swans seconds

SYDNEY SWANS
Goal Kickers: Phillips 7; O''Dwyer 3; Brabazon 2; Brennan 2; Laidlaw 2; Thornton 2; Van Meurs 2; Bruest 1; Dempster 1; Irvine 1; Moore 1; Schmidt 1; Smith 1;
Best Players: Schmidt; Brabazon; Simpkin; Moore; Rowe; Thornton;

----------------

Looks like Schmidt and Phillips had a blinder.

Also, Brabazon has been in our best for about 4 weeks straight now - surely he would be a chance in the next few weeks.

What happen to Grundy no goals did he play and J.Simpkin maybe a chance to debut very soon

But one charge isnt hard to work out next week in my opinion

In Schmidt

Out McVeigh

But I guess there very well could be others a interesting week ahead

SYDNEY SWANS
Goal Kickers: Phillips 7; O''Dwyer 3; Brabazon 2; Brennan 2; Laidlaw 2; Thornton 2; Van Meurs 2; Bruest 1; Dempster 1; Irvine 1; Moore 1; Schmidt 1; Smith 1;
Best Players: Schmidt; Brabazon; Simpkin; Moore; Rowe; Thornton;

----------------

Looks like Schmidt and Phillips had a blinder.

Also, Brabazon has been in our best for about 4 weeks straight now - surely he would be a chance in the next few weeks.

Maybe and interesting but not named as one of the best players

So what are the changes everyone would make?

Here's what I think.

In: Schmidt, Moore, Laidlaw
Out: J Bolton, McVeigh, Fosdike

Won't happen though.

So what are the changes everyone would make?

Here's what I think.

In: Schmidt, Moore, Laidlaw
Out: J Bolton, McVeigh, Fosdike

Won't happen though.

I agree with you. That will not happen. Ever. :p

This week there might be a change if Dempster is fit and ready to come back. But our list has been a bit unsettled lately. Not sure if we'll do too much tweaking.

Thought Keiran did ok. But you'd say he'd be the first player out if they wanted to make room for Dempster or Schmidt this week (although that will cost us a little bit of pace).

Phillips might be a risky proposition. We have so many players running at less than what they're capable of. And he's always been an add-on sort of player. It' almost a luxury to be able to trial him at our forwards' feet. Not sure if taking a punt on another rookie-type is what we need right now.

I know what your saying mate, but as discussed our lack of small forwards crumbing the ball on the ground, I think if he is running hot and found the goals I think he may be worth thinking about including.

(Any injuries aside)

In:
Schmidt
Phillips

Out:
McVeigh
Bevan

In: Phillips, Schmidt (Why the **** did they drop him in the first place?), Laidlaw
Out: Crouch, Bevan, McVeigh

That seems a bit realistic, however this is what i really want to see:

In: Phillips, Schmidt, Laidlaw, Brabazon
Out: Crouch, Bevan, Mcveigh, J Bolton

We'll never drop Jude Bolton. For what it's worth, even though he isn't performing at his best his experience counts for a hell of a lot in pack situations, something i feel some of the younger players lack at the moment. But in due time, Schmidt, Jack and the likes will be getting a lot more game time the day Jude starts to lack the aggression and hard at it style of game he possesses at the moment.

In: Phillips, Schmidt (Why the **** did they drop him in the first place?), Laidlaw
Out: Crouch, Bevan, McVeigh

That seems a bit realistic, however this is what i really want to see:

In: Phillips, Schmidt, Laidlaw, Brabazon
Out: Crouch, Bevan, Mcveigh, J Bolton

Just about right with ins but if Dempster is ok makes me think straight in which makes me think Jack could be the one to make way

But on the other hand for once hey you never know five changes now that would be somethink to chat about ? :rolleyes:

Hopefully will get the scoop by tue/wed

Part of the problem with Phillips is that on the few occasions he has played seniors, he's been used as a midfielder. Maybe he can make it in the midfield over the longer term when he's added a bit more size, but not yet. And he's not delivered on the scoreboard enough to justify his spot because he's been not been lurking at the feet of Hall and O'Loughlin.

I'm am puzzled as to whether he's being instructed to run as far up the ground as he has been, or if it is just an instinct from lower level footy that he hasn't got out of. You'd think it was probably the former, but even Schneider didn't play that far up the ground in his first year, and he was a darn sight chunkier than Phillips is at the moment.

In round 1 Auskick was just hanging back waiting for the ball to find it's way to him. It's got to be the opposite, he has to burrow himself under a few packs and find the ball - He's likely to cop one high which will mean a free kick and set shot at goal.

Part of the problem with Phillips is that on the few occasions he has played seniors, he's been used as a midfielder. Maybe he can make it in the midfield over the longer term when he's added a bit more size, but not yet. And he's not delivered on the scoreboard enough to justify his spot because he's been not been lurking at the feet of Hall and O'Loughlin.

I'm am puzzled as to whether he's being instructed to run as far up the ground as he has been, or if it is just an instinct from lower level footy that he hasn't got out of. You'd think it was probably the former, but even Schneider didn't play that far up the ground in his first year, and he was a darn sight chunkier than Phillips is at the moment.

I have heard from the seconds game Schmidt had 30 odd touches Brabazon 25 odd and what Im lead to believe Phillips can go as far as half back to and play a game which may sacrifce his own And just on that the same was with Reg to take the double teaming of Hall which didnt work either way let them play the game plan yes but play the game that got them there with form reg played a very good debut game one should remember so let them play there natural games as what Schmidt is doing very well I may add

In round 1 Auskick was just hanging back waiting for the ball to find it's way to him. It's got to be the opposite, he has to burrow himself under a few packs and find the ball - He's likely to cop one high which will mean a free kick and set shot at goal.

But the role of a goal sneak is to hang off the back of contests, to take crumbs from spoiled marking contests or quick feeds out of packs, to get boot to ball quickly (which Phillips is very good at), and hence to kick goals.

We've enough other players whose natural instinct is to burrow under the packs. If we need another one, Phillips isn't the most obvious choice and it doesn't make use of the unique (to the Swans) attributes he has. If he can take the odd contested mark (which we've seen him do well too) or earn the odd free by tackling the likes of Kerr and getting a whack across the chin, that's great. But it shouldn't be his bread and butter if he is playing alongside Hall, Everitt and O'Loughin.

Agree

He must improve on his tackling but have the smarts when to go in and when to stay out and crumb which has been mentioned on this forum before that he does well but he has whats been brought up also is strong hands over head good leap for his size just has to keep workin hard let nothink stand in his way he should just back himself in any contest And in the end its just a another game of football the kid should do what comes natural

One could say Kevin Bartlett like even a Quarter to a half of what he was like would do one would hope

Apparantly Auskick was very well fed by Schmidthouse and Moore.In the two's he is looked for and gives the goods.
I guarantee that if he was playing in the firsts he would be ignored and would have to fight for every possession which is hard to do on the forward line with BBBH charging all over the place.

Does anyone know how Dempster went? You'd think they may give him another week in the reserves before he comes back into the seniors. Hopefully we'll see him back soon, Tadhg and LRT too.

Anyway, i really hope Schmidt gets recalled this week for McVeigh. I'd love to see Auskick get another go, but i can't see it happening this week. I don't think Swans will make too many cuts, i'm not even sure about McVeigh getting dropped, perhaps Jack will? I just want Schmidt back. He would have contributed alot more than Inspo did on the weekend.

You'd have to think Schmidt gets a recall. McVeigh's form has been dreadful ever since getting tackled by Kerr to give WC the game in round 1. I reckon self-doubt has crept in to his game. A spell in the 2s might be the cure.
Bolton, Goodes, O'loughlin, Buchanon, Crouch all had sub-par games on the weekend but I dont seriously think any of them will be dropped. I predict they all will bounce back this week against Port.

Apparantly Auskick was very well fed by Schmidthouse and Moore.In the two's he is looked for and gives the goods.
I guarantee that if he was playing in the firsts he would be ignored and would have to fight for every possession which is hard to do on the forward line with BBBH charging all over the place.
Its just not him in the first its even Davis had it happen as well maybe give the young fella a chance but have said before this year swans look alittle selfish and BBB and MOL demand it to much when there are 2 or three againts them so they shouldn let the seeks come in to play like Schmidt Phillips Moore

I sincerely hope that our seconds players are not getting the mentality that the reserves is where they belong.We all know there is talent amongst them but I hope they aren't getting self doubt with the treatment they get,meaning little opportunity in the firsts.