He has always humoured me to varying degrees ... mildly

But his disgraceful performance on the footy show tonight should see that silly old relic of the past put out to pasture for good .

An embarrasment to channel 9.

His final Fevola "joke" in his mailbag segment took the cake ...

yeah he takes it too far sometimes sam. but i guess thats what he is best known for...being an idiot.
i feel sorry for fevola, he seems genuinely sorry for how he has acted throughout his life so far. its strange that his best mate is such a fantastic bloke like chris newman.
still, i cant believe fevola is getting more attenton than ricky nixon, considering ricky nixon's problems are much much worse in my opinion.

After Fevola (clearly heavily medicated) opened the lid and admitted to attempting suicide , discussed his battles with alcohol and gambling etc. ... talked of his ongoing mental "illnesses"and the psychiatric help he is receiveing ... Newman just went on when of his silly , mis-informed old school rants basically inferring that Fevola needed to take a cup of concrete and HTFU , said he needed to take responsibility for his own actions .

I thought that was what he is doing to a large degree ... finally ... and i never knew Sam had a PHD in these matters .

To round it off nicely he cracked a joke a joke in his mailbag segment about Fevola twittering that he had dropped 30k on the tables before breakfast that morning ... which was one of the more awkward moments as not a person in that studio laughed and you could cut the air with a knife , as everyone was pretty much sitting there stunned at what they had just heard.

Newmans views are Newmans views but the time for us being "entertained" by them on national television is over

We are known as the club to give wayward players a second go.

Perhaps we should have a crack at fev in the psd at the end of the year.

Could you imagine young JR and a experienced rejuvenated fev in our forward line in 2012, I'd say finals would be on cards for sure.

Newman's once quick wit is now tired , rusty and desparately UNFUNNY. I felt for Fev, I think we've all known personalities like him, deep down they're not bad blokes and have generally done the most harm to themselves. if that doesn't desrve our sympathy then sheesh, what a sorry place.

Could you imagine young JR and a experienced rejuvenated fev in our forward line in 2012, I'd say finals would be on cards for sure.

We've been known as the club who's been crap for 30 years too.
Fev would be a shortcut, a massive mistake and you are a fool for thinking otherwise

I am very sympathetic towards Fevola and his troubles, but by having him in our side, we are setting back the development of our young key forwards (Vickery, Griffiths). Fevola also wasn't known for his leadership skills so it's a bit of a bust for us, cannot compare it to Ben Cousins one bit.

Sam Newman? In fact, all of them on the show except Browny were disgraceful (especially Crawf). Judging and 'throwing' their opinions around like experts. They are mostly former footy players for ****s sake, not psychologists. The truth is that none of us are experts, and this media attention is half the problem for the poor bloke, who is tied to the wall and does an interview like this for the cash.

People will jump on him and judge him now, it's not about judging, it's about helping. Hopefully Fevola gets the help he deserves and stays away from Richmond, after all...he is a dirty blue bagger by heart :thumbsu:

Who the duck do you think we are? A halfway house for the delinquents and idiot of AFL?

Our club is not a charity case and putting a big fat Fev there will be a gigantic backward step back into the Stone Age. If the Lions can't fix him up, what hope do we do? On fact, it will be the biggest waste of resource trying to keep Fev in line.

After Fevola (clearly heavily medicated) opened the lid and admitted to attempting suicide , discussed his battles with alcohol and gambling etc. ... talked of his ongoing mental "illnesses"and the psychiatric help he is receiveing ... Newman just went on when of his silly , mis-informed old school rants basically inferring that Fevola needed to take a cup of concrete and HTFU , said he needed to take responsibility for his own actions .

I thought that was what he is doing to a large degree ... finally ... and i never knew Sam had a PHD in these matters .

To round it off nicely he cracked a joke a joke in his mailbag segment about Fevola twittering that he had dropped 30k on the tables before breakfast that morning ... which was one of the more awkward moments as not a person in that studio laughed and you could cut the air with a knife , as everyone was pretty much sitting there stunned at what they had just heard.

Newmans views are Newmans views but the time for us being "entertained" by them on national television is over

Iddy, you probably left out the worst part. In fact, I can handle Newman having his own opinion about how he views Fev's behaviour, as I know plenty share that view (not me, by the way). But when he straight out said that the clinic Fev had been attending for two months failed and no doubt had to shut down because it is useless... now that was going too far, and he should be made to retract that. He spent minutes sprouting that crap whilst Hutchy gave a 15 sec trivial mention of help lines for depression and addictions.

Iddy, you probably left out the worst part. In fact, I can handle Newman having his own opinion about how he views Fev's behaviour, as I know plenty share that view (not me, by the way). But when he straight out said that the clinic Fev had been attending for two months failed and no doubt had to shut down because it is useless... now that was going too far, and he should be made to retract that.
yeah .. i had actually forgotten that he kicked it off with that

The funny thing about Sam is that when he actually stops acting like a buffoon, he can be quite articulate and speak intelligently. But, i concur Iddy, he has truely expired as a personality. The footy show too, it's pathetic. I would rather Helliers show come back (and that is saying something). I have an idea for free to air tv exec's. How about a footy show, that a: starts on time (in a 7.30pm timeslot for kids), b: has no c grade comedians talking about a game they never played, but does have respected ex and current afl players on a panel, and c: they actually just review the clubs last couple of games, then review the upcoming fixture. It's a radical proposal i know, but i reckon it could work.

yeah .. i had actually forgotten that he kicked it off with that

just another old fart falling into senility dude...who's eyes will soon stretch behind his ears. What is real funny is that Fevs gambling addiction was with the nags...and there are another million and one ways to get a gambling fix, from stuff that rolls as fast as a 1200m race. Poker aint one of those fast fixes, its kind of like a hobby that you can pass the time with. You cant just rock up to a $5 table and plonk 10gs on the next card as you would on the next nag in the next at Flemo.

I dont understand why everyone is going ape shit, especially the scorps. Tend to think they are doing a Lions and trying to riggle out of what they signed on for, at the earliest opportunity. Seeing as Melbourne was jumping up and down.

As for the footy show, it is the classic show where nuff nuff ex footballers can entertain the thought of being entertainers via a school type review. Its like watching school kids putting on a show for the school. I have to hand it to them though, they get paid to do that shit..so i guess they have the last laugh. ;)

Is there a tv "personality" that has been set on his arse/punched in the head as often as Sam Newman?

During the interview with hutchy Fev said he had not had a bet on the horses for 8 months and said he was proud of it. That interview was filmied "a couple of days ago". Then on the follow up intervew filmed yesterday he said he had not had a bet on the horses for 12 months.

Either way the guy is lying. A liar forgets what he says and gets caught out.

3 bottles of red and then tried to commit suicide and failed. To me it seems that he did not want to top himself but just wanted to give somoneone or some people a scare. He attempted suicide but then all that happened was that he went to Brissy and got hammered on NYE. What happened the 4 - 5 days inbetween.

Called me a hard arse but i struggle to believe a lot of what Fev says.

Also it was a paid interview with an organisation that he has been mates with for many years - the temptation to make the expenditure worth while would have been very strong.

During the interview with hutchy Fev said he had not had a bet on the horses for 8 months and said he was proud of it. That interview was filmied "a couple of days ago". Then on the follow up intervew filmed yesterday he said he had not had a bet on the horses for 12 months.

3 bottles of red and then tried to commit suicide and failed. To me it seems that he did not want to top himself but just wanted to give somoneone or some people a scare. He attempted suicide but then all that happened was that he went to Brissy and got hammered on NYE. What happened the 4 - 5 days inbetween.

Justified going to the Casino yesterday by saying it wasn't reasonable to expect him to just give something up straight away. Seems like he still doesn't get it.

All the best to him, but for a myriad of reasons we don't want this guy at our club.

This is the case for most suicide attempts, although they are really a cry for help rather than wanting to scare others