Team v WCE

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

I'm rather mystified by Jericho's selection ahead of Campbell as well, but I wouldn't think there's any disciplinary issues with Campbell.

I wouldn't have thought so either. I was just reaching, trying to come up with some logical explanation as to why Campbell is on the outer, with Jericho preferred ahead of him. There MUST be a reason.....

wasnt Campbell best on ground in the latest trial?

Maybe but when has one best on ground performance demanded selection?

How is it a need basis though? We have lost two midfielders but we bring in a forward?

Depends on where Jericho lines up tomorrow. If he lines up as a forward, clearly NC has a bit more faith in Kurt Tippets’ performance in the ruck over Ivan Maric and needs Jericho to play as a forward.

I highly doubt he would have been selected just to give him a game, not at this stage of the season anyway. So either his selection was based on a ‘need’ as a half forward or the match committee see more benefit in his selection over Bryce Campbell.

Well here's some thoughts:
- Maric! Dammit, find some form big man.
- It's kind of a worry that Jericho can get a game at all.
- That said, we kept him on a year for a reason - no point having done that if we're not going to give him his shot at the big time. So he probably gets the NC standard "a few games to show something, or your back in the SANFL". And unfortunately for poor luke, if he goes back again, then that's it.

We have alot of mid sized defenders so the selection of Jericho is even more baffling. Bones will go to him with Selwood on Burton. Nicoski Waters Stinger Staker could also help out

Is it guaranteed to be raining tomorrow. Been raining much in Adelaide lately. Might take us a little bit to get used to the conditions. Scott Selwood is also a chance to come into the side depending on the weather. As much as it hurts it seems certain that Kerr will play.

My thoughts:

Really surprised that Maric isn't playing. Obviously his form isn't great and it may rain but Cox and Seaby are a real threat. I would love to see Tippett parked as a permanent forward. He would cause plenty of headaches for the West Coast defence because of his height. He's also sensational when the ball hits the deck for a big man. He'd be difficult to match up for any defence. When we picked up Moran I was looking forward to using him for this particular game. Seaby always looks dangerous up forward against us. So annoyed he's injured for this one.

Griff will struggle against Cox and Seaby although he did play a great game against Cox in the 2007 preseason.

Massie - A good honest player, always gives 100%. He'll give us a bit more flexibility as a mid sized defender. Last week we seemed to only have talls or little guys apart from Bass. Happy with his inclusion.

Jericho - Well this is his time to show us why NC has persisted with him. He's clearly a great athlete and can kick a bag of goals but will never get the hard ball. When I first remember seeing him against Port in 2004 I thought he was going to be a gun. Problem is he shows glimpses of his talent and then either goes missing or puts in a soft sttack on the ball. Was pretty unlucky to get dropped after his game against Carlton last year but the skipper had to come back. Would not have been great for his confidence. Hopefully he can gain soem confidence from the club keeping him and can now start repaying their faith in him. Time for Luke to put in some consistent performances. Was baffled by the decision to bring him in over Campbell but I hope he does well.

The problem for Craigy and the selection committee re Jericho vs Campbell is do you go for a guy who is supremely athletic and has shown glimpses of his talent but you'll never be sure if he'll give 100% in every contest or a guy whio is probably going to become one of those honest, hard working, hard at it average players who will always give 100% but probably not going to do the spectacular.

I guess we've gone for all out attack and that's why we've gone for Luke. Hope it pays off.

Reilly is a huge out and Shirley would have played a role, probably attempting to negate Kerr. Time to see if VB's match engine has improved since the 06 prelim. I'm sure it has.

In a nutshell - Massie - welcome back, Campbell - bad luck - Jericho - good luck...please show us what NC sees in you and Maric - get some form mate, we desperately need you.

Will be a close one I reckon but I still don't think our guys believe we can beat this mob.

Also I hope when Ebert plays a reasonable game we don't have to put up with another round of anti-Dangerfield crap on this board.

Having a think about it without jumping in when I heard it, I believe your club is treating us with contempt. Surely you have more experienced guys than two 18 year olds?

Whilst I realise you've lost three very experienced players in the off season, it took ages for the likes of Butler and Waters to get their first game.

It seems your treating this game as a gimme. Hoping it comes back to bite you on the bum, but I doubt it with our selections.
I wouldn't think that's the case. Both have fairly developed bodies and at draft time they were considered two of the more "ready made" prospects. Both had been in the mix (along with Scott Selwood) for Round 1 selection for West Coast. I was kind of surprised that none of the three debuted last week. Masten did have a limited pre-season though after his initiation as an Eagle (club suspension). :p

In that sense West Coast drafted smart because they snagged three guys who were pretty much ready to go. Considering their list got r*ped of it's midfield talent they did well there.

With that said, the 'irony' of Ebert debuting against Adelaide is not lost on me.

My thoughts:

Really surprised that Maric isn't playing. Obviously his form isn't great and it may rain but Cox and Seaby are a real threat. I would love to see Tippett parked as a permanent forward. He would cause plenty of headaches for the West Coast defence because of his height. He's also sensational when the ball hits the deck for a big man. He'd be difficult to match up for any defence. When we picked up Moran I was looking forward to using him for this particular game. Seaby always looks dangerous up forward against us. So annoyed he's injured for this one.

Also I hope when Ebert plays a reasonable game we don't have to put up with another round of anti-Dangerfield crap on this board.
On the first point, I really want to see us play the Tippett/Griff/Maric combination this year, but with the weather being the way it is we just can't do it this week. This same weather would also decrease Tippett's effectiveness when the ball hits the deck. Last week the Bulldogs were too short, this week it's too wet. Hopefully the planets align correctly for us next week at the Showdown.

As for the Ebert thing. I am fully prepared to not be able to access this board if he has a good game because this place will go into meltdown. :p

Both have a reason for playing

Ebert because he is our best disposer of the ball. Something Rosa doesnt give us

and Masten to give us more help in the guts and give us some more clearance winning abilility. By far the best clearance player we have at the club

If LeCras, Butler, and hell probaly even Armstrong were fit they probably would be playing ahead of the other 2,

On the first point, I really want to see us play the Tippett/Griff/Maric combination this year, but with the weather being the way it is we just can't do it this week. This same weather would also decrease Tippett's effectiveness when the ball hits the deck. Last week the Bulldogs were too short, this week it's too wet. Hopefully the planets align correctly for us next week at the Showdown.

As for the Ebert thing. I am fully prepared to not be able to access this board if he has a good game because this place will go into meltdown. :p

Yeah, guess your right although so far today it's stayed pretty dry so maybe the big downpours will stay away - although I do remember a Maric snap for goal against Port in torrential rain a couple of years ago;)

As for planets aligning - since when does that happen for us - Im fully expecting another year of playing opposition with milestone games, teams of sacked/retired coaches, retiring legends and controversial draft selections debuting against us:(:rolleyes:

Griffin and Tippett vs Cox and Seaby with no help form Maric

Craig is a very stubborn man. Not happy with selection at all. We are going to get pumped.

why are we going to get pumped? - what is the point of playing an out of form big man like Maric who does little around the ground - we shouldnt get to "Coxophobic"
I think our side would be too top heavy if Maric played and in any case i believe that Griffin & Tippett can do the job

Yeah, guess your right although so far today it's stayed pretty dry so maybe the big downpours will stay away - although I do remember a Maric snap for goal against Port in torrential rain a couple of years ago;)
Ah yes, I think that was his second kick in AFL. His first was straight into the man on the mark and his second was his follow up effort after the ball rebounded off the Power players face. :D

why are we going to get pumped? - what is the point of playing an out of form big man like Maric who does little around the ground - we shouldnt get to "Coxophobic"
Would the term be "homophobic"?

The Cox jokes continue. :thumbsu:

I think our side would be too top heavy if Maric played and in any case i believe that Griffin & Tippett can do the job

I belive Griff and Tippett can do the job against Cox and Seaby. I don't think they'll get pumped (I know you weren't replying to me) I wish Maric was in form so we could play all 3 mainly because I think Tippett is extremely dangerous as a permanent forward. I'm also concerned when Seaby in particular and Cox go forward. They always cause us a huge headache up forward even with all our tall guys back there. In reality I really wish Moran was available so we could play Griff, Tippett and Moran.

Ah yes, I think that was his second kick in AFL. His first was straight into the man on the mark and his second was his follow up effort after the ball rebounded off the Power players face. :D

Killing 2 birds with 1 stone that - smacking a port bloke in the face and a snap for goal. Good work Ivan!:D

as for Jericho in lieu of Campbell - perhaps Jericho provides a bit more flexibility & options (and pace) as to where he can be used:

eg across half forward when Goodwin goes into the midfield
or across the full forward line as a leading forward if Burton moves to the wing
or as a wingman
or even across the half-back line as a rebounding defender

I'ld actually like to see him used as a midfielder

he obviously has question marks about his courage but so also did young Doughty in his early years and he certainly turned that around - so its not beyond the realms of possibilities that Jezza may turn that around too, especially if he knows that he is in the last chance saloon
- after all courage is purely a mind issue

I belive Griff and Tippett can do the job against Cox and Seaby. I don't think they'll get pumped (I know you weren't replying to me) I wish Maric was in form so we could play all 3 mainly because I think Tippett is extremely dangerous as a permanent forward. I'm also concerned when Seaby in particular and Cox go forward. They always cause us a huge headache up forward even with all our tall guys back there. In reality I really wish Moran was available so we could play Griff, Tippett and Moran.

i agree entirely - if Moran was available i would play the 3 of them
i have lots of time for Moran in our 22 - provides flexibility in the big man dept and i think he can use his run around the ground

its a pity that that type of reaction would happen - very short-sightedness by those - perhaps instead of a new thread with the meltdown, the moderators can just add the comments to the existing thread that occurred after the draft or we could all save ourselves heaps of time repeating the same things by just bumping up that prior thread and rereading it :)

we all knew that Ebert was virtually AFL match ready whereas Dangerfield wasnt going to be around this year and of course the true judgement will be made a few years down the track, however, early comments by some close to the scene suggest that Dangerfield may turn out to be an inspired selection. He certainly may end up having that x-factor (plus pace) which we lack

Heard a snippet on 5AA from Cornesy (I know I know..:)) who said that talking to some people at Crowland, they felt that if Rodney was here in Adelaide he'd be looking at Westies league side and very seriously pushing for AFL selction. Don't know what we can read into that but I am very excited about him. Unfortunately I think the next year or 2 is going to be painful as Ebert racks up 20 odd games but when Dangerfield starts I really hope he proves his detractors wrong.

I cannot understand why so many here have confidence that 2 kids, with only a handful of games between them, can stand up to the best (or 2nd best) ruckman in the league, who has a very handy backup in Seaby.

Ruckmen with multiple AA honours, who are at the top of their game, just do not get beaten, or held in check, by skinny kids learning the trade.

That's the benefit Maric has over Griffin & Tippett, he has a stronger body, which over the course of the game will stand up better, in a physical sense, than the other two.

Cox would beat Maric anyway, but I believe that Ivan could provide more competition for him over the course of the whole game.

Anyway, that's my 1 & 7/8ths cents worth

I cannot understand why so many here have confidence that 2 kids, with only a handful of games between them, can stand up to the best (or 2nd best) ruckman in the league, who has a very handy backup in Seaby.

Ruckmen with multiple AA honours, who are at the top of their game, just do not get beaten, or held in check, by skinny kids learning the trade.

That's the benefit Maric has over Griffin & Tippett, he has a stronger body, which over the course of the game will stand up better, in a physical sense, than the other two.

Cox would beat Maric anyway, but I believe that Ivan could provide more competition for him over the course of the whole game.

Anyway, that's my 1 & 7/8ths cents worth

I think that Griffin with his leap can match Cox at the bounces and Tippett with his athleticism and strength can match Cox at throw-ins & stoppages, however, i think where Cox does most of his damage is his running ability around the ground and here i think Griffin & Tippett can go with Cox better than Maric could. Ideally, IMO Moran would have been a good choice had he not been injured.

I dont expect Griffin & Tippett to beat Cox/Seaby but as our 1st choice ruckmen i expect them to give their best, to learn, and if things go their way perhaps even beat them.
One never steps onto the playing arena already beaten (except maybe Carlton :D) regardless of the opposing talent and its a good test of character and learning ability and of their own skills. Griffin & Tippett may be rank outsiders against Cox/Seaby but they can still beat them.

he obviously has question marks about his courage but so also did young Doughty in his early years and he certainly turned that around - so its not beyond the realms of possibilities that Jezza may turn that around too, especially if he knows that he is in the last chance saloon
- after all courage is purely a mind issue

One would have thought he'd been there for about 3 years, but obviously not, lets just hope he gets the memo.