The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Thread's now talking about a phone designed in the late 1970s. Kinda not the same as talking about that primo batch of dutch imports swirling 'round those Docklands parties, is it now?

Those old school 70s style phones were still common place in the 90s though, the same with pay phones which are almost non-existent now.

I used to go into my old man's office on weekends to use his secretary's typewriter to do my essays and she had one of those whizz bang ones that could white out the word by itself.

The secretary at my first office job still used a typewriter for typing names and addresses on envelopes for mail outs, she would fly through them at a rate of knots.

I tried doing some myself once when she wasn't there and it took me about 2 hours to do what would have taken her about 10 minutes.

australia-captain-allan-border-pictured-with-his-ab-duncan-fearnley-picture-id1074406498

Greatest living Australian.

Copious amounts of weed.. Seems I spent most of the 90s bouncing from dealers in the daytime and bouncing from bouncers in the night time... As the decade wore on things became more sinister and I won 10K at Crown and got the fu** out of dodge... Right into Surfers Paradise... 2000.

90s we're great, I started at 16 and ended at 33, then went back to 22 in 2000. LSD also was a regular feature in the early-mid90s, while Ecstacy was a feature in the mid-late 90s. Sex was on tap. Drugs were on tic.

I feel you bro.

Lots of great goey (not ice, good old sulphate) in 90s Melbourne too.

The really good music in the 90s was the hip hop and rave stuff.

The 90s was also a time you felt proud to hold a British passport and you didn't feel like the world was laughing at you every time you pulled it out.

Britain was where all the fashion and music was coming from - the clubs (Ministry of Sound), DJs (where do you start), models (Kate Moss) etc etc.

The peak of 90s phone technology is the Telstra phonecard.

I don't know how many phone boxes remain but I don't notice them at all. Even asking to use someone's phone has died out with the exception of your own mobile being flat or being a tightarse teenager with no credit.
All they have been good for the last decade is annoying people with fake calls that hang up but I don't think you can even do that with them anymore.

There's 2 sets still left where I live, iirc there were 5 back in the late 90s.

As far as computers went in 1990's basically no real internet for most of it so PC's were mainly for playing games from what I recall I did with them. You were not online, you were simply on your computer and usually a desktop. The game I spent most time on was Civ. Spent many an hour avoiding study this way...

CivII the best.

Getting baked and playing that.

I reckon the 90s would have been the best time to live in Melbourne, or the late 2000s.

Being idealistic – completely – but it's like Perth in the 70s where you just imagine it's one big Robert Drewe book. You live near the beach and go to watch Souths on the weekend with your old man, try talking to girls down the pool, then turn 17 and start drinking Swan Gold.

But 1990s Melbourne... the Espy isn't steel panels and Bec Judd but junkies and the Birthday Party. You go to the footy and don't hate every player out there – and if you aren't at Optus Oval, Western Oval, you're not listening to some absolute campaigner on television: it's Sandy or Den and Bruce. Freo have some character and keep getting close to finals. No extortionate rents. The only azns in town were hard-working Vietnamese and a bunch of angry-young Thai blokes who smash pot-plants over skinheads' skulls in Footscray beer gardens – not aloof Chinese students with 14 kilos of puppy fat, stuffing their mouth with that weird oversized fried chicken in the shape of a drumstick, in those Off White sneakers with the tags still on them and 0 social skills and 13491 (paid for) instagram followers.

The parties at Global Village and the docks were the best. Pokies were already starting to ruin things but Brunswick Street was actually still cool.

The idea you'd go to a house party in Coburg or Resevoir or Brunswick - maybe you went there to score drugs but nobody actually lived there.

BTW - Birthday Party long gone by the 90s, the 90s was Nick playing annual Christmas shows at The Palais that EVERYBODY went to.

The no extortionate rents things though, yeah, the share houses I lived in or hung around in that are now $1.5-2m houses.

It was in the 90s though that Melbourne the city started to take off. Seriously, in 1993 after watching North win on a Friday night we'd walk back into town to get the tram home - Sihifty Seven - and there was NOBODY around. 10.30 on a Friday night on Elizabeth Street and it was like a zombie attack.

We had a phone like that too but then we got a cordless push button phone in the 90s which we thought was pretty fancy, being able to make and take phone calls in different rooms of the house rather than in the one place was a real game changer.

I also got my first mobile phone in the late 90s but the reception for it was so poor I hardly ever used it and still mostly used the landline.

If you liked a girl you actually had to call her house - couldn't just send a pic of your chop with cat's ears on it or whatever kids do these days.

Usually you'd have to talk to a parent first, then when you finally got her, inevitably her brother/sister would listen in on the other extension which would lead to a "Hang on KAYLA YOU BITCH STOP LISTENING MUM SHE"S LISTENING TO MY CALLS AGAIN" then she'd come back on the line.

All they have been good for the last decade is annoying people with fake calls that hang up but I don't think you can even do that with them anymore.

There's 2 sets still left where I live, iirc there were 5 back in the late 90s.

Phone boxes were excellent for prank calls though.

I had a prick of a Year 10 maths teacher, we hated each other.

He comes into class one day and announces his missus has given birth and he's taking a week off.

He comes back and I spend the next three weeks calling his house at about 10PM to wake him, her and the baby.

Seeing his sleep deprived face made it almost worthwhile when he failed me lol.

Full House
Hangin' with Mr Cooper
Family Matters
Step by Step
Home Improvement
3rd Rock From The Sun
Dharma & Greg

So many family friendly sitcoms I remember from the 90s. And that's without touching on the real classics of the era.

Mad About You