pie time

we have heard so much about ball and jolly and yes while they are the big 2 that we got this off season what about number 3? simon buckley.a former dee and has had an injury plagued career so far so what if he stays injury free what are we to expect of him.? i personally cant see him breaking into the team this season just because of the players ahead of him in heater and harry so what is the expectations of him and can he acctually be a regular in our 22 next season?

I reckon he will play in the NAB Cup, Not Sure what Postion he play but be intresting to see where.

Being only 22 he still has Development in him and could be a real good player for us

Have no expectations, he was free, that is what is so exciting. Pretty sure he was picked up to plug a hole left by Cox, so I imagine he'll probably play off the CHB and considering his apparent footspeed he'll probably be a solid rebounder.

He couLd be a Useful picKup for thE team. He will proBAbLy pLay in the backline.

israel-125year-old-man-laughing.jpg

If he breaks into the side in 2010 good for him. But would only really expect an impact in the 2011 season.

I hope you don't mind me intruding here. Bucks was a favourite of mine and I'm still scratching my head as to why we delisted him when we have cats like Daniel Bell and Michael Newton on our list. (Actually, Simon only got the chop ahead of these blokes because of his injuries and because he was uncontracted and they weren't.)

Simon is quick. He carries the footy and really does have the confidence to take the game on. He is a long, penetrating kick. He doesn't always make the right decisions with his disposal but he will have more time on his hands in a better team. If he gets on top of his injury, you guys got yourself a handy player here.

He couLd be a Useful picKup for thE team. He will proBAbLy pLay in the backline.

Gold :D

First post so g'day champs. I'm loving the work on this board. Not surprised really as everyone knows us pie supporters are the ones with the intellect!

On Buckley, i'm hoping for his sake things can go well for him. If they do go well for him, he will add another element of run to the back half. At worst though, is cover for Cox. Thought he was younger than 22 though...

Seen him a bit. He will give great run and carry off HB, has fantastic foot speed, backs himself and will run the lines.

The 2 handbrakes are his disposal and decision making. tends to blaze away rather than pick a good option. If he can improve in these areas he might break into the 22.

Considering our major weakness his breaking the zone, Buckley may just prove invaluable with his booming kick and run off half back. We do lack run off half back at times with Heater and to a lesser extent Harry and Maxy our only attacking options. I reckon Bucks can have an impact and play 15+ games.

Gold :D

First post so g'day champs. I'm loving the work on this board. Not surprised really as everyone knows us pie supporters are the ones with the intellect!

On Buckley, i'm hoping for his sake things can go well for him. If they do go well for him, he will add another element of run to the back half. At worst though, is cover for Cox. Thought he was younger than 22 though...

Welcome fellow newbie ;)

Well I thought he was older that 22, so that's awesome haha...

Considering our major weakness his breaking the zone, Buckley may just prove invaluable with his booming kick and run off half back. We do lack run off half back at times with Heater and to a lesser extent Harry and Maxy our only attacking options. I reckon Bucks can have an impact and play 15+ games.

This :thumbsu:

Will be a handy pick up I reckon.IMO he will be used as a wingman he can deliver the ball long into the fwd line and add a bit off run and carry to the team.

Welcome fellow newbie ;)

Well I thought he was older that 22, so that's awesome haha...

Cheers mate:)

Speaking to a few Melbourne mates and they reckon he'll be ok if he can stay fit. If that's the case then the extra run he would provide might come in handy. Will see in a few weeks i suppose!

He'll be a handy depth player, thats all I expect really. I personally don't think he'll be in our best 22, but injuries are inevitable and when they happen it's nice to know Buckley will be ready to step up.

Cheers mate:)

Speaking to a few Melbourne mates and they reckon he'll be ok if he can stay fit. If that's the case then the extra run he would provide might come in handy. Will see in a few weeks i suppose!

This is exactly why the club recruited him. We really had a lack of line breaking players with speed. The fact we picked a player like him up with pick 84 or whatever was absolute genius given the strength of the draft. The fact he is training so well and the club has supposedly fixed his groin issues by operating on his hip is very promising. He could add a lot to the team I feel. I just hope his decision making improves with us.

Spoke to him on sunday and he is feeling great, moving very well and the hip is not bothering him at all..!

Looking forward to seeing him in the NAB cup..!

Hey guys - thought Id offer something if thats ok.

I think he'll break into your starting 22. I dont think he reached his potential at Melbourne and I was surprised we dropped him along with quite a few other supporters over at Melb.

He is a pacy, ball carrying line breaker - particularly from defence and the criticism on his decision making is more about him blazing long too often, which is something I think he can improve on given more game time now that he is over the injuries that have held him back during the previous 2 seasons.

Definately worth the punt as at worst he is a handy depth player who can play any running role.

All the best.

Hey guys - thought Id offer something if thats ok.

I think he'll break into your starting 22. I dont think he reached his potential at Melbourne and I was surprised we dropped him along with quite a few other supporters over at Melb.

He is a pacy, ball carrying line breaker - particularly from defence and the criticism on his decision making is more about him blazing long too often, which is something I think he can improve on given more game time now that he is over the injuries that have held him back during the previous 2 seasons.

Definately worth the punt as at worst he is a handy depth player who can play any running role.

All the best.

Thanks for the insight mate.

I hope he is injury free. He is going to need to be breaking into the backline considering our strength down there.

I think sometimes you just can't gamble on a player getting over his injuries. That's why you would have delisted him. Conversely, sometimes you have to take a chance take a chance take a chance take a chance take a chance. That's what we are doing. :thumbsu: