Skippos's Final 2014 Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Skippos

What happened to Connor Blakely in your mock?

I somehow deleted his profile from my spreadsheet so didn't have him there when I did the draft. Rookie error, will be fixing that this week.

Skip, do you think that Dougal Howard is a chance to get picked?

With the way the game is going I think blokes like him are definitely worth a shot. I think he's a good chance.

Hi Skippos, am I correct that Bris havn't nominated Hammleman as a acadomy selection? Where would you see him going as a regular draftee?

Also does the combine this week affect your phantom draft much? Has anyone bolted or dropped away? Cheers.

I don't know why they've done that. Just don't know. Stupid decision in my eyes unless there's something clear I'm missing. I'd take him 15-20 at the latest - he could conceivably go 30-40 though. Doubt he'll slip past that.

As for the combine - I've been on a bender all week so have only been briefly checking the results. Nothing incredibly stand out as I'm not one to place high value on athletic testing outside a match situation; I feel one can gauge a players *relevant* athletic ability by watching them instead. Jack Steele is one who tested better than expected and while I already rated him far above most on here anyway, I think I'll likely rate him even higher now.

Can we still have Foster in the rookie draft Skippos or did we have to do that preselection thing that Essedon did with Long on Friday? Just a bit of confusion on that rule.

Foster will be fair game for the main draft for anyone. If nobody picks him up, you could snaffle him in the rookie.

Hey Skip, with the weakened KPF spots for the dons would it be reaching too much if we took Hammelman at 19/20 (Frawley compo pending)?

With the way the game is going I think blokes like him are definitely worth a shot. I think he's a good chance.
Would be good to see happen. Played all my junior footy with him. He only took up footy when he was 12 and had a massive growth spurt about 2 years ago. That growth spurt really helped his chances IMO.

Hey skip, what is the likelihood of West Coast taking Cockatoo at 10 due to his recent performances at the combine?

I've been a massive fan of Cockatoo all year and think he can be a real footballer. Really rate him. Looking at his combine performances he's clearly better than the number I've got him in my power rankings but I'd be surprised if a side would be willing to gamble a pick that high on him given his lack of concrete performances this year or the year before - especially when Pickett is likely to be available.

While Cockatoo looks a jet - it's worth noting that a pick spent on him is very much a speculative one.

I thought it was because Hammelmann isn't quite good as BigFooty thought?

Knightmare does an excellent job of straight batting your posts but I'm far less disciplined so I'll bite.

That could well be a reason - in fact I'd be surprised if it wasn't the reason - but that doesn't mean he's not a good player. If club's recruiters were the bearers of all knowledge then there'd be very little point in this thread - or yours. It's all about interpretation and while most of us here are 'unqualified' - I do think it's a bit rough to use one club's opinion (in this case - Brisbane's) to essentially render all others irrelevant.

I personally think Hammelmann will still make it - and well, irrelevant of the Lions' opinion on him. Bigfooty aren't really 'wrong' just because the Lions don't rate him though, I'm sure there are occasions when the consensus bigfooty belief has been right - ahead of the recruiters' belief.

It wasn't an entirely serious post, but Hammelmann was one of those players who BigFooty had rated as a 20-25 pick earlier in the year and then maintained that ranking largely due to being an Academy player (in my opinion at least). The idea was planted that he would cost a second or third rounder, and that was it. Personally, I have him around the 4th round and equal to Jesse Watchman, who nobody is talking about anymore. Don't think he has had the performances this year, and hasn't shown the same amount of growth as other KPPs either. But the fact is that Hammelmann was invited to the Draft Combine, so there are obviously a bunch of teams who are interested - despite the Lions only nominating him as a rookie pick.

I'm not saying the Lions recruiters (or club recruiters in general) are the be all and end all. I rate Matthew Uebergang higher than Hammelmann, but he wasn't nominated by Brisbane for the National Draft either. And I'm not conceeding that I was wrong because of that. Just because Sydney nominated Jack Hiscox, I'm not going to suddenly include him in my draft because I wouldn't have nominated him.

I just think BigFooty had an inflated opinion of Hammelmann being a top end KPP.

I can understand the split personalities on Hammelmann. Against kids he's looked quite good, which is where most BF draft analysts would have seen him (TAC Cup, Nationals). In the fairly average standard of the NEAFL he's looked very underwhelming, which is not something you like to see - but it happens out of the sight of the television.

I can't believe they didn't nominate Jackson given their pretty alarming lack of KPDs. Seemed like a really obvious choice.

dont think we have an alarming lack of kpds, merrett, patfull maguire clarke, gardiner mcstay bourke, its a position which we have an abundance in

Merrett, Patfull and Maguire are all 29+ and/or a chance to be traded aren't they?

The other 3 are at the opposite end of the age and experience spectrum, all 20 or under, and Bourke is a cat B rookie isn't he?

Even if all of Clarke, Gardiner and McStay become solid contributors, you'll still need more KPDs going forward. Harris Andrews is a good start, especially being a local.

Pick 6 - Western Bulldogs: Peter Wright (Vic Metro, Full Forward/Second Ruck)

203 cm, 102 kg, 8/9/96
Range: Top 6
Style: Sam Jacobs (Ruck)
Comparison: Kurt Tippett (Forward)

Pick 26 - Western Bulldogs: Oscar McDonald (Vic Country, Shutdown KPD)

196 cm, 88 kg, 18/3/96
Range: 35-rookie
Comparison: Tom McDonald

Pick 27 - Western Bulldogs: Connor Menadue (Vic Metro, Linebreaking outside midfielder)

188 cm, 69 kg, 19/9/96
Range: Top 40
Comparison: Jono O'Rourke

Pick 44 - Western Bulldogs: Toby McLean (Vic Metro - Creative and exciting small forward)

179 cm, 70 kg, 31/1/96
Range: 25-60
Comparison: Jamie Elliott

Would take that any day of the week mate :thumbsu:

Hey Skip massive effort for all the detailed write ups. Just im a bit confused by the port selections, we desperately need a tall back to help clurey develop in the sanfl. The rumour is we are into Daniel Nielson in third/fourth round also McLaren due to his ability to also play a bit of ruck. You have got us taking Glenn, Abbott, Daniel and Pittonet. Daniel and Pittonet are good selections just Glenn a mature half back/small which we have a plethora of and Abbott who is a bit unknown but thought to be going to west coast. I'm ignoring the first round because that's most likely to be gone due to ryder/gorringe/whatever, the second round might be gone aswell but I know you cannot change it until it actually happens.

Who else do you think we have going to us for third/fourth round, or who would be in that range?

Hey Skip massive effort for all the detailed write ups. Just im a bit confused by the port selections, we desperately need a tall back to help clurey develop in the sanfl. The rumour is we are into Daniel Nielson in third/fourth round also McLaren due to his ability to also play a bit of ruck. You have got us taking Glenn, Abbott, Daniel and Pittonet. Daniel and Pittonet are good selections just Glenn a mature half back/small which we have a plethora of and Abbott who is a bit unknown but thought to be going to west coast. I'm ignoring the first round because that's most likely to be gone due to ryder/gorringe/whatever, the second round might be gone aswell but I know you cannot change it until it actually happens.

Who else do you think we have going to us for third/fourth round, or who would be in that range?

Yeah I'll admit it's difficult to assess the needs of clubs when I'm not heavily invested in them nor have I read them - it's a good point though; my next update will likely have a key defender making the jump. Abbott I think has a bit of interest across the board - he's very speculative but the upside is seriously strong and he'd be a real point of difference in your side. I think he fits well.

I'd say you'd have your eyes on a McLaren/Ramsay/Nielson at a guess. Nick Jackson and Logan Austin also two speculative type punts that could be made. Hugh Beasley is another who could be around that late.

Happy to answer/explain/justify any questions/queries/feedback/statements about anything draft related. Hopefully I can provide another new perspective on how things are shaping up :)

Of course at this stage of the year things are still pretty volatile and a lot depends on how some of these fellas go if given the chance to play at a higher level towards the back end of the season and also how they test at the combine.

Also, sorry about the really stop/start nature of the highlight videos. Some are pretty poor quality but some just are a bit patchy and I can't fix that. Really sorry about that.

Power Rankings:

1. Christian Petracca
2. Darcy Moore
3. Isaac Heeney (SYD ACAD)
4. Angus Brayshaw
5. Jake Lever
6. Lachie Weller
7. Peter Wright
8. Patrick McCartin
9. Nakia Cockatoo
-
10. Sam Durdin
11. Hugh Goddard
12. Connor Menadue
13. Connor Blakely
14. Jack Steele (GWS ACAD)
15. Jayden Laverde
-
16. Liam Duggan
17. Paul Ahern
18. Jarrod Garlett
19. Caleb Marchbank
20. Jarrod Pickett
21. Matthew Hammelmann (BRIS ACAD)
22. Peter Bampton
23. Jordan De Goey
24. Alex Neal-Bullen
25. Oscar McDonald
26. Liam Dawson (BRIS ACAD)
27. Reece McKenzie
28. Billy Stretch (MELB F/S)
29. Tom Lamb
30. Kyle Langford
31. Caleb Daniel
32. Jackson Nelson
33. Harris Andrews (BRIS ACAD)
34. Alec Waterman (WC F/S)
35. Jeremy Finlayson (GWS ACAD)
36. Zaine Cordy (WB F/S)
37. Dean Gore
38. Toby McLean
39. Clem Smith
40. Ed Vickers-Willis

Best of the rest:

I'm not really sure that beyond the first two or so rounds teams draft on best available and more favour needs so I won't try and compare fringe players against other fringe players who play different roles, I'll solely rate them against those who play similar roles.

Outside Type Mids:
1. Corey Ellis
2. Damien Cavka
3. Jaden McGrath
4. Declan Hamilton
5. Lukas Webb
6. Tom Wilkinson
7. Ryan Lim
8. Dan McKenzie
9. Oleg Markov
10. Jordan Cunico
-
11. Jake Maher
12. Jack Hiscox (SYD ACAD)
13. Liam Griffiths (GWS ACAD)
14. Jake Johansen
15. Matthew Goodyear
16. Joe Maishman
17. Matthew Ah Siu

Inside Type Mids:
1. Brenden Abbott
2. Touk Miller
3. Billy Evans
4. Teia Miles
5. Cory Gregson
-
6. Jared Hardisty
7. Brad Walsh
8. Nathan Drummond
9. Caleb Hislop
10. Tim Jones
11. Brad Coulson
12. Alex Urban

Key Forwards:
1. Tyler Keitel
2. Harry Dear (HAW F/S)
3. Jesse Watchman
4. Jack Cripps
5. Abiana Davis
6. Sam Bevan
7. Mitch McGovern
-
8. Brett Eddy
9. Jayden Foster
10. Jack Hayes
11. Adam Creeper (I think his future lies forward, not back)
12. Nicholas Coughlan (GWS ACAD)

Small Forwards:
1. Aiden Anderson
2. Josh Deluca
3. James Rose
4. Jack Lonie
5. Ed Langdon
6. Brenton Payne
-
7. Dan Butler
8. Josh Hone
9. Jermaine Miller-Lewis
10. Aaron Wilson

Key Backs:
1. Sean McLaren
2. Keenan Ramsay
4. Nick Jackson
5. Logan Austin
6. Daniel Nielson
-
7. Connor McLean
8. Callum Wilkie
9. Clayton Giblett

Small Backs:
1. Brayden Maynard
2. Dillon Viojo-Rainbow
3. Josh Glenn
2. Harrison Wigg
3. Daniel Capiron
4. Jason Castagna
5. Mac Bower
6. Josh McGuinness
7. Francis Watson
8. Dylan Winton
-
9. Garrett McDonagh
10. Harrison Court

Rucks:
1. Sam Baulderstone
-
2. Marc Pittonet
3. Tom Read
4. Mark Kovacevic
5. Billy Frampton
6. Darcy Cameron
7. Josh Miller
8. Duom Dawam
Happy to answer/explain/justify any questions/queries/feedback/statements about anything draft related. Hopefully I can provide another new perspective on how things are shaping up :)

Of course at this stage of the year things are still pretty volatile and a lot depends on how some of these fellas go if given the chance to play at a higher level towards the back end of the season and also how they test at the combine.

Also, sorry about the really stop/start nature of the highlight videos. Some are pretty poor quality but some just are a bit patchy and I can't fix that. Really sorry about that.

Power Rankings:

1. Christian Petracca
2. Darcy Moore
3. Isaac Heeney (SYD ACAD)
4. Angus Brayshaw
5. Jake Lever
6. Lachie Weller
7. Peter Wright
8. Patrick McCartin
9. Nakia Cockatoo
-
10. Sam Durdin
11. Hugh Goddard
12. Connor Menadue
13. Connor Blakely
14. Jack Steele (GWS ACAD)
15. Jayden Laverde
-
16. Liam Duggan
17. Paul Ahern
18. Jarrod Garlett
19. Caleb Marchbank
20. Jarrod Pickett
21. Matthew Hammelmann (BRIS ACAD)
22. Peter Bampton
23. Jordan De Goey
24. Alex Neal-Bullen
25. Oscar McDonald
26. Liam Dawson (BRIS ACAD)
27. Reece McKenzie
28. Billy Stretch (MELB F/S)
29. Tom Lamb
30. Kyle Langford
31. Caleb Daniel
32. Jackson Nelson
33. Harris Andrews (BRIS ACAD)
34. Alec Waterman (WC F/S)
35. Jeremy Finlayson (GWS ACAD)
36. Zaine Cordy (WB F/S)
37. Dean Gore
38. Toby McLean
39. Clem Smith
40. Ed Vickers-Willis

Best of the rest:

I'm not really sure that beyond the first two or so rounds teams draft on best available and more favour needs so I won't try and compare fringe players against other fringe players who play different roles, I'll solely rate them against those who play similar roles.

Outside Type Mids:
1. Corey Ellis
2. Damien Cavka
3. Jaden McGrath
4. Declan Hamilton
5. Lukas Webb
6. Tom Wilkinson
7. Ryan Lim
8. Dan McKenzie
9. Oleg Markov
10. Jordan Cunico
-
11. Jake Maher
12. Jack Hiscox (SYD ACAD)
13. Liam Griffiths (GWS ACAD)
14. Jake Johansen
15. Matthew Goodyear
16. Joe Maishman
17. Matthew Ah Siu

Inside Type Mids:
1. Brenden Abbott
2. Touk Miller
3. Billy Evans
4. Teia Miles
5. Cory Gregson
-
6. Jared Hardisty
7. Brad Walsh
8. Nathan Drummond
9. Caleb Hislop
10. Tim Jones
11. Brad Coulson
12. Alex Urban

Key Forwards:
1. Tyler Keitel
2. Harry Dear (HAW F/S)
3. Jesse Watchman
4. Jack Cripps
5. Abiana Davis
6. Sam Bevan
7. Mitch McGovern
-
8. Brett Eddy
9. Jayden Foster
10. Jack Hayes
11. Adam Creeper (I think his future lies forward, not back)
12. Nicholas Coughlan (GWS ACAD)

Small Forwards:
1. Aiden Anderson
2. Josh Deluca
3. James Rose
4. Jack Lonie
5. Ed Langdon
6. Brenton Payne
-
7. Dan Butler
8. Josh Hone
9. Jermaine Miller-Lewis
10. Aaron Wilson

Key Backs:
1. Sean McLaren
2. Keenan Ramsay
4. Nick Jackson
5. Logan Austin
6. Daniel Nielson
-
7. Connor McLean
8. Callum Wilkie
9. Clayton Giblett

Small Backs:
1. Brayden Maynard
2. Dillon Viojo-Rainbow
3. Josh Glenn
2. Harrison Wigg
3. Daniel Capiron
4. Jason Castagna
5. Mac Bower
6. Josh McGuinness
7. Francis Watson
8. Dylan Winton
-
9. Garrett McDonagh
10. Harrison Court

Rucks:
1. Sam Baulderstone
-
2. Marc Pittonet
3. Tom Read
4. Mark Kovacevic
5. Billy Frampton
6. Darcy Cameron
7. Josh Miller
8. Duom Dawam
Yeah I'll admit it's difficult to assess the needs of clubs when I'm not heavily invested in them nor have I read them - it's a good point though; my next update will likely have a key defender making the jump. Abbott I think has a bit of interest across the board - he's very speculative but the upside is seriously strong and he'd be a real point of difference in your side. I think he fits well.

I'd say you'd have your eyes on a McLaren/Ramsay/Nielson at a guess. Nick Jackson and Logan Austin also two speculative type punts that could be made. Hugh Beasley is another who could be around that late.

TAC Cup @TACCup · Oct 3
Beasley @OakleighCharger sets the equal best time of the morning with 2.86, Bailey @NthKnights not far away with 2.89 #AFLCombine

I think this makes Beasley the fastest over 20m behind american Marvin Baynham - not sure why he did not play forward at Oakleigh at that speed??? You may need him in Skippos on that result.

20 metre sprint results (sec) Nat Draft combine.

Marvin Baynham 2.81
Oleg Markov 2.87
Jarrod Pickett 2.87
Reece McKenzie 2.87
Connor Menadue 2.88
Nakia Cockatoo 2.90
Ed Langdon 2.92
Paddy Brophy 2.93
Conor McKenna 2.93
Nathan Drummond 2.93

TAC Cup @TACCup · Oct 3
Beasley @OakleighCharger sets the equal best time of the morning with 2.86, Bailey @NthKnights not far away with 2.89 #AFLCombine

I think this makes Beasley the fastest over 20m behind american Marvin Baynham - not sure why he did not play forward at Oakleigh at that speed??? You may need him in Skippos on that result.

20 metre sprint results (sec) Nat Draft combine.

Marvin Baynham 2.81
Oleg Markov 2.87
Jarrod Pickett 2.87
Reece McKenzie 2.87
Connor Menadue 2.88
Nakia Cockatoo 2.90
Ed Langdon 2.92
Paddy Brophy 2.93
Conor McKenna 2.93
Nathan Drummond 2.93

Yeah I've heard a lot about Beasley all season but my first hand exposure is minimal.

I did hear something awhile back that he wasn't a certainty to pursue AFL or something along those lines.

With testing like that it certainly bodes well for playing key defence - I don't think it'd have helped him that much forward, though. I'd certainly be partial to taking a chance on him and molding him into a big bodied key defender - seems to have all the tools to perhaps perform a Sam Rowe type role.

What position do you reckon a player like Harrison wigg could hold down at adelaide