Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread

Blueseum gives us all the players who have worn 47 at any time. Peter Francis the most it seems.

Wes Lofts 5 games (1960)
Ken Jungwirth 1 game (1967)
Neil Chandler 14 games (1968-69)
Daryl Gutterson 1 game (1971)
Peter Francis 47 games (1979-81) (Record holder in this guernsey)
Mil Hanna 1 game (1986)
Andrew McKinnon 15 games (1989-90)
Darren Hulme 8 games (1997)
Laurence Angwin 4 games (2003)
Greg Bentley 5 games (2009)
Ciaran Sheehan 4 games (2014)

For further historical information relating to this guernsey number, please click here.
Daryl Gutterson he was that blond kid wasn't he? Only played 1 game, think he must have played about 200 in the seconds and they still couldn't find his right position.

It's an interesting stat, I wonder if our focus on an 'offensive layer' to our game plan last pre season had an effect on the numbers? Speed in defensive movement closes the space more quickly and increases perceived pressure on the ball carrier. A very notable press as displayed by the Tigers in 2017.
Nearly every game Richmond won in 2017/18 they had defensive average speed around 8 km p hour. I understand that this also links with the fact the team with the footy was running at this same speed. Why does a losing team have higher average speeds with the ball around 8 and lower average speeds without it, around 7. It’s interesting. Like others on here have said maybe it’s a coincidence of losers. But that also makes it a condition of winning. Not having the ball a lot, will that cause you to run slower without the footy. I don’t think so. Maybe it does. It’s putely statistical. If we can ensure our average speeds are higher when we don’t the footy we should cause more turn overs and thus not require the offensive speeds we are forced to have because we’re under heaps of pressure. The other team will.

Daryl Gutterson he was that blond kid wasn't he? Only played 1 game, think he must have played about 200 in the seconds and they still couldn't find his right position.
Nope dont recall him. What years are you talking about here RobR ?

Nearly every game Richmond won in 2017/18 they had defensive average speed around 8 km p hour. I understand that this also links with the fact the team with the footy was running at this same speed. Why does a losing team have higher average speeds with the ball around 8 and lower average speeds without it, around 7. It’s interesting. Like others on here have said maybe it’s a coincidence of losers. But that also makes it a condition of winning. Not having the ball a lot, will that cause you to run slower without the footy. I don’t think so. Maybe it does. It’s putely statistical. If we can ensure our average speeds are higher when we don’t the footy we should cause more turn overs and thus not require the offensive speeds we are forced to have because we’re under heaps of pressure. The other team will.

Might be the closest stat to indicate when a side is 'on' energy wise, really hunting the ball carrier. I'll keep an eye on this stat over this season. Cheers for the effort :thumbsu:

Late 60's early 70's' probably before your time Ace.
Well that is probably the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me on BF :D

My earliest footy recollection would be season 1969 , a little hazy now but as far as i can go back.

Well that is probably the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me on BF :D

My earliest footy recollection would be season 1969 , a little hazy now but as far as i can go back.
I wish 1969 was bit hazy for me as well.:)

I was serious indeed. I assume its internet slang but I am lost when it comes to that stuff.

So the question then becomes in what context was TLDR used?
İt's : Too Long Didn't Read

Usually a short summary of a more in-depth post.

Eg a tldr of the crow's pickswap thread would be something like:

Haha, they're all injured. Blues are fudged. We're getting pick 1.

That saves you reading pages and pages of their posts.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

İt's : Too Long Didn't Read

Usually a short summary of a more in-depth post.

Eg a tldr of the crow's pickswap thread would be something like:

Haha, they're all injured. Blues are fudged. We're getting pick 1.

That saves you reading pages and pages of their posts.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thanks mate
I was sitting here tossing up wether to go and read their board or have all my fingernails pulled out one at a time..youve saved me a heap of pain...and the fingernails would have won hands down.....