Team vs Geelong - Robbo named

• Thread starter Thread starter FOOOOTY

If Geelong go in as cocky and confident as Jumping Jack, they might have a problem. You can never underestimate the demons, because in the end it will hurt you.

Especially with Robbo back, the goalkicking power has moved up a notch.
;)

Geelong would never go into a game over confident and choke would they?? ;)

I did say in the PGT that I'd be happy to see Grimes play regardless of the result. Seeing he musn't be ready, Robbo and Maric are a nice consolidation. Can't wait to be back at THE G!

Robbo to take mark of the round if not of the year this Sunday, he's chomping at the bit I reckon.

He sure is, theres a press conference of him on the Hun website, man he looks pumped:D

If Geelong go in as cocky and confident as Jumping Jack, they might have a problem. You can never underestimate the demons, because in the end it will hurt you.

;)
We've moved from notch 0 to notch 1!

That said with Robbo in we now have a player who can genuinely kick a bag (5+) not that I think it will happen this week. That takes the pressure off guys like Miller, Bate, Davey, Dunn, Petterd and Sylvia who can all grab a few on their day. Also Maric doesn't need much opportunity to get a goal, Green and Wonaeamirri also get on the scoreboard, and whilst we don't have a huge line up of goalkicking mids most of them (McLean, Moloney, McDonald, Bruce, Morton) love a good goal. With Robbo's come back we start to look more like a team with multiple options.

I hope Robbo really inspires the other forwards, because as much as we want to see him play I wouldn't expect Jack Watts to do much up forward if he was thrown in now.

Wonder how we are going to deliver into the 50 this week, kicking to a 1 on 1 contest the only person who I think will be able to hold their own is Miller.

For Robbo I'd say go high and long and let him fly.

Need to be able to honour the leads from the forward line but I don't think we can with our delivery.

Greeny I miss you.

Wonder how we are going to deliver into the 50 this week, kicking to a 1 on 1 contest the only person who I think will be able to hold their own is Miller.

For Robbo I'd say go high and long and let him fly.

Need to be able to honour the leads from the forward line but I don't think we can with our delivery.

Greeny I miss you.
Scarlett will know better than to allow Robbo a free run and jump.

And sadly Robbo is no Jon Brown to just load it long to, I think we will struggle unless we can find some space for Robbo to lead into. Miller will need to have a big game, if he gets Harry Taylor I fancy him to do just that.

Final Bench: Bennell, PJ, Morton and Jones
As predicted, Newton and Jetta dropped.

Cats unchanged.
I know Bailey likes the just name the team anywhere, but do you think there is a message to PJ, Morton and Jones that they need to be cleaner than they were last week or they will be dropped?

B:
Jared Rivers, Matthew Warnock, James Frawley
HB: James McDonald, Stefan Martin, Jamie Bennell

C:
Cale Morton, Brock McLean, Cameron Bruce
Aaron Davey

HF: Lynden Dunn, Brad Miller, Matthew Bate
F: Addam Maric, Russell Robertson

Foll:
John Meesen, Brent Moloney, Clint Bartram
I/C: Paul Johnson, Colin Sylvia, Nathan Jones, Ricky Petterd

This week I still think we are one defender short with Dunn going forward and Bartram into the midfield to tag Ablett. So I'm dropping Junior onto a back flank, he's done it before and should be okay.

Davey continues his role as loose man who can go wherever he wants. Sylvia again spends time in the midfield and up forward, his 110% attack on the footy should be good to watch, and hopefully he gets his tackle numbers up, because no-one in our team tackles as strong as Sylvia. Jones, McLean, Moloney have to work themselves into the ground.

Petterd is another option down back if we need McDonald back into the midfield, as is Bruce. However Petterd is a very good forward pressure guy, so I'll be looking for some of that, I'll also want to see some from Maric, and a couple of goals would be nice. Not expecting 100% forward pressure from Robbo, but he should do better than Juice.

PJ and Meese should aim to break even with Blake and Mumford in the hit outs, and PJ made some mistakes (lots!) but at least gets to the right positions around the ground, and I hope he's got his kicking boots on, and his handballing glove!

;)

You propably need to check the post without your rose colored glasses my friend ... what is cocky about my post. I think you'll find I'm stating FACTS in response to a post which was not necessarily tongue in cheek.

As for underestimating the demons ..... my view is irrelavent. The coach and players however will be taking it seriously. Any side that has won 47 of it's last 50 is clearly not going into games cocky otherwise we would have dropped more over the last 2 years to average sides.

I must admit - I'm amused at the sudden excitement with a 30 y.o bloke coming back into the side after almost a year out with an achilles injury - and being heralded as the saviour. A mate of mine who follows the Dees has seen his VFL games and reckons he can't jump over a milk crate.

You really don't understand humour at all do you?

He struggles.

You propably need to check the post without your rose colored glasses my friend ... what is cocky about my post. I think you'll find I'm stating FACTS in response to a post which was not necessarily tongue in cheek.

As for underestimating the demons ..... my view is irrelavent. The coach and players however will be taking it seriously. Any side that has won 47 of it's last 50 is clearly not going into games cocky otherwise we would have dropped more over the last 2 years to average sides.

I must admit - I'm amused at the sudden excitement with a 30 y.o bloke coming back into the side after almost a year out with an achilles injury - and being heralded as the saviour. A mate of mine who follows the Dees has seen his VFL games and reckons he can't jump over a milk crate.

Your mate must struggle with the vision side of life because Robbo has taken a few hangers in his Casey games already.

And you really do struggle with the concept of humour don't you?