selwood vs gibbs (1 on 1)

GC i don't know if you watched the game today but i was there to see gibbs pick up 30 disposals at 87% efficiency, get 10 contested possessions, lay 7 tackles, kick a goal, get 9 clearances and 155 champion data ranking points (for those who use only this as their guide). not bad for someone who sweeps up off half-back is it you clown? especially given the last time he played mainly in defence all year was way back in round 3. oh and not to mention he was copping a pretty heavy tag from cassisi and i was watching him off the ball and some of the ways in which he lost cassisi were amazing. and i've got no doubt in my mind that gibbs is the best "smotherer" in the league.

will take more than one good game against a poor quality side for him to be considered anywhere near Selwood, Gibbs today played the best game of his career, which is not even the equivelant of what Selwood has been averaging in terms of disposal the past 7 weeks.

what Gibbs did today was the absolute best of Gibbs, Selwood has been playing like that every single game the second half of the year, most of them have been much better than Gibbs performance today actually.

Selwood is a second year matchwinner already, which is unheard of.

even average players have one good game, it means nothing, especially against a bad side, Selwood has been consistently outstanding this year.

Selwood is the best first two year player to come through the draft system, better than Judds first two years, better than Franklins also, he is on track to be an absolute great of the game, Gibbs is far from anywhere near the talent that Selwood has shown, not even close.

will take more than one good game against a poor quality side for him to be considered anywhere near Selwood, Gibbs today played the best game of his career, which is not even the equivelant of what Selwood has been averaging in terms of disposal the past 7 weeks.

what Gibbs did today was the absolute best of Gibbs, Selwood has been playing like that every single game the second half of the year, most of them have been much better than Gibbs performance today actually.

Selwood is a second year matchwinner already, which is unheard of.

even average players have one good game, it means nothing, especially against a bad side, Selwood has been consistently outstanding this year.

Selwood is the best first two year player to come through the draft system, better than Judds first two years, better than Franklins also, he is on track to be an absolute great of the game, Gibbs is far from anywhere near the talent that Selwood has shown, not even close.

lol, don't embarrass yourself by saying that was gibbs has only had 1 good game.

and i didn't say selwood is not better than gibbs right now. he is but gibbs will catch him. you just wait.

and gibbs is playing better than what selwood was when he was the same age. not to mention he plays in a much better team with heaps of support around him.

and i would argue that judd's first 2 seasons were just as good as selwood's in terms of impact on the game, statistically i think selwood has everyone covered.

i didnt mean that to be harsh yes im a big fan of selwood but i was just pointing out that he has never had that many tackles or even got close to that many clearances before

murph3 u can look at those stats on the official geelong site

selwoods best effort has been 6 clearances whereas gibbs managed 9 in his first full midfield game with a hard tag (something else selwood has never got)

lol, don't embarrass yourself by saying that was gibbs has only had 1 good game.

and i didn't say selwood is not better than gibbs right now. he is but gibbs will catch him. you just wait.

and gibbs is playing better than what selwood was when he was the same age. not to mention he plays in a much better team with heaps of support around him.

and i would argue that judd's first 2 seasons were just as good as selwood's in terms of impact on the game, statistically i think selwood has everyone covered.

his only actual best on ground performance was today, other games he has just been decent at best.

both had two pre seasons, both same ammount of AFL games, both just as much work on their body physically, unless you do not have weight programs at the Carlton football club? i would imagine you do, players dont just grow muscle by themselves, they do it through years of weight lifting training, and Gibbs has had just as much weights training as Selwood has, so their physical development is no different at all like you claim.

yepp yepp i am sure he will be... i cant say it's not good to dream Murph#3 go for you life and keep telling yourself he will be if it is what makes you happy. Their is a general principle with the supporters of the club that had a number one draft pick, the first 2-3 years after they have been drafted, the supporters will always say that the player they picked will be the best from that draft, no matter how much better other players from that draft perform in comparison, they will never accept their player is not the best of his crop until at least four years in the AFL, basicaly they will only accept the player is not once it is rediculously obvious.

it is consistent as the law of gravity, Hawthorn Said for several years Hodge was better than Judd and Ablett, Richmond argued for a while that Delideo was better than Franklin, and now Carlton supporters are doing the same with Gibbs in saying that he is better than Selwood.

like i said it usualy takes about 3-4 years for the reality of the situation to strike the club, that their player is not the best, for the draft hype to wear off.

so i really dont expect you to be saying much different to what you have been saying, they all said similar stuff in the past to what you are saying now:thumbsu:

once the draft hype wears off in a year or so, i expect you to send me a message Murph saying " you were right Crazy, i was wrong about Gibbs"

his only actual best on ground performance was today, other games he has just been decent at best.

both had two pre seasons, both same ammount of AFL games, both just as much work on their body physically, unless you do not have weight programs at the Carlton football club? i would imagine you do, players dont just grow muscle by themselves, they do it through years of weight lifting training, and Gibbs has had just as much weights training as Selwood has, so their physical development is no different at all like you claim.

yepp yepp i am sure he will be... i cant say it's not good to dream Murph#3 go for you life and keep telling yourself he will be if it is what makes you happy. Their is a general principle with the supporters of the club that had a number one draft pick, the first 2-3 years after they have been drafted, the supporters will always say that the player they picked will be the best from that draft, no matter how much better other players from that draft perform in comparison, they will never accept their player is not the best of his crop until at least four years in the AFL, basicaly they will only accept the player is not once it is rediculously obvious.

it is consistent as the law of gravity, Hawthorn Said for several years Hodge was better than Judd and Ablett, Richmond argued for a while that Delideo was better than Franklin, and now Carlton supporters are doing the same with Gibbs in saying that he is better than Selwood.

like i said it usualy takes about 3-4 years for the reality of the situation to strike the club, that their player is not the best, for the draft hype to wear off.

so i really dont expect you to be saying much different to what you have been saying, they all said similar stuff in the past to what you are saying now:thumbsu:

once the draft hype wears off in a year or so, i expect you to send me a message Murph saying " you were right Crazy, i was wrong about Gibbs"

firstly, i gave him BOG in the games against richmond, st kilda and sydney.

secondly, your wrong about your theory. i am quite happy to admit i think pendlebury will end up the best player from murphy's draft and cotchin will end up the best player from kreuzer's draft.

firstly, i gave him BOG in the games against richmond, st kilda and sydney.

secondly, your wrong about your theory. i am quite happy to admit i think pendlebury will end up the best player from murphy's draft and cotchin will end up the best player from kreuzer's draft.

watching the Sydney game, tagging a injured midfielder playing in the forward line does not deserve a best on ground recognition.

what about the 26 disposals and numerous pieces of brilliance around the ground? and his groins can't be that bad considering he had 27 disposals and a goal the week before and has kicked 6 goals so far tonight and it's not even 3/4 time yet. and goodes was only moved into the forward line late in the game because gibbs was kicking his arse in the midfield for the first 2 and a bit quarters. anyway, i don't care how you rated his game. i prefer to look out for bits and pieces in games and see what things different players do and then make up my mind. i don't expect gibbs to dominate clearances and get 30 touches every week.

i didnt mean that to be harsh yes im a big fan of selwood but i was just pointing out that he has never had that many tackles or even got close to that many clearances before

murph3 u can look at those stats on the official geelong site

selwoods best effort has been 6 clearances whereas gibbs managed 9 in his first full midfield game with a hard tag (something else selwood has never got)

Just not true. Gibbs had seven tackles today. Selwood has laid 8 or more tackles four times throughout his career including 9 in just his third game and 10 against Richmond in Round 18 last year. Nice credibility.

How about we mention that the amount of touches Gibbs got today (or has ever got) is not even close to the amount of touches Selwood has had numerous times. I'm sure that will prove how much better he is. Wasn't today the first time Gibbs got 30? How many times has Selwood done that now?

And we do expect Selwood to get 30 touches every week and dominate the clearances. Because that's what he does.

can you explain this theory to me where selwood is currently better but gibbs will be better ? I cant work this out how can you tell that gibbs has more improvement left in him than selwood when they are both in their 2nd year ?

i'll tell you why Gibbs will be remembered as a better player than Selwood. I believe that Geelong will win the premiership this year and will probably go close in 2009, but after that, history tells us that Geelong will fall away a bit and end up midfield again or even lower. History also tells us that Carlton will improve and within 1-2 years be pushing at a premiership themselves.
Based on my theory, once Carlton are hitting their peak and Geelong are on the decline, both Selwood and Gibbs will be playing their best footy of their life.
So what am i trying to say here, well, i believe that when carlton are pusing for a premiership it will be on the back of Gibbs. While Selwood will also be playing awesome footy, it will be for a team lower on the ladder and people don't seem to remember those guys as much. People will for ever remember Gibbs because he was the reason carlton won a couple of premierships.

Even though Selwood will win 2 maybe 3 premierships himself; those premierships were on the back of Ablett & Bartel.

i'll tell you why Gibbs will be remembered as a better player than Selwood. I believe that Geelong will win the premiership this year and will probably go close in 2009, but after that, history tells us that Geelong will fall away a bit and end up midfield again or even lower. History also tells us that Carlton will improve and within 1-2 years be pushing at a premiership themselves.
Based on my theory, once Carlton are hitting their peak and Geelong are on the decline, both Selwood and Gibbs will be playing their best footy of their life.
So what am i trying to say here, well, i believe that when carlton are pusing for a premiership it will be on the back of Gibbs. While Selwood will also be playing awesome footy, it will be for a team lower on the ladder and people don't seem to remember those guys as much. People will for ever remember Gibbs because he was the reason carlton won a couple of premierships.

Even though Selwood will win 2 maybe 3 premierships himself; those premierships were on the back of Ablett & Bartel.

Oh the wonder of dreams.

Nice theory. No obvious flaws in it at all.;)

what about the 26 disposals and numerous pieces of brilliance around the ground? and his groins can't be that bad considering he had 27 disposals and a goal the week before and has kicked 6 goals so far tonight and it's not even 3/4 time yet. and goodes was only moved into the forward line late in the game because gibbs was kicking his arse in the midfield for the first 2 and a bit quarters. anyway, i don't care how you rated his game. i prefer to look out for bits and pieces in games and see what things different players do and then make up my mind. i don't expect gibbs to dominate clearances and get 30 touches every week.

when the game was less than a goal between the two sides, Sydney fighting for a top four spot. the final quarter of the match, and you really think in the situation of the game they would have put a two time brownlow medal RR at full forward for the whole quarter??? he was clearly injured as common sense would tell you murph, and i don't think he spend the next game out of the side because he was fit either, stoiping an injured midfielder playing up forward is no accomplishment what so ever.

has selwood ever come close to getting 9 clearances in a game

i believe stats is the worst possible path for you to start comparisons, i think you should stick to the common argument of " Oh he will be better in 2-3 years", really all you can possibly say, just a bunch of what ifs and hope's really is all your argument for Gibbs being better, Selwood has the proof in games to say he is much much better than Gibbs is,

Gibbs best game of his career was yesterday against one of the worst on field performances for the year on port Adelaide's behalf, his best game of his career does not even compare to Selwood's 7 best games this year.

just stick to the hypothetical conclusions and what ifs, it is all you can put forward for Gibbs being better.

Selwood is a great accumulator and his style of play suits the Cats needs. He will gain high disposals and the majoirty of these will be hand passes and chip kicks. He has little offensive side to his game, but with the likes of Ablett and Bartel, this is not really required.

Gibbs on the had can do the lot as we are seeing.

Both are guns.

Selwood is a great accumulator and his style of play suits the Cats needs. He will gain high disposals and the majoirty of these will be hand passes and chip kicks. He has little offensive side to his game, but with the likes of Ablett and Bartel, this is not really required.

Gibbs on the had can do the lot as we are seeing.

Both are guns.

a player who puts his head over the ball and is consistently working in traffic situations the entire game like Selwood you couldn't possibly say is not damaging and is made look good by others, when you are the one putting your head over the ball getting the ball yourself creating plays, how are you being made to look good by others? when you are the one doing the hard work winning the ball in the first place.

he is second for percentage of kicks into forward fifty that result in a team mate mark, yeah chip kicks alright :thumbsu::thumbsu:, look into some information before you type mate, it might help.

Gibbs best game of his career was yesterday against one of the worst on field performances for the year on port Adelaide's behalf, his best game of his career does not even compare to Selwood's 7 best games this year.

just stick to the hypothetical conclusions and what ifs, it is all you can put forward for Gibbs being better.

firstly what you siad about goodes before, roos knew that if he went into the midfield gibbs would continue smashing him. he had 27 disposals and a goal the week before and kicked 8 goals 2 games later.

and how does selwood have 7 best games this year? how does that work? i would have thougt you can only have 1 best game, which is the reason why it is your best game. if what you're trying to say is gibbs ahs only had 1good game, then you are wrong because he was in the top 2 or 3 players in the games against richmond, st kilda x2, sydney, port adelaide and collingwood.