swans,arsenal
There are heaps of posts concerning this issue,and its hard to get an opinion
in.We have Collingwood fans defending the club.We have Eagles fans arguing
with them about drug culture.And somehow the press have dragged North Melb
into it. They are all going at each other,grab a front row seat,sit back and enjoy! Its great for our club to be out of the spotlight for a change!
ps, if you were on the money these guys are on,wouldnt you catch a cab instead of driving your expensive show off car home,DOH!

into it. They are all going at each other,grab a front row seat,sit back and enjoy! Its great for our club to be out of the spotlight for a change!
ps, if you were on the money these guys are on,wouldnt you catch a cab instead of driving your expensive show off car home,DOH!
I thought the same thing thank goodness they have given up on the swans for a while. We can go about our thing quietly again.
On Didak and Shaw I cant believe that other clubs dont have th same problems they have just gotten caught doing it and then lying about it.

IMHO, there is a lot of hypocrisy in this.

Every media outlet and a lot of individuals are peddling the 'hang them' line.

Sure, H shaw was stupid, but i challenge people to honestly say they have never had a drink and driven, or done something silly at 22 ?

Now, i am not endorsing drink driving, but i am staggered at the ferocity of the reaction against a 22 year old kid.

Didak is old enough to know better, and should have tried to stop Shaw driving, but really all he did was have a drink, we dont really know how much, or even if he actually did. Again, stupid, but not a hanging offence.

IMHO the unforgiveable part from the pies point of veiw is lying to club, coach and team mates.

So, a kid did something stupid, and Didak had a drink, have we all not done the same ?

As for taxi, again i dont endorse drink driving, but i would not want to be a player, in Melbourne, with loads of pissed idiots at a taxi rank. That is also a recipe for disaster.

Stupid, but no need for all the media hypocrisy.

I thought the same thing thank goodness they have given up on the swans for a while. We can go about our thing quietly again.
On Didak and Shaw I cant believe that other clubs dont have th same problems they have just gotten caught doing it and then lying about it.

On another note.Does this mean that Didak could be up for grabs come trade
period. Handy player,we have a good track record of reforming bad boys from
Melb clubs.Come up to Syd away from the spotlight,show us your talent. And
we will teach you how to catch a cab home from the pub!

Sure, H shaw was stupid, but i challenge people to honestly say they have never had a drink and driven, or done something silly at 22 ?

Now, i am not endorsing drink driving, but i am staggered at the ferocity of the reaction against a 22 year old kid.

Didak is old enough to know better, and should have tried to stop Shaw driving, but really all he did was have a drink, we dont really know how much, or even if he actually did. Again, stupid, but not a hanging offence.

IMHO the unforgiveable part from the pies point of veiw is lying to club, coach and team mates.

So, a kid did something stupid, and Didak had a drink, have we all not done the same ?

As for taxi, again i dont endorse drink driving, but i would not want to be a player, in Melbourne, with loads of pissed idiots at a taxi rank. That is also a recipe for disaster.

Id rather be in a car with a drunk than a melbourne cabbie

Sure,we have all done the same at his age.The difference is that we were not
earning 300k per year or whatever,plus being a role model for a national footy
club. Ill bet his dad whips his ass!

I think Heath Shaw probably deserves a week or two off but being suspended for the rest of the season is a bit harsh regardless of whether he lied or not. It's his first indiscretion as far as I know and he'll learn from it. As Duds said we all make stupid mistakes when we're young. Didak on the other hand is a serial offender and was told last time that it was his final warning. If he's stupid enough to put himself in that situation then he deserves everything he gets. The guy I feel sorry for is Rhyce Shaw.... 2 weeks for having a few drinks is BS considering as of yesterday his brother was only going to cop a fine for getting pissed and crashing into a parked car.

I noticed Duds you mentioned the Hypocrisy of the media, how about the hypocrisy of fat eddy? Yesterday he stated that suspending them would be letting them off lightly because they wouldn't have to front up in front of 60,000 people yet today all of a sudden today suspensions seem to be a form of punishment? Nice one Ed! Collingwood FC are paying the concequences of not having the balls to set an example with other incidents involving senior players and have no one to blame but themselves for all this.

I noticed Duds you mentioned the Hypocrisy of the media, how about the hypocrisy of fat eddy? Yesterday he stated that suspending them would be letting them off lightly because they wouldn't have to front up in front of 60,000 people yet today all of a sudden today suspensions seem to be a form of punishment? Nice one Ed!

I will back up E McGuire also;

He has clearly suspended The players for lying to him, the coach and the playing group. Not the original 'hanging offences'

Footy clubs are not the police or the judiciary, they provide a very differnt role. So i agree with their original stance.

However, they are responsible for team harmony and spirit. If he did not suspend them for lying to their coach and captain, club spirit, moral and ethos is in the shitter.

I feel sorry for him, terible situation for a bloke, who regardless of your club colours, clearly loves his club, and works his butt off to make them sucessful.

Sure,we have all done the same at his age.The difference is that we were not
earning 300k per year or whatever,plus being a role model for a national footy
club. Ill bet his dad whips his ass!

Why is his wage relevent ?

He is 22, if he earned 5 million a year he is still 22, your comments are typical of the rubbish in the media.

It is only idiot who would pick a 22 year kid who plays footy as a role model in life. Are you seriously suggesting that ?

Getting drunk when the team are struggling for a spot in the eight, driving in such a state where he could have killed himself , his passenger and multiple other innocent persons thus evidenced by the fact he crashes into a parked car - Penalty $10,000 (which is nothing when your on 3 to 400 G a year)

Verus

Lying about who was in the car - Penalty suspended by the club for the rest of the season.

Which was the worse crime ?

Why is lying penalised harder than risking your own life and that of others?

Getting drunk when the team are struggling for a spot in the eight, driving in such a state where he could have killed himself , his passenger and multiple other innocent persons thus evidenced by the fact he crashes into a parked car - Penalty $10,000 (which is nothing when your on 3 to 400 G a year)

Verus

Lying about who was in the car - Penalty suspended by the club for the rest of the season.

Which was the worse crime ?

Why is lying penalised harder than risking your own life and that of others?

Simple;

Footy clubs deal with footy matters.

The police and judiciary deal with the other matters

Why should footy players have 2 sentences ?

I will back up E McGuire also;

He has clearly suspended The players for lying to him, the coach and the playing group. Not the original 'hanging offences'

Footy clubs are not the police or the judiciary, they provide a very differnt role. So i agree with their original stance.

I agree but I think he shot himself in the foot by stating the reason Shaw wasn't being suspended was because it would have been an easy out for him. He should have just come out and said "Look, Heath has broken the law and the law has punishments in place to deal with it. For the harm Heath has caused to the club and his team mates we'll be fining him an additional 10,000".

Why is his wage relevent ?

He is 22, if he earned 5 million a year he is still 22, your comments are typical of the rubbish in the media.

It is only idiot who would pick a 22 year kid who plays footy as a role model in life. Are you seriously suggesting that ?

Dud

sensational thought provoking post # 3 (not sure )above:thumbsu:

You are not just a baby faced funny ... but good thinker too!:D

If any employee conspired and lied in the real world, which inflicted serious damage the company that empoys them they would be out on thier arse!!!!!
NO QUESTION

The money these blokes get is rediculous when they don't realise what they need to do to deserve it

KIRK.... battled his arse off for just a slim chance:o

Hall made a TV ad superstar icon?????

It goes with the territory IMO

They are following SYDNEY SWANS LEAD:thumbsu:

Wobblers club had to come down hard .. the drinking driving is sorta understandable if you want maniac big heads running around with loaded guns called cars!!!...
BUT LYING TO the boss about important s hit is unforgiveable!!!!

Yep I have been DUI... it is to my utter shame:o

As evidenced by the record of Collingwood players with drink associated "incidents" over the last few years I can assume that Collingwoods limp wristed punishments of the past, which Dudley seems to be promoting, have not worked.

Don't forget that apart from potentially killing innocent lives, he could have also killed or seriously injured him self (i.e. a Collinwood listed player) and his passenger (who turns out to also be a Collingwood listed player) , so that in its self is an issue for the club

Simple;

Footy clubs deal with footy matters.

The police and judiciary deal with the other matters

Why should footy players have 2 sentences ?

Thats true to an extent but as the Wellingham incident has proven... When you are the representative of a football club incidents like these don't just effect the individual involved.... It can also hurt your club so I can understand clubs fining players on top of this and after multiple offences, even suspending or sacking players.

I understand your point though..... Just because they got suspended for lying it doesn't mean that they are sending out the message that its worse than drink driving. Society has its own laws for that as Heath has found out. Someone should explain that to Caro though.

i reckon worst thing about this is didak actually let heath shaw cover for him. should of just come clean about it straight away. shows what sort of a character he is, a coward.
fair enough if they were on a dirt road and no witnesses around and they could get away with it. but at 20 to 2 on sunday morning the guys on sen already knew and wasnt much longer before the public caught on. pretty poor attempt for a cover up.

but must admit who hasnt drink then drove

on a side note. was listening to the news today and heard some guy somewhere in europe smashed his car and blew .8 something, reporter said .4 or more was leathal. guy said to the cops he drank 20 litres of beer. makes shaw look like an angel.

also i was wondering if anyone knew where i could get drinking stats
i would love to see the percentage of males aged 18-24 in metro areas in australia caught drinkin driving compared to the amount in the same age bracket of afl players.

would u think it would be more or less?
my bet is general public

comparison could also be done on nrl players to see if there is any correlation.

.14 isnt a lot. .05 isnt drunk at all. its means you are intoxicated not drunk.

Effects everybody in different ways. My only concern is that he could have injured or killed an innocent person. He should have known better considering his sister was seriously injured in a car accident, but we are all human and we make stupid mistakes. Such is life.

I honestly think this punishment is too harsh.

Why is everyone saying rhyce shaw shouldn't be punished and didak should be?

I honestly think this punishment is too harsh.

Why is everyone saying rhyce shaw shouldn't be punished and didak should be?

Because as far as I know Rhyce Shaw didn't lie to the club. On top of that Didak has been involved in several off field incidents and the last time he ****ed up the club warned him that it was his final chance.

... hence he lied. I'm not saying what he did was right but he knew what would happen if he was honest, which is what is happening now. The only reason Rhyce didn't lie was because he wasn't asked.

Actually, i believe his eyebrows obscured his view of Didak, completely blameless