Sean Rusling retires

Sucks hard.

Wonder who'll be number 2 next year? Hopefully some young gun so I can keep the number on my back!

Josh Thomas or Blair would be the best bets for the number, both are guaranteed to be around for a fair while.

A damn shame. I was fortunate to sit on his table at the HoF dinner last year and he's a wonderful, classy bloke. Add in his prodigious talent and it's a really sad moment.

The Cheesy retirement is something we can celebrate as a bloke who gave and got everything out of his body and provided great service to the footy club - but Rusling's retirement is just a sad moment.

I also forgot my favourite Rus memory - I was jumping around delirious at the G after Jack's goal and, on my way out, spotted Rus happy as a pig in shit with an enormous grin from ear to ear. No "woe is me" from an injured bloke, just genuinely happy for his mates and footy club. gave me an enormous high five on the way out.

Big shame.

Plenty of forced list changes it seems.

Rus, OBree, Lockyer, Cook, Corrie will all go it seems.

Vital to try and keep Jack now, and reckon this may give Josh a lifeline too.

Hey guys what was the injury that put him down?
What injury didn't is more like it? Started with multiple shoulder operations, then I think it was calf a fair bit of last year and possibly this year too. May have been one or two more leg injuries but not too sure.

I think he would've held up ok if he'd only done his shoulder once but then I think it becomes mentally draining and doesn't matter what injury you get next. Plus you get no consistency and motivation lacks.

Josh Thomas or Blair would be the best bets for the number, both are guaranteed to be around for a fair while.

Blair would be great but I think the 47 suits him, haha. Maybe with little Tony Francis having the 2, it will be an hommage to the great man.

Josh Thomas hopefully will provide some class to the number.

If I have to pick a new number it might have the be the 10

What injury didn't is more like it? Started with multiple shoulder operations, then I think it was calf a fair bit of last year and possibly this year too. May have been one or two more leg injuries but not too sure.

I think he would've held up ok if he'd only done his shoulder once but then I think it becomes mentally draining and doesn't matter what injury you get next. Plus you get no consistency and motivation lacks.

Sounds like a year off could do him well, take the pressure off freshen him up and who knows he might feel up to it after that.

Hey guys what was the injury that put him down?

You name it, he's had it pretty much.

Shoulder recos, calf problems, thigh (currently), I think hamstrings, groins, seriously he's one of the unluckiest footballers I've ever seen.

Sounds like a year off could do him well, take the pressure off freshen him up and who knows he might feel up to it after that.
I don't think so. I think he's probably mentally over it. I think a year out and he's less likely to play again.

He got his body into about as good as condition as possible and it continuely let him down. I think he probably thinks it wasn't meant to be.

It's been lucky for Dawes because he wouldn't have gotten a crack with Rusling and Jack (previously) ahead of him and it's given him heaps of chance. Rusling is super fast, solid hands and a brilliant shot at goal. He wouldn't have helped beating Geelong in the last couple of years but he would've made us better.

That Grover is a dog for lining him up a few years ago in round 1.
If it was not for that incident, who knows what could have happened.
Most medical experts said that Grover's hot would have injured anyone, let alone Rusling.
F****N P*****R !
Sad that he had to retire because he is a top bloke !!!

That Grover is a dog for lining him up a few years ago in round 1.
If it was not for that incident, who knows what could have happened.
Most medical experts said that Grover's hot would have injured anyone, let alone Rusling.
F****N P*****R !
Sad that he had to retire because he is a top bloke !!!

Geez... Maybe he should have played netball then.
You can't blame anyone except his parents for the fact he is built from 1mm thick glass!

In a way I'm happy about this, while the guy could play, he didn't have a body that could hold up and in turn we kept him onour list far too long.
He had a ton of speed, I think he could have made the second round in the 100m of the Comm games in 2006 on his times he was running as a 18yo.

Maybe a return to the track is in order.

Even though he barely played you could see the potential. I, like many others here, kept hoping he would shake the injury curse and become an integral part of the team.
Real shame & upsetting news, I hope he leads a successful life after footy.

It just hurts, as a fan you look at him when he first started and would have thought this bloke is gonna be a gun, he was quick, strong and had a great mark. Its such a bloody pitty his career lasted 17 games.

Truly SHATTERED...

We lucked out on Tom Davidson years ago too. So much potential in both players.

Let's hope this bad news is somewhat compensated with some better news in a few weeks.

All the best SEAN.

Sean Rusling retires