Showdown 14

Port Adelaide
Edmonton Oilers, Newcastle
Ok, now that I've kind of accidentally fired the first salvo on the topic of Showdown 14 on the Port Board (All Hail!!), I thought I would ask if any of you can see even the remotest snowflake's chance in hell of actually getting up on the day for a win. What's different this time? Port (All Hail!!) are if anything stronger than they were earlier in the year, and will be starting to peak by round 22.

Port (All Hail!!) 10, Crows (All Spit!! ;)) 4

Originally posted by Pred
Ok, now that I've kind of accidentally fired the first salvo on the topic of Showdown 14 on the Port Board (All Hail!!), I thought I would ask if any of you can see even the remotest snowflake's chance in hell of actually getting up on the day for a win. What's different this time? Port (All Hail!!) are if anything stronger than they were earlier in the year, and will be starting to peak by round 22.

We are just taking it one game at a time

Carlton are a tough opponent with some quality players.

We just need to look back to Round 2 against Saint Kilda to see that this is a danger game and we won't be taking Carlton lightly.

signed

Scousecrow.

I guess it's easy to look ahead when you're cruising on top of the ladder but as a struggling side at the lower reaches of the 8, we're just trying to win one game at a time, and attempt to consolidate a place in the 8. The rest will take care of itself.

As for our shocking record in games against the Power, I think with every loss we are closer to our next showdown victory :)

Who cares? Right now this is only our 10th most important match. I realise for Port it's all about showdowns but we've got more important things to think about right now. ;)

and will be starting to peak by round 22.

Thats happened the last few years, hasn't it?

Try hitting your peak the week after for a change - it's much more rewarding.

Originally posted by sapaul
That's the thing with Pork, they know how to be top during the minor round only....

I don't know, I think it's just that when they get top, top, top, that's when they stop, stop, stop??? :confused:

I would ask if any of you can see even the remotest snowflake's chance in hell of actually getting up on the day for a win. What's different this time? Port (All Hail!!) are if anything stronger than they were earlier in the year, and will be starting to peak by round 22.
We're probably just a smidge above a snowflake's chance in hell of winning, but not much higher. Port deserve to go in as warm favourites considering your showdown winning streak & the fact that you guys see winning the minor premiership as crucial. Also, agree going by your big win over the premiers (to be) in round 22 that you take the last minor round game way too seriously for us. I'm hoping that this is a good omen for us as its amazing how quickly a peak can be followed by a trough.

Pred get real mate, you call that smoke bomb thing a shot about the showdown? That was absolutely pathetic.

I could fart a better potshot than that in my sleep nancy boy :D

It will be interesting just what importance this match will take come Sunday 31st August.

Last year, Port's round 22 game against Brisbane made all the difference in their finishing position.

Whereas for us, with our match on the Sunday, our round 22 against Freo was a dead rubber. We couldn't finish higher or lower than 3rd irrespective of the result.

Most of the finals contenders will have already played on the Saturday. The other two Sunday matches are Carlton v Kangaroos and Richmond v Hawthorn. Right now it looks as if the Kangaroos will be the only contender of that lot.

So it's possible that once again our finishing position will be set in stone before we've run out onto the park. It may or may not be the same for Port Adelaide. It could be a game that has a lot of meaning for one team but not the other. If the game had no real meaning for one side or perhaps both, would this take away from the build up of the showdown with finals just around the corner?

I think its too far away right now to speculate who will win. A lot can happen in the next 2 and a half months or so. Lightning can strike fast for any club. I myself prefer not to speak too soon, but that's just me.

Dave, do you mean 'hahahahahahah we might have bombed out in the finals in straight sets but the fact we denied those other ****ers a top 8 spot makes the whole year worthwhile'?

I was thinking about this during the Wizard Cup - the Showdown in that was great, you try telling anybody at the ground or watching it that it was not a real game of football. Yet it isn't counted.

And no I'm not just saying this because we won that. Not just the AFL contradicts themselves, a lot of the people watching the league's matches should look at what they're saying/doing as well.

Originally posted by Leigh
Dave, do you mean 'hahahahahahah we might have bombed out in the finals in straight sets but the fact we denied those other ****ers a top 8 spot makes the whole year worthwhile'?
I was actually thinking the opposite.

When you lose by 8, 8, 8 and 12 points you don't have to have done a lot differently to have won the game, do you? (21 scoring shots to 18 in the Crows favour in the 12 point loss might illustrate that point.)

Why have we lost these 4 games?? Many reasons I guess, but the one thing that stands out to me is Gary Ayres constant refusal to at least mini flood, while that is actually the game plan fhat Choco uses against the Crows. Think of the number of times in those games where the Crows spend 5 to 10 minutes in their clogged forward lines for no result - suddenly Port clear to an open forward line of 3 players each side on a one on one basis and score a goal. Same tactics that Collingwood use every time against the Crows and have done so with good effect.

What was interesting in the game against Melbourne, was to see the Crows applying a mini flood at times against an opponent that they were thrashing. When we cleared from our defence quite often we were the ones clearing the ball into a very open forward line with few players in it. That's the first time we have used the tactic this year.

I hope that this is a sign of things to come, particularly when we play Port and Collingwood. To allow them to mini flood and not retaliate might make the game better to watch but gives them an unnatural advantage.

So yes, Pred, it isn't going to take much of a turnaround for the good guys to beat the bad guys. It's gonna happen, and it could well be round 22. ;)

Re: Re: Showdown 14

Originally posted by macca23
So yes, Pred, it isn't going to take much of a turnaround for the good guys to beat the bad guys. It's gonna happen, and it could well be round 22. ;)
Yeah, just you keep believin' that Macca ;)

And my grandmother is the tooth fairy.....

[ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...............]

I think the only way the Crows will win a Showdown will be for Gary to step down, and to invite a guest coach in for the day (Shaun Rehn perhaps?) :D ;) :D

Ohhh dear Pred it must be very boring in Japan if you are looking 10 games ahead of everyone else:rolleyes:

As you say the Porkies will be at their 'peak' by then and yeah you will probably beat us and yeah the Porkies will win the minor premiership ( my Porky supporting father actually thought the club actually got something for winning the minor premiership:confused: ) but the AFC will want THE PREMIERSHIP at the end of September(by then the Porkies have well and truely packed up for the year,another one of their finals fadeouts would have occured)and you misreble lot can sit around your back to back WOK Cups and MINOR premierships!!!!!!!

Pred dont get to far ahead of yourself ALOT can happen in 10 weeks. My theory is that I dont start talking about finals footy until the AFC have at least the 12 wins on the board to get into the finals!!!!!!! Then I will talk Finals!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Ohhh dear Pred it must be very boring in Japan if you are looking 10 games ahead of everyone else:rolleyes:
Nah just gettin in early :P

As you say the Porkies will be at their 'peak' by then and yeah you will probably beat us and yeah the Porkies will win the minor premiership ( my Porky supporting father actually thought the club actually got something for winning the minor premiership
They do, the Copeland Trophy I believe. Listen to your father, son.

but the AFC will want THE PREMIERSHIP at the end of September
Will they just? HAH!!

Son, go play in the traffic.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Showdown 14

Originally posted by ok.crows
Finally, some cred for Pred.
That ZZZZZzzzzzzz...... in my post was not the sound of me getting 40 winks in anticipation of your post, MtC. It was the sound of a fishing reel as the bait is cast.

PING

p.s. You are the last person who should even joke about cred. Also, didn't your parents ever teach you not to talk about people in their presence?