TD Round 13 Split Round Thread

It's not just kicking straight though; it's where we're kicking them from on the field in terms of distance and angle, it's the amount of time we have to balance, it's the defensive pressure in our face as we're kicking it, and it's the fact we're kicking them on the run rather than from set shots.

We need players with polish, but we also need to take the percentage options in the first instance.
None of our set shots were difficult, the issue was we had so few of them.

Most of our shots were snaps (as against geelong, as against st.kilda and against brisbane), and as such are generally under pressure.

Yes it would help to center earlier, but our side would be cut to pieces if we play corridor centric football, what we need to do is play on after a mark, not stop prop, look sideways, backwards, forwards then go forward. It doesnt matter if your moving up the flanks, the wings, the corridor any where if you move the ball ****EN QUICKLY. We had plenty of opportunities to do it and we flatly refused.

The whole you must play the corridor and just the corridor shits me, you have to move the ball quickly down any part of the ground. If we played the same slow style yesterday but went centrally we would still get cut up

Tooveys disposal was poor and I agree he needs to improve it but to say he is holding the side back is a stretch. While it would be nice if he could improve his disposal he is in the team predominantly as a shut down defender and he does this role well. Without him our backline would be much worse off as we have no one capable of providing the role he does.

Yes he is a Good Shut Down Defender but he really hurts us with his Terrible Kicking

I'm a bit perplexed on your Presti call? Why do you think this is? It wasn't his best game by but it's a bit early to make that call off one bad game when he has been so reliable for so long including this year.

Just a looks to have Slowed Down and Struggled with the Dees Smaller FWDS. That is just my View

Macaffer adds plenty to the team. He plays his role as a negating utility, he does it well, he has clean disposal and adds versatility. I'm only dissapointed that he hasn't really had an outstanding game so far but he is doing enough to keep his position.

Well that again is on Personal View. He is okay but he has no Strength to his game and really adds not much to the side

Most of our shots were snaps (as against geelong, as against st.kilda and against brisbane), and as such are generally under pressure.

Yes it would help to center earlier, but our side would be cut to pieces if we play corridor centric football, what we need to do is play on after a mark, not stop prop, look sideways, backwards, forwards then go forward. It doesnt matter if your moving up the flanks, the wings, the corridor any where if you move the ball ****EN QUICKLY. We had plenty of opportunities to do it and we flatly refused.

The whole you must play the corridor and just the corridor shits me, you have to move the ball quickly down any part of the ground. If we played the same slow style yesterday but went centrally we would still get cut up

Good Point and we don't have to use the Corridor all the Time but we still need to use it more than we do.

Plus with our Slow Movement it made us Bomb the Ball in to our Forward 50 which makes it very hard when you have Cloke and L Brown up the Ground Kick Chasing and leaving it to our Small Forwards to mark the ball

Dave mate, it seems you just don't like negating player.

You cant have a team chock full of 22 full blown all out attackers, it doesn't work that way

Good Point and we don't have to use the Corridor all the Time but we still need to use it more than we do.

Plus with our Slow Movement it made us Bomb the Ball in to our Forward 50 which makes it very hard when you have Cloke and L Brown up the Ground Kick Chasing and leaving it to our Small Forwards to mark the ball
As a by product of moving the ball quickly you will naturally be more central.

Watch the essendon, carlton, hawthorn and freo games from earlier this year, we moved the ball with speed and naturally looked a more attacking side and low and behold played more centrally. It isn't rocket science and it doesn't require the full coach sackings and game plan changes that some are calling for

RD 12 Draw with Dees Rant

Will make my Rants in Bullet Points:

• Our Goal Kicking was Pathetic and we be lucky to be Top 4 if we keep it up
  • Toovey is Useless and Holding the Side Back with his Shocking Disposal and we beaten today
  • We have been biten by the Injury Bug
  • Presti is just about Finshed
  • Good to see Dick played Well and Actually Kick Straight
  • Steele and Pendles where very good
  • Our Zone seems to not been working very well lately. Need to go back to Man on Mam
  • Have a Tough Game coming up vs Swans
  • Never Play Leroy "The Scrub" Brown ahead of Dawes AGAIN
  • We where Reactive instead Acting 1st
  • McCaffer is adding nothing to the side

My 3 Votes for Pies are:

3 Votes - Pendles

2 Votes - Dick

1 Vote - Steele

Not having Swan in your votes is a joke, he was massive today.

To say Presti is finished after today would be similar to calling for Wood to be delisted after playing a game at FF. He did not have a player to match up on and that was clear before the game and why many wanted him rested. He looked slow because Green is much quicker and more agile then a KPF.

Toovey poor at times with the ball but overall had a good game IMO. Was actually one of our better players. He hit a few targets very well. He choose the wrong option a couple of times but was hardly a terrible kicking day and besides that had a very good game. I never want to see him kicking out after a behind again, although he did hit the target and no harm was done. He has had a good year and was good on Monday.

Maccaffer offers plenty and plenty of versatility too. He is good in contested areas, shuts down defenders well and is handy as both a linking and leading target. Not every player is going to be a star but he is playing his role week in week out. He certainly has tremendous upside IMO, building his tank is needed but I think he will do that whilst playing his role in the seniors.

As for our smalls Davis has had a quiet year but was huge just a week ago, has been good in the tackle and pressure stakes. Medders has also been quiet but is too good a player to be resting if not fit. Looked good in the second half yesterday. Dick has also come in and done well and Tarks whilst not super was handy / important and got better as the game went on. I know your a fan of new faces but Rounds is well back in the pecking order.

Presti can't play on small forwards? Whoa, didn't see that coming. Didn't see how Toovey was that bad, couple brain fades but no worse than usual and wasn't in the bottom 6 so to speak. Low hanging fruit, right?

Dave mate, it seems you just don't like negating player.

You cant have a team chock full of 22 full blown all out attackers, it doesn't work that way

True bit I would Rather a Player who can Kick then one who could not but a but has good Defense Skills.

Would like one with Both and I reckon someone like Blight could become that kind of Player and I would like to see what S Buckley can give to us in the AFL Side

Cheer up everyone. Its that time of year again where Collingwood comes to Sydney and bend us over under our eye's water :p

I think it will be a Intresting Game as your Team has Changed a Bit with New Ruckman in Mumford and some good Kids in Jetta and Rohan who gives you some Speed and X-Factor

True bit I would Rather a Player who can Kick then one who could not but a but has good Defense Skills.

Would like one with Both and I reckon someone like Blight could become that kind of Player and I would like to see what S Buckley can give to us in the AFL Side

S Buckley is more of a Johnson type running half back then defensive player. Picking targets and hitting them certainly aren't in his strengths either. Blight has not shown anywhere near enough to be selected at senior level and certainly has not shown AFL level defensive ability.

Buckley isn't a defenders ass hole and whilst being a huge kick is a worse decision maker then KRudd.

Blight is a very slightly built attacking flairy player who would be best suited not defending, ala lonie

I think it will be a Intresting Game as your Team has Changed a Bit with New Ruckman in Mumford and some good Kids in Jetta and Rohan who gives you some Speed and X-Factor

Well Melbourne gave us a blueprint on how to beat Collingwood yesterday (play on at every chance you get to stop Collingwood from setting up their zone) its just a matter of will Roos notice this as well. If the Swans try and play stop/start football in 2 weeks time we will be destroyed.

I do think the Dees gave you some Ideas but are you guys a Play-On Type Team?

You have always played stop start congestion footy

I do think the Dees gave you some Ideas but are you guys a Play-On Type Team?

In some games we have been especially earlier on in the year when we didn't have so many injuries. Before Bradshaw and Kennelly went down earlier in the year we were probably more attacking than we had ever been under Roos.

Kennelly is a big in for us because when he is playing well as he is the most likely to get the ball in the corridor and run with it. With Bradshaw back as well hopefully we can move the ball fast enough to give Bradshaw a few one on one contests.

Your right, we don't have any overall fast players in our midfield except for Wellingham and Swan. We'll get destroyed by other teams who are more experienced at playing the corridor then us.

The reason why we missed 22 shots was because most of it was shots on ground level and under pressure. Sure we missed some set shots, but those were tough and really these days, do you really expect players to kick them 100%?

What we really need to do is work on our forward structure, the bomb down into the forward line is absolutely no help because

1. We get outnumbered in marking contests
2. We don't have a reliable player who can take pack marks bar Cloke who generally is the person bombing it down to

If we spread out our forwards it opens up the ground and generates more 1 on 1 marking contests. If we moved the ball down faster we hit them by surprise and we can finally see a mark on a lead. If we're too slow to get it down then they'll just push up into our forward 50 area and the whole forward 50 is flooded with no where to lead. Hence you have 2 options, bomb it down or take a set shot. Then they'll hit us hard with their speed and counter attack which creates more space for them and their forwards to lead and mark and it doesn't help that we had presti who can't keep up with them.

Next Sunday we have a VFL game vs Box Hill @ Box Hill.

I was just wondering how do I get there with Public Transport from Frankston Station?

Station is the red circled area !

Looks closer to Laburnum train station though ..

Station is the red circled area !

Looks closer to Laburnum train station though ..

Okay Thanks - Yeah Laburnum looks the closest one.

What Line is that on?

Elijah very Similar to Cyril Rioli

Today I was again watching the WunderKid Eliajh Edwards and I was just Noticing how he plays very much a like. When Cyril does that Step in and Change of Directions very Quickly. If you watch Elijah Video he does the very same thing.

Big Upside Elijah has