The First Sting

• Thread starter Thread starter Buddha117

How often do the published bests bear absolutely no relation to what happened in the match? I trust this one because it was obviously written by a fan and not some journo dying to file his story and get on the piss.

I know its in vogue on BF to call Watts a dud but I quietly very confident about him. I'll put my hand up and say I was reluctant when we drafted him but I dont think he's going to be someone over awed by the expectation put on him. Its going to take him a few years to hit his straps so we'll have to put up with opposition plebs a bit longer but I know he's going to play an important role for us in the future.

some more from the website:

VFL Player Review - Rd 1
11:04 AM Tue 13 April, 2010
VFL Player Review

James Strauss - 9 Kicks, 5 Hanballs, 4 Marks
Straussy came back from senior AFL footy, and his attitude was really good. He worked on areas of his game, specifically to do with one on one, and he did all those things well. He played on some of the opposition’s better small forwards, and competed well. He would have been happy with his game, which is good. He’s got to keep being consistent now.

Tom McNamara - 8 Kicks, 6 Hanballs, 3 Marks
Tom was voted in our best three by our match committee. The reason he got that was that not only did he do well defensively, he provided some run and attack, and turned defence into attack a number of occasions. He used the ball really well under pressure. He had a really solid game. He played on some good forwards, and would have been really pleased - it’s one of the better games I’ve seen him play. He did all the things that were asked of him, with some really good composure and skill level, as well as doing his defensive job.

Kyle Cheney - 12 Kicks, 10 Hanballs, 6 Marks
Kyle Cheney played another good game. That’s his third game in a row with us now. He was first emergency last week for the seniors, and he just carried that form on again, which was really good. He did the job on his direct opponent. We played him on Max Rooke, which was a big test, to play on a premiership player. He was able to keep him under control, and at the same time he gathered 22 possessions off the half-back flank. He provided a lot of rebound, a lot of courage going back with the flight of the ball, and he used the ball well at the same time to create some scoring opportunities and contests.

Rhys Healey - 11 Kicks, 4 Hanballs, 4 Marks
Rhys Healey was used in a tagging role during the second half. He was moved onto Geelong listed player Simon Hogan who had thirteen touches in the first half, so we put Healey onto him and he cut his possession rate by about fifty per cent, which was good. It had a telling influence on the game, because Hogan wasn’t allowed to set them up as much, and link up through the midfield. From a defensive viewpoint, Rhys was really good. I think he’ll get a lot of confidence out of that game, playing that role, as well as being used in rotations on the wing and half-back as well.

Jake Spencer - 3 Kicks, 11 Hanballs, 3 Marks
Jake Spencer was impressive in the ruck. He beat his opponent with his ruck tapouts, and he also gathered fourteen possessions, which is pretty good for a ruckman. A couple of times he got some ground balls and ran away from some smaller blokes. He’s deceptively mobile for a big man. He gave us first use with his taps - we probably didn’t take as much advantage of his dominance in the tap work as we might have, but he had a pretty good hitout.

Jordan Gysberts - 9 Kicks, 5 Hanballs, 2 Marks, 4 Tackles
Jordan Gysberts played in the midfield - it was his first senior VFL game, and I thought he was solid. He was hard in the clinches, he had a number of team actions - tackles, chases, hardness - which was pleasing for his first senior hitout. Jordan’s a nice kick and uses the ball really well - when he gets onto the footy, something tends to happen to it. We know he’s got good hands, and he’s got good composure, so it was a very good hitout for Jordan’s first game.

Jack Watts - 12 Kicks, 8 Hanballs, 7 Marks, 2 Tackles
Wattsy took a bit of a step, I thought, in the way he played. He got involved in the game a lot more, and had four consistent quarters of involvement. He had around 20 possessions, and every time he gets the footy, something tends to happen to it. He’s got some very good lateral movement, and some thought processes on what to do with the ball. So, Jack would have been pretty happy with that game. He’s just got to get some consistency in the way he plays.

Brad Miller - 8 Kicks, 2 Hanballs, 3 Marks, 3 Tackles
Brad Miller worked hard without much reward. His strength is his leading, and his ability to outrun his opponent - So, he created a lot of contests, but Geelong rolled the numbers out in front of him, which made it difficult. He wanted to contribute to the hardness side of the game, and he certainly did that. His leadership was terrific with all the young guys. I’d say that Brad would be one of the instigators of why we got across the line with the win, because he never gave up, he kept pushing the boys, kept the spirit up - didn’t worry about the scoreboard, and before we knew it, we’d hit the front at the 23 minute mark. Brad played a big part in that.

Stefan Martin - 8 Kicks, 2 Hanballs, 7 Marks, 3 Goals
Stefan Martin was our main focal point. He kicked three goals, which was really promising. In night conditions, where you wouldn’t have thought it would have suited him that much, he provided a really good focal point. He could have kicked six goals if he’d converted all his opportunities. He used his speed, and took a couple of good marks, and got into some good positions. He worked hard in the forward line to give himself some opportunities, and create some contests.

Paul Johnson - 4 Kicks, 1 Hanballs, 1Marks, 3 Tackles
Paul Johnson was playing his second game back, and he was a bit of a victim of the night, I reckon, and the fact that Miller and Stefan were the main focal points. I thought his ruck work was pretty good, when he helped Spencer in the ruck. Paul was certainly trying hard. He tried to present, and he found the contest, but Geelong kept the numbers back, and it made it difficult for him to fly against two or three guys most times. But, his ruck work in the forward line was good because he set up numerous opportunities for the smaller blokes. It’s his second week back, after having a long layoff over the pre-season, so it would have been good for him to get that under his belt again.

Addam Maric - 8 Kicks, 3 Hanballs, 4 Marks, 1 Goal
Addam Maric kicked a ripper goal from a transitional back play in the third quarter, which is probably what he’s notorious for. When he gets the footy, something tends to happen to it. He’s just got to continue to work on the forward line pressure side of the game, which we’ll keep encouraging him to do.

some more from the website:

Jake Spencer - 3 Kicks, 11 Hanballs, 3 Marks
Jake Spencer was impressive in the ruck. He beat his opponent with his ruck tapouts, and he also gathered fourteen possessions, which is pretty good for a ruckman. A couple of times he got some ground balls and ran away from some smaller blokes. He’s deceptively mobile for a big man. He gave us first use with his taps - we probably didn’t take as much advantage of his dominance in the tap work as we might have, but he had a pretty good hitout.

Jordan Gysberts - 9 Kicks, 5 Hanballs, 2 Marks, 4 Tackles
Jordan Gysberts played in the midfield - it was his first senior VFL game, and I thought he was solid. He was hard in the clinches, he had a number of team actions - tackles, chases, hardness - which was pleasing for his first senior hitout. Jordan’s a nice kick and uses the ball really well - when he gets onto the footy, something tends to happen to it. We know he’s got good hands, and he’s got good composure, so it was a very good hitout for Jordan’s first game.

Jack Watts - 12 Kicks, 8 Hanballs, 7 Marks, 2 Tackles
Wattsy took a bit of a step, I thought, in the way he played. He got involved in the game a lot more, and had four consistent quarters of involvement. He had around 20 possessions, and every time he gets the footy, something tends to happen to it. He’s got some very good lateral movement, and some thought processes on what to do with the ball. So, Jack would have been pretty happy with that game. He’s just got to get some consistency in the way he plays.

Brad Miller - 8 Kicks, 2 Hanballs, 3 Marks, 3 Tackles
Brad Miller worked hard without much reward. His strength is his leading, and his ability to outrun his opponent - So, he created a lot of contests, but Geelong rolled the numbers out in front of him, which made it difficult. He wanted to contribute to the hardness side of the game, and he certainly did that. His leadership was terrific with all the young guys. I’d say that Brad would be one of the instigators of why we got across the line with the win, because he never gave up, he kept pushing the boys, kept the spirit up - didn’t worry about the scoreboard, and before we knew it, we’d hit the front at the 23 minute mark. Brad played a big part in that.

Stefan Martin - 8 Kicks, 2 Hanballs, 7 Marks, 3 Goals
Stefan Martin was our main focal point. He kicked three goals, which was really promising. In night conditions, where you wouldn’t have thought it would have suited him that much, he provided a really good focal point. He could have kicked six goals if he’d converted all his opportunities. He used his speed, and took a couple of good marks, and got into some good positions. He worked hard in the forward line to give himself some opportunities, and create some contests.

Paul Johnson - 4 Kicks, 1 Hanballs, 1Marks, 3 Tackles
Paul Johnson was playing his second game back, and he was a bit of a victim of the night, I reckon, and the fact that Miller and Stefan were the main focal points. I thought his ruck work was pretty good, when he helped Spencer in the ruck. Paul was certainly trying hard. He tried to present, and he found the contest, but Geelong kept the numbers back, and it made it difficult for him to fly against two or three guys most times. But, his ruck work in the forward line was good because he set up numerous opportunities for the smaller blokes. It’s his second week back, after having a long layoff over the pre-season, so it would have been good for him to get that under his belt again.

Addam Maric - 8 Kicks, 3 Hanballs, 4 Marks, 1 Goal
Addam Maric kicked a ripper goal from a transitional back play in the third quarter, which is probably what he’s notorious for. When he gets the footy, something tends to happen to it. He’s just got to continue to work on the forward line pressure side of the game, which we’ll keep encouraging him to do.

take these with a grain of salt, it sounds like utter bull**** to me..

Gee, a Melbourne-based website talks of Jack Watts. What a surprise!

I'd much prefer for a non-Melbourne supporter to review the game and judge Watts's performance.

Gee, a Melbourne-based website talks of Jack Watts. What a surprise!

I'd much prefer for a non-Melbourne supporter to review the game and judge Watts's performance.

I dont know Im getting tired of "our first rounder>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Watts"

I'm not too concerned about Brad Gotch doing the reviews. I remember the same articles last year and they were quite often critical of players. I don't think theypull too many punches.

DL.