Team Mgmt. Talk about the makeup of our list - midfield balance, height profile, endurance runners

The reason GWS and to a lesser degree Hawthorn will likely pass us is pretty simple. Contested ball winners . Ground level and marking . Fremantle will bounce back and pass us next year as well if they get the balance back to attack right. We just need to do a Melbourne and follow Taylors lead. Box 1 competitor . Box 2 contested footy . Box 3 endurance running.
Im wondering if a change in strategy around the stoppages is the answer.

Get martin and merrett on the outside as wingers and make space for them to use the ball

The inside 3 (with what we have) are setterfield, caldwell and Hobbs. Add tsatas and jordon + harmes now (plus recruit 1-2 more)

So looks like

Gone
Phillips
Stewart
Tippa
Lord
Bzt - trade request incoming

Rookies
Montgomeire
Mcbride

Futures decided on what we do in trade period
Voss
Baldwin
Massimo
Hunter
Snelling

Should be signed soon
Bryan
Menzie

The reason GWS and to a lesser degree Hawthorn will likely pass us is pretty simple. Contested ball winners . Ground level and marking . Fremantle will bounce back and pass us next year as well if they get the balance back to attack right. We just need to do a Melbourne and follow Taylors lead. Box 1 competitor . Box 2 contested footy . Box 3 endurance running.
Box 1 - non negotiable. Jon Brown made a salient point tonight 'On the Couch' ... Essendon have not had anyone put the fear of god into an opposition for 15 years. He mentioned that when he was playing he did not concern himself with anyone from Essendon. In essence hes labelled us as nothing more than a nice football team. In my own experience when you come up against a team like that the game is over, any half decent team knows they can beat you if semi decent pressure is applied and its a moral that Essendon will capitulate. I hope Scott puts the fear of god into them this pre-season. That at least will counter some of list holes.

Tom Green is a perfect example. I mentioned in the pre game thread I thought he was a massive danger, and it turned out that way, though blind freddy could have guessed that. He was 10kg, 10cm above anyone we had in the midfield plus a contested beast.

Scott mentioned our contested ball drubbing last couple of weeks, so hopefully addressed.

From a list management perspective, something that doesn’t feel right is that our midfield is stacked with our highest paid players: Shiel, Parish, Merrett and yet it offers no point of difference against other midfields. That to me feels like poor list management, surely having a concentration of our biggest earners in the middle of the ground should give us one of the better midfields

Tom Green is a perfect example. I mentioned in the pre game thread I thought he was a massive danger, and it turned out that way, though blind freddy could have guessed that. He was 10kg, 10cm above anyone we had in the midfield plus a contested beast.

Scott mentioned our contested ball drubbing last couple of weeks, so hopefully addressed.

Would be nice to get gifted a big, contested beast of a midfielder again.

From a list management perspective, something that doesn’t feel right is that our midfield is stacked with our highest paid players: Shiel, Parish, Merrett and yet it offers no point of difference against other midfields. That to me feels like poor list management, surely having a concentration of our biggest earners in the middle of the ground should give us one of the better midfields

From reading elsewhere it sounds like we have managed the salary cap extremely well such that no one on our list is actually overpaid.

Ridley down back would be one of our highest paid, and we don't really have a star in the forward half that demands big money right now. I don't think it would be unusual for most sides to have a concentration of salary cap in their midfield either as that's where most sides better players tend to play.

Box 1 - non negotiable. Jon Brown made a salient point tonight 'On the Couch' ... Essendon have not had anyone put the fear of god into an opposition for 15 years. He mentioned that when he was playing he did not concern himself with anyone from Essendon. In essence hes labelled us as nothing more than a nice football team. In my own experience when you come up against a team like that the game is over, any half decent team knows they can beat you if semi decent pressure is applied and its a moral that Essendon will capitulate. I hope Scott puts the fear of god into them this pre-season. That at least will counter some of list holes.

The first time Jonathan Brown encountered Essendon we walloped them by 11 goals, he was held goalless and he set a career high for hitouts because he got Robert Walls'ed.

His comments related to the backend of his career, probably something I should've mentioned - that was still 15 years ago though. We love to live in the 1999-2001 era though don't we. That was 2 decades ago

It's absolutely fair comment, I just thought it was quite funny that you can tear it down a bit with a 15 second google search.

No midfield bull is probably my biggest concern with our list right now. I don’t think we’ve really had one since Jobe..
Setterfield would be our closest thing to this right now and he only managed 10 games this year - I hope we can trade to find a back up for him as when he went down it had a big impact.
Stringer is not the answer, not sure Perkins is a mid either - would kill to have someone like Petracca, LDU or Greene on our list…

No midfield bull is probably my biggest concern with our list right now. I don’t think we’ve really had one since Jobe..
Setterfield would be our closest thing to this right now and he only managed 10 games this year - I hope we can trade to find a back up for him as when he went down it had a big impact.
Stringer is not the answer, not sure Perkins is a mid either - would kill to have someone like Petracca, LDU or Greene on our list…

Problem we've got is that unless you're gifted one via F/S or Academy means, there's not a player like that in every draft, and when there is they usually go very high.

Finding a more limited guy like a Jack Graham type is probably the best we can hope for in the short-term.

Or offer Tom Green a boatload of cash and pray he takes it.

Problem we've got is that unless you're gifted one via F/S or Academy means, there's not a player like that in every draft, and when there is they usually go very high.

Finding a more limited guy like a Jack Graham type is probably the best we can hope for in the short-term.

Or offer Tom Green a boatload of cash and pray he takes it.
Of what's available, Bailey Smith is the go.
Seems available, would be high cost but he's both young, ready to go and has a small knock on his off-field lifestyle.

Dogs would ask for 8 & F1.

Of what's available, Bailey Smith is the go.
Seems available, would be high cost but he's both young, ready to go and has a small knock on his off-field lifestyle.

Dogs would ask for 8 & F1.
Manager has confirmed not going anywhere next year. 100% at the Dogs.

probably wagers Bevo might not last that long. very under utilised imo.
Played a bit of midfield this year and by all reports from Dogs people was very underwhelming . I did not see enough to make a call.

As a re-signing its fine by me. The issue is that now we are/should be locked into signing players with "grunt". If they do that we just might get out of this.
we have Caldwell and Hobbs
We have Setterfield as someone with size, tackling and blocking.
And ideally get Draper up for a full season. Bryan looks like he doesn't mind a bit of physicality too.

for mine, we need to sort the fwd line out. good fwd lines will make hack kicks look good.
or at least hide the impact by locking the ball down.

we have Caldwell and Hobbs
We have Setterfield as someone with size, tackling and blocking.
And ideally get Draper up for a full season. Bryan looks like he doesn't mind a bit of physicality too.

for mine, we need to sort the fwd line out. good fwd lines will make hack kicks look good.
or at least hide the impact by locking the ball down.

Yeh it didn't seem like we had trouble getting it there late season, it just bounced back out just as fast. 2MP is either red hot or ice cold, functions in no other state

probably wagers Bevo might not last that long. very under utilised imo.
He absolutely butchered the ball this year. Played like he was sooking it up because he wasn’t playing onball. Overrated player imo if he didn’t have his image and his 360k followers on Insta he’d just be another run of the mill midfielder. Gets talked about like he’s an a grade star when he’s not. We complain about parish’s ball use, smith is way worse.

I think that's where Smith is under utilised. i reckon he's better in the congestion. strong, quick, competitive.
maybe utilised incorrectly is more accurate. When we talk bulls, he's what i think of.

Baz has it all for me

Great Size
Penetrating kick
Breaks lines
Hits the scoreboard
Has aggression

Poor year and didnt look interested but his assets are undeniable

Our pick 9 should be there for the dogs, but i doubt theyd accept it

Whether you went 9 and F1 for 10 and Baz is a tight call