The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Also, EVERYONE had this album.

This is the only good song off it - do not say otherwise.

Also, travelling in the 90s.

When people went travelling it was basically like they'd died. Maybe you'd get letters or postcards from really close friends, but yiou certainly didn't get a daily curated update of where they were and what they'd done that day.

Then when people came back it was equally as sudden.

"Oh, so and so is back from England, he's brought his Pommy wooz as well".
Yeah, sending a postcard then getting home weeks later to find you beat the postcard home.

Do 'strayan TV shows still write characters out of shows by having them move to Perth?
In the early Neighbours days they moved to Brisbane.

Fun fact: Comedian Greg Fleet played the guy who killed Daphne

Yeah, sending a postcard then getting home weeks later to find you beat the postcard home.

When backpacking in Asia was actually dangerous.

Fun fact: my weed dealer in 1994 was good mates with those backpackers who got killed by the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia.

Back when Cambodia was still a terrifying place as opposed to a Chinese money awash hole where French kids go to do cheap ketamine.

When backpacking in Asia was actually dangerous.

Fun fact: my weed dealer in 1994 was good mates with those backpackers who got killed by the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia.

Back when Cambodia was still a terrifying place as opposed to a Chinese money awash hole where French kids go to do cheap ketamine.
Is it Cambodia where you can still get Quaaludes? I really want to try those.

Locals weren't too big fans of the Koreans - complained that they come in with their own guides, stay in Korean owned hotels, eat Korean food and leave.
A friend of mine got caught with a couple of buds on the Cambodian/Vietnamese border. Made for an anxious few hours.

My folks went to the UK and Europe in 96 and brought me this double album back on CD.

Here you go Silent Alarm - this was THE sound of Melbourne in the glorious summer of 94/95.

I kinda wish I was around for the 1990s Perth pub scene. There was a good little mini doco on one of the FTA networks over here a year or two ago which reminisced about the club scene in the 80s and 90s. I don't think Perth was ever really a haven for dance/disco/trance and pills etc. but there used to be a stack of venues with live music and taps pouring.

This is the Raffles Hotel I remember as a kid. Used to drive along the freeway and see the lights across the river.

swanraffles.jpg

The same awesome art deco building is still there, but behind it is a luxury apartment tower. And the Swan Gold sign is long gone, replaced by a cringeworthy Asahi sign which just screams 'this place is now for people who don't have good taste in beer but will pay $15 a pint'.

Raffles-perth.jpg

Used to be a rough and tumble venue with live rock and roll, bikies etc. I know of a car being stolen from the carpark and then later returned after some kind of 'agreement' was reached without police involvement.

Now (and the area has been affluent for a long time, not a recent thing) it's $13 for a pint of Heineken and some NIMBY that lives in the apartment tower keeps taking them to court wanting the beer garden and bar shut down because it's too loud. fu** right off m8. The pub has been there since the 1930s.

Quite a few of the pubs I saw live bands at in the 90s have gone or turned into family friendly venues where there is no live bands anymore like The Shents, The Floreat, The Swanbourne and The Herdies. The Wembley Hotel is one of the few old pubs from that area that has survived but that was never a proper live music venue so didn't have the noise issues or the bogan/bikies types that some of those other pubs attracted and was the reason they got shut down.

The club scene in Perth wasn't that great back then from my experience, most of the clubs in Northbridge were sh*t, the only club I liked going to was the Hip-E Club in Leederville but that was different to most other clubs as they played 60s and 70s rock rather than dance music and drinks were at pub prices.

I sent some postcards, t-shirts and a few other souvenirs back home to my family from New York via sea mail as I was too tight to pay for air mail.

I think they got them about 6 months later.

Hip-E club is still going I'm pretty sure. Only Hip-E and Connections are still around from the 80s heyday.

This would've been a great time to go out:

ddd57c57213a54dce95ce4b5fcae0e3f6560168f

There are a few pubs left that still do live music. The Charles and The Rosemount in North Perth, Freo Social, Swan Hotel in North Freo. Places that were dingy like the Broken Hill Hotel have been swanked up and don't really appeal beyond the architecture.

Went to Market Grounds the other week which had live music and always seems to be full. Soulless venue but people love it.

I reckon the 90s would have been the best time to live in Melbourne, or the late 2000s.

Being idealistic – completely – but it's like Perth in the 70s where you just imagine it's one big Robert Drewe book. You live near the beach and go to watch Souths on the weekend with your old man, try talking to girls down the pool, then turn 17 and start drinking Swan Gold.

But 1990s Melbourne... the Espy isn't steel panels and Bec Judd but junkies
Went there often to see live bands. Even some comedy nights.

Seen these jokers so many times back then.
Can't believe these jokers still do gigs over two decades later.. ha ha

Greatest footy tune ever (with apologies to New Order but John Barnes rapping was not cool)

barnesy is the greatest human being in the history of the world.

but yes it wasnt good.

liked that this song was revamped last year for the inevitable england departure.

Also, EVERYONE had this album.

This is the only good song off it - do not say otherwise.

This is the sort of song you'd chuck on if you knew you were going to die when you went to sleep that night. There's something I can't put into words about this song and tracks like Dinninit. Eyes glazed over, willing yourself not to crack a beer sort of song.

The other day Damien Lovelock died. I used to love watching The World Game as a kid – again, the 2000s. It was about seven hours of discussion and highlights. I used to love when this crazy looking bloke and his dog Rocket would come on. This is a nice article about his life and isn't fawning or sycophantic, just let's the anecdotes tell the story: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-08-03/celibate-rifles-frontman-damien-lovelock-dead/11373500. Point is you were talking about watching AFL Squadron (what was that?) on a weekend morning. Well I wish I could spend a sunny afternoon with a banh mi and Gatorade then having a Coopers-hair-of-the-dog while watching this bloke talk about life and football.

I also reckon football, the round ball, in Australia would have been wild then. Guys like Mark Viduka taking the piss as super-talented 17-year olds, but also the generation of players who were mechanics and pizza chefs who, these days, would have 50 caps for Australia and be playing in the lower ends of the Dutch and Danish leagues.

Mental wogs punching the shit out of each other... couldn't imagine how good the souvlakis and koftas would've been.

Meanwhile if you actually went to Europe or the UK, I hear these stories about blokes returning in 1992 and talking about ecstasy and all the cool clothes and clubs and chicks over there. You could imagine being down the local and you recognise a face you haven't seen for six months would have been a trip. These days you're considered private if you put up a photo a week from a cushy trip to the continent.

Oh man I loved those logos.

Remember those sticker books - I always tried so hard to stick them inside the lines [emoji16]

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

This is my all time fave Geelong logo:
b104b9a4e6bade671a08b317ea23a121.gif

Is on the scarf I still have (the one and only that has survived the journey from the 90s till now) and wear to the footy. And isnt in bad nick considering it's over 20 years old..

I had the sticker book too! Gavin Wanganeen on the front cover?? And holograms for the team stickers.