Scully

Scully's management team stated at the start of last year that he won't be resigning until the end of this year, as his value with 43 games is considerable more....

So don't expect any announcements and plenty of rumors... MFC put a lot of pressure on his management last year to resign but they refused not a GWS thing but better value for their client....

The latest rumor I heard for from an ex north melbourne employee that usually has some good mail was Tom signed 6 mil for six years... I spoke to tom about it and he laugh as he has even discuss contracts with his manager and just wants to play football this season, this biggest thing for him is to play on the ball as he was frustrated that he was made to play the wing and even though scott west wanted him in the middle bailey overrulled.

Watch him step in up this year when he starts playing on the ball....:thumbsu:

He will sign when he signs or he won't. In any event there is not much we as posters can do about it but put our faith in the club to make the right offer (which they did very well with the players last year) and for Tom to see that he has a chance to write another page in the history books with the oldest club going.

I think I worried myself out about GC stealing our talent last year so I'm going to relax and enjoy the ride this year and let whatever happens, happen.

Any update on a contact extension? Starting to get a bit worried with the whole gws thing

Mate, any manager worth their salt would be saying to Tom: do not sign until later in the year. What commercial advantage would he accrue by recommitting now? Zippo.

I can understand the attractions of the Gold Coast but Western Sydney is a shit-heap. Only an uber-merc would go there.

Tom has been given the number 31. He has fitted well into the club. He is very close to his Melbourne-based family. And there is a strong chance we could do something as a club in the next five years.

OK, we will all be holding our breath until the pen is put to paper but we need to have confidence in the club - Bruce leaving was never going to hurt us in this dynamic.

Mate, any manager worth their salt would be saying to Tom: do not sign until later in the year. What commercial advantage would he accrue by recommitting now? Zippo.

On the other hand if he was to sustain a serious injury lime an ACL that would substantially lessen the attraction of other clubs & potentially destroy the big contract he is looking for.

I do however think that MFC would still offer him good money but it would be on their terms.

Any good manager would have to make him aware of that too.

There is no disharmony at our club, we are on the rise on and off the field, and being only in his second year, still hasn't found his feet at AFL level. And being only in his second year, I can't see GWS throwing the amount of money at him that would be too hard to say no to. Sure they will offer more than what we can, but Tom has family, mates etc all in Victoria. Doubt he will want to leave that behind at 19 years of age.

Also, given he went #1 in the draft and we invested so much faith in him, I am sure he will want to repay us the favour by signing on. West Sydney has no appeal at all. Tom will remain a Demon and will be a gun for our club for many years....

Not to worried tbh, he'll sign.

Out of interest, would GWS have to give us their no1 pick in return?

There are a couple of things to consider.

Firstly as Biff said his market value will explode if he has a good year, and even if he has a quite year or god forbid gets injured the offer on the table now would in all likelihood still be lower than the offer he'd likely get injured or not.

Secondly, the offer that GWS would put on the table is likely to be well within our ability to match given our prudent contract management in the very event this situation arises.

I cannot see him leaving. Why would he. We are building to something and are as likely to get there as GWS plus he will probably be our highest paid player in due course in any event.

Could you honestly see the club paying him more than 450-500k for the following 2-3 seasons for a player with 2 seasons experience? I personally doubt it. On the other hand seeing as gws is going to struggle to attract many big names they would most likely be able to offer something in the region of 800-900k a season. He seems like a sensible kid and hopefully he will stay on but it is still a bit worrying.

If Tom Scully has a ripping year and finishes in the top 3 or so in our B'n'F then on his own merits he is entitled to earn 450-500k per year minimum regardless of age etc. He would no longer be the future, he would be the present and as such should be paid accordingly.

Watts, Grimes, Scully and Trengove are going to cost the club some serious coin to keep together, its a fact of life. But other teams have done it and we will do it in the future. Why? Because its a team sport and everyone needs to be on the same tram to win the big dance. And I get the feeling Tom likes to win...

Imo GC/GWS shouldve had rules in place stating they cant take players from other clubs who have been there for less than say, 4 years, unless that player was delisted. Still, im confident we wont lose him, especially when we win heaps of games this year... :thumbsu:

If all the things you read and hear about Scully are true i find it hard to believe that after being taken at number 1 playing 2 years at a club he would then just leave. I know money can talk but he is going to get well paid anyway so im very confident that he will sign.

Hi Scully here. Western what?

Sydney?

I am pretty sure nobody would sign a six year contract - still I'd be ok if we paid him heaps. He is going to be a gun.

Hi Scully here. Western what?

Sydney?

I am pretty sure nobody would sign a six year contract - still I'd be ok if we paid him heaps. He is going to be a gun.

The HS article said $6m over 6 years. Exaggerated yes, but if GWS wants to throw the truck at him we won't be able to get within a bullsroar.

To me, he hasn't played long enough with Melb to turn back the big bucks, nor have the Dees ever really needed to go out on a limb with him (eg. low draft pick, or sticking with him b/c of lots of injuries, etc) that he needs to repay any sort of faith.

Don't really like our position with regards to this...like with Gaz, when the $$$ is put on the table, it's a business decision.

Except with Gaz it was as much personal as business. When your own coach won't talk to you, I'd say you take the best deal elsewhere.

What worries me is that all the players that were rumoured to be going to the Gold Coast, actually ended up there. I'm pretty sure that GAJ had already committed to GC17, which probably led to his tiff with Bomber Thompson.

To dispel any rumours, all Scully or his management have to say is that Tom hasn't committed to GWS, and contract negotiations with Melbourne will be discussed at year end.

GAJ was a completely different scenario. He'd already won premierships and Brownlow medals playing at the cats. There window has or is in the process of closing. The only thing left for GAJ to achieve in footy is to captain a club. There was every chance that he would never have been given the opportunity at Geelong with Ling playing on and Selwood in the wings, were as he was a monty for the GC job.

Plus GC offers the lifestyle factor and he got to play footy with his brother.

And then there is the what $1.8(??)M/year.

If Scully went to GWS the team is going to be a minimum 2 years behind Melbourne in development, is miles away from his friends/family and Western Sydney is a dive. Not to mention the cost of living is way higher.

Beside $6M over 6 years is a lot of coin no doubt, but with free agency and upward inflation pressures a salary of $1m/year in 2017 for a 25 yo. Tom Scully is probably not going to be earth shattering.

Let's not forget that this kid is about as professional as they come. He wants success and with Melbourne there is a great chance for that in the not too distant future.

Might be worried if it was anyone else, but Scully I'm confident will want to remain a one-club player.

Not to sound rude but 6 million dollars sets a person up for life! All thought gazza being a kid associated to geelong would never leave (no one knew the heated relationship with bomber Thompson) footy is a business now. No doubt future champion player Scully is all I say is hope your side does well and shows potential to win a flag soon to temp him to stay.