Society & Culture the internet...

remember when the net was new and there were chat sites, and it was kinda pathetic when people started hooking up over the net... well fast forward a few years and just about everyone's on facebook... people are hookin up all over the place using facebook, people don't do anything without a) planning it on facebook, or b) posting pictures of it afterwards...

but looking to the future, we'll either be totally engrossed by the internet and be unable to function without it (the likely conclusion), or there will be a major backlash where people will make an attempt to go back to the "real world" and socialise like was did in the past...

the main question i have is... if things continue the way they are now... are we gonna look back in 30 years / 50 years and regret the fact that we spent so much of our time staring at a computer screen and talking to people we never have / or never will meet... will i die feeling like i didn't spend enough time experiencing the real world? and i'm by no means a hermit, i work full time, play sports, go out on friday/sat nights etc... but i will use the internet on most days... and i'll spend an hour or so on bigfooty alone... and hop off the computer thinking where did hte last couple of hours go... then head to sleep, get up in teh morning and continue the grind...

i just have this feeling that one day i'll just think of the countless hours i spent on the net emersed in nothingness...am i alone here??

nostalgia.png

I only spend 20 minutes on the internet a day

lulz

i'll spend an hour or so on bigfooty alone...
That's not even impressive. I'm sure most posters spend a shitload of time reading forums either from work or between breaks at uni every day.

Also kids are using the internet more and more now, my younger sisters are on facebook pretty much all the time. Having a mobile with internet access = facebook all day.

i just have this feeling that one day i'll just think of the countless hours i spent on the net emersed in nothingness...
What, like a mid-life crisis?

Doesn't matter what you do or what you achieve you'll probably have one at some point anyway.

I don't think spending too much time on the net is the real problem. We might get to 40 years old, find we're not content with what we have or what we've achieved, have our midlife crisis and blame the internet for all our problems, but I'm not really sure that all those 'wasted hours' would have been better spent bird watching.

I'm guessing the OP has one of those old nokias, as the most active members on websites such as facebook are mobile users, people who are experiencing there lives, but simply documenting it. Without the internet, the world we live in cannot function.

I can definitely understand where the OP is coming from. For me, the Internet has always been about the access to instantaneous information on footy and cricket, and discussion about it. Then with MSN, MySpace and Facebook, it has an even greater sense of the all conquering presence on your life. I've found that hours can pass by so quickly online, and the scope of Google makes any information easy to find - which is both a good thing and a bad thing, depending on how you look at it. I reckon it'll have a huge influence on the kids of the 2000s. In some ways I hate that feeling that I have to check fb on my phone. But if you don't, you don't keep up with the ratrace. Guess it all comes down to you having control over it, not it controlling you.

I have a shitty old phone without internet access and hope to keep it this way, I already spend way too much time online.

"uh-oh"
icq-logo.jpg

I had a 5-digit user id. Stumbled accross it a few years ago, they were into the hundreds of millions.

before that we had mIRC
installchannel.gif

....a time when you had to know what you were doing to piss everybody off, rather than just point and click. I remember typing (mouses weren't used much then) long strings of alphanumerics to access the "Undernet"....(well, copying a mate who knew about that stuff).

I remember the "Browser War" (before Microsoft were neutered), Usenet groups and discussion boards (sorry bulletin board systems)....

Um....I'm not sure what my point was, I'm just nostalgia-ing.

i remeber when the interwebs first arrived. so exciting! now its just the norm. which is sad? perhaps, but seriously, i don't really give a f**k, hell i don;t care about anything atm. fml!

also is f **k counted as lie a swear word even though its totally like blanked out kinda?? whatevs, i'll deal, whatever the case.

also, the internet cant be a bad thing, well not totally if its encouraging boys to man the f**k up as well as teaching them the tricks of the trade and whatnot. seriously, my ex apparently learnt how to... um... eat box... from the internet... weird yes, but effective either way.

also sorry for being so inappropriate... hahahahaha eat box sounds so filthy! aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh. good night all!