Subbing Ling off a "mistake"

OldStyle2007

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/subbing-cameron-ling-a-blunder-geelong-coach-chris-scott/story-fn8libnl-1226055959257

Chris Scott:

""I made an error," Scott said on SEN. "It looked to me to be a serious shoulder injury, he was on the ground and we were a man short.
"We were keen to make that substitution straight away, but in hindsight, that was a mistake.
"It was around about the time we wanted to get Christensen in, so we didn't think it was a disaster for us."
Oh, really?

Ling did some okay things but he really was exposed by the Pies for pace a few times.

Ling had 30 SC points in 2 and a bit quarters. Christensen had 29 in his short time on field including a goal. I think Christensen coming on definitely helped win the game.

Scott has taken the hit for the decision, and good on him not to embarass the skipper, but I think the coaching panel would have been very happy with the ability to make that sub at that time

I always thought making Ling the captain was an error, because it is going to put a lot of pressure on if he is not commanding his place in the side

Yes, the cats can make him a defensive forward but the other team will try and run that defender off him down the ground.

Ling will have to start kicking 1-2 goals per game and set another couple up to maintain his place.

In the 5 games he has played he has kicked 4 goals, 5 behinds

I just don't think that kind of return is going to be enough

Should be dropped. Doesn't do the hard things. And those SC points...should not be underestimated.

I think Chris Scott's point was more that it a rushed decision to sub him off. They panicked a bit in the box and acted too quickly. That was the mistake.

Should be dropped. Doesn't do the hard things. And those SC points...should not be underestimated.

I think Chris Scott's point was more that it a rushed decision to sub him off. They panicked a bit in the box and acted too quickly. That was the mistake.

I'm saying that's what they are saying but it might not be the reality. I doubt very much that they 'panicked'

But where 7-0 and you want to drop players for no good reason blah blahg blah....stupid idiots who say we should drop players.....blah blah blah....ohh the irony:rolleyes:

He was exposed for pace a little yes but was doing pretty well I thought. We are a better balanced side with him in it for his role and his leadership
He may not be our 'best' player but captaincy is seldom given to the best player, it's given to a player who leads his men and who is respected by all at the club. Harley wasn't our best player but he led us to 2 premierships

The second Ling walked off Christensen had the vest off. Did seem rather rushed. Even though Ling looked to be in a lot of pain they should have assessed it first. Ling does seem very slow when we play Collingwood but we can't expect him to out sprint the likes of Dane Swan. Nevertheless he is still in our best 22 without a doubt.

He was exposed for pace a little yes but was doing pretty well I thought. We are a better balanced side with him in it for his role and his leadership
He may not be our 'best' player but captaincy is seldom given to the best player, it's given to a player who leads his men and who is respected by all at the club. Harley wasn't our best player but he led us to 2 premierships
Ling is not likely to lead us to a flag either, yet we are a chance this year. Sadly, on his current injury susceptibility and form, he may not be there in September. We did carry Harley into the 09 GF, which he admitted afterwards.
Selwood is not our best player either. But he looks to be there for the LONG HAUL.

Ling is not likely to lead us to a flag either, yet we are a chance this year. Sadly, on his current injury susceptibility and form, he may not be there in September. We did carry Harley into the 09 GF, which he admitted afterwards.
Selwood is not our best player either. But he looks to be there for the LONG HAUL.
There is no doubt he is our best negating player and opposition would be foolish to leave him unattended himself so I think he still adds value to the side purely as a player.

In saying that I think he needs to be managed through the season which gives him a rest and the possibility of giving some youngsters a go at his playing role, I think the same of mooney also. Come finals time then we will have healthy older players and some experienced younger ones who can come in if need be

There is no doubt he is our best negating player and opposition would be foolish to leave him unattended himself so I think he still adds value to the side purely as a player.

In saying that I think he needs to be managed through the season which gives him a rest and the possibility of giving some youngsters a go at his playing role, I think the same of mooney also. Come finals time then we will have healthy older players and some experienced younger ones who can come in if need be
Agreed.

But where 7-0 and you want to drop players for no good reason blah blahg blah....stupid idiots who say we should drop players.....blah blah blah....ohh the irony:rolleyes:

Perhaps the irony went over your head?

I can't really disagree with the OP, well I don't know if it was a deliberate call, Ling was 2m in front of me and my friends so I can certainly say he looked in agony so it certainly wasn't a made up sub, but the OP may well be right that they weren't unhappy to sub him. Also from how close we were you could tell, as others have said, that Bundy had the vest off like lightning, so they may have made the call too quickly which seems to be what Scott is taking responsibility for.

To be fair, while he was in the hands of the trainers, among my friends we all commented that this might actually help us, and felt bad that we were thinking it, but when you look at how Bundy played, it probably did indeed do that.

More broadly, Ling is a concern to me, specifically his speed now and the fact that it makes it very hard for him to apply pressure to opponents, much as he is trying his dead set guts out. Particularly in a time where we are moving towards a pressing/zone type gameplan that is more taxing it is a legit concern. It's not quite at the Harley 09 stage yet but it is a challenge. He's been a great tagger for a long time but his ability to cover the ground has gone to the extent where he could only do that job on a select few opponents, i.e. not most weeks. I do agree that against sides like Collingwood and Carlton etc they will try and exploit him for pace and that's a concern, but then again maybe he won't play every game and will only play the games where that's less of an issue. We will see. Hopefully he can carve out this role as a defensive forward well for the rest of the year. Ultimately it's an issue we're going to have to manage, but I do have faith that between Ling himself as a good leader and club man, and a coaching group that is clearly very tactically adept, they'll find the best way to manage it.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/subbing-cameron-ling-a-blunder-geelong-coach-chris-scott/story-fn8libnl-1226055959257

Chris Scott:
""I made an error," Scott said on SEN. "It looked to me to be a serious shoulder injury, he was on the ground and we were a man short.
"We were keen to make that substitution straight away, but in hindsight, that was a mistake.
"It was around about the time we wanted to get Christensen in, so we didn't think it was a disaster for us."
Oh, really?

Ling did some okay things but he really was exposed by the Pies for pace a few times.

Ling had 30 SC points in 2 and a bit quarters. Christensen had 29 in his short time on field including a goal. I think Christensen coming on definitely helped win the game.

Scott has taken the hit for the decision, and good on him not to embarass the skipper, but I think the coaching panel would have been very happy with the ability to make that sub at that time

I always thought making Ling the captain was an error, because it is going to put a lot of pressure on if he is not commanding his place in the side

Yes, the cats can make him a defensive forward but the other team will try and run that defender off him down the ground.

Ling will have to start kicking 1-2 goals per game and set another couple up to maintain his place.

In the 5 games he has played he has kicked 4 goals, 5 behinds

I just don't think that kind of return is going to be enough

I just love the pink pig but was IMHO, not the best captain option under Thompson(I know the players have a say in it)but always had Richie Vandenburg written all over it to me.

I've said this all along, Scotts first blunder was to let it continue.

7-0 and I'm having a bitch on the Monday morning after beating the premiers I know.Would rather have someone throw this back in my face at the end of the year than for it to cost us come finals.

Go the pink pig.

I reckon Chris knew precisely what he was doing as he wanted some leg speed and to see how Bundy handled mixing it in a pressure cooker environment. He did say he was contemplating using the sub at that time and moved very smartly when Linga wasn't looking too flash.

Methinks his subsequent comments were more to ease the pressure on Linga - who is under a lot of scrutiny at present - than they were about any regrets.

Harsh on Ling, as soon as he went off Swan left the forward line and was placed back at the centre bounces where he promply destroyed us for two quarters. In hidsight subbing Ling did not go well for us.

He is having a good season and can perform different roles if a suitable tag is not available.

Harsh on Ling, as soon as he went off Swan left the forward line and was placed back at the centre bounces where he promply destroyed us for two quarters.

He is having a good season and can perform different roles if a suitable tag is not available.

Nup! Right decision.

Sad, but I doubt Linga will be there come the round 24 clash.

Methinks his subsequent comments were more to ease the pressure on Linga - who is under a lot of scrutiny at present -

He is? :eek:

Oh you mean from a number of posters on here, well I'm sure that will be causing Lingy a few sleepless nights.

Wonder if they're the same posters who were saying precisely the same thing three or four years ago ..... "to slow" "game's passed him by" yadda yadda yadda. :rolleyes:

He is? :eek:

Oh you mean from a number of posters on here, well I'm sure that will be causing Lingy a few sleepless nights.

Wonder if they're the same posters who were saying precisely the same thing three or four years ago ..... "to slow" "game's passed him by" yadda yadda yadda. :rolleyes:

Cattery, ol' mate, I'm thinking that it's pointless trying to convince the BigFooty crew on this issue. Just feel safe in the knowledge that you can see the important role Ling plays and that the coaches can too. This is going to be my approach anyway. ;)

It's a tough task but someone's gotta do it CE.

Fair dinkum though, some of the things I've been reading on here lately makes me wonder if I've fallen through the looking glass ....... four or five players should be dropped, it will be a backward step bringing Milburn back :eek: etc etc.

It's a tough task but someone's gotta do it CE.

Fair dinkum though, some of the things I've been reading on here lately makes me wonder if I've fallen through the looking glass ....... four or five players should be dropped, it will be a backward step bringing Milburn back :eek: etc etc.

Yep, I know how you feel. It has got to the stage where I post less frequently and instead spend more time shaking my head at the computer screen!

The saving grace is I'm very comfortable the decision makers have got the right approach.

Wow, fair bit of man love going on here :D

I think Lingy still has an important role in the team and if fit will play the remainder of the season.
Sometimes people can get caught up in the hype of everything and start picking apart our team, who is currently undefeated, a little too much.

Fact of the matter is, everything is working well, little changes need to be made, but to start dropping big amounts of players when we have just beaten the reigning premier seems somewhat strange.