
Warrick Capper (although weird)
Eddie Mcguire

Rudest:
Josh Francou
Shane Watson (cricketer, total FIGJAM)

Watching the Eagle's v Roos today Adam Hunter was standing behind an opponent who was trying to look over at his shoulder blade at something and couldn't wipe if off.

How sweet, Hunter saw it and brushed it off for him like he was his mum or something.....I thought Wwwwhat? Did I see right! The whole thing was totally out of character of the game as both teams were going hell for leather at each other.

Quite funny!!

Had dinner with Fraser Gehrig at a restaurant last year, and he was a very nice bloke. Was down to earth, funny, very patient with everyone and can drink like a fish!

Also met Stevie Lawrence on a seperate occaision, and found him to be a good bloke. Bit of a suprise considering his reputation, maybe I got him on a good night.

Have met Shane Crawford a few times and is a great guy, is very kind to people.

Met Stevie Milne and Steve Baker and they were arrogant little tossers, Wayne Carey was a shocking bloke and I found Brad Ottens to be very shy.

Nicest:

Mark Bickley
Andrew Jarman
Billy Brownless
Jezza
Greg Dear
Nathan Buckley
Barrie Robran
Gary O'donnell
Richo
David Rodan
Ted Whitten junior
Adam Pattison
Warrick Capper (although weird)
Eddie Mcguire

Rudest:
Josh Francou
Shane Watson (cricketer, total FIGJAM)
Hes a top bloke. I went to school with him. He was a year ahead of me but I was in a couple of his classes. He was always nice, a bit shy though

Most of my experiences with footy players have been very positive. Brad Johnson, Will Minson, Sam Power, Libba, Chris Grant, Rhys Shaw, and Alan Didak have all been friendly when I've crossed paths with them. Most players seem fine as long as you pick your moment well.

In another sport, Damien Oliver is just a shocking human being.

Rudest - Luke Brennan, absolute arseh*le, had the nerve to call me a ******* after i wished him luck for the footy screamers!

Me and my mate spotted Luke Brennan wandering round Southland a year or two ago, my mate goes "LUKE BRENNAN!!!" and he spins around because noones probably ever recognised him before then my mate gives him the "Only took you four ****ing years to get a senior game!!!!!!!!!":D:D

Used to go to school with Adam and Troy Selwood. They used to be fine by themselves but when they were together they became the biggest two jerks you could meet, always bagging out anyone that didnt have big boobs or didnt play footy.

They thought they were soooo good when there was all the talk of them going highly in the draft. Ugly bastards.

Thank god they got shipped off far far away from me.

Matty Primus is one of the friendliest blokes around, will chat your ear off. You could have only just met him and he will speak to you like a longtime friend.
Gavin Wanganeen is friendly but shy.
Chad & Kane Cornes are friendly and don't mind a chat.
Rhett Biglands is a top bloke also.

Some have mentioned that Josh Francou is rude, it's not that he is rude just that he is a serious type of guy which can come across as rude. He is actually quite guarded and shy.

Mark Bickley is the sleaziest, I could tell you a few stories about him....but I won't. If only Tanya new the half of it.:thumbsdown:

Lance Franklin is a dead set w***er.. Absolute w***er.

Seen him out in clubs a few time. My god he is one arrogant ********. Got kicked out of one club for tellin the owner he looked like harry potter. Even the chicks who knew who he was didnt want a piece of him.

Reading over this thread it seems #1 w***er is in fact lance franklin

Take a bow.

I was lucky enough to have dinner with all the Port players who came to London last year, and also went out with them. Chocco spoke to my wife and I for about 2 hours, was very freindly, Matty Primus was also very freindly.

At Dinner i sat with Brett Ebert and Steven Salopek, both very freindly, and i spent most of the night chatting with Brett. Damon White and Nathan Lonie were also up for a chat.

Adam Kingsley and Josh Mahoney were not, dont know it they were just rude, or didn't want to be at the dinner.

I rang Gary Hocking once to ask him about playing in Grand Finals and he was happy to talk for ages before he said, "Barnesy's here, we gotta go for dinner, do you wanna say g'day to him?"
John Barnes took the phone and said, "How the F*** are you?" Bit rough but friendly enough.

Couple of years later I was sitting outside the hotel dining room when the Geelong players came down for dinner, asking them to sign a couple of framed team pictures.
Buddha signed then asked me if I wanted a drink or anything?
Then went into the bar and brought me out an orange juice.
I was a always a big fan but that settled the deal, great bloke.

Chatted to Bomber Thompson in line at Seaworld one day, seemed friendly enough.

Sat and talked to Billy Brownless in a hotel lobby for 20 minutes, top bloke, funny.

Had my kid's picture taken with Gary Ablett Snr at the airport, happy to oblige and smiled warmly when I said God bless you. He hated attention and all the adulation he got, just wanted to play footy.

Brian Cook and Frank Costa both very approachable, part of the reason for Geelong's success.

Mark Seaby is a very nice young bloke, helps us run a footy camp each year.

Finally, Lance Franklin was on a flight to Perth with me a couple of years ago, I had extra leg room, he didn't! If he'd been a Geelong player I'd have happily swapped seats...!:D

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?