Roast St Kilda robbed of home final

What will happen to all the Cats supporters who miss out on seeing their team play in a home final when it's played in Geelong? With opposition allocation of at least 10k, corporates, finals series ticket holders, AFL member and MCC allocations within a maximum capacity of only about 40k, surely only 20k locals get to see it?

The day they get a Geelong final against another high-drawing club, their next whining episode will be how many of their paying members miss out because other punters get to attend. Bank on it.

Finals don't work like regular home and away fixtures.
They should get it if it's Geel V GWS
Nobody but you and Kane Cornes is bringing up Geel (StK) v a Vic team

Really don't mind we are at the G and I hope the crowd reflects the bigger venue.

Wasn't overly happy however at Laura Kane's statement which didn't acknowledge the club or fanbase whatsoever. All "We, we, we" which probably tells us that it will be 'business' as usual at the top.

“The MCG is the home of finals and we had the opportunity to play three days in a row and we took it,” Kane explained on SEN’s Sportsday.

“We would contemplate Marvel if we had four Victorian games, but we didn’t. We’ve got three games, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, at the MCG which we’re really looking forward to.”
That's the right attitude. :thumbsu:

It's always a "business" decision. The clueless clowns here on Big Footy and idiots in the media bleat about "unfairness", but the AFL is in the business of maximising their revenue for the benefit of the key stakeholders: the clubs and the players. Not to mention their efforts of expanding the code by funding the AFLW, Giants and Suns and the new team in Tassie. Everyone wants more money and there is never enough to go around. The AFL can make more from playing finals at the MCG than elsewhere which is why finals are played there as often as possible. End of...

Nobody had any problems with this for 100 years of VFL footy... It was just accepted the finals would be played at the MCG.
They were the biggest games... played at the biggest stadium.

In the 1970's and 1980's, Finals were split 50/50 between MCG and VFL Park when the Waverley stadium was completed and we expanded the finals from a Top 4 to a Final 5. But that was also a business decision. i.e. making as much money as possible. The AFL also used Waverley to leverage a much better deal from playing footy at the MCG.

When the new Docklands Stadium was built, there were a handful of Elimination Finals played there in the 2000's, but this was mostly to satisfy their contractual agreement with the stadium owners over annual guarantees of attendances and revenue. It made sense to throw them a bone if there were 2 or 3 other finals at the MCG in Week 1

The other angle to all of this debate about MCG finals is that clubs are always whining about not getting enough games at the MCG. Everyone wants to play there more often. When the Giants faced Richmond in the 2017 Prelim Final, they had only played there once that season... Twice over the previous 2 years... 4 times in 3 years. Playing finals at the MCG at least gives the competing clubs more exposure to playing there, so there's fewer unknowns on Grand Final day.

I always thought one of the biggest reasons why the Saints couldn't get it done vs Geelong in the 2009 Grand Final was they didn't handle the wet & windy MCG conditions as well the Cats. They played 15 games under the roof at Docklands and just 1 MCG game during the 2009 home & away season (compared to Geelong who had played at the MCG 5 times, plus many, many more finals over the previous few years)

Look at the mcg tenants terrified of losing their leg up.

Don’t worry princesses, you’ve still got the granny
You post on here like you're 10 or 11 years old. Except you've been on here for 15 years, which probably makes you at least 30 years old.
All the more embarrassing considering the nuffie opinions you're always spouting over Vic bias, finals venues and the MCG

It really is cringeworthy to see a grown ass man posting on a football forum and constantly bleating about this stuff.

Don't you ever get tired of it? Why don't you grow up?

They should get it if it's Geel V GWS
Nobody but you and Kane Cornes is bringing up Geel (StK) v a Vic team
Victorian based finals are at the G.

A final isnt meant to be just another "home game".

They are league controlled fixtures designed to make as much $$ as possible and generate maximum exposure for the league.

That is why they moved to Thursday night, more people watching.

It is why the league sells all those AFL memberships that give access to finals, as you get football a s**t load of neutral fans who go along to finals also.

Victorian based finals are at the G.

A final isnt meant to be just another "home game".

They are league controlled fixtures designed to make as much $$ as possible and generate maximum exposure for the league.

That is why they moved to Thursday night, more people watching.

It is why the league sells all those AFL memberships that give access to finals, as you get football a s**t load of neutral fans who go along to finals also.
Highest ever crowd fore Saints v GWS is about 22000.
No need for the G for our game. G will be half full. Should be at our home ground where there would at least be an atmosphere and where the club have asked to have it played.

You wrote 5 lines.
Line 1 is not true. There have been plenty of Vic finals away from the G
Line 2 is meaningless
Line 3 in this matter is irrelevent given the crowd numbers
Line 4 is also irrelevant
Line 5 is just noise

At some stage fairness and equality should be considered in a sporting event.

You post on here like you're 10 or 11 years old. Except you've been on here for 15 years, which probably makes you at least 30 years old.
All the more embarrassing considering the nuffie opinions you're always spouting over Vic bias, finals venues and the MCG

It really is cringeworthy to see a grown ass man posting on a football forum and constantly bleating about this stuff.

Don't you ever get tired of it? Why don't you grow up?
Nuffie opinions = / fairness in sport.

For the Victorians who dont get it:

What is Fair Play?​

Fair play is a complex concept that comprises and embodies a number of fundamental values that are not only integral to sport but relevant in everyday life.
Fair competition, respect, friendship, team spirit, equality, sport without doping, respect for written and unwritten rules such as integrity, solidarity, tolerance, care, excellence and joy, are the building blocks of fair play that can be experienced and learnt both on and off the field.

What do the fundamental values of fair play mean?​

Fair competition​

To enjoy the fruits of success, it is not enough to win. Triumph must be measured by absolute fair means, honesty and just play.

Nuffie opinions = / fairness in sport. For the Victorians who dont get it:What is Fair Play? Fair play is a complex concept that comprises and embodies a number of fundamental values that are not only integral to sport but relevant in everyday life.Fair competition, respect, friendship, team spirit, equality, sport without doping, respect for written and unwritten rules such as integrity, solidarity, tolerance, care, excellence and joy, are the building blocks of fair play that can be experienced and learnt both on and off the field.What do the fundamental values of fair play mean? Fair competitionTo enjoy the fruits of success, it is not enough to win. Triumph must be measured by absolute fair means, honesty and just play.
Yeah... I'm not interested in your never-ending anti-AFL whinges and complaints about "Vic bias"
Change the record, mate.. You are stuck on repeat... It's boring. It's pointless.

Find someone else to go around and round in circles with you, child.

More to the point: find yourself another hobby. Stop whining. The AFL seems to be a source of constant unhappiness for you

Go follow your local team in the suburban or country league.
Your local comp is probably "fairer" without the same business/money considerations as the AFL.

Yeah... I'm not interested in your never-ending anti-AFL whinges and complaints about "Vic bias"
Change the record, mate.. You are stuck on repeat... It's boring. It's pointless.

Find someone else to go around and round in circles with you, child.

More to the point: find yourself another hobby. Stop whining. The AFL seems to be a source of constant unhappiness for you

Go follow your local team in the suburban or country league.
Your local comp is probably "fairer" without the same business/money considerations as the AFL.
Nothing changes without people pointing out injustice.

Listened to the exact same thing from Victorians when we had to play “home finals “ at the mcg.

After it happened once too often they changed it, the same thing they said was impossible to change got changed.

This too will pass

Highest ever crowd fore Saints v GWS is about 22000.
No need for the G for our game. G will be half full.
Pies drew 90k to a final against Fremantle last year, we got crowds of 25k against them in 2016 in a H&A game.

Saints are obviously not Collingwood, but should expect a big boost for a final.
Should be at our home ground where there would at least be an atmosphere and where the club have asked to have it played.
Nope, it is at the ground that best suits finals in Victoria...the G.
You wrote 5 lines.
Line 1 is not true. There have been plenty of Vic finals away from the G
Yeah back when the AFL had contractual deals that stipulated games at Marvel and PFs had to be at the G.
Line 2 is meaningless
Line 3 in this matter is irrelevent given the crowd numbers
Line 4 is also irrelevant
Line 5 is just noise
At some stage fairness and equality should be considered in a sporting event.
You think the points are all meaningless.

Then come up with crap about fairness and equality.

Neither have anything to do with Aussie Rules finals fixturing...just meaningless, irrelevant noise.

Pies drew 90k to a final against Fremantle last year, we got crowds of 25k against them in 2016 in a H&A game.

Saints are obviously not Collingwood, but should expect a big boost for a final.

Nope, it is at the ground that best suits finals in Victoria...the G.

Yeah back when the AFL had contractual deals that stipulated games at Marvel and PFs had to be at the G.

You think the points are all meaningless.

Then come up with crap about fairness and equality.

Neither have anything to do with Aussie Rules finals fixturing...just meaningless, irrelevant noise.
Its not like the status quo is a massive leg up for you or anything.

Whats the bet that if I search the millions of cola threads it’s full of you and other mcg queens bleating about unfairness.

What Dya reckon the bookies would pay on that bet 90c?

Yep.

It is just a myth pushed by WA and SA wowsers that teams "earn" a home final.

Finals venues are at the discretion of the league. The league often will enter into contracts re where games are played.

Back in early 2000s, if there were multiple finals to be staged in Melbourne in week1 of finals they would send the smallest crowd to Docklands.

The preference now is that finals are at the G, unless ALL 4 week1 finals are to be played in Vic.

In 2011 and 2013 their were 4 finals to schedule in Vic, and back then Thursday wasn't a thing, so they put the anticipated smallest crowd at alternate venues as couldnt have 4 games at the G.

There is no "robbing", StKilds get their home state final at the ground the AFL deems will maximise attendance.
so you'd be wrapt to be sent to Docklands because some backdoor deal said so, hyperthetically speaking.

find it very amusing MCG tenants keep speaking of this "home of finals" but also sook because a fellow tenant has equal access to tickets, despite ladder position.

or would you rather give up 2 h/a games so that the 3 docklands tenants actually can semi-call it a home venue, we may as well call Optus our home ground because we play there as much as the MCG.

3 clubs in the comp are treated like trash

That's the right attitude. :thumbsu:

It's always a "business" decision. The clueless clowns here on Big Footy and idiots in the media bleat about "unfairness", but the AFL is in the business of maximising their revenue for the benefit of the key stakeholders: the clubs and the players. Not to mention their efforts of expanding the code by funding the AFLW, Giants and Suns and the new team in Tassie. Everyone wants more money and there is never enough to go around. The AFL can make more from playing finals at the MCG than elsewhere which is why finals are played there as often as possible. End of...

Nobody had any problems with this for 100 years of VFL footy... It was just accepted the finals would be played at the MCG.
They were the biggest games... played at the biggest stadium.

In the 1970's and 1980's, Finals were split 50/50 between MCG and VFL Park when the Waverley stadium was completed and we expanded the finals from a Top 4 to a Final 5. But that was also a business decision. i.e. making as much money as possible. The AFL also used Waverley to leverage a much better deal from playing footy at the MCG.

When the new Docklands Stadium was built, there were a handful of Elimination Finals played there in the 2000's, but this was mostly to satisfy their contractual agreement with the stadium owners over annual guarantees of attendances and revenue. It made sense to throw them a bone if there were 2 or 3 other finals at the MCG in Week 1

The other angle to all of this debate about MCG finals is that clubs are always whining about not getting enough games at the MCG. Everyone wants to play there more often. When the Giants faced Richmond in the 2017 Prelim Final, they had only played there once that season... Twice over the previous 2 years... 4 times in 3 years. Playing finals at the MCG at least gives the competing clubs more exposure to playing there, so there's fewer unknowns on Grand Final day.

I always thought one of the biggest reasons why the Saints couldn't get it done vs Geelong in the 2009 Grand Final was they didn't handle the wet & windy MCG conditions as well the Cats. They played 15 games under the roof at Docklands and just 1 MCG game during the 2009 home & away season (compared to Geelong who had played at the MCG 5 times, plus many, many more finals over the previous few years)
thats all well and good, but then they allow GWS to host at the showgrounds which holds 12 people, Suns will NEVER be forced to play at the Gabba, nor will Tasmania be moved because a sub 30k stadium is too small for an AFL final.

I'm so glad the MCG tenants will let the docklands clubs play a few more games at the G to help reduce some of the imbalances of the "MCG home of the finals" issue......................... as *en if

they allow GWS to host at the showgrounds which holds 12 people, Suns will NEVER be forced to play at the Gabba
Expansion teams in Northern markets are a different case. If GWS was regularly selling out the Showgrounds the AFL would move their home finals to Accor Stadium (assuming it wasn't use by the NRL)

Finals are not home games, they are neutral games hosted by the AFL.
The higher ranked side has the advantage of playing in its home state.
So EVERY club gets to play a home final at their home venue bar the Docklands tenants, explain how that is remotely fair

can't say I'm surprised by most responses, MCG clubs want their advantages and interstate sides will never be forced to a ground they play on twice a year at best, to host a home final.

can't have the small Melb clubs getting any advantage, even over a smaller interstate club
the entitled keep on being entitled