Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

THE WHOLE VICTORIAN TEAM IN 88 AT FOOTY PARK.

S.A. HAD JUST PUT THEM AWAY, ME & MY MATE WERE HUNTING FOR AUTOGRAPHS IN THE VIC ROOMS - WE STAYED SO LONG, WE EVENTUALLY GOT A LIFT BACK INTO THE CITY ON THE VIC TEAM BUS.

MARTIN LESLIE, CRAIG BRADLEY & DERMOTT BRERETON WERE TOP BLOKES.

CRAIG KELLY WAS (& IS A W*NKER) - HE PUNCHED ME IN THE GUTS ONCE......

When my son was about six months old we were in Highpoint shopping centre and walked past the AFL shop where Chris Grant is sometimes in attendance. As any proud dad would have I took him into say hello to the geat man and talked footy for a while and talked about Chris's impending fatherhood and other stuff. About eight moths later we were walking out of the ticket office at the Whitten Oval when Chris saw us and walked over, not only did he remember me by name he also remembered my son's name and made a big fuss off him. Chris Grant is a class act.

Ted Whitten was also a very nice guy who went out of his way to make people welcome.

Nicest:
Mark Bickley - He'd have a good ol' chat with ya
James Gallagher - So laid-back its not funny
Aidan Parker - Will talk to you like you're a long-lost friend of his.
Michael Doughty
Benny Hart
Rhett Biglands - He's so quiet, but so sweet!
Jacob Schuback - Is REALLY friendly.....if you get my drift ;)
Marty Mattner - Has the funniest farken laugh!
Ex-Crow Fitzy! - Funniest player I have ever met!
Freo's Bryon Schammer
Port's Stephen Gillham
St Kilda's Matt Maguire, Nick Riewoldt and Steven Baker!!!

Rudest:
Brett Burton
Graham Johnc.ock - Good player......way too quiet bloke
Richmond's Coughlan - he was a bit snobby
Saints Brendan/on Goddard - Found him too quiet, kept to himself.
And Stephen Milne....I'm glad, Baker - his partner in crime- takes no influence from Milney.

Originally posted by goaldrush
nicest:

The worst player I have ever met was Sam Newman. He doesn't groom himself all that well. He stunk.

LMFAO,
Who would want to sleep with him?
They must be desparado's!

And Stephen Milne....I'm glad, Baker - his partner in crime- takes no influence from Milney
suprised you could understand what he said if it was somthing he said????

Brendan/on Goddard - Found him too quiet, kept to himself.
that doesn't really sound like he was being rude!

Originally posted by Gopies 2002
I have met Luke Ball a couple of times. He is a terrific young bloke who IMO will be the future captain of the Saints.

Crawford and Dixon lived in an apartment a couple of doors down from me. Both are great guys, and Dixon in particular was very welcoming.

Dixon was nice?? Was he? i got an autograph off him and he glared at me like i was scum on the ground. He didn't even say how ya doing it was at a hawk function too. Gee i dunno dixon looks like a rude and arogant type to me.He gives off those vibes hs in love with himself I'd imagine.:D

Originally posted by jacqui9
Nicest

Shane Crawford - beautiful personality, looks after the kids, continually smiles and actually stopped to chat to me
Ben Dixon
Jade Rawlings
Nick Holland

Rudest
Craig Treleven

Still the nice ones dont stop you feeling like a complete nob asking for an autograph or photo.

Just on Craig treleven he was the most arrogant nutjob. I saw him near the hawks footy club during the day probably doing his other job when he was still playing in some beat up van yelling abuse at a a guy in a car and I thought yeah nice promotion for the club:rolleyes: Bloody funny though and then he nearly did a burn out leaving the scene........ a right tool i tell ya:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Nicest:
Tom Hafey
Corey McKernan
Andrew Siegert
Billy Brownless

Rudest:
None as yet.......

The best footballers (past & present) that i've met would have to be National Party member for Benalla, Bill Sykes (50 game player for Fitzroy, and GVFL Legend for Shepparton), we was a guest of honour at Murchison when we played against Nagambie two weeks ago, and he stayed all day and a fair bit of the afternoon talking about politics and football to everyone, really approachable and a good bloke all round.

And an extremly close second is Kevin Murray and Tom Hafey, and Tony & Ray Shaw were good as well.

Out of all the current players, Anthony Stevens would have to be the best, I met him a few times around Tatura/Toolamba watching his brother Gary (and Kangaroo teammate, Michael) play for Tat, one time he asked if we would sell a few calves to put on his parents property on the phone, and about 15 minutes later, him and Dean Laidley, Wayne Carey, Anthony Rock, and Peter Bell came out of his ute to pick up our poddy calves, me and dad couldn't believe ourselves that all these guns showed up at our place, and they ended up staying for about an hour looking around the place, talking to us and what not.

I found Wayne Carey a bit stand offish, but he was polite enough but all the rest of them were great and Anthony Rock was a scream.

Also Adem Yze was good, I saw him at the KDFL Grand Final, watching his brothers Damien & Ramadan play for Ardmona, and my best friend introduced him to me and he seemed really relaxed and talkative, enjoying just watching a big game of footy.

But, as far as tossers go I haven't met one yet, but footy clubs always have 1-2 arseholes so you're bound to bump into a few.

Nicest:

Bomber Thompson
Sean Simpson
Peter Riccardi
Marc Woolnough
Paul Salmon

Rudest:

Neville Bruns (well, he's polite actually but like others have said he can come across as snobby)

Dunno:

I ran into Will Slade one day and said "G'day". He kind of looked at me like he'd suffered a severe blow to the head and was still a bit woozy. He said, "Um. Hi." and walked off. I think he thought he knew me from somewhere and was trying to remember who the hell I was. Doesn't seem all that talkative.

No contest - STu Maxfield - unquestionably the worst I have had anything to do with.- A bag of c...p/j

Suprised no one has mentioned Kevin Bartlett. Saw him as a kid and started talking to him, was great.

Bumped into anthony stevens at a nightclub in the casino the monday after the 99 gf. He was there with archer, kind and capuano, who just stood around the bar. stevens just stood in our group and started dancing with us.

Obviously on a huge bender, was carrying on like a single man. Nice bloke though. Couldn't really make much sense of what he was saying, but on a 3 day bender that's not suprising.

Originally posted by Wayde Petersen

Also Adem Yze was good, I saw him at the KDFL Grand Final, watching his brothers Damien & Ramadan play for Ardmona, and my best friend introduced him to me and he seemed really relaxed and talkative, enjoying just watching a big game of footy.

havent met many players....

adem yze, stephen king.... were both c*nts...
i only knew them at high school... but back then, most of those yr9/10 boys were c*nts...

mick mcguane... was a nice decent bloke who came to my parents business... signed autograph and chat...

steve allessio... approached him at the airport after a loss to the swans... happily had a chat and shake hands...

nicest: brent harvey, rob harvey, shance crawford, tim watson

rudest: ben dixon, phil matera

funniest: steve alessio (big ses), mark mercuri, dean rioli, scott cummings

dopiest: nathan buckley

all round great bloke: james hird, mattey lloyd,nathan burke

(yes, i have met them all :) )

i was at a hawthorn day, i was getting autographs at the race and there were all these kids. Nick holland snubbed us and said "no autographs" when he came out and he went back in and didnt let anyone get his autograph that is why i call him 'mean dutchy.' :mad:
Dicko is not rude.

Originally posted by luv_ya_crawf
i was at a hawthorn day, i was getting autographs at the race and there were all these kids. Nick holland snubbed us and said "no autographs" when he came out and he went back in and didnt let anyone get his autograph that is why i call him 'mean dutchy.' :mad:
Dicko is not rude.
That is very unusual of Nick.

Dicko is not rude.

That is SOOOOOOOOOOOO not like Nick. He is one of the nicest footballers around, if not the nicest. He was great to me, looked after me heaps. :)

Dicko is not rude.

I met Nick a few years ago and he was a real champ, stood around with us and had a chat. You probably got him while he was in a **** mood.

Cameron Bruce is a top bloke.

Robertson is talkative.

Mark Jamar has a good sense of humour.

Ex-players

Matthew Febey is funny when he's drunk, Cowboy From Hell nearly spilt his Beam & Coke at an aftermatch & Mouse hardly batted an eyelid :).

Nudged Scotty Chisholm one day at Optus in 99 & said "G'day Chis" He gave me a big smile & said G'day back. Considering he'd just played a reserves game & the seniors were getting belted, I'dve excused him if he ignored me.

Originally posted by Nandoz
maybe he was just having a bad day.

Everyone's entitled to 'em.

At club functions, i think players are obliged to be sociable. The supporters love it & deserve it. At any other time a players time is his own & if he chooses to be friendly then great & if not then fine.

Supporters should never take a poor reaction personally. Perhaps a player's just been torn to shreds by a coach or an official.

Some people will have different encounters with certain players & if they come across a rude, they're entitled to consider them rude I guess.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?