Rule 19

We executed the 19th rule to perfection yet again :P It was good they gave out some more clappers because ours were broken from last week! I think we ended up with 5 score assists? I think that's one more than against NM. I have a feeling we booed the loudest when Barry Hall was going for goal lol...
what was good is that nobody had to instruct the crowd to do it!!!!
haha loved booing Hall

It actually makes the footy more fun than previous games

They're handed out when you go through the gates (I'm assuming all entrances have them). You can't miss it. I don't know how many they give out so if you went through and weren't given anything then maybe they ran out :/

The crowd's getting louder and louder. It's brilliant. The third quarter was deafening at times. Safe to say that Rule 19 is a success so far. Not only is the crowd loud when the opponent is taking a shot, but we're louder at other times too I reckon. Plus, our opponents do seem to be missing some easy shots (though it's hard to say how much that has to do with us).

Good work to the fans and the club :thumbsu:

The crowd was so quiet for about ten minutes in the second quarter of the Swans game I thought I was in a library.

Foxtels shitty microphones don't do any sort of noise justice, though. Even if it was quieter then.

The place was rocking in the 3rd quarter - and watching it at home on replay later, there was **** all noise.

Foxtels shitty microphones don't do any sort of noise justice, though. Even if it was quieter then.

The place was rocking in the 3rd quarter - and watching it at home on replay later, there was **** all noise.
I was at the game and there were loooong stretches where the crowd was quieter than a ninja fart.

Hoepfully we can get 40k at least to the next game... ahg what is wrong with people. 4 wins in row, its NOT Sunday and the weather was PERFECT and still couldnt get 40k ???? confused

that's the problem, our entire history is awash with Saturday night and Sunday arvo games. The Club specifically asks for no Saturday arvo games. Too many people work and have their own sport and have gotten out of the habit of going on Saturdays. The season ticket pass on is used twice as much for these games then all other put together.

Just on that, that was the biggest 38,000 crowd I have seen. The turnstile I came in wasn't working.

I was listening to a bit of the gam live on MMM (was through my phone which only has an FM Radio) during one of my breaks at work today, and you could hear the crowd everytime Sydney went for a goal - it sounded brilliant.

Don't know how we should intrepret this but one of the MMM commetators said they thought it was annoying.

It took them a minute but now the 19th man concept is starting to bear some fantastic fruit.

I was listening to a bit of the gam live on MMM (was through my phone which only has an FM Radio) during one of my breaks at work today, and you could hear the crowd everytime Sydney went for a goal - it sounded brilliant.

Don't know how we should intrepret this but one of the MMM commetators said they thought it was annoying.

It took them a minute but now the 19th man concept is starting to bear some fantastic fruit.

Sack the MMM commentator! pity it wasnt Stephen Rowe from 5AA that guy drives me bonkers, i love the crows too mate....but

that's the problem, our entire history is awash with Saturday night and Sunday arvo games. The Club specifically asks for no Saturday arvo games. Too many people work and have their own sport and have gotten out of the habit of going on Saturdays. The season ticket pass on is used twice as much for these games then all other put together.

Just on that, that was the biggest 38,000 crowd I have seen. The turnstile I came in wasn't working.

I honestly thought it was a 41k crowd looking around, but they don't fudge the figures down. Saturday afternoon is our second worst time slot for crowd averages, beaten out only by the earliest of the three Sunday slots.

Did they mention anything about the rule before the game? I was a little later than usual today, and I was standing there when the Swans were lining up for their first set shot wondering what would happen as the player was about to start jogging in... then all of a sudden the Crowd remembered what it was supposed to do, got the noise out and he sprayed it wide. Set the crowd up for the rest of the game, even with Hall on target :thumbsu:

TheStinger, today's crowd really was louder than it usually is, even in the quieter spell when the Swans pulled away in the 2nd quarter. Should tell you just how embarassingly low it has been historically.

By the way, the ABC boys were potting rule 19 and the crowd for booing + cheering wildly when Hall missed. Torney thought it was a bit artificial, Jamo was a bit on the fence but felt uneasy about it, and Peter Walsh called it downright appalling and unsportsmanlike - compared it to how he would never cross a room to say hello to John McEnroe because no matter how good a player he was, he always brought the game into disrepute.

As chance would have it, when I was a little tacker playing club tennis my heroes were John McEnroe and Stefan Edberg.

I honestly thought it was a 41k crowd looking around, but they don't fudge the figures down. Saturday afternoon is our second worst time slot for crowd averages, beaten out only by the earliest of the three Sunday slots.

Did they mention anything about the rule before the game? I was a little later than usual today, and I was standing there when the Swans were lining up for their first set shot wondering what would happen as the player was about to start jogging in... then all of a sudden the Crowd remembered what it was supposed to do, got the noise out and he sprayed it wide. Set the crowd up for the rest of the game, even with Hall on target :thumbsu:

TheStinger, today's crowd really was louder than it usually is, even in the quieter spell when the Swans pulled away in the 2nd quarter. Should tell you just how embarassingly low it has been historically.

By the way, the ABC boys were potting rule 19 and the crowd for booing + cheering wildly when Hall missed. Torney thought it was a bit artificial, Jamo was a bit on the fence but felt uneasy about it, and Peter Walsh called it downright appalling and unsportsmanlike - compared it to how he would never cross a room to say hello to John McEnroe because no matter how good a player he was, he always brought the game into disrepute.

As chance would have it, when I was a little tacker playing club tennis my heroes were John McEnroe and Stefan Edberg.

We've always done that, in fact every club supporters I have seen have.

Walsh is a tool.

I don't recall anybody actually instructing the crowd to do the 19th Man Goal Assists however they did show the goal assists from last game. People around me didn't even know what it meant haha.

Its great that people are embracing the concept now. I admit I wasn't a fan during the inception of the 19th Man. However the crowde crowd participation has been great1

Very happy and surprised to say Rule 19 was fantastic today.

The noise when they were shooting for goal was three-fold what it usually is.

Fantastic!

The 19th man thing is going well

did anyone hear the chants at the Eagles game tonight? I remember that happening at Crows games early on (it really faded away) I really look forward to the hearing the crowd on the TV again. Even if it is just loud Adelaide chants.

The 19th man thing is going well

did anyone hear the chants at the Eagles game tonight? I remember that happening at Crows games early on (it really faded away) I really look forward to the hearing the crowd on the TV again. Even if it is just loud Adelaide chants.
Yeah I did, sounded great, the whole crowd did once they got up was awesome!!! but what were they saying? All I could hear was Fr-eo haha.

I thought it was great tonight, the crowd really got into it and it makes a huge difference to the atmosphere even on the TV (I wasn't at the ground). At one stage Hall took a mark and was lining up and I thought it had started raining outside because I was hearing pitter-patter noises. Eventually I realised it was those clappers!! :D The crowd made plenty of noise and it surely can't be a coincidence that as they got to doing that Sydney's goalkicking accuracy dropped away.