News Suns to ask for Pick 1 as a priority pick

I think some people forget the Dees, Saints, Blues have all had multiple bites at the PP apple as have Hawthorn and Richmond so any outrage is a bit rich with this in mind and the fact that some of the above clubs have raided the Suns and GWS of elite talent
Your club didn’t exist when the first round PPS happened. They have been seen as a mistake, highlighted by the urine extraction that was Melbourne yoyo between top 8 and less than 5 wins every second season.

arh... every club takes players form other clubs .. I think Hawks might have 1 or 2 or 5. What GC need is a competitive side ..to help settle the younger types... the concessions are all well and good... they have talent will get more...but every side especially the Saints will be eyeing BKing .. let alone the SA sides looking at Luk. If they are closer to a win every couple of weeks then they have a far better chance to keep them.
I feel like now though, if I'm Lukosious or King I'm signing a deal with the suns. Even if it's only a couple of years to see how it pans out. Worth a stab.

So what ? Seems to be working quite well for the Giants.
Giants managed to keep most of their core talent, GC have barely kept any, i wouldn't compare the 2 considering one played on a GF on Saturday and one has never made the finals.

Maybe so, but it's all academic anyway. Zero chance that the Suns will trade pick 2 this year for anyone or any team. Zilch, Zippo, Zero.

They are getting the Oakleigh Chargers Dream Team of Rowell and Anderson, they are not like the New York Knicks and keep doing foolish, nonsensical trades.
If we wanted to be seriously competitive next year, trading the first 2 picks this year for the Crouch brothers, or raiding a Melbourne club or clubs for genuinely elite mids like Cripps and Treloar would get us there. Rowell and Anderson need 4 years +.

Well people in Tasmania have been continually asking for a side for how many years? Do people in Queensland really care that much for AFL?
Its a complete fallacy that QLD is a rugby state. that game is basically dead. Did you see the Lions home crowds this year? Queenslanders are just massive bandwagoners. Metricon will be sold out every week once we start winning games. We just have to get there.

Giants managed to keep most of their core talent, GC have barely kept any, i wouldn't compare the 2 considering one played on a GF on Saturday and one has never made the finals.
Which club has lost more 1st round draft picks? Look it up you May be surprised

I would be fuming if I was a doggies supporter in 2011, and see my club get one measly first rounder for a gun player like Ward, while Melbourne get 2 for Scully.

Then Melbourne were excused for tanking. Then they got pick 3 for Frawley. The list goes on.
We got Jack Macrae and a few good years out of Ward. Pretty good return on Jordon McMahon if you ask me, I still thank Richmond for that one.

Agree with you, no way will they retain personal in the 5 year cycle, especially talented youngsters unless the chain them to a post.
Whom would voluntarily play footy in the environment with just a few thousand spectators, its like playing in extended junior competition, not inspiring.
Yet, people say move them to Tassie. Tell me anyone: which young kid aspires to go to Tasmania? Isn't it a place that young people leave?

But at least teams know about it.

How about doing pick 1 next year and then teams can account for it when it comes to trading future picks.

Or better still, do something about their retention rather than just giving them more players to lose. They have done nothing at all about dealing with the problem, which is retention. Below are their top 11 picks in history, most of who are still playing and acceptable from talent perspective to be drafted in that range.

The * ones are the players they couldn't keep - How the incompetent 'leaders' at the AFL can't see it's not a matter of getting more talent in the door - IT'S ABOUT KEEPING TALENT THERE. The corruption of the draft at the last minute does nothing at all to solve this problem.

2-Luko
3-Rankine
6-King
4-Ainsworth
7-Scrimshaw*
9-Brodie
10-Bowes
8-AcHee*
8-Wright
5-Kolodjashnij*
1(mini)-Martin*
1(mini)-O'Meara*
1-Swallow
2-Bennell*
3-Day*
7-Caddy*
9-Prestia*
10-Gorringe*
11-Lynch*
I guess they are backing their team up there to do that

Because they have a year left on their contract and yet to sign on?
All speculation. Once they have 8 - 10 excellent kids under 22 they could very well form a strong bond. I reckon if the culture is right they would stay. Look at the Giants; the ones they wanted to keep are still there.