SFNL Div 1 2025

The Qualifying final between Cheltenham and St Pauls should be a classic. Cheltenham Rosellas have got better and better the longer the season has gone. Write them off at your own peril. This premiership battle is definitely a three way go. Justin Pickering, has announced that he will be stepping down at the end of the 2025 season Cheltenham, so they have added spice to want to defend their title and make it 3 premierships in a row, and they have got the team to do it. The 94-point win against Cranbourne was a procession with Callum "Choc" Pola outstanding. Callum is the son of the famous Brendan Pola who used to run around and scare defences in the 80s and 90s in the old Federal Association League. Max Davis and Jack and Sam Lonie are really ramping it up at the business end of the season and Cheltenham Rosellas know how to win flags. Their community and commitment are very strong.

Trouble is, no one will travel out to s..t ville to watch it. I'm talking about the general footy nuff's, not the hardcore supporters.

Its going to be a great finals series. I can't see a world where Dingley aren't in the GF. I can make a case for Chelt, Doggies and Springy (in that order) to be there opponents. Just think Bentleigh are a little bit young.

The Cheltenham Rosellas have been around since 1891. Originally The Cheltenham home games were played on a paddock on the corner of Park and Charman Road. The land in the early days was virgin bush and the response for voluntary help to clear the area was outstanding. Nearly all the market gardeners in the district along with horses, ploughs, axes, shovels completely cleared the area in three weeks. They are one of the oldest teams in the Southeast. The Cheltenham Rosellas were the inaugural Federal Football Association premiers in 1909. Cheltenham Rosellas won three premierships in the Federal League before the Great War. A lot of those boys went off and served for our country in that very same First World War. Not that any of you Gen Z lazy buggers would care. And don't forget that St Kilda champion Trevor Barker joined the Saints from the Cheltenham Rosellas. RIP Trevor. And on a perfect spring day in Cheltenham, you can see the Rosellas fly though with all their beautiful plumage and colours. Infact, on the Sunday after the last two SNFL grand finals, I have found myself in Cheltenham, visiting old friends and having a wonderful pie from the bakery there in all of life's stillness and sure enough, a flock of rosellas flew in and landed next to me. Almost winking at me, we are the Cheltenham Rosellas and WE have flown off with the premiership. Unfortunately, there are some on here who have never stopped to smell the roses or watch the rosellas.

What a rich and heartfelt tribute to the Cheltenham Rosellas — thank you for sharing it.

The story of the club’s beginnings — volunteers clearing bushland with horses and hand tools — is a powerful reminder of how community and perseverance have built so many of the traditions we enjoy today. It’s not just a football team, it’s a living piece of local history. And the image of the Rosellas literally flying in on a quiet Sunday, as if to signal victory, is pure poetry.

You’re right to highlight those early players who not only won premierships but also went on to serve in the First World War. That kind of legacy deserves both respect and remembrance, and you’ve captured it well.

And Trevor Barker — a legend who never forgot where he came from. His link back to Cheltenham speaks volumes about the kind of grassroots footy culture that produces not just great players, but great people.

As for your comment about Gen Z — fair call if you feel the old stories don’t get the attention they deserve, but let’s not sell the younger generations short. There are plenty who care deeply about history, community, and the game — they just need to hear stories like yours to truly understand what came before them.

So here’s to the Rosellas — may they keep flying strong, with every kick, every cheer, and every spring day in Cheltenham.

Hi Golden Glenferrie, no worries, all I am trying to show is that before social media and all the mod cons, these communities were real people, who worked and struggled through two world wars and a depression, and all they had was each other and that meant something. They were flesh and blood and came together to help when there was work to be done. Each community really represented the people who belonged to it. There was no over priced ex VFL players on the list for quick fixes. The people of Cheltenham represented the Cheltenham Rosellas. The great legends of the Cheltenham Rosellas - Jack Barker, Jim Sloss, Jeff Farnbach, Eric Whitecross, Jim Brooks and Norm Wilson were all local boys who looked after each other with a community spirit that we don't have today. People used to care about their neighbours and the community spirit oozed whenever there was a game of footy in the area. But people also respected the other communities. People had unwritten laws of common decency and respect. Somehow we have lost all that.

Thank you for sharing such a heartfelt reflection. There’s real weight in what you’ve said — a sense of deep community pride and solidarity that feels increasingly rare in today’s fast-moving, digital world. The way you speak about Cheltenham and the Rosellas — about people like Jack Barker and Jim Sloss — it really captures something important: that local clubs were once true reflections of the people who made them, not just on the field, but in spirit. There’s something powerful about the idea that these men weren’t just footballers, but neighbours, workers, mates — people who shared life’s hardships and victories side by side. That kind of connection forged bonds that went far beyond sport. It’s a kind of grounded loyalty that doesn’t always survive in the era of quick fixes and short-term contracts. And you’re right — respect, decency, and a sense of responsibility to others used to be unspoken but understood values. Perhaps we haven’t lost them completely, but we may need to work a bit harder to bring them back into focus. Thanks again for your words. They’re a powerful reminder of what community once meant — and still can mean, if we choose to rebuild it with the same heart.

Thanks, TGG, you are so right in all your say. We can find it all again. Community spirit that has always defined the relevant areas of the southeastern suburbs of Melbourne. That understanding that our fellow man and women suffer too. We need to be there to support them and love thy neighbour. I know the committee of the Cheltenham Rosellas fc are trying to rekindle community spirit, by organising shared activities and events like street parties, swap days, or community cleanups to foster connection and collaboration. Utilising online platforms such as neighbourhood Facebook groups or street-specific WhatsApp groups can also facilitate communication, organization, and outreach among players and supporters both. In some ways, the Cheltenham Rosellas fc has represented our times across all eras. In the 60s, Peter Lucas and Arthur Gooch from Collingwood showing their presence, with Cheltenham Rosellas being beaten by a kick after the siren against Springvale in the 1960 preliminary final. Cheltenham Rosellas had great success with their junior sides winning the 3rd XVIII premierships in 1967, 1968, and the 4th XVIII premiers in 1962 and 1968. There was the background of Vietnam in the late 60s and the draft which led to some youngsters facing a torrid time away at war. In the swinging 60s and 70s, while there was not much success on the field. The football club was renowned for its night club culture and swinging parties. Does anyone remember the lollipops? There was a huge roller disco in Cheltenham as well, where people from all ages would gravitate to and spend their night roller skating to 70s disco tunes. Drunkenness and use of foul language could lead to expulsion from the footy club. Bowling dates, costume parties, panel discussions, and support groups at the Cheltenham football club made the whole community at one —were for socialising only, and members were supposed to engage in a friendly way with each other. “The people, the fun, and the tender loving care were so far out front of everything else.” Plenty of car keys were put in certain bowls and picked out by other men, liberal " key parties” as they were called. The ladies would be first class always, “Respect for others, their property and feelings, must be uppermost in everyone’s mind at all times”. Women built solidarity by exploring the intersection of swinging and women’s liberation. They held discussions, group readings, and rap sessions on feminism. The 1970s saw the Cheltenham Rosellas play off in the two senior grand finals, the first under coach Tommy New in 1974, saw Cheltenham go down by 1 point to Highett and in 1976, under coach Ian Cooper lost to Mentone by 6 points. The 3rd XVIII went through the season undefeated in 1974 winning the premiership, with Trevor Barker a key player before going to St Kilda the following year. Deems were the days. We can find it again, I know.

Nepo's burblings read like an AI effort, don't they?

I have never heard people at a Cheltenham game ever refer to themselves as "the Cheltenham Rosellas" in the same sentence even once (e.g. "Go Cheltenham Rosellas!"). It's just Cheltenham or Rosellas or Zellas.
Likewise there was never a ‘federal association’. My old man and others I know played in the federal league and Brendan pola who he mentioned played in the old vfa for a few sides, Waverley in particular (that I can recall)

But you were at Ormond
Go to the EDFL Div 2 page.
Ol mate wrote up a full match preview on this weeks final.
Only problem was it was 2 sides not just aren’t playing each other but are in different divisions 🤣🤣🤣

Go to the EDFL Div 2 page.
Ol mate wrote up a full match preview on this weeks final.
Only problem was it was 2 sides not just aren’t playing each other but are in different divisions 🤣🤣🤣
And when he get's caught out , there is nothing lol

Unusual though that they give Narre Warren reserves a home final when they finished 5th. Seems a bit unfair
I'm sure that Springy Bentleigh and Chelt are happy that 1's + 2's playing at same venues on same day. Not sure that "home ground " advantage will make any difference as Chelt have played at Narre and beat them.

I'm Loving this input !!!!!

The Sam and Jack Lonie story is resounding and such a positive note for the Cheltenham Rosellas. Both along with cousin Rob Cathcart won the flag against Dingley Dell Dingoes last year proving that the Cheltenham Rosellas is one big happy family club. Sam was riding off into the sunset after a terrific career at Seaford in the Mornington Peninsula league when the call to join Cheltenham came. It was Sam’s maiden senior flag and Jack’s second – but the ex-AFL Saint said this one had an “extra special” element to it. Last year, after all their travels was the first year that they played together in the same team and to win a flag was something you only see in Hollywood feel good movies. For Jack, standing on the premiership dais with family was better than piling up 40 possessions. Their premiership medallions didn’t come easy, with Dingley Dell Dingoes leading the Rosellas at three-quarter time. But just like the second semi final the Cheltenham Rosellas mowed down the Dingley Dell Dingoes to win by less than a kick. Now down at Cheltenham Rosellas, they have family days where the senior players have a run around with their own kids and the community joins in. This is what community is about. This is what makes these local clubs special, and this is why we need to game and the teams to flourish so we can keep the feel of community going as long as possible. From its inauguration in 1891 till now, the Cheltenham Rosellas have been the community. The history of the suburb of Cheltenham is the history of their team, the Rosellas. God bless them. May they continue to have premiership reunions - ForEVER.

A lot of people don't understand the history of these outstanding local football Clubs. These Clubs are their people. Their history is our history as we see the changes as David Bowie would say, in society mirror the changes in the landscape of the very fabric that hold us all together as a community. After the return from the Pandemic in 2022, the Cheltenham Rosellas have dominated in SNFL. That year although winning 17 games straight, they lost the grand final to the Cranbourne Eagles by 6 points on a very murky Moorabbin day. In 2023, the Cheltenham Rosellas not only won their holy grail of a football premiership, but the girls also won the netball A-Grade premiership as well. What a year to be a Rosella! Trailing by as many as three goals in the final term of the Grand Final vrs old rivals the Cranbourne Eagles , the Cheltenham Rosellas, who at one stage had kicked 0.10, rattled home four straight goals – including three in the final five minutes to claim our first top division flag in 89 years. 2024 saw the Cheltenham seniors repeat the feats of the 1992 and 1993 teams by going back-to-back with a thrilling two point win over Dingley in the decider. Under new coach Justin Pickering, the Rosellas went through the season undefeated – the only blemish being a hard-fought draw when severely undermanned against second-placed St Pauls McKinnon mid-year. The girls also won back to back in the netball Ai as well. What a two years it has been for the Cheltenham Rosellas. And now Justin Pickering is retiring and the Cheltenham community can think of nothing better than to go out with a bang and threepeat. I mean it would be massive for everyone at the club after so long. They have been the benchmark for this competition and I wouldn't put it past them as they seem to be coming good at the right time of the season. This week's Qualifying final against St Pauls should be another classic. The weather gods don't look like they are going to be kind with 12oC and rain and huge winds so it might come down to luck as much as anything. But the Cheltenham Rosellas will be out there, giving it their all. So, it's "UP the ROSSELAS". Let's see if you can threepeat. The wind and the rain and the slosh and the mud won't worry you at all.

I’m sure most people on here know the history of this and most clubs in the competition not sure how you call Cranbourne there old rivals they haven’t been in the league that long

Hearing the league would be happy to discuss the winner of Div2 not going up.
Only HP are expressing a strong desire to go up with the others indicating a preference not to go up .
If CH, Highett and Mordi won Div2 the league would entertain this and keep Cranbourne in Div 1.

Surely they couldn’t, but we know they want to keep the Narre and Cranny rivalry going.

Puppet , thoughts from CH??

SFNL Div 1 2025