Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Doesn't mind a beer either. Few years back whilst on the pre-season community camp I bumped into flea at one of the local nightspots, off his **** and by himself. Had a couple with him, good laugh.

Flea = uncle to Leigh Colbert. Brother of colby's mum. Obviously someone in their family knows how to bring up kids right - Onya Nanna & Pop .

Ben Hudson...not sure what this bloke is like sober but on the p#ss he is the biggest w***er known to man! extremely arrogant and full of himself unfortunately. saw him out that sun nite when he broke curfew and was creeping around like he owned the place..

what does a sunday night attract anyways??

people recovering from saturdays hangover?

I get the feeling people who hate ben cousins are dying to post the slightest things about him. Some may even be making it up (not that i think this is made up at all)

But i have met ben and he was one of the nicest blokes and is good to have a chat with. Maybe he is a prick to people when he assumes they don't like him, i am the same, if i get the feeling somebody hates me i generally hate them back lol

It's interesting for example essendon fans say hird is great but fans of other clubs have called him a prick. I just think people take what happens on the field to heart and don't give people a proper chance, they see what they want to see.

Absolutely. I get shocked when I hear people say what a ****er Ben is. Couldn't find a nicer bloke, under the circumstances.

For example I know this woman who spotted him at the movies and just casually went up to him asking for a photo and his autograph and stuff. He seemed really genuinely apologetic when he said "I would but I've really got to get our tickets. If you have time to wait I'll come find you and have a chat".
She goes yeah no worries, thinking he'll probably just forget. Next ten minutes and he comes to find her, signs an autograph takes a picture and chats for a good 20 minutes, which in my mind is above and beyond. Really accommodating guy.

Nicest guys i've met would be

Shane Crawford
Ben Dixon
Angelo Lekkas
Nathan Thompson
Austin Jones
Joel Smith
Rob Harvey
Nathan Burke

Had a run-in with Danny Frawley after St Kilda training one day. After getting the whole teams autograph (including Plugger) he told me to F*** OFF.. I was 9...
Yeh I had the same problem with Jason Dunstall he was really mean to me when I was about 6!

When I was a kid my, mate, my brother and I used to hassle Matty Armstrong a lot, and he was the nicest guy. Took us to the park for a kick one day and gave us a Sherrin, he was a legend. I don't like bothering players these days, but I loved to when I was a kid :)

Liked:
Matty Armstrong
Simon Minton-Connell - greatest man of all time
Mark West
Danny Southern
Stephen Powell - great man
Michael Stevens
Corey Jones
Nick Stevens
Steve Wallis - Saint of a human being
Chris Grant - he's just perfect. Could turn me

Didn't like
Tony Shaw - when I was a kid he was running a handball comp with Gavin Brown. Wouldn't give me a shot cos the prize was Collingwood stuff and I went for the Dogs. All I wanted was a handball :(

Spoke to Xavier Ellis a few months ago, didnt chat to him for long but seemed like a good bloke completely unaffected by the attention he gets. (Granted he hasnt had to put up with it for long)

Also ran into buddy franklin once and i basically only spoke to him cos i was so sure he was gonna be rude and i could tell everyone how much of a prick he was but he was polite enough.

thats all i can remember but im sure ive annoyed many other players before

Oh and i know this isnt footy but me and my mate were trying to chew the ear off Andrew Bogut one off season when he was in melbourne at a club and was probably the most arrogant person ive ever encountered.

I know this isn't the cricket thread, but can anyone report on Warney? My brother told me he was a complete tool (which I don't find hard to believe) but there must be a few Warney meet and greet stories out there.

I met Warney 3 years ago, when I was 13. It was when he was promoting his own wine label and my dad is a wine wholesaler so we went to a hotel in Brisbane to meet up with Warne. My dad had go out to the car to get whatever and I just sat in the lobby by myself. Shane Warne walked past and I just stared at him and said 'i think my dads looking for you'. After that he sat down with me and talked and asked me questions and stuff and he was a real nice bloke, asked me about what sports I play and what I want to do when i'm older etc. He also signed about 25 things of mine so I could show my friends the next day. It was around one of the test matches about to played at the Gabba and we got tickets to that and he also took my Australian cricket shirt and got the whole team to sign it.

Let me guess, your your Dad bought his wine!:rolleyes:

Warney is actually a great bloke, he's just not the smartest person going around.
Michael Braun is also one of the best blokes you'll find, along with David Wirrpanda who does a hell of a lot of charity work (I believe he has his own foundation).

good bloke is dermie. met him at prince and i thought hed snub me but he had a conversation for about 2 or 3 mins then sed he had to go politely and sed goodbye. good bloke

i know it isnt footy but ryan harris from the redbacks is a top bloke, i've also met graham manou and to be honest i didn't really like him, and paul rofe and gary putland just weren't interested in talking at all

Had the pleasure of sitting in the same, almost empty, cafe as Matt Pavlich and Trent Croad this very morning. Had my 4 year old daughter with me who insisted I accompany her to their table to say hello (she is a mad Dockers supporter and I thought she was going to wet her pants with excitement when they walked in and she recognised them...:eek: ).
So I calmly finished my coffee, and walked over to interrupt them while they were munching on their eggs on toast... what a pair of terrific guys. Said all the right things you would say to a 4 year old (what's your name? oh that's a pretty name... I like your purple jumper - it's a good colour isn't it...)
Pav even waved to her when they were leaving - she was in 7th heaven for the rest of the day, couldn't wait to tell big brother and sister- "they will be so jealous, won't they Mum!!".
By the end of the day, the way the story had evolved, you could have sworn she sat down with them for an hour to discuss the state of the nation..:D

fair play to them - nice story. :thumbsu:

Dale Thomas is one of the biggest w***ers that you will ever meet

nah, that's rubbish....when he was boarding with greg swann last season, he'd turn up at williamstown junior games to see greg's son play, and was just happy to be a face in the crowd, always seemed happy to chat to anyone who wandered by, he even got bailed up by a bunch of mums at the end-of-season gala day and waited paitently while they got pics taken with him.....not sure what mood you struck him in, but as the father of a young bloke playing, it's pretty inspirational for the kids to see an AFL star watching, hanging round at the huddles in game breaks, etc...i give a big:thumbsu: to dale thomas

In Geelong - Ling, G. Ablett and Harley are by far the nicest. Lingy always has a smile on his face and is always up for a chat - top bloke.

To be honest the majority are actually either pretty arrogant or really shy. You'll never get a chance to talk to Scarlett, Milburn, N. Ablett or Mooney they just shy away, and King and Hunt are blatant arrogant pricks. The rest aren't too bad.

and just going on what you see on telly, cam ling DOES seem like a triffic bloke, always up for a laugh, specially at his own expense....

has to be Jeff White absolute legend of a guy, really top bloke, as also Richie Van Den Berg, Russell Robertson, Bruce and Johnston.. but a bit arrogant was chris judd

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?