Freo and Bulldogs, ManU
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23763583-19742,00.html

THERE are only two significant achievements missing from Matthew Pavlich's CV: a premiership and a Brownlow Medal. He has the rest in multiples.

Teams of the year (five), best-and-fairests (four), leading goalkicker titles (four) and the captaincy (second year).

Why, then, is his standing in the game a recurring theme? For a few of us, anyway.

He won votes all over the place at the weekend, yet, in my view, he was disappointing. Again.

Another game in the balance for Fremantle, another pathetic last quarter (from the team). Another heartbreaking loss.

Pavlich kicked 1.2 in the final term, including a poster for a set shot from inside 25m, a gimme for a player of his talent.

A must-kick for the skipper, best player in the club, top 10 player in the competition.

The Dockers lost by nine points. They win if he kicks that goal. No doubt.

Lots of good players miss with chances they should convert. Brad Johnson missed Sunday night, but Johnson has won more games than he has lost with pressure kicks late in games.

Freo has one win from nine rounds this year, and six of the losses have been by margins of less than three goals.

Pav hasn't kicked more than one goal in a last quarter in any of them, with a total of 7.6 from nine quarters.

He was good late against Geelong in Round 6, but the fact is he hit the post with the kick that could have won the game.

He should have dominated Saturday's encounter with Carlton.

A game played in the perfect conditions offered at Telstra Dome, Carlton's best key defender, Michael Jamison, was in the stands nursing a crook shoulder, Bret Thornton was another absentee through injury, and Pavlich found himself up against Irishman Setanta O'hAilpin.

By half-time, the Freo star had five possessions to his name, one of them a free kick before the opening bounce because O'hAilpin bumped him and he tumbled over.

He had 11 disposals in the second half and finished the game with 4.2 and two assists, both deft hand-passes to teammates who finished the job.

Statistically, it was a solid day's work. He led Champion Data's rankings with 111, he got votes in the Herald Sun, The Age and on Channel 9.

Yet, his efficiency rate was just 63 per cent and he had seven clangers.

Back in August 2004, I wrote an article headed: "Too many niceties in Pavlich game".

"He is a nice player; he isn't a great player. Not yet, anyway."

I tend to think not enough has changed. Yes, he is a high-class player but, at 26, he isn't what he should be, and that's a superstar, a man who determines the results of games.

Like Jonathan Brown, like Buddy Franklin.

Oddly, it was something he promised five years ago.

Fremantle beat North Melbourne at the MCG in August 2003 after trailing by four goals in the third quarter.

Pavlich, then 21, went into the midfield and racked up nine possessions in the last quarter for 25 for the match.

He kicked the goal that cut the margin to six points, then set up the goal that tied the scores.

In five of this year's nine games, he has had no more than three possessions in a last quarter.

More recently, he laboured through the Hall of Fame tribute game. He played 84 per cent of the match for 11 possessions and two behinds.

Melbourne football operations manager and former Fremantle coach Chris Connolly will think me hard on Pav.

In August last year, he likened Pavlich to former Hawthorn champion Jason Dunstall.

"The player I rate the best player I've been involved with is very similar to Matthew, and that's Jason Dunstall," Connolly told the Herald Sun.

"What Jason did and what Matthew does is continually perform, continually hit the scoreboard."

Quizzed on Pavlich in games in the balance, he said: "He's an accumulator. He's a player that consistently presents and does it across four quarters."

Connolly said Pavlich suffered by comparison with players with premierships to their name.

"It's like getting on an aeroplane. Matthew Pavlich is in business class. To get into first class, you need a premiership stamped on your ticket."

On current indications, there is no hint of an upgrade any time soon.

They did the same thing to Bux. As stated in this day and age you need 21 mates to get to the ultimate.

As the old saying goes, you're only as good as your worst player. If they are not up to standard, then they are far more worthy of criticism then a bloke who has and continues to be their best and most consistent performer.

i thought his last quarter was fantastic.
its easy to put it down to him kicking that goal but if we'd had another 5-10 put in the same effort we win....

fancy criticising Freo's best player who has been very good. He may not be playing his best but fair dinkum, there are 21 other blokes in the side that deserve criticism before him!

No doubt there are 21 blokes that need a bake more than Pav , but there is no reason why He should be immune.

It is a team game , everybody needs to be at their personal best and all should be striving to improve.

Especially the more talented blokes.

If you are staying the same you are going backwards.

I actually couldn't watch when Pav lined up as I knew it would hit the post again.

Nothing that I would disagree with, but it really doesn't say much for quite a long article. Cliff notes - Pav is going alright, but he is not completely dominating. He does not have a premiership medallion and may never get one.

Let me offer a more controversial criticism, Pav is playing too selfishly for captain at the moment. Perhaps he feels he has to do everything himself, but I think this results in him playing a poor team game.

During the carlton game he ignored at least two well positioned open team-mates (Taz and Mayne) to take low percentage shots on goal. And yes, one of them scored a goal, but it was incredibly lucky to bounce thru. If Pav is playing midfield, his single focus is to run as far as he can then kick it as far as he can.

Like I said, I think he feels he has to do everything himself and is busting a gut out there. But is he involving his team-mates, or trying to win despite his team-mates?

Nothing that I would disagree with, but it really doesn't say much for quite a long article. Cliff notes - Pav is going alright, but he is not completely dominating. He does not have a premiership medallion and may never get one.

Let me offer a more controversial criticism, Pav is playing too selfishly for captain at the moment. Perhaps he feels he has to do everything himself, but I think this results in him playing a poor team game.

During the carlton game he ignored at least two well positioned open team-mates (Taz and Mayne) to take low percentage shots on goal. And yes, one of them scored a goal, but it was incredibly lucky to bounce thru. If Pav is playing midfield, his single focus is to run as far as he can then kick it as far as he can.

Like I said, I think he feels he has to do everything himself and is busting a gut out there. But is he involving his team-mates, or trying to win despite his team-mates?

Good post, agree completely.

Pav is the first to arc up if one of His team mates ignores him even when He is in a worse position.

It is something He needs to work on.

No doubt there are 21 blokes that need a bake more than Pav , but there is no reason why He should be immune.

It is a team game , everybody needs to be at their personal best and all should be striving to improve.

Especially the more talented blokes.

I agree but how many of those other 21 are at their best?

I'd say Hayden, Palmer and Ibbotson could be excused.

McPharlin and Sandilands have been similar to Pav, brilliant at times, below their best at others.

Guys like Crowley, Dodd, McManus, Black, Carr, Gilmore, Farmer, Mundy, Peake, Schammer are old and experienced enough to provide a reliable and solid core...they simply don't. That is the pressing issue. Forget Pav playing a bit below his best, the focus should be on this group of players who are playing below par.

Pav is still beating his opponent/s most, if not every week. How many of the above are?

McPharlin and Sandilands have been similar to Pav, brilliant at times, below their best at others.

Guys like Crowley, Dodd, McManus, Black, Carr, Gilmore, Farmer, Mundy, Peake, Schammer are old and experienced enough to provide a reliable and solid core...they simply don't. That is the pressing issue. Forget Pav playing a bit below his best, the focus should be on this group of players who are playing below par.

Pav is still beating his opponent/s most, if not every week. How many of the above are?

Crowley has comfortably been the best out of that lot. He has lifted this year. Dodd has been carrying various leg injuries for several weeks but was playing well before that. But other than that the answer is not many. Therein lies the problem.

The one in the last quarter that went through for a point, i think Mayne or Mundy was wide open in the square.

See, this is the only bit of the game I saw.
I actually didn't think it was that bad.

He worked his man off the ball and turned towards the boundary, grabbed the ball, and thinking he was going to be under the pump, snapped the ball...if he had more time???

Yeah, i mean the reality was that if it was going to go through for a goal, Mundy i think would have probably been close enough to grab it and slam through the goal. I think it was just a bad kick.

Spot on , i agree with the general sentiment that others are due a bake before Pav.

But Pav (Captain) has done some things that haven't helped the process and should not be immune from being taken to task about it.

His goal kicking has deteriorated since 2006 and it has cost us games at crunch times , although if his teammates had done more it would not be as obvious.

Facts are despite the rest of the team, He has had the chance to win The Cats game & He muffed three chances to win the Carlton game & 7 3 instead of 5 5 would have won the Melbourne game.

I am not saying it is right that He should be singled out, He should not be immune from criticism.

Putting one player on a pedestal above the team is very St Kilda like.

He tries hard but it may not be enough atm. Bit too selfish. Don't get me wrong, I actualy like it when a good forward is a bit selfish. He should be sometimes. But TOO selfish is no good and that's the thing about Pav this season [and a good part of the last one as well]. I agree with Ripper on saying that he shouldn't be immune to criticism. In fact, as a captain, he needs to take bigger responsibility then anyone else.

Refer to Chocco's article. There is one major reason that PAV hasnt kicked alot of goals in the last quarter, IS THAT THE OTHER TEAMS HAD THE BALL. Hard to kick goals for a forward if your team dont have the ball.

It is very very very clear at the moment that a good midfield will make ANY team look better. West Coasts defence is looking a shadow of it's former self, and they're forward line ()even though dodgy before) now clearly the worst in the league. All you have to do is look at Lynch and Hansen, when the AEagles were firing, the to mentioned were raking up stats, getting the ball and heck even getting the odd goal, now on the other hand they are proven to be USELESS!!!. Pav has played in a team with a dodgy midfiel, lost more games than we have won YET STILL produces enough for people to criticize him for not being in the upper echelon. That to me shows how truly great he is.

If we start winning more, get our mid field in order, and finally get some stability ib iour team so he doesn't have to be mr fix it. We will see a 100 goal plus forward at our club, and it will be Pav that holds the cup at the end:thumbsu: