Sacramento Kings
Since I am feeling a bit crook today (must have eaten something bad last night), I actually stayed home and watched Eagles Vs South match and kept a close eye on AFC players.

It was a pretty good game to watch. A bit of a roller coaster. South started like a house on fire and were up by about 30 points at quarter time break. Eagles fought back and eventually won by some 20 odd points but not after a pretty exciting 4th quarter where the lead changed a number of times. Here is how I saw the Crows listed players performances.

Hayden Skipworth was by far the best performing Crows on the day and is definetly in the best 2 players on the field. According to ABC he had 30 touches, 5 marks and kicked a couple of good goals. Skippy has really had a great year in the SANFL. His reading of the play was superb today and he used the ball really well. Both of his goals were from some terrific reading of the play. He kicked the first goal after he was the only player in the area that was actually smart enough to see that the ball will go over the pack. He picked it up and goaled. His 2nd goals was after he read the tap from a ruckam beautifully and weaver past 2 opponents to kick a sanp shot. Great game by Skippy.

Trent Hentschel was quiet today but still managed to kick 2 goals including a game sealer. His first goal was from an obvious free kick and the second one was an easy run into goal after a handball from his team mate. He started 2nd half across half back and stayed there until about half way through the 4th quarter. He got about half a dozen touches from half back and used his possesion well. He is a beautifull kick in field play.

Nathan Bock didn't set the world on fire but did a pretty good negating job on his opponent. He provied a little bit of run from half back and actually missed a deadset sitter from about 30 meters after running into goal. He needs to lift IMHO.

Michael Doughty started off like a house on fire. His 1st quarter was superb. He used the ball well and set up a couple of goals. For the remaining 3 quarters he was well held by Floreani (??????) and although he might have got a bit of the ball (especially in the 4th) he didn't use it well IMO. He kept bombing it long and high and more often than not it ened up in oppositions hands. He needs to lift if he wants a spot in the Crows side.

Aidan Parker was disappointing today IMO. He was great at spoiling but didn't get enough of the ball himself and provided no run from the HB. His disposal, especially by foot was terrible. In the forst quarter he didn't hit a target with his kicks. Was quiet for the whole game and even spent a bit of time across half forward without any real impact. To be fair his opponent didn't really have much of it either.

Draft Watch

Tim Inkster has really impressed me today. This is the 3rd time I have seen him play and he has played well in each of those games. He is a bit of a half forward flanker cum midfielder. He pretty much won the game for the Eagles off his own boot. He kicked 5 goals for the day. 4 of those were in the 4th quarter. He also set up about 3-4 including Hentschel's 2nd. He is a beautiful left foot kick and is a pretty good overhead for his size. Has good awareness and is capable of kicking a freakish goal. This fella could be a smokey come draft time. One well worth considering.;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Eagles fought back and eventually won by some 20 odd points but not after a pretty exciting 44th quarter where the lead changed a number of times.

They would have had to be knackered Stiffy!!

44 quarters!! It really was one hell of a game!! ;)

Seriously Stiffy, thanks for that report.

IMO Skipworth is the form mid-fielder in the SANFL and is a near certainty for the main list at the end of the year. He has been very good for weeks now.

Wasn't overly excited with your report on Aidan Parker? Do you think they will upgrade him or look elsewhere???

Doughty is good enough to play AFL but with the strength and depth of our mid-field is a trade proposition at the end of the year.

First of all, South were robbed today. What an abysmal umpiring performance in the last quarter to absolutely gift the game to the home side. :mad:

And Stiffy, I think you've marked Doughty and Parker harshly.

Doughty worked hard all day to find plenty of the ball and I thought he used it well.

Parker was very impressive, providing that Ben Hart-esque rebound from defence.

Hentschel was destroyed up forward by Trent Steele. He later went down back but didn't do much there either.

Bock looked ordinary. He just looked very uncomposed when he had the ball and his disposal was poor.

Skipworth was BOG. :(

Go Eagles!!!!!!!! I was a bit @#$#ed off at quarter time! But in true Eagle spirit we fought back for a good win. Great game that sets us up in the top four!

k
xx

I went down to the game yesterday and saw a taped televise of it this morning so I'd thought I'd give my thoughts on the game:

Michael Doughty-
1st Quarter- GREAT! Really influenced the game in that 1st half. His vision was Exceptional. WWT didnt show him respect, and he simply punished them.

2nd Quarter- Heavily tagged! Props to Floreani. Although through the tags, he still managed to find some ball. Not a lot of the quarter, but he still found it.

3rd Quarter- Worked his way back into the game. Got the feeling that Floreani had curbed his confidence in this quarter. His tackling was intense this match...a chat to Gary perhaps? Showed the defensive style of his game in this quarter...although perhaps a attacking style was needed.

4th Quarter- Got the ball well. Didnt get to present himself as well as what he did in the first quarter, but still showed something.

Overall he played well, and was important in the game. Tackling intense and his influence was important. Deserved to be in South's Bests.

Aidan Parker

Cant break down his game yesterday. IMO, Aidan looks to be taking on the floating defender role, ala: Benny Hart. Did some clever things with the ball, although was indecisive in some of his actions. I think he didnt play a bad game, although he didnt play a great game.

Hayden Skipworth

From what I saw is a great player. Showed patches of brilliant play. Had me screaming who was on him in that last quarter!Kicked two goals.

Trent Hentshell

Was well beaten in the first quater, IMO. Worked better with that change of position in the second. Finished back in the forward lines with two goals.

On the WWT Double goal:
That umpire in that last quarter......I swear......was a WWT player in drag! STUPID critical decision. And what happened to Holding the ball?

Question: Has Cicolella ever been placed on a AFL list?

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
So Stiffy, of these players, would you say Bock is the least likely to stay on our list?
Yep for sure. he hasn't come on as much as we would have liked. However, he might get another year considering the draft is very thin when it comes to talls.

Originally posted by macca23
Wasn't overly excited with your report on Aidan Parker? Do you think they will upgrade him or look elsewhere???
He hasn't played as well as he has in the last month or so but was still effective. He is a one mean spoil thats for sure. I would promote him at the end of the year for sure. He is a prospect worth persisting with. As I said he hasn't played as well as he has in the last month but was still effective since his man was nowhere to be seen all day.;)

Originally posted by DaveW
First of all, South were robbed today. What an abysmal umpiring performance in the last quarter to absolutely gift the game to the home side. :mad:
Thats what I was expecting South supporters to say :)

I just didn't like a few things they have done. Wasted a lot of the ball IMO and didn't always choose the right option

Doughty worked hard all day to find plenty of the ball and I thought he used it well.
There is no doubt he worked hard but he was well held by Floreani after qtr time. He had 8 possesions in the 1st QTR and 14 for the rest of the game. His use of the ball after half time was ordinary especially in 4th quarter when he kept bombing it long and high giving no chance to his forwards.

I only saw him rebound from defence 2 times and kicked it straingt to the opposition on both occasions. He kept his opponent quiet but didn't do too much himself IMHO. Only 12 possesions

I thought Inkster would have given him a bit of a run for his money.;) Inkster was a match winner in the last quarter

Originally posted by AngelEyes
On the WWT Double goal:
That umpire in that last quarter......I swear......was a WWT player in drag! STUPID critical decision. And what happened to Holding the ball?
That is a South supporter speaking. The free kick was there and even before the umpire had blown the whistle I said that could be a double goal to WWT. Inkster was running into an open goal and once he kicked it the South player was late and pushed him in the back. The replay shows its the right decision. Why do you think that South player got benched straight after by the coach?????? That free was definetly there

Question: Has Cicolella ever been placed on a AFL list?
Yes he was with the Crows for a couple of years. He is not AFL material at all. His disposal by foot is not up to AFL standard IMHO.;)

Hentschel was destroyed up forward by Trent Steele. He later went down back but didn't do much there either.

Bock looked ordinary. He just looked very uncomposed when he had the ball and his disposal was poor.

You south supporers are pathetic

Have a whinge

Until you start winning some games no-one will take you seriously.

Originally posted by Jars458
You south supporers are pathetic

Have a whinge
I will have a whinge when I see a game of football ripped away from us by poor umpiring decisions.

Until you start winning some games no-one will take you seriously.
Bit hard to win a game when its 18 of us versus 21 of them on the ground.

But how seriously can we take the Eagles who almost lost to the third bottom side? ;)

I will have a whinge when I see a game of football ripped away from us by poor umpiring decisions.

But how seriously can we take the Eagles who almost lost to the third bottom side? ;)

I will let you know after the elimination final against Sturt;)

DAVEW!!!!!!!!

Your in so much trouble next time I see you!!!! South were easily beaten after quarter time. You guys kicked 8 goals compared to the Eagles 16. The class and experience of the Eagles showed through and were able to capitalise on Souths mistakes. That free kick to Inkster was definatley there. You can't push someone in the back after they have scored a goal, you will always run the risk of a free kick being payed.

k
xx

Ah, I trolled another Eagles fan. :D

But seriously at one point in the third quarter, I thought the umpiring had been quite good. The irony was that it went bad after that.

Michael Davis running off in to forward line. But called back for a rubbish illegal shepherd call.

An Eagles player kicks the ball out of bounds and the Eagles get the resultant free!

And don't get me started on that double goal. Grrr... there was nothing in it!

Agggggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!! That is bull and you know it.

I can see your frustration with the other 2 decisions but the double goal was as clear as daylight. You should have seen the replay. Why do you think the offender was dragged after that??????;)

Oh c'mon Dave, you can't expect people to take the Eagles seriously. That's just un natural!

I mean, this is a team that starts their full forward who kicked 6 the previous week in defence. they're clowns and no one rates em.

Originally posted by Jerome
Oh c'mon Dave, you can't expect people to take the Eagles seriously. That's just un natural!

I mean, this is a team that starts their full forward who kicked 6 the previous week in defence. they're clowns and no one rates em.

As opposed to a team like Centrals who are supported by a bunch of raving lunatics who would be better off at a Milwall game.

waving flags from other countries at a footy match should be grounds for deportation in my view.:cool:

Re: Re: SANFL Crows (Eagles Vs Panthers)

Originally posted by macca23
They would have had to be knackered Stiffy!!

44 quarters!! It really was one hell of a game!! ;)
Is that something like staying at the 19th hole till sunrise? :D

Originally posted by Jars458
I will let you know after the elimination final against Sturt;)

Not this year Jars (or ever again probably).It's back to a final four this year remember.
Not that that worries me:( Anyone for soup?