Sheedy attacks Walls' credibility

• Thread starter Thread starter JeffDunne

I can cop '99 as under-achieving, we got too far ahead of ourselves and we never made a GF we should have. But '01? Brisbane were a mighty team, it was no disgrace to lose to them. In some respects we were out on our feet by 3/4's of the way through that year but we still made the GF and were competitive for a half before being run off our feet.

Who wouldn't cop the label of an under-achiever if in doing so you snagged a premiership? Would you?

That game against the Kangaroos was the end in many respects. The acheivement of that day somehow took concentration off holding up another cup.
Gee beaten by Port the following week.

Kudo's to Sheedy...

Fantastic job mate!!!!

A 47% win/loss ratio compared to over 60%. I know who the better coach is and who id prefer to be coaching my team. Onya Sheeds

Walls has tried to play the hard hitting journalist role and in doing so has compromised his own knowledge of football in doing so. Over simplistic tabloid stuff replaces expert analysis in order to maintain his job. So many footy journos out there, some feel they have to be controversial and inspire hatred in order to gain an edge.
Ummm no, Walls is simply a pratt, I am still puzzled why a media outlet would use this buffoon as his input is not simplistic tabloid stuff it is utter crap..
Sheeds is half right in this article when calling into question Walls' credibility on some issues. The Richmond and Brisbane question marks were pretty simplistic and he was guilty of the same lack of analysis he accuses Walls of.

Just put them both in a celebrity death match!!
No contest

Re Walls: It's easier to be critical on the other side of the fence

Re Sheedy: Good on him for punching back

I've lost respect for Walls to the point where I don't listen to him nowadays. He is lucky that some people respect him. If I had it my way he wouldn't be employed as a commentator.

One thing that always makes me laugh about Throbbie Balls is that he claims father figure status at Brisbane.

Take it from someone who knows, the amazing turnaround in form to make their 1st finals appearence coinsided exactly with Walls announcment he was quitting. Make no mistake, the players hated the tool and he jumped before he was pushed.

Well done Sheeds.

Surely everyone can now see that Sheedy is an idiot?

Walls has no credibility: how can you attack something that doesn't exist?

LH86

Sheedy took over the coaching at a time Essendon was going through a Pathetic stage. He never had it handed to him on a silver platter.

And will leave it in the same condition. Walls is right. There is no game plan, just rhetoric and mumbo jumbo. The old chancer has been worked out. Sheeds is over the very windy hill.

I applaud Sheedy on this. I'm sick to death of Robert Walls. I've never heard someone so openly biased towards clubs and players. His commentary leaves me ripping my hair out. Walls is a disgrace to football.

And will leave it in the same condition. Walls is right. There is no game plan, just rhetoric and mumbo jumbo. The old chancer has been worked out. Sheeds is over the very windy hill.
Upwards of 30,000 members and easily the second richest club in Victoria. I agree, he's done nothing to help the club:rolleyes:

Walls was outstanding in setting up the success of a rabble called the Brisbane Bears. He got that rabble into the finals in his last season and have never looked back since. who would've thought anyone could've done that! He also did a wonderful job with Fitzroy, once again a side with financial back-up and facilities, taking them into the finals each year. Walls was never afraid to take the hard jobs. He got his just reward with a premiership with Carlton, as well as a GF and PF. Sheeds on the other hand has never known what it's like to do it that hard as a coach, at a club flush with success and financial stabilty and back-up. Even when he took them over in 1981 they were finalists in 1979. I have the utmost respect for Sheeds (he's been outstanding) given his wonderful longeivity at Essendon but I think he should get his facts straight there. The comment about 2 of Walls' sides being out of existence was ridiculous, outlines the difficulty in coaching those teams and really only serves to strengthens Wallsy's credentials as a coach.

Upwards of 30,000 members and easily the second richest club in Victoria. I agree, he's done nothing to help the club:rolleyes:

Sorry I thought we (Walls etc) were actually talking about the football team not a financial institution. But your right, the old falser keeps roping them in with his "best youngsters seen for some time" patter. Obviously there's 30,000 born every season at winless hill. Good luck when they raise the balance sheet high at the end of the financial year: eyes roll back in the head

From 1993 to 2004 we missed the finals twice. Of course we were going to need to rebuild, with the system the way it is at the moment it punishes clubs who are succesful for prolonged periods of time.

An essential element of Sheedspeak is the past tense

wallsy.jpg
sheeiu7.png

Walls is bitter and twisted about everything these days.

Sheedy is almost senile. What he says about Wallsy is right though but Kev needs to plan his own coaching exit strategy so he does not end up being dragged out kicking and screaming. A repeat of 2006 would be a disaster and a sad way to end his highly successful coaching career. Handing over more of the reins to O'Donnell is one avenue he ought to explore.

Walls writes for a paper that has much credibility. Sheedy writes for one that has little. Does anyone here believe such an article would have been written if both wrote for the same paper? It's all posturing!

Gotta say I'm with Sheeds (May His Name Be Ever Praised, Sheeds-Akbar!) on this one. I had a ton of respect for Wallsy as a player and as a Coach.

He was a great centre-half forward in the years when I could get to every Carlton game, and he turned the Brisbane Lions into a real football team with balls, attitude and a real desire for the contest when they were a complete joke. The Bears were dead in the water up here in Brissie before he arrived. People would always crap on about it being an NRL state, truth was the Bears/Lions just weren't worth watching. In two years he turned that around. his methods may have been crude but without him Brisbane would still be propping up the ladder from the bottom. Leigh Matthews inherited a real footy club.

But over the last ten years he's sounded more and more like an old woman (apologies to my Mum). Must be the problem of having to dredge up something new to say week after week. It's getting to the point where he's harder to put up with than Malcolm Blight. Now there's a winger..

just for the record since 68 the yr ess were beaten in a gf they finished .
69 4th and finals. 70 11th 71 11th. 72 5th and finals. 73 4th and finals. 74 8th. 75 8th.76 10th. 77 9th. 78 10th. 79 5th.and finals. 80 7th.

they certainly were poor but no where near as bad as brisbane bears ever were. i also think the 3 yrs davis was in charge78 - 80 laid a fair bit of the ground work for the 84 85 successes taking nothing away from sheeds.

You only need to look at the present to see what is going on.

Sheeds a twenty seven year coach still at the helm building his empire.

Wallsy sitting on a couch (with little good to say about anyone who plays the game) discussing the game with a woman who has never played the game and another journo who knows nothing because all you hear from him is "What do you think". YES he is also on radio but HE HAS A HEAD FOR RADIO

BYE BYE WALLSY BYE BYE

P.S Please don't tell my brother I stuck up for his coach:D

Anyone can perform a king hit. You don't have to be fit to do it. Wallis was an expert at them though. That's why he got a gig.

I thought it was a massive bump off the ball? :confused: