Rumour File #6

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Show us some recent evidence that the people given stewardship for "what's best for the club" have completely dismissed a Fev comeback and I'll shutup about it.
I'm referring to supporters and the idiotic calls I've heard from them over the past few years. If the club were run by supporters, we'd be burried.

There's still every chance that Fev will play for us next year.

Alot of morons at Carlton then !

No, really no. Doggies, Pies, West Coast and Hawthorn showed us why. No forward target. Jamo forward "just make a contest" shows how desperate we are up there.

And there's talk about Dawes??? Pffft. He's no Fev, nor is Waite even at his best, but with Fev alongside him and Walker, then we have a formidable forward line with flexibility down back.

Fev's had 33 goals in five games at VFL level. Fit and firing, obviously keen, X factor, completes our team balance.

And still no-one has been able to produce any categorical evidence that he is not at least being considered by the Carlton board. All the evidence - as limited as it is - is pointing the other way.

Such shortsightedness...

How many times did the guy stuff up?, sure he was an absolute superstar for us but he was a cancer, we don't need him.

When we had him we only ever kicked it to him, even when 3+ players were on, if we were to re-draft him we'd have to get over doing that.

No, really no. Doggies, Pies, West Coast and Hawthorn showed us why. No forward target. Jamo forward "just make a contest" shows how desperate we are up there.

And there's talk about Dawes??? Pffft. He's no Fev, nor is Waite even at his best, but with Fev alongside him and Walker, then we have a formidable forward line with flexibility down back.

Fev's had 33 goals in five games at VFL level. Fit and firing, obviously keen, X factor, completes our team balance.

And still no-one has been able to produce any categorical evidence that he is not at least being considered by the Carlton board. All the evidence - as limited as it is - is pointing the other way.

Such shortsightedness...

You still at it? Funny how you surface with this nonsense after a loss and then keep quiet after a win.

When we've got the ball, Carlton is a more dangerous, multi-dimensional forward line without Fev. We have 3 guys about around the 50 goals mark. Do you really think that is possible with Fev demanding the ball constantly and spitting the dummy when he doesn't get it? Anyone remember that Brisbane final where Fev started spitting the dummy because a pass went over his head (before he realised that it wasn't intended for him and hit another Carlton player on the chest)? To the extent we need another big body in the forward line we need someone who will play an unselfish game that also seeks to draw others in.

When we don't have the ball, we're now trying to implement the press. Can you imagine implementing a press with Fev in the team? The press is based on extreme defensive pressure, disciplined structures and selfless act after selfless act. This man is not your man.

Our aim should be to get 5 guys who can kick 30-50, not a guy who will return our game plan to a bygone era.

Hendo, Mitchell and Waite along with the Walker/Betts/Garlett would be enough to win a GF. Injuries and having to wait for development have hurt us so far.

We really need to make our midfield rock solid. Would love another hard edged outside player in the mould of Simmo to really put the sealer on the midfield group.

00002810-image.jpg

You still at it? Funny how you surface with this nonsense after a loss and then keep quiet after a win.

When we've got the ball, Carlton is a more dangerous, multi-dimensional forward line without Fev. We have 3 guys about around the 50 goals mark. Do you really think that is possible with Fev demanding the ball constantly and spitting the dummy when he doesn't get it? Anyone remember that Brisbane final where Fev started spitting the dummy because a pass went over his head (before he realised that it wasn't intended for him and hit another Carlton player on the chest)? To the extent we need another big body in the forward line we need someone who will play an unselfish game that also seeks to draw others in.

When we don't have the ball, we're now trying to implement the press. Can you imagine implementing a press with Fev in the team? The press is based on extreme defensive pressure, disciplined structures and selfless act after selfless act. This man is not your man.

Our aim should be to get 5 guys who can kick 30-50, not a guy who will return our game plan to a bygone era.
You want me to jump up and down about a Melbourne flogging or taking the foot off the pedal against Freo? Mate, while crossing swords with the minority you represent was entertaining when I had a point to make, I don't feel the need to bash my head against the wall unless there is evidence to support it - hence posting the minutes-old photo.

So jam your "surface with this nonsense after a loss" crap.

And thanks for the ancient history lesson on a bygone player. You've still failed to look past your own self-righteous opinion to consider present reality.

You're assessment is based on old information and does not take into account Fev's recent performance at VFL level at a club where the coach has praised his defensive work. Then there's his ability to kick bags, draw defenders - all those things that would be kinda handy right now.

How many times when we have the ball do we kick to 173cm Betts with two defenders on him, or whippet Garlett under similar circumstances because all our other forward targets were covered or had to work up the ground? How much better would we be with Fev alongside Waite and Walker and Betts/Garlett crumbing? ....

Ah, same old arguments against the same old ignorance. See you after the next loss. :rolleyes:

So, let's look at the logic and argument techniques on display here:

1. Carlton has a dangerous multi-pronged attack WITHOUT a traditional leading full-forward and WITHOUT a strong contested marking presence inside the forward 50, but, if you add a traditional, leading, contested-marking full-forward, it will somehow lose it's "multi-dimensionality" ... huh?

2. Harking back to what A) the Carlton team and B) Fev USED to be like, is a guarantee of what the team team WILL be like after 2 further years of evolution of the club and player? So, the likes of Murph, Gibbs, Robbo et al are suddenly going to start playing like they're 3rd, 2nd and 1st year players just because one player is added to the team?

3. Repeatedly ignoring that Fev's defensive work was on a steadily improving curve in his latter years at the club to skew the debate. If pulling out one example is a fair argument tactic, one can just as easily ask "remember his chase, run-down and tackle of Andrew Mackie running toward an open goal against Geelong at the G?"

As I've said in other threads, I'm on the fence about Fev being back at the club, but you could at least TRY to present honest arguments on the topic and leave the emotive crap out of it.

Fev is dreaming of a Carlton comeback. Photo evidence here.

You'd have to be a moron to dismiss out of hand the value Fev would bring to our forward line.
You'd have to be a moron to ignore the damage that Fevola would do to our current forward structure and team mentality.

No passengers.

Fevola wouldn't have won us the Hawthorn game.

We've been down that road before.

Even Walker is a better overhead mark in a pack.

The forwardline needs a tall marking target, not a lead up receiver who plays full forward.

Fevola turns 31 in January.

Too old.

You want me to jump up and down about a Melbourne flogging or taking the foot off the pedal against Freo? Mate, while crossing swords with the minority you represent was entertaining when I had a point to make, I don't feel the need to bash my head against the wall unless there is evidence to support it - hence posting the minutes-old photo.

So jam your "surface with this nonsense after a loss" crap.

And thanks for the ancient history lesson on a bygone player. You've still failed to look past your own self-righteous opinion to consider present reality.

You're assessment is based on old information and does not take into account Fev's recent performance at VFL level at a club where the coach has praised his defensive work. Then there's his ability to kick bags, draw defenders - all those things that would be kinda handy right now.

How many times when we have the ball do we kick to 173cm Betts with two defenders on him, or whippet Garlett under similar circumstances because all our other forward targets were covered or had to work up the ground? How much better would we be with Fev alongside Waite and Walker and Betts/Garlett crumbing? ....

Ah, same old arguments against the same old ignorance. See you after the next loss. :rolleyes:

Minority? Based on what, a BF poll?

After a loss? My apologies - correct that to after a loss and / or in a bye week

Bottom line is this: the coaches knowthat the same old game plan won't work: not enough team goals and not enough defensive pressure. I'll put my faith in them, and in guys who've served our club well like Sellers and Parkin when they say Carlton will not win a flag with Fevola because he's too selfish. We want five guys who can kick 25-50 goals. And 22 guys who will adhere to a game plan that is based around discipline and structure. We don't need one hungry, disruptive oaf soaking up oxygen, turning up when he wants to and spitting the dummy at team mates and umpires. And I haven't even got to the off-field stuff ...

What other bygone eras would you like to resurrect? Jezza for coach? Harris for president?

I'll make a deal with you BB, how about we both stop talking about this issue from now on?

I'm on the fence with this Fev situation, however does anyone really think that we have the forward line that can win us a really important final?

Personally there is enough evidence to suggest that Betts and Garlett don't cut the mustard in big games. Walker is yet to perform, but has had greater output then the aforementioned. Waite is the unknown, yet not the true big bodied KPF forward we really need. The club is pinning its hopes on Mitchell who has had issues with his shoulders, and there is no guarantee that they will heal (Here is hoping a Walker outcome with young Luke).

Although as some have suggested it is functioning well, its against the better teams that simply it doesn't.

Maybe your points are valid, but they aren't arguments that a 31yo, 190cm, with baggage at the club, is the answer.

What if one of Bower or Watson stand up at CHB next year and release Hendo forward?

Or Hampson has a massive pre-season?

2. Harking back to what A) the Carlton team and B) Fev USED to be like, is a guarantee of what the team team WILL be like after 2 further years of evolution of the club and player? So, the likes of Murph, Gibbs, Robbo et al are suddenly going to start playing like they're 3rd, 2nd and 1st year players just because one player is added to the team?

Leave me out of it OBF :mad:.....:p

I told you that Fev won't go away that easily.
Guys let's argue all we want, but can we refrain from calling each other morons, just because we don't agree with one another.
I may be wrong but I think that we're better than that.

The guy is CANCER to a football club. He may kick goals but he is a selfish footballer who has never grown up and never will. He has burnt every bridge at the carlton football club and will never play football here again, and 99.99% sure he wont play AFL footy again.

He can kick 100 goals but it wont help us be premiers. Carlton have moved on from Fevola. We are now a more unpredictable side and with Jamo/Bower/Watson fit and firing next year, Hendo plays FF and Waite CHF. We have other 18yr olds who we are grooming for AFL like McInnes and others.

But i suppose you can fill these forums with fevola talk all you want.

I'm on the fence with this Fev situation, however does anyone really think that we have the forward line that can win us a really important final?

Personally there is enough evidence to suggest that Betts and Garlett don't cut the mustard in big games. Walker is yet to perform, but has had greater output then the aforementioned. Waite is the unknown, yet not the true big bodied KPF forward we really need. The club is pinning its hopes on Mitchell who has had issues with his shoulders, and there is no guarantee that they will heal (Here is hoping a Walker outcome with young Luke).

Although as some have suggested it is functioning well, its against the better teams that simply it doesn't.
Nice rants.

They sound similar to the proposed arguments a few Collingwood supporters made by proposing a Dawes for Fevola trade.

I can't forget all those finals that Fevola won for Carlton.

All the wannabes in the coteries and at board level need to move on and forget the past glories.

The football department won't take Fevola back.

Fev didnt win us a final because our list was a shambles and we only had 1 forward and 1 decent crumber (betts) when he was here.

Someone like a Fev 'type' would be of huge benefit. We miss crash and bash as Waite is not that player.

A Fev 'type' takes al ot of attention away from a Waite who would provide a dual focal point up forward.

It leaves Walker as a third forward tall which is his go and would see him add more goals. 3rd best defender on him...not 1st/2nd.

Our forward line when Waite is back is only missing 1 type of player...and that IS a Fev type body with skill.

Betts/Garlett would only improve with that type of player.

We miss the physicality that everyone is happy seeing from Duigan in our backline!

You can throw up Kruezer, Hampson and Setanta but the first two are ruckman who are not rdy to rule a fwd line. Setanta just hasnt got enough craft. All of them can fire for small periods of time though...but they arent Fev's arseh*le as a FF.

Even a crameri type would suit our structure..a poorer version of Fev.

Hawthorn when it counted (1st half) pushed over Garlett and Betts at will with stronger bodies...a Fev 'type' would have really helped us physically push back!

Not necessarily against Fev being put on the rookie list and having to perform at Bullants level before making his way to the seniors on a performance based contract, but you'd reckon the risks are pretty high that he'll come back and re-introduce a culture that we don't want to revisit, so no.

But at the moment we lack a big forward for the big games, Waite isn't an imposing forward & more an exciting floater, Walker's been sensational and has stood up in big games but he ain't a key position and would be better off having to deal with the 3 tall back. Eddie and Garlett may prosper a bit more with a big forward to smash the packs for them, because at the moment they're struggling in big games, the question is whether that'd them or that we lack a big forward to create a path & spread packs for them.

Having said that, we do score a lot when entering the forward fifty

Maybe your points are valid, but they aren't arguments that a 31yo, 190cm, with baggage at the club, is the answer.

What if one of Bower or Watson stand up at CHB next year and release Hendo forward?

Or Hampson has a massive pre-season?

If you consider our window is now for a lack of some KPP depth, then even in 2012 we want a player who has confidence. Hendo, Bower, and Watson might contribute but none will have the confidence/swagger required on a premiership class KPP, e.g. J Brown, Reiwoldt pre 2011 with his dangly bits in the press killing him off, Pav, Buddy etc.

Hendo did a good job on Buddy but he looked scared stiff in the first half.

Setanta says hello.

I'm hoping he can come in and offer us something EBIAC. I'm crossing my fingers. :thumbsu:

To some extent, Setanta has been measured and is just short of what we need at the pointy end of the finals. He has done ok for periods in the past but never for more than 4/5 weeks then completely disappeared and dropped.

Setanta playing on after a great contested mark outside the fwd 50 and wheeling around to kick inside fwd 50 is a bit of a lottery. That instant play on and kicking decision making and disposal is very suspect at AFL level.

Don't mind him being a depth player. But would want more to win an AFL grand final.

I'm hoping he can come in and offer us something EBIAC. I'm crossing my fingers. :thumbsu:

To some extent, Setanta has been measured and is just short of what we need at the pointy end of the finals. He has done ok for periods in the past but never for more than 4/5 weeks then completely disappeared and dropped.

Setanta playing on after a great contested mark outside the fwd 50 and wheeling around to kick inside fwd 50 is a bit of a lottery. That instant play on and kicking decision making and disposal is very suspect at AFL level.

Don't mind him being a depth player. But would want more to win an AFL grand final.
I posted elsewhere that his pack work was magnificent on Saturday against quality opposition in Port Melbourne. Timed pushouts in one-on-one situations for marks in front of goal, crashing packs and crumbing and some good kicking. He looked like the ultimate player.

For gods sake give him 5 years now. :eek:

I'm hoping you're right.

Players like Mclean also look great at VFL though so it's a big step up.

I will pray for Setantrum to come out firing and display some good AFL form right through to the cut throat finals.