School Oral Presentation on AFL Expansion

Would you be in favour of AFL Expansion?

• No Expansion

Votes: 7 53.8%
  • Australia Only

Votes: 6 46.2%
  • International Expansion

Votes: 0 0.0%

Choose a different topic. I know you're a teenager and you like footy but I guarantee your teacher will just tune out when you start talking about this.

Nah thats b/s. When they let you pick a topic always pick something you really like. If your teacher doesn't know facts about your topic then more power to you.

Choose a different topic. I know you're a teenager and you like footy but I guarantee your teacher will just tune out when you start talking about this.

If they talk about it from a commercial and social perspective I can't see why this would do badly.

G'day guys,

Sorry if this is the wrong sub forum but For English we have to do a Point of view oral presentation about a particular topic in the Australian media. Because I spend half my time on this form I decided to do mine about AFL Expansion because why not.

For my contention (my opinion on the issue), I chose to say that the AFL should not waste resources expanding the game but rather should focus on nurturing the game where it already exists. (Essentially just the traditionalist stance)

Anyway, I was hoping that with the power of BigFooty I could get some ideas for arguments which I could use to help my case. What are some arguments that support the idea that the AFL should not expand?

Cheers :)

You should check out the footy industry subforum, there will be posts that have references/ sources.

Both have a very strong history base of WAFL and SANFL and have the populations to maintain teams.

NSW and QLD dont have the history of the game. (But the Swans have built a pretty strong club based on sustained success)
NT clearly doesnt have the population.
And Tassie arguably doesnt have the population, or is at least too decentralized, and is also facing other economic pressures
Agreed, but I think it’s because we haven’t embraced a truly national competition and there is still too much fixation on Victoria and it being the home of football. For a truly national competition, we need to move away from being so Victoria-focused. It won’t happen in our lifetime though.

I asked my teacher if it was okay to use a poll off this forum and she said it was fine by her so I just put up a poll in which I can use as a survey source for my oral.

Please feel free to participate.

I asked my teacher if it was okay to use a poll off this forum and she said it was fine by her so I just put up a poll in which I can use as a survey source for my oral.

Please feel free to participate.
I think you need to think more and refine the survey question/s.
In favour of more expansion?
In favour of the expansion that has already been completed?
Time horizons? favour of expansion next year? 20 years? 100 years?

Asking the right question is important. important lesson relevant to your english class :P

I think you need to think more and refine the survey question/s.
In favour of more expansion?
In favour of the expansion that has already been completed?
Time horizons? favour of expansion next year? 20 years? 100 years?

Asking the right question is important. important lesson relevant to your english class :p
Dang i cant change the question now, but thanks that's probably a good idea.

G'day guys,

Sorry if this is the wrong sub forum but For English we have to do a Point of view oral presentation about a particular topic in the Australian media. Because I spend half my time on this form I decided to do mine about AFL Expansion because why not.

For my contention (my opinion on the issue), I chose to say that the AFL should not waste resources expanding the game but rather should focus on nurturing the game where it already exists. (Essentially just the traditionalist stance)

Anyway, I was hoping that with the power of BigFooty I could get some ideas for arguments which I could use to help my case. What are some arguments that support the idea that the AFL should not expand?

Cheers :)

Do your own homework before u get an F