The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Notts County and Luton Town in the top flight, Blackburn and Leeds winning championships.
Notts County aren't even fully professional at the moment. Harry Kewell's shitful attempt at coaching them didn't help. Oldest 'pro' club in England and they're in the fifth tier. Sad shit.

When The '00s thread is made in a few months Hot Chip and LCD Soundsystem are getting spammed. Fun fact: Al Doyle is in both bands.
Hot Chip's best song is Alley Cats which means their main point – dancey shit for Inbetweeners house parties – didn't even succeed. That song is a beaut though. twooo people are alley cats...

LCD Soundsystem soiled their rep too. James Murphy is a flog. Tells everyone the band is ending, get some expensive tickets 'cos we're gonna play Madison Square Garden! They keep selling CDs and DVDs of the final show until they announce they're coming back. Shows fizzle out of interest after a year and the comeback album is trash. Guys ego and coke habit is insane. He's also a nasty, nasty human – some of the yarns about him in Meet Me In The Bathroom are pretty unflinching.

But if the 2000s thread was to arise... it'd be like Plugger35's posts after seven Stellas about The Church + my usual shite combined. What a wreck.

charmed-reboot-original-cast.jpg

Alyssa Milano was did it for me.

Was also an interesting time on TV with shows like Buffy, Charmed, Sabrina, Touched By An Angle (terrible, terrible show) and a few others that treaded the line of a mixture of sci fi and goth. Also, it was a time when TV shows wouldn't have to cut to a sex scene any time two characters seemed to show interest in each other.

Must be a real nightmare for kids watching shows with parents these days, having to sit awkwardly whilst two characters sex every episode for no reason at all.

People generally drank 1 of about 5 beer brands, now there is like 500 at the bottle shop.
Yeah, what brands did you get?

There's a few old bottle shops on Victoria Street near Vic Park. Seems it was Carlton Draught, Cold, Fosters Light Ice, and iced coffees.

What was the set-up in a WA bottle shop?

Yeah, what brands did you get?

There's a few old bottle shops on Victoria Street near Vic Park. Seems it was Carlton Draught, Cold, Fosters Light Ice, and iced coffees.

What was the set-up in a WA bottle shop?
I only started drinking beer from about 2000 when choice started to emerge, but I only remember most adults mainly drinking stuff like VB, EB and older people Emu Draft mid-strength late 90s. Maybe the odd Swan Lager/Draft? Nobody touched Export.

That light Swan Gold crap was popular early 90s.

I only started drinking beer from about 2000 when choice started to emerge, but I only remember most adults mainly drinking stuff like VB, EB and older people Emu Draft mid-strength late 90s. Maybe the odd Swan Lager/Draft? Nobody touched Export.

Becks and foreign beers like that where all imported rather than brewed here under license too.

I drank a lot of Tooheys Red in the 90s as they sponsored St Kilda back then.

ed5f3ded4cc4abf686424ed666bb3d7c.jpg

Tooheys Blue sponsored Melbourne around the same time.

That's when Tooheys made their push from just being a NSW beer to a nationwide beer, I quite liked Tooheys Extra Dry as well.

I don't remember drinking many foreign beers back then, maybe Coronas occasionally but they weren't a mainstream thing like they are these days.

Swan Gold, Swan Light, Emu Draught, Swan Mid, Carlton Mid etc. are just old man beers.

When I started drinking people drank EB, Swan Draught, EE, Carlton Cold, Toohey's Extra Dry and a bit of Carlton Draught and VB. This was early 2000s though and given we were teenagers our priority was value for money and drinkability. No one like likes a Shitbreak from American Pie who only drinks single malt whiskey at that age. I drink all sorts of beers now but I reckon if I knew a 17 year old who only wanted organic passoinfruit NEIPA at leavers (schoolies) I'd want to punch him. Spirits similar. Teenagers drink cheap vodka, Jim Beam and Bundy. GTFO if you want some special independent gin and organic limes.

Going out to terrible pubs and clubs like the Paramount they'd have 3 or 4 domestic taps and if you wanted a 'premium' beer they might have stubbies of Becks in the fridge.

It's actually better if a pub doesn't have too many beers on offer unless they do a huge turnover because it just sits in kegs for ages.

I was a decade or so away from drinking when we lived in Perth but my old man reliably informs it was pretty much only Swan or Emu.

I remember in the 80s it was still mostly just the WA beers Swan and Emu that people drank here, beers were still very State based so it was XXXX in Qld, Tooheys in NSW, VB and other CUB beers in Vic, West End in SA, it was only late 80s and early 90s where interstate beers started to become more popular.

VB was the first interstate beer I remember becoming popular in WA and it was usually pretty cheap so we drank a lot of it when we were teenagers.

My old man used to come home and chuck a few Emu Bitter king browns in the freezer.

Apparently it was genuinely bitter back then. It's basically a mid-strength now. 1.1 standards or something putrid.

It's funny how Emu Export had this big re-emergence lately. It kind of infuriates me tbh. Imagine what some roustabout would think if he saw one of the main demographics? Skinny armed, confident little economics students who play drinking games and their pencil neck, shrivel-dicked beancounter old man is paying their rent at a uni college.

People get sensitive about cultural appropriation... that is it!

And... it's not even cheap!

Swan and Emu aren't even made here anymore.

$45 for a box of EE these days. Gone are the days of 30 for 30 but I guess 15 years of inflation will do that.
Aren't most of these types of beer weaker/smaller bottles as well now?

Toohey's new was given a big push in the early to mid 2000s. They sponsored the Wallabies and Super Rugby when the Forced started up. It was on tap in a lot of pubs and they had promos at uni etc.

These days you can go to a pub with a dozen taps and a fridge full of craft beers and not see it.

charmed-reboot-original-cast.jpg

Alyssa Milano was did it for me.

Was also an interesting time on TV with shows like Buffy, Charmed, Sabrina, Touched By An Angle (terrible, terrible show) and a few others that treaded the line of a mixture of sci fi and goth. Also, it was a time when TV shows wouldn't have to cut to a sex scene any time two characters seemed to show interest in each other.

Must be a real nightmare for kids watching shows with parents these days, having to sit awkwardly whilst two characters sex every episode for no reason at all.
yes yes yes

$45 for a box of EE these days. Gone are the days of 30 for 30 but I guess 15 years of inflation will do that.
It's ludicrous taxation. Beers go up 50 cents a six pack every six months. Even in my short drinking career, I remember Coopers was about 15 for a six pack. It's still affordable and a good all around beer, a common fall back, but it's deinitely not $15. When I was in first year uni, we'd go across the road to grab our beers. We used to drink this European swill called Amstel which they don't sell her anymore – clear bottle, scorpion pull-ring cap. I don't think I ever paid more than 40 bucks for a carton and quite regularly got muck like Buttweiper for 35, 38 bucks.

The worst thing are these smart-arse beers that come out that aren't even a real beer type. 'Summer Ale,' 'Session Ale,' 'extra pale ale.' It's just a made up term. It's not like pale ale, IPA, pilsener, lager. These pricks put a fancy label on it but they're 4-4.4% alcohol and still nearly 60 dollars a carton. Or 20 a four pack! Get ****ed.

Just another tax that preys on the average arseh*le.

It's ludicrous taxation. Beers go up 50 cents a six pack every six months. Even in my short drinking career, I remember Coopers was about 15 for a six pack. It's still affordable and a good all around beer, a common fall back, but it's deinitely not $15. When I was in first year uni, we'd go across the road to grab our beers. We used to drink this European swill called Amstel which they don't sell her anymore – clear bottle, scorpion pull-ring cap. I don't think I ever paid more than 40 bucks for a carton and quite regularly got muck like Buttweiper for 35, 38 bucks.

The worst thing are these smart-arse beers that come out that aren't even a real beer type. 'Summer Ale,' 'Session Ale,' 'extra pale ale.' It's just a made up term. It's not like pale ale, IPA, pilsener, lager. These pricks put a fancy label on it but they're 4-4.4% alcohol and still nearly 60 dollars a carton. Or 20 a four pack! Get f’ed.

Just another tax that preys on the average a-hole.
That's because for the last six years we've had a government that's determined to shift the cost of the GFC away from those who caused it and on to mugs like us. But seeing as we've just given them another three I assume we're all good with that.

Aren't most of these types of beer weaker/smaller bottles as well now?
Yeah, 330ml is the average stubbie these days. I think that's the European standard (330 glass bottles, 455-500ml cans) and CUB, the lovely folk they are, cottoned onto it and realised people will still buy it. At the same price.

Coopers persist with 355 or 375ml still but they're only 1.3 standards. It's all tax-mandated.

You can buy 12 standard drinks in a bottle of wine for 3 bucks and get ****ed up but you generally only find one or two six-packs on special for 10 at Dan Murphy's. And that's, all up, barely more than half the wine.

But of course these Shiraz-sippers want to encourage wine production.

...an industry that is basically entirely seasonal and uses plenty of foreign backpackers to produce... not that great for the economy...

They've been threatening to allow craft breweries to pay less tax but all they'll do is keep it $26.50 for some lettuce-juicy-pale but pocket the $3.50 difference in taxation.

I mean I've always had them but it's piss easy to knock over a six pack in a month. Crack one when you're cutting up the carrots, another two by the time you've finished your shower, couple by the time tea's come and then there's one lonely sitting there so of course you'll drink it. It's basically two litres of beer which is four pints. Usually consumed over two or three hours and not half that.

That's because for the last six years we've had a government that's determined to shift the cost of the GFC away from those who caused it and on to mugs like us. But seeing as we've just given them another three I assume we're all good with that.
Seeing as you are determined to bore everyone on politics everywhere on BF as a Labor fanboy what do you think of Rudd's alcopops tax?