Education & Reference The "going into uni" thread

Full Wingspan

Brisbane Lions
So I have been sitting here and talking with a fellow poster in 'school based R.E.' (utter borefest/wast of time) and we've been talking about university as both of us are in year 12.

Which brings me to my, or our question/s.

We really have no understanding as to what the shit is going on in terms of well, everything. We're just basically looking for an explanation of the terminology and the way it works.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Mates hacked computer while in class. Wrote inappropriate things about me.

You're going to need to ask more specific questions to get answers as the question in your post doesn't really give a starting point or an indication on what you actually want to know (other than 'everything' it seems).

edit: Ok, so basically you apply for University and based on your experience, academic achievement etc you may be successful in gaining a place in a degree of your choosing. Once you are successful there will be a date where enrollment opens and you much enroll online in any number of courses (classes) as required by your degree, so full time that is 18 units for a sememe ster and 36 for a full year. That works out to be 8 courses a year (4 a month) usually.

it's a big building where knowledgeable people teach what they know to other people in exchange for money. at the end of it all you get a piece of paper to prove that you have had your brain filled with information and completed the course .

i beg to differ. far easier and laid back, except prior to exam week.

In terms of difficulty, it probably depends what you're studying.

But given the choice, I don't think many people would choose to go back to high school style education once they've been to uni. It's far more laid back as you said, the whole ENTER/ATAR competition can get quite stressful.

It's sad that high school education is focused on competition rather than actually retaining useful knowledge, but that's probably a rant for another thread.

Apologies guys, we ran out of class time so I had to hurry and press "create" and seeing as they took the liberty in describing my love for male genitals in the original thread post you can see why I had to rush this.

The questions we are more specifically asking are what are the differences between diplomas, advanced diplomas, majors and honours? Are there alternative pathways to get into courses that you didn't achieve a high enough ATAR for? Is year 12 the be all and end all? What are the major differences/similarities associated with school and university?

Thanks guys. :thumbsu:

Ok, so basically you apply for University and based on your experience, academic achievement etc you may be successful in gaining a place in a degree of your choosing. Once you are successful there will be a date where enrollment opens and you much enroll online in any number of courses (classes) as required by your degree, so full time that is 18 units for a sememe ster and 36 for a full year. That works out to be 8 courses a year (4 a month) usually.

Thankyou, that's actually a really good explanation in a year 12/highschooler's words. :)

If you don't get into what you wanted, enter a degree/program you've been accepted into and enrol in the courses (classes/subjects) that make up the degree/program you intend to complete in the long term. Some of these courses may be 'restricted' meaning you can only enrol in them if you are in the degree they are part of. There's normally applications you can make along the lines of 'application to undertake a restricted course' which the head of that course can sign to allow you into that restricted course.

If you can't enrol in the restricted courses via application, it's possible to look up the credit transfer database for subjects that may be considered 'equivalent (meaning if you've done one, you don't need to do the other).

A GPA of 5 (averaging a Credit which varies between institutions, normally around 65 - 75%) will get you into almost any undergraduate degree/program.

I wrote a huge post, but unfortunately, it didn't send.

Anyway, when you near university, you'll come to understand everything. Firstly, you'll almost definitely do an undergraduate course when you first enroll. Unless you're absurdly smart or make an error in enrolment (so unlikely), you'll know what you have to do. To get better clarification on what a diploma or honours means, check university websites. Even Wikipedia will be helpful. But, you'll need not worry about those definitions.

Is it like high school? Not really. But I haven't found the transition or difference to be that big. The portrayal is this really casual atmosphere. And it probably is. But you are under a little bit of pressure. The main difference is your level of enjoyment. You'll do something you're interested in, or passionate about, at a tertiary institution. Because of this, work won't feel as much as a chore. You'll feel less obliged to do coursework, and more 'yeah, whatever' about your readings.

The term "Alternate pathways" was rinsed so much last year. My year 12 co-ordinates just continually spoke about the vast availabilities of other options. Again, you'll come to understand almsot everything about uni.

Something your teachers will press is the apparent importance of ATAR/ENTER/whatever. And, some peers will embed a fear in you as well. The sycophants in every class will boast about hours of study, their calculated ATAR, and other peripherals. But keep that word in mind: Because those externalities are peripheral. As corny as it sounds, concentrate on your own game.

I'm not advocating absurd amounts of study. Some people thrive under these stressful conditions, and feel a sense of accomplishment. Others, like I, simply see the process as irrelevant and futile. Try and play to your strengths. I was really good at English, and could naturally get 90s with minimal effort (comparative to my classmates, that is). Whereas for History and Economics, I'd struggle with the topics (I was uninterested entirely) and hate the workload. But I'd pull through, somehow, and get 50-60s. In the end, my process worked. My ATAR was a 71. I didn't get my first university preference, but my second. Nonetheless, I'm very much enjoying my time at uni, I'm meeting alright people, some of the girls are cute, and my living situations worked out better at Curtin than at UWA. I wouldn't change a thing.

However, if you are unlucky, you're still in luck (of sorts). The pathways to university are plentiful. I'm going to utilise some stories to purvey this. Anecdotes added a personal, soothing quality to my high school angst. It might do the same to you.

A girl I went to school with in year 10 dropped out that year. I have no idea why. She was relatively bright, but found the process of high school uninteresting. After a year of working, she did a short bridging test last year. She did well. Although a bit of a bogan, she ended up sorting herself out. She's doing the same degree as much; A course in which is very respected in its field.

My best friend in high school is doing something similar. He was home schooled, and never had a formal primary education. He was, and still is, one of the best people I've ever known. He's also one of the smartest. Yet the education system utilised by this state simply did not cater to him. I was much the same. His interests laid elsewhere, despite being of the same academic worth. He was extremely solid in his English and Literature marks. But everything else didn't work out. He's doing a bridging course and will, no doubt, get accepted into UWA – Western Australia's 'best' uni.

Aside from this, you can always enrol at TAFE. If you stick at it, and don't let the bogans bring you down, you'll get enough credit to enrol at a uni. You just need a detour, whatever that may be.

I also advocate playing it safe. Do you need an 80 or 90 ATAR to get your preferred course? Chuck in an offer for a course requiring 55/60. Do it externally if need be. Quite simply, you'll use this year to work hard and get a high distinction. You should be able to transfer to a better uni, in a better course, with ease.

Don't stress, man. It might be hard, but it's totally useless. Have fun in high school. I rued my time, but in retrospect, it wasn't so bad. You can talk shit with your mates all day, do no work, and have no repercussions. Enjoy it, and good luck.

Your Year 12 results effectively hold no ranking whatsoever once you enter university. You could get a mid 80 score and do so well in the first year of the course you do that you can transfer to pretty much any undergrad program you wish to. Try to do well at school, but realise if you **** up you're life isn't over.

I find Uni to be exponentially more difficult and time-consuming than school. I did about 20-25 hours study (outside of required work) in year twelve, all of it during SWOTVAC and ended up fine. Now I do about 20 extra hours of study a week in my course. Some people do heaps at school and then end up in a drop-kick course which requires no work. It goes both ways, but don't expect the harder courses to be as easy as school and don't expect you won't be able to work part-time with and easier course.

Any relevance at all to your questions? Not really.

Your Year 12 results effectively hold no ranking whatsoever once you enter university. You could get a mid 80 score and do so well in the first year of the course you do that you can transfer to pretty much any undergrad program you wish to. Try to do well at school, but realise if you **** up you're life isn't over.

I find Uni to be exponentially more difficult and time-consuming than school. I did about 20-25 hours study (outside of required work) in year twelve, all of it during SWOTVAC and ended up fine. Now I do about 20 extra hours of study a week in my course. Some people do heaps at school and then end up in a drop-kick course which requires no work. It goes both ways, but don't expect the harder courses to be as easy as school and don't expect you won't be able to work part-time with and easier course.

Any relevance at all to your questions? Not really.

This.

The start of first year uni can be a big trap. The courses don't seem that hard, you have freedom to skip classes and you believe that you can catch up.

You don't understand just how good the boring high school classes where you spent a few weeks for section of the course were at teaching you stuff.

In first year uni it is very easy to dig yourself into a big hole come exam time.

This.

The start of first year uni can be a big trap. The courses don't seem that hard, you have freedom to skip classes and you believe that you can catch up.

You don't understand just how good the boring high school classes where you spent a few weeks for section of the course were at teaching you stuff.

In first year uni it is very easy to dig yourself into a big hole come exam time.

Yep. Happened to me. My first semester was comfortably my worst semester of the 8th I've done thus far. My 7th was comparatively pretty bad too (tend to do worse 1st sem due to the footy) but moreso due to hard subjects than anything else.

Just be weary that the speed of which they cover the material is so much faster than it is in high school. I've found that in the more Arts-sy subjects I've done, it's a lot easier to pass by cramming, but not the case with my core Engineering and Maths subjects.

If you're going down a Maths/Science/Eng route course, you can fall behind pretty quickly. Don't pay attention early an skip classes and you'll be in trouble trying to catch up come exams.

On the flip side, it doesn't take too much work to stay afloat. Simply attending/paying attention during lectures and working hard on your assignments should be enough to keep you going until SWOTVAC and cramming.

When I was in high school we were drilled about how your enter isn't the end of the world, there are pathways etc. and it's true - but seriously, they take time. If you can get the scores required to get into your first preference, take the time and effort and do it. I know quite a few people who have partied/coasted through year 12, then had to crack down in first year in order to transfer to their desired course and/or university (most of the time, without credit points for their first year). Either way, you have to work hard at some stage, so it may as well be year 12.

That's just my opinion though, sometimes pathways are necessary and the journey can be good. It's true that enter's or atar's aren't the be all and end all, but if you can get what you need, try and get it - I'm already doing a 4 year degree, I would have hated to add an extra year on top of that.

Don't skip lectures.

Took me until my third year to learn this. No matter how hungover or how much you can't be ****ed, just go. Just simply being in the lecture theatre is really productive. Socially, it's productive and academically it's productive. Even when I was completely wrecked and I was in the lecture theatre not even listening, I'd peruse the course notes, do another reading, simply read the paper or just sit and stare and I'd get something out of it. My mind might've clicked at something or I might've walked out feeling like I need to do some work.

Just being at uni and in a class, for me, is highly productive. Sitting at home snickering at how I should be at uni while I play NBA 2k is not.

It's like the ten minute rule for exercise. Put your exercise clothes on and if you don't feel like continuing after ten minutes, stop. You never do.

Oh, one other thing. You'll be walking around for the first month with your tongue hanging out of your head. Lap it up, cause it doesn't last and the hot girls miraculously disappear by census date.

I missed my first lecture this morning. It was an 8am one. I simply slept through it. The respective tute this arvo was harder because of it – keep in mind, this is Arts, week three, year one. I can imagine the difficulty skipping classes could be come year two.

Here's a question: Is a GPA of 5 attainable by 70% averages? Curtin's explanation left me a little confused...

I found alcohol in a big way in first year. Didn't exactly help my results, but shit I had fun.

I am in my final year of a double degree and have not attended or listened to a lecture since 2009....uni is defiantly easier than year 12 if you know how to take shortcuts and you are a doing a generalist degree such as Arts, Commerce and even Law.

There are a lot of hot birds around campus and in some tutes if you do Arts or Law and to a lesser extent Commerce. I once ate a chick out in the disabled toilets next to the library.

All in all if you are able to get a job soon enough after your done, going to uni is a great option in life.

1) Go to uni open days. Go even to the ones at unis you don't think you want to go to. Ask questions there, even the stupid ones. The people there want to help and are used to getting asked stupid questions. In fact, they love it.

2) Ask your relatives, family friends, people you play sport with etc who went to uni about their experiences. Listen to the answers. Even if you have to call some guy you haven't seen for years but it one of your old man's old mates, give 'em a ring and ask them about what they did, why, how it has helped, etc. Most people are happy to share this information.

3) Visit whirlpool.net.au and search through the education threads therein. Sure, whirlpool has a staggering amount of deadset w***ers who clutter boards with braindead comments, but there is also plenty of information to be gained there as well. Lots of people just like you asking questions.

4) If you ever get the chance, go on exchange. There are always grants available and you can borrow about $5k against your HELP loan which is incredibly useful. Just be warned that there is a good chance you won't come back the same person. Sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.

:thumbsu:

4) If you ever get the chance, go on exchange. There are always grants available and you can borrow about $5k against your HELP loan which is incredibly useful. Just be warned that there is a good chance you won't come back the same person. Sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.

:thumbsu:
A guy I know came back 15kg heavier than when he left.

I'm interested in this comment though. Can you expand on it?